Style image original

2012
Hyundai
Genesis

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77

410 Reviews

Latest review 7 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 10/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Still the One "

Five years have passed and the Genesis 4.6 still runs and looks great. It still turns heads.

Pros
The car runs great!

Cons
Nagging issues the first couple of years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best Vehicle Ever"

This is a car that the more you drive it the more you like it. Hyundai's are the most quit vehicle ever. Wind noise is next to 0. They just keep getting better. If you have never driven a Genesis then you are doing yourself a disservice.

Pros
Everything. There isn't much I can think of that should have been done differently. Very well thought out and Hyundai's have the best warranty in the industry.

Cons
The age of the vehicle. Every year the auto industry make big strides in electronics. While everything in this vehicle is great it is not as good as the newest vehicles solely because the advancements in electronics

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/13/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2012 Genesis"

I absolutely love my Genesis I've had it for 5 years and in five years only had one problem

Pros
Great car

Cons
The only problem is the wind noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/13/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Except"

Rides well fun to drive

Pros
Great styling

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/13/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The Hyundai Experience"

The performance of the Genesis is phenomenon it handles as designed luxury with built in speed Sporty. It holds it weight and worth along side of S-Class Mercedes and Lexus products. I continuously get compliments and a few people have offered to buy it. There surprise it is a 2012 most people think it is brand new. It has been very reliable and the quality of the build is outstanding. My sister test drove my car once and a few months later purchased a 2014 Genesis and she is head over hills in love with the car. It is worth every penny spent!!!!! I say treat it well it will take care of you the same.

Pros
Keep rolling out the Genesis

Cons
The body dents to easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2012 Hyundai Genesis R-Spec"

I totally love the car so far approaching 100,000 miles and have not had to make any major repairs just the upkeep of brakes and brake disc oil changes and that's it very powerful and comfortable vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/09/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"This Genesis is great"

Good driving vehicle. reliable.

Pros
Looks great, drives great, quiet ride

Cons
gas mileage not the best. interior could be better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/08/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My GENESIS "

I've always wanted a Genesis so when I bought this one I wanted a particular model which was is the 2012 and I am extremely happy with it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/08/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I live my little Genesis "

I travel from Miami to Hagerstown. It is so nice to drive in my car. I am always getting complaints on its looks but more importantly it is so comfortable to drive!

Pros
Easy handling, safe on the highway and comfortable to drive long distances

Cons
It is easy to go too fast!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/07/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"love this car"

we love our 2012 genesis this is our 2 nd 1 we had 2 get rid of our 1 st 1 due to bankruptcy we then got a g 35 which we did not like because of the interiour space we then found a nother 2012 genesis got rid of the g 35 n have been loving this ever since the only thing i dont like is the adaptive cruise control it really is a big safety concern 2 me which i could turn it off thanks

Pros
lots of room rear sunshade quiet nice design i could go on and on about this we just love it u get alot of looks driving this car

Cons
adaptive cruise control

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/06/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best ever"

Excellent vehicle. Has all the amenities that the big name car companies
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/06/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"genesis - great car1"

Love my 2012 Genesis. 85,000 miles later, still quiet, comfortable and easy/inexpensive to maintain.

Pros
Sturdy, quiet ride, great handling, comfortable.

Cons
Not a one. Great vehicle!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/06/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Comfortable and Smooth "

We love our Genesis and enjoy going on road trips with it. It has a first class interior, beautiful lines and plenty of power for a V6.

Pros
Comfort, Power, interior, minimum road noise

Cons
n/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/05/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"awesome car but need to repair several times in 5yrs "

Performance is still good and I really like to drive my Genesis. However I need to repair several times in 5yrs. The transmission was replaced in about 18 months, front window was replaced in about 3-4 years, rubber sealer of panoramic moon roof was replaced in about 5 years, wipers was replaced in about 6 months, and audio system was malfunction sometimes in about 3 years. Most of problems were under warranty so Hyundai paid. However I had to take day off every time and I must go dealer at least twice for each repair. Front window was cracked naturally but it took so long until they agree. I visited 3 times for showing the issue. One more thing, as everybody know many people use mp3 or thumb drive for listening music instead CD. I just tried to use CD player 5 years after purchase this vehicle and I found that CD was not loaded. I asked dealer and they wanted to investigate. They said I need replace entire audio system. That is why I never ever play CD in my Genesis. However customer service care of US Hyundi Service Team for Genesis and Equus, especially Korean crew are really good. They always help customer as customer side. I appreciate their effort. Thank you.

Pros
Design, Driving Performance

Cons
durability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/05/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"My Genesis R Spec"

LOVE this car...only one complaint... engine eats COILS... ..company is investigating the reason... hopefully will get to.the root cause... our only complaint...

Pros
GREAT CAR... we LOVE IT... Don't like the new body style as much as the 2012... so.will be keeping it for a long time

Cons
Consistent problem with the engine eating COILS... have a case study with company on it... hoping they can get to.thd root cause... our only complaint

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/03/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Beautiful vehicle"

Beautiful vehicle

Pros
Love this vehicle. Has all the features I love.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!"

Bob is GREAT! He was able to effectively communicate with the warranty company (Fidelity) after they initially denied my claim for a new engine. Bob explained to them the exact issue with my 2012 Genesis 5.0R and after many discussions going back and forth, Bob was able to secure an engine with 4,000 miles. That is in essence a new engine compared to the 93,000 that I had currently. It took about 3 weeks in total and I was provided with a loaner. Great job making it happen. I'm very happy that his expertise and customer service was able to get the job done.

Pros
I love everything about the car.

Cons
Lag when accelerating. Engine had to be replaced due to crack in the cylinder.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2012 R-spec"

Could not be happier with my Genesis R-spec. Every time I drive it it's like the first time! Very classy looking vehicle with attitude mixed in. I parked beside a Mercedes and as I was coming out of the store I watched the owner of the Mercedes walk by his car to the Genesis. He was standing at the driver's door and clicking his fob wondering why the door didn't unlock. I walked up to him chuckling inside and said, "sir the Mercedes is over there". Would love to have another of the same year, "twin Gens"!

Pros
Everything you want in a luxury performance car, "head turner".

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/25/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great car"

Great car with many features that is smooth, comfortable and fun to drