2012
Hyundai
Genesis

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77

562 Reviews

Latest review 1 day ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KL
Kenneth L.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/17/2018
Great Vehicle with Great Features
I love my Genesis sedan. The features and amenities are great. The only downside has been several functions that have prematurely failed or malfunctioned. At 32k miles the brakes and rotors had to be replaced. Hyundai was great to perform this replacement under warranty. At 75k miles the backup camera has failed and is non-operational. This seems to be premature for this type of equipment failure.

Pros
Comfort and ride at highway speeds
Features and amenities offered

Cons
Premature failure of certain equipment like brakes and back-up camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Rodger R.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/16/2018
review of 2012 Genesis
Not overall happy with my car. when received had to have a lot of repainting. complained of radio problems never fixed properly still malfunctions. Seats not lasting even with extra care. suspension getting sloppy after 5 years. water on trunk lid falls into trunk when opened.

Pros
nice peppy car and it looks good.

Cons
poor paint job. brakes go out fast with normal driving. bad radio. seats do not hold up. water on rear hood fall in trunk. Head light leaks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jerry M.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2018
2012 Genesis
This is the first Genesis I have ever owned. My Genesis now has 115,000 miles on it. I have had zero problems with this magnificent car. Along with the power of this vehicle, it has an 8 speed transmission that is Silky Smooth. Gas mileage for this size of a car is absolutely wonderful. The leather in my Genesis is absolutely perfect. You would think with a hundred fourteen thousand miles on this vehicle that the leather would be worn or torn or faded. None of these things have happened to this leather. The Lexicon stereo system is the most powerful clear sounding system I have ever owned 14 speakers of pure power and clarity. I have on many vehicles in the past, this is without a doubt the best one I have ever owned. I will only drive Genesis from this time forward.

Pros
It has the power of a V8. 330 horsepower for a 3.8 engine. Nicest stereo system I have ever listened to. Soft leather seats that are very very comfortable on Long rides.

Cons
I truly cannot think of any cons on this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Horace M.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2018
Genesis ..more bang for the buck
I purchased this 2012 Genesis w/31K miles in 2015 and given all of its features I thought that was a very good deal.24K miles later I still feel that way.
I often recommend this vehicle to others as a good deal in its class.

Pros
handles well, looks good, maintenance is reasonable, gas milage ok, superior sound system and a lot of bang for your buck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Ron H.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2018
Genesis 3.8
Next to the Cadillac Seville that I owned previously, this is the finest road car I've owned. It performs well under most any conditions. I'm able to get very good gas mileage when driving on the freeway and it handles well.

Pros
great ride, very good performance

Cons
Steering is harder than usual.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Lynn W.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2018
Older Car Great Satisfaction
I purchased this as a certified Pre Owned vehicle, even though this car is a 2012 I find great satisfaction with the purchase. It has low milage, wonderful reliability, and driving comfort. I am a retired school teacher and while driving this car, I feel safe and secure on the road. In the next year, I will probably shop for another more recent year of the Genesis or even a G80 but I am certain that I will do business with Fitzgerald once again. Even if problems arise, if you follow the proper channels, most situations are resolved with the costumer satisfaction policy in place.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
James L.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2018
2012 Hyundai Genesis
375 horespower, smooth and quiet ride, and luxury appointments. Wow!! I can run with my friends in Nissan Z's, BMWs, Lexus and anything else. Good luck Mustangs and Camaros!!
And I have air conditioned seats!!! No more swamp back.
Drive one and it is so much for fun a great price. And no timing belt to replace. Great price and great car.
The biggest expense so far has been tires at 60k miles.

Pros
My wide rump fits easily. The ride and comfort remind me of my old 2004 Park Avenue.

Cons
Slight lag in acceleration when at a full stop.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OK
Ojong K.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2018
Best car Genesis
I never had a problem with my Genesis since 2012. It is best built in engine quality and very comfortable to ride. Lots of power to diving. Also,it is very good mileage on gas. I have a full tank to drive from Baltimore, Maryland to Portland, Maine. I will buy again.

Pros
Best

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Judy J.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
Hyundai Genesis
I couldn’t ask for a better vehicle. Great performance, smooth ride and if you want luxury & a sports car with speed this is the car! Love my Genesis! Durable and dependable vehicle. The body style & look of the 2012 model is my favorite.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Alvin A.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/22/2018
Hidden Gem
I’ve been the owner of a 2012 Hyundai Genesis 4.6 for over two years. The vehicle is extremely reliable and has numerous premium standard features. I’ve owned Lexus vehicles and the Genesis is a great comparison.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
George F.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2018
2012 Hyundai Genesis Review
I have had my Genesis for 6 years now, and still love it. I have over 67,000 miles on it and have replaced only 2 of the orig. tires, I was told the other 2 tires can go another 1,000 miles. Overall great value for the money.

Pros
Size and power (330 hp), Great value for the $. I chose this vehicle over the Lexus ES and saved over $6,000. I am not sorry I brought this car. Spacious trunk capacity.

Cons
Battery in the trunk, Resale or trade-in value is considerably less than the 2012 Lexus 2012.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Paul M.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2018
best car value ever
I hope I get to drive this car for 10 more years, especially if my cruise control is ever fixed. Large interior and large trunk. Most feautures still work in my 20`2 cruise control. I hope I get to drive this car for 10 more years .

Pros
some electronic glitches

Cons
reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
Hilton B.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2018
Vehicle review.
Great car , would buy another one. No problem with my Genesis.Battery died on me once , but that happens with every car.No other problem. Takes regular gas also unlike other premium cars that takes premium gasoline, which can get really expensive really really quick.

Pros
older model has the best styling

Cons
NO complaint

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Ronnie F.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2018
Worth every dollar...
My 2012 Genesis is my first Hyundai automobile and I'm convinced in purchasing another one in the near future... Its a quiet and smooth ride and handle the road great with a little muscle as well. Love it ...

Pros
Great overall bang for the buck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Demorris T.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/13/2018
Love this car but...
I really love this car. All of the convent features. Great on gas and very comfortable and capable. The tech is not quite right. USB port sub part and just a little cramped interior. Overall a great car

Pros
Great engine pickup full of convent features

Cons
A little cramped front a. Connectivity is not great

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Clarence B.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
Great Car.
Personally I love this car. It drives great and very comfortable. I'm 6'3" tall I sit and drive comfortable in it I don't think I would buy any other car. I would definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone I know.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
Kathryn A.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2018
Great car
Best car I’ve ever owned. Comfortable, stylish, dependable. Can’t count how many times my Genesis 4.6 sedan draws attention from other car owners with much more expensive vehicles. They want to know who made it and are surprised that it is a Hyundai. Have had multiple offers to purchase it, from both dealers and private individuals. No way.

Pros
Stylish, comfortable, dependable.

Cons
None I can think of except they discontinued the 4.6 engine, for those wanting to purchase the newish Genesis.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gloria S.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
You gotta drive it to believe it...
This is what luxury looks like, the design and features are outstanding. The ride is as smooth as any you'll get in a car and the interior is so spacious, plenty of room to stretch you legs in the back and lots of head room. Definitely worth the investment, and the 10 year 100,000 mile warranty is the bomb.

Pros
Great gas mileage and runs perfect on 87 octane.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Toi B.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2018
Great car
I as so satisfied with my car. I never thought I would own a luxury vehicle and then I got my genesis. It the best car ever! It’s fun to drive everyone thinks I have a Mercedes. I just love the overall.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Doug H.
2012 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2018
Best Car EVER!!!
MY car is an absolute pleasure to drive.
I must wax poetic "To drive it is to Love it".
****************************************************************************************************************

Pros
TNTC to numerous to count

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 562 in total