2014
Hyundai
Equus

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79
4.8
(321 Reviews)
Latest review 7 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LG
LORETTA G.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2018
I love my car and I don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon.
There is not much more I can add. I am sorry but as I have already said . It is a great enjoyable car to own and drive. I have just been very pleased to own it. That is all I have to comment. Thank You

Pros
Just a great car which I enjoy to the N'th degree.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Earl H.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2018
2014 Equus Review
I have owned a number of high-end cars and for the money the Equus is by far the best. The driving experience in every aspect is simply outstanding. Excellent quality as well. Couldn't be happier.

Pros
Sound system, comfort and power.

Cons
Touch screen feature would be nice. Need to be able to watch movies in backseat while driver and passenger listens to srereo.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Martin M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
Eqqus
Best car I’ve ever owned. I have been driving since 1972. All kinds of vehicles. America, foreign. Large and compact. Old and brand new! This Eqqus is powerful and luxurious. EVERY day I am on the road the car turns heads! Love it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Robert T.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
A great car
A great car I have owned for 4 years. All its features live up to my expiations. Only negative thing I find with car is its horrible resale value. I was looking to up grade to a new G90 but was shocked with trade in value.

Pros
Great Value

Cons
Poor trade in value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Robert L.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2018
Equus
I have been driving Cars, Trucks and RV's for better than 40 years, BMW's, Lexes, Benz's, Corvettes (2) as well as many other American cars. The Equus is the "BEST" riding and driving car I have ever had. The Service at Earnhardt goes a step beyond what you imagine a car dealer will be.

Cons
Buttons too near the cup holders

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Barbara S.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2018
My Equus
I travel 2-3 hours a day on the interstate, comfort, handling and acceleration are an important part of my driving requirements, my Equus satisfies all of those driving needs. It is a very classy vehicle.

Pros
I am delighted with my Equus. I have owned a Hyndai since 2003. It meets all of my comfort requirements and has the acceleration I want when needed.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mark B.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/24/2018
Great vehicle, but...
I really enjoy my Equus. But the hesitation and stuttering you experience in the engine under gentle acceleration at lower speeds is irritating. The dealer has never been able to fix this problem. I have learned I am not the only person who experiences this. Hyundai needs to figure this out. Otherwise, it is a great vehicle.

Pros
Great styling, great comfort, and great ride. Love the V8 engine.

Cons
The hesitation and stuttering under gentle acceleration at lower speeds. It is embarrassing when you have others in an otherwise awesome vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Henry R.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/23/2018
2014 Hyundai Equus
Very satisfied with the car, if anything happen to this vehicle and it’s beyond repair I will buy the G90 I like the ride, the look 👀 and the comfort of the car such a wonderful smooth ride good all the way around.

Pros
A lot of people ask what kind of car is it, when I say it’s build by Hyundai they can’t believe it.

Cons
4-wheel drive will really be nice 👍 but I use the snow mode this pass winter in a storm and it handle really nice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
John B.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2018
Best car, wish they will sell them again.
Outstanding vehicle, handles great. Would buy another one but they discontinued this car. The service that Hyundai has done on this car is excellent. If they put this car back on the market i would be the first to get one.

Pros
Very good car

Cons
They stop selling them

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Johnny J.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
EQUUS REVIEW
Recently purchased a 2014 Equus when in the market for a Mercedes S550. I had been searching for an Equus to test drive but could not find one in my local area. On the particular day i had decided to make the purchase i asked the salesman if he had the Equus on the lot - he did. I test drove it and fell in love. I made the comparrison between the two vehicles and the Equus easily won out. Better value for the price, interior was nicer and as as comfortable , power is comparable and when you put the winged hood ornament on it it is as distinguished. I made the right choice and a car buyer can't go wrong by potentially saving 20k+ by purchasing the Equus vs the other foreign luxury vehicles.

Pros
Value

Cons
No touch screen

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carolyn S.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
Service Review
I love this vehicle and always get compliments on the vehicle’s appearance. The vehicle drives great and has a variety of features. My gas mileage is good and I haven’t had any major problems so far with my vehicle except the navigation freezes up on these cars. There must be some type of defect with the navigation system cause other owners are having the same problems. I also think there are problems with the lever arms associated with the wheels that causes rattling in the wheel areas.

Pros
Stylish

Cons
Navigation freezes up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gary S.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2018
Two friends bought G80 because of them driving my car.
Every Saturday me and my friends play golf. We meet at my house and load 4 bags and stuff in my trunk and I sit in the back seat and they take turns as my chauffeur ...a win win experience. Two have bought new Genesis in last year...love my sports limo.... And so do they love their Genesis . I gave my last Genesis to my daughter...she loves it....we are a Genesis group.
Gary Smith
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Daniel D.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2018
Equus
This car is a rockstar I’ve driven many sports cars sedans and trucks at the age of 55 this is the most fun and most comfortable car I have ever owned or driven I think it strikes a nice balance between sophistication in being a sports car in terms of value I like it better than a BMW 700 series I cannot recommend this car enough

Pros
Exceptional value as well as exceptional service

Cons
Probably would not get a white interior the next time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Curt S.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
Fantastic car
This car is phenomenal.

