Style image original

2011
Hyundai
Genesis

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8

186 Reviews

Latest review 2 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 02/23/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best car I've owned."

I bought this car for my wife so she would have reliable transportation. We bought it used. It had previously been a lease car in Florida. The styling reminds one of the Mercedes Benz cars. Sitting still it looks like it wants to move. Interior is understated but luxurious. The active cruise control may be my favorite feature. It knows if there is a slower vehicle ahead and slows the car to match its speed. After 7 years it is still rock solid and squeak and rattle free. The interior shows little signs of wear. Driving a delight and the power and handling are excellent. My wife's previous car was a Camaro and she thought it handled well. She says her Genesis does everything better. Other than the alternator failing after 7 years and replacing the original battery it has required nothing more than routine service. If we decide to get another car it will be a Genesis G90. Our first Genesis has spoiled us.

Pros
Styling, comfort, power, brakes, audio quality and sound.

Cons
Some controls are hard to access. Navigation system difficult to update.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/17/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great car!"

I have never had a car that is better that this Genesis. I don’t know what holds the future for me, but if I have got to trade it for another car, I hope it would be Genesis. I would not change it for a Lexus, Acura, infinity, or Mercedes.

Pros
I have nothing against

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/09/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"love the car"

Love the car. Looks great has been very dependable and affordable. It is fun to drive and very comfortable. I will probably buy G-80 when its time to replace it , if Tameron has the Genesis dealership in Hoover
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/08/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The Genesis is a great car!"

Imagine a 2011 Genesis with 19,000 miles.....it’s like brand new & I would put it side by side with ANY premium brand and come out on top! I have s friend with a 2017 Mercedes E350 & he kicks himself for not buying a Genesis instead! More car for less money! Thank you Genesis!

Pros
Wonderful ride!

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/08/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"genosis"

Absolutley love the car Have 87000 miles and very little problems. Love the ride , the size of the trunk and foot room both in front and back seat. sound system is excellent seats are very comfortable
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/02/2018
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"2011 Genesis has ABS problem"

After driving Genesis for 7 years, ABS is broken. I received estimate and it was $3300 for just for the part. Current milage is 110,000 miles and Hyundai 100K milage warranty is useless. I purchased many cars and ABS never goes bad. I will never purchase Hyundai car ever again.

Pros
Good car while you have 100K warranty

Cons
Too expensive to fix car after 100,000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/29/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2011 Genesis "

I have owned the Genesis for 2 years. Other than normal maintenance (ie. Oil & Filter). I have had no problems. It is a pleasure to drive it. The features make it very easy to navigate. I am very pleased.

Pros
Very reliable car.

Cons
None yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/24/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Overall Very Satisfactory"

I have had my Genesis for about 3 years, and I really like the car. It is very comfortable and quiet with one exception. I expected a smoother ride, but it has a pretty stiff ride, and bounces quite a bit. I recently had 4 Pirelli tires installed, and they have improved the comfort. I get a lot of compliments on the car.

Pros
Comfortable to drive, great performance, looks good.

Cons
Stiff suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/23/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I considered shopping for a newer car but there is still a lot of pleasurable use left in this one. "

I was going to replace my 2001 Lexus and shopped with Lexus and then went to Hyundai and found that I could all the features on the Genesis that I was going to obtain on the New Lexus and the cost was considerably less money. The decision was not difficult.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/22/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love it!!"

I wasn't sure about the Genesis when I got it , but I love it !! It is perfect for my lifestyle. Many people stop me to say "What a pretty car". I highly recommend The Genesis as a great sedan for driving.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/12/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2011 Genesis 4.6"

Power train impressive for the V8, 4.6 liter and noise level subtle. Exterior / interior taint very well done (chosen) sapphire and beige with the dark wood trim impeccable, and the aerodynamic stunning. The exterior color sparkled at night under the parking light which makes you stop a few second to admire. Very well design automobile, hats off.

Pros
Sublime ride, auto rear sun shade, xenon head lights, cooling/heated front seat(s), deep/large trunk space, ext. / int. color combination, side mirrors backing device, and complex electronic (nav./climatic) system.

Cons
Front passenger seat lack basic features (up/down level), sun roof tilt not fully automatic and design rear side lights too big.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/12/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Car"

I purchased the car new and I am very pleased with my decision. The car handles well and has a ton of power. The features are outstanding and the car has been very reliable. When I first drove the car, everyone thought it was a BMW. I would purchase again.

Pros
Handles and peforms well. Fun to drive. Realiable. Looks great.

Cons
Suspention could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/10/2018
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"My Old Buddy"

I purchased my 2011 Hyundai brand new. The car has been reliable and is a great highway cruiser. My only complaint is in the HVAC system. The AC is horrible for a modern car. When I first purchased the car, I returned it to the dealer a few times. This is where it all kinda went bad. It's the Service Department stupid. They can make or break your business. Anywho, they said the AC was working properly but I can say it will not cool the interior of my car when it's over 90 degrees. If you want a boring car that will be reliable....go for it.

Pros
Reliable Good highway cruiser Cheap to maintain and own

Cons
Horrible A/C system Horrible entertainment/phone system Boring car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/10/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2011 Hyundai Genesis sedan"

This has been one of my favorite cars I’ve have owned excellent car looks nice drives nice I will definitely buy another one again.so far I have had no issues with this car I really recommend this car to people out there.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/03/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Awesome value"

Have had the pleasure of driving my '11 Genesis 3.8 sedan for nearly four years and love everything about it. The number of features that come standard is unbelievable. Looking soon to move up to a 2015 with AWD......

Pros
So many great features that are standard and I get 30mpg+ on the highway

Cons
None cones to mind.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love it"

Its like driving a luxury sports car. Will buy another in the future.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/11/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my Genesis!"

What can I say? I love to drive it, know that it was a great buy, and service from the dealership is "top notch!" Like any car, a few things could be improved, but not many. Simply said, the horn is "weak." (Not sure if it was designed to intimate the driver into not using it unless "absolutely necessary," or simply "kinder and gentler" to the recipient of the "blast." Either way, it just doesn't do justice to the vehicle). The other change needed is to reduce the size of the ignition key (way too big!).

Pros
Great vehicle to begin with. Great value overall. Fun to drive with all the "creature comforts!"

Cons
Because "Hyundai" still isn't perceived as a "high end" brand name, the car's value depreciates a bit faster. No matter, it's still a "heck off a buy!"

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/05/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Genesis"

The Genesis has been hands down the best vehicle that I have ever bought. I am not only satisfied but so happy that I will continue to be a Genesis fan for a very long time. I recently had my car in the shop for almost three months while Genesis replaced my engine due to mechanical issues after 6 years, but they were exceptional with me and loaned me a newer Genesis which I must say that I was not excited about the front grill but the car drives like it is being driven for you. The control the vehicle had and the extras which only enhanced the ride every time I got into the car. I think that if everyone had the same chance to enjoy and experience a vehicle like this, they would not return to their BMW or Mercedes, that they would find if not better the comfort and ride but more importantly the dependability of the car and its reliability by the owner. The one side of the cons if there has to be any would be the navigation system and the alarm system on the vehicle. Otherwise it is an exceptional car for all to own.

Pros
The overall car itself is all a plus, the handling the reliability the dependability and just the style outside of the front grill and all of the workmanship.

Cons
The only cons as mentioned before are the Navigation System Alarm System

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/01/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2011 Genesis 4.6"

This car has plenty of power, with lots of great electronic features. So far, my only problem with the car has been with the paint on the bumpers. The bright white exterior paint on my car develops brown freckles. I first noticed it on the rear bumper of my car, and Hyundai had the area repainted at their expense. About two years later, a second area on the rear bumper developed the same problem, and also developed a bubble that seem to trap rainwater between the paint and the bumper. Again, Hyundai repaired the problem at their expense. During my last service visit, the same freckling has appeared on my front bumper. Not sure Hyundai will cover the repair of this problem.

Pros
Power and electronic features in car

Cons
Paint on bumpers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/30/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Great car, great price"

Bought our Genesis pre-owned from Fitzgerald's in Rockville. It has all the bells and whistles expected in a luxury sedan at a much lower price point.

Pros
Price, style, reliability, value

Cons
Not as good as our SUV in the snow...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 186 in total