2014
Hyundai
Equus

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79

296 Reviews

Latest review 5 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ZW
Zachary W.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2018
I don't know what to enter in here.
Our Equus is very comfortable, very quiet, and very responsive. It has much more power than I normally use, but the few times I needed that power made it worth it. The video display is good. The backup camera system is so helpful - especially when backing up in close quarters in parking lots. Being able to tell the car what I want (like "go home," or "call my wife") means I don't have to take my eyes off the road to use it.

Pros
It is comfortable and quiet, and the size and solidity make it feel safe.

Cons
A lot of features to learn how to operate, but worth the time.

Gas mileage is not great, but it's worth it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FA
Fred A.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/03/2018
Owned ‘em all
I’ve owned them all; Mercedes, Audi, Cadillac, Jaguar, (never BMW). This is by far the best car I’ve owned, also the newest. Took me 3 months to find this used car but was worth the wait. Super comfortable, great sound system.

Pros
Overall quality and comfort.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marlowe S.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/24/2018
More than I expected !!!
I never thought o consider an Equus. My first thought for luxury sedans was the BMW 7series, Audi A8, Mercedes 550 but the Equus stands beside them all with a savings of $50k and more. Equus should be it's own brand.

Pros
Price vs Features and back by 10yr/100K warranty. Same luxury if not better than BMW, Mercedes, Audi and Lexus

Cons
2014 doesn't have touch screen, massage front seats but that's it !!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Stephen P.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/19/2018
Equus
My initial purchase was a 2011 Genesis 4.6 This was until the Equus the most outstanding vehicle I have ever owned in 55 years of driving. The vehicle is second to none and I have owned Mercedes and BMW and as long as Hyundai is making vehicles I will continue to purchase them. The icing on the cake has been my experience with Hyundai Mall of Georgia. From Sales to Service it has been a first rate experience and have never had an issue with the quality of either department. My experience has led to numerous purchases by family and friends and their experience has been nothing less that stellar. I would hope that every sales and service person would have the opportunity to have a Hyundai and with that their enthusiasm for the product would be exponentially transmitted to prospective purchasers and people needing service on their vehicles.

Pros
listed above

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Jerel J.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2018
Equus Lover
This is my second Equus after running the first one up to 121,000 miles. Only issue was the air shock. This car has everything standard that you would have to upgrade in most other cars in its class such as the LS460 or S550.

Pros
V8 429 horsepower engine with sport mode.
Back seat comfort and controls.
Huge trunk space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Doug M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/17/2018
Amazing Value for the money
Great car for the money. Has power and convenience. Some may not like the borrowed styling of the S550 but I am a fan. It is a boat but doesn't feel like on the road. Great stereo and love the roomy back seat.

Pros
Super value for the money. Love the borrowed styling of the S550. Comfortable and smooth. Love the big back seat for our daughter. We have the screens so that is great for her as well.

Cons
Can be a bit slow to access her power. If you want a touch screen then get the G90 or G80 sport. Have had a few challenges with electronics but Hyundai always repairs on warranty. Would be nice to have paddles and all wheel drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lisa M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/14/2018
I love this car!
By far the nicest car I've ever owned! (And I have owned some nice cars!) Deceptively comfortable and luxurious, it will leave everyone on the road behind when you want it to! The men in my family are all well over 6 feet tall, and there is plenty of head and leg room for them, even in the back seat. The passengers in the back have just as many comforts as those in the front, which is quite uncommon. Love, love, love it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jack H.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2018
Best ever
My wife and I have owned two XG300Ls, one Azera, one Genesis and now this EQUUS. I am not sure if I pronounce EQUUS correctly, but I am sure that this is one great car.

I am at a loss to fault it - see if you can.

Pros
Best car I have ever owned.

Cons
Limited color selection. I like White, Silver and Red.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
Leonard J.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2018
Great automobile
Great automobile and value. Looks like luxury , ride like luxury, performance is very good.it is a luxury car.Gas mileage could be better, but it ride so good and perform so well it is hard not to drive a little aggressive.
If you can live without the big brand name, is is an excellent choice...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
LEONARD W.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2018
Best car I've ever owned
I have owned/ leased 30 cars in my lifetime and this Equus is the best. It had features in 2014 not found in other cars. And even today fewer new cars don't have a jukebox. I have the 5.0L engine and I use regular gas with no noticeable difference in power or acceleration. So far it has been least expensive luxury vehicle to maintain (3 yr free helps the average). I would like to have some of the new features, like automatic braking and selfdriving, but I won't give up my jukebox and heads up display. (Are you paying attention Tesla)