SPEED: The 429 hp can really be felt. You can take off the traction control and put into sports mode and it'll really jump!
DRIVER MODE: Normal, Sport & Snow
DRIVER DISPLAY: The heads-up display shows current speed, cruise speed, lane departure lines & blindside warnings and GPS directional arrows with mileage.
SMART CRUISE: The smart cruise control is ideal in those traffic jams.
LIGHTS: The headlights curve as you turn. The fog lights add more visibility. The rear indicator lights are brighter and yellow.
SIDE MIRRORS: When parking the side mirror automatically fold in (you can also manually fold them in too). When in reverse you have a rear camera, bird's eye view and the side mirrors automatically rotate downwards to see the lines for parking. They also automatically defrost and have yellow indicator lights on the front.
WELCOMING: When you walk to the car when it's locked there are lights below the side mirror which light up & fold out before you unlock the doors (without removing the key or having to press a key). When you open from the passenger side or rear doors all the doors will unlock. Once inside you feel all the affects of luxury. The Equus logo appears on the driver display and plays some music. Once you start the vehicle the same logo appears on the large screen.
SCREENS: A large screen in the front and two 9.8" for the passengers. They are located on the back of the driver and front passenger's headrest.
CHARGING: You have two cigarette chargers in the front armrest and two in the rest seat armrest. There is also a USB port
SHADES: The rear shades and rear passenger shade are all automatic. The side door shades actually descend into the door when they are pressed down (by the window button).
DOORS: If they are closed with a slight gap the doors will automatically pull them in for a full close. They are solid and heavy doors.
SEATS: Power seats are adjusted from the door panels. The driver does have 2 memory options that can be set. Also all seats (except the rear middle seat) have a/c and heating for your bum. This is in the leather perforated seats. The front passenger seat can be adjusted by pressing buttons on the left side of the chair (can be initiated by the driver or the rear passengers).
AUTO HOLD: This button allows you to take your foot off the brake. It will be released once you push on the accelerator. Nice option for city driving.
TRUNK: Find it very large. Hold two golf bags and two sports duffle bags. Also is a power trunk controlled by the key, below the steering wheel and on the trunk.
RIMS & WHEELS: 19" rims with great finish & the logo. The rear tires are wider than the front two tires. It is REAR wheel drive.
SOUND: 17 speakers that is a 598 watt Lexicon 7.1 Discrete Surround (there is a youtube about it's quality).
This is an absolutely fun ride!

Pros
Luxury surrounds you in this car. Beefy 429 horse power. Top grade materials all around.

Cons
Minor wind noise at highway speed. Small things have gone wrong like the rear door power closure stopped working.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AO
Anthony O.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
Import joy rather than blues!
Purchased this car 18 months ago and it is an absolute joy to drive. Having owned several, Mercedes, BMW, Jaguar and Volvo brands, I find this car to have all the top luxury brand features and then some, and is impressive visually. The best warranty in the business and runs on regular gas. I also own a 2012 Sonata SE which is still running perfectly but needed a much quieter sedan for daily commutes and long trips. Unbelievable craftsmanship and performance in the Equus, and best of all no problems period.

Pros
Price for a pre-owned certified vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Stewart M.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2018
vehicle review
My equus has few competitors for the comfort,style and experience. I drove the G80 and there was no comparison relative to the ride and comfort of my Equus- pls decide to bring it back-stew McLauchlan 972 824 6881

Pros
The Equus stand out- I get asked all the time at gas stations and my car wash-this is a cool car

Cons
if anything gas mile age which I can live with

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Eansa B.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
2014 Equus
Excellent car...very comfortable on long trips as well as short trips around town. We have over 61,000 miles on our car and it still seems to drive and look new. Excellent interior with excellent features. We particularly like the cruise control with it's vehicle distance feature. Great on lone trips. Overall a great car.

Pros
Comfortable and a pleasure to drive. We particularly like the safety features.

Cons
We were not happy when we replace our tires and found that we needed two different sizes. This however is not a big deal.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
2014 equus
love the car. Rides well and has great features. Styling is excellent. Reliability has been very good. No problems since purchase. Service department does an excellent job. Wish they had an SUV in line up.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/04/2018
Equus 2014
Sorry I didn’t buy the ultimate package. My wife has it on her Genesis and it is really great. The car is heavy and does not do well on regular gas need to use the mid-grade or premium for efficient driving. Due to the vehicle wait get 40000 miles on tires not 50 k plus I was used to getting in a Sante Fe. Overall the ride is incredible and it is the best highway driving vehicle I have ever owned.

Pros
Comfort, interior design, safety features,the ride is incredible and only had one major item to fix the auto wipers.

Cons
Not the car’s issue butI should have gotten the. Ultimate package. Uses mid- range gas and tires are expensive. When service is needed have had to wait on parts in one case cracked the windshield and new took 10 days to arrive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2014 Hyundai Equus
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/29/2018
Better than I thought
I purchased the 2014 Equus because I sold my Lexus SC430 because I wanted a little more comfort than the lower sportier convertible. I opted for the Ultimate model because I got a great price for the one year old vehicle. It is very spacious and extremely comfortable. It has more options and creature comforts than I imagined. I absolutely LOVE the four sides camera for parking. Too many other options to mention. Because it was designed for comfort, my only negative is that it is a little "floaty" or bouyant during turns, acceleration and slowing. My wife recently traded in her BMW 750LI and she likes the Equus way better. Also at 429 H.P. the thing really moves when I need it.

Pros
Sooth ride, creature comforts and power.

Cons
A little floaty at times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 321 in total