Pros
Everything listed above

Cons
Turning Radius is too long.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Donald S.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2018
Five Years Later
We shopped for a nice vehicle that would be dependable for our retirement travels to visit our children and grandchildren in Tennessee, Maryland, and Illinois. It needed to have ample storage for luggage and provide a comfortable ride and be able to accelerate when needed on our truck-filled freeways. We test-drove a Mercedes after trying out the Hyundai Equus. Both cars were fabulous and both looked great on the outside, but we just loved the better interior, more storage space, more power, and far lower price of the Hyundai Equus. Now we have over 57,000 miles on the car and are positive we made the right choice. It still looks and acts like new. And you wouldn’t believe how many people come over to us to ask just what kind of car we have. Most have never seen one and are really curious. They are usually amazed by the doors that shut themselves when lightly pushed, the reclining back seats, the built-in sun sceens in all the back windows that go up or down with the push of a button, as well as being impressed by the exterior looks of the car. One of my favorite features is the cruise control that automatically slows me down (and keeps me back at the distance I pre-set) when a truck jumps out into my lane to pass another truck. It then zooms back to my chosen cruising speed when the trucker finally pulls back into his lane. All the while, I merely relax without constantly pressing the brake or re-engaging the cruise control.

Pros
Uniqueness, smoothness in driving, power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LY
Lily Y.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2018
Bought it on a whim!
Originally went in to just look at the car but they had a couple of cars that were driven by managers with a significant discount so I bought one of them. Almost put everything back onto the cost of the car but I purchased several types of warranties like life-time service, etc.

Pros
Better performance than I expected.

Cons
Bigger car than I thought. Once I got use to the size it's no problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Thaddeus T.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2018
My 2014 Equus
My 2014 Equus is a statement car. It commands appreciative looks wherever I drive it. It drives quietly and handles well. I have looked at the new Genesis 90 and it does not have the appeal of the Equus brand.

Pros
Good looks

Cons
mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lisa M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/13/2018
Equus is the best
I use to have a Genesis but then upgraded to the Equus and boy oh boy what an amazing ride :) This car is not only super comfortable, has everything you need in it upfront and in the rear, but it handles so nicely on the road. Everything is so quiet. I love how fast it goes, how easy it is to handle. The sound quality is awesome. Very roomy, I am not sorry in the least about my upgrade. So far best Hyundai I've driven yet :)

Pros
Everything.

Cons
only thing I would have changed is that it isn't a touch screen of the display.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/09/2018
Best car nobody knows
This is the most luxurious car I have ever owned. I bought a low mileage used one, which was about the same price as a new Sonata. Quiet, comfortable and powerful. If you’re thinking about a Mercedes or BMW, do yourself a favor and check out an Equus. You won’t be disappointed.

Pros
Quiet ride, powerful, roomy, comfortable interior. Loads of safety features.

Cons
The center console is a little awkward, and the air conditioning in the rear could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jack M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/09/2018
Great car
Over all my Equus campared to other Automobile I own over the years is one best in ride. And I own since old enough buy car 32 most were GM. Hyundai has come a long way in building a car that can complete with cars far more expensive and has all the features car that more expensive.

Pros
Great ride and for a v8 good gas mileage

Cons
Had lot trouble engine wise but finally they got it right

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Elton D.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/22/2018
EQUUS
I really like the car and would recommend it to anyone in the market for a car or just loolong to lease one. It's fun to drive and has a good power pick upwhen needed and also the overall comfort is very good.

Pros
Very nice roomy comfortable ride and pretty good power.

Cons
Sometimes get exhaust smoke when i have to give it gas to go around someone i dont know if thats normal for a car with only 37k miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Jerry J.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/13/2018
Best Sedan I Have Owned
I have owned and driven BMW 7 series and Mercedes S550 and my Equus beats both of those models in almost every category. High end cars always come with high end maintenance costs but not with Hyundai. You save at the point of sale for a comparable car and you save considerably for regular maintenance. I also own a Land Rover and the maintenance costs for that vehicle are through the roof. If you want a luxury automobile and are conscious of total cost of ownership the Equus or now the Genesis G90 can't be beaten.

Pros
Luxury and reliability at an affordable price

Cons
Gas mileage and annual Blue Link costs for remote start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Henry R.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/02/2018
2014 Equis
2014 Equis so please with this car I’m thinking about buying the G90 excellent vehicle just excellent. Look at the G 90 the other day at the dealership. Just a very good car, one of the best cars that Hyundai ever came out with in a luxury line you’re definitely up there with the BMW, Mercedes, and Lexus.

Pros
Very nice riding, looks Excellent love of compliments, people constantly asking me what kind of car is it.

Cons
Not for sure about the resale value but I will buy another one, or the closest one to it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
James N.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2018
Best car ever!
Equus ultimate is my best car ever. This vehicle is extremely smooth, quiet, and very comfortable. It has great power and gas mileage and almost every feature known to man. I’ll have another when the time comes.

Pros
As above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 41 - 60 of 296 in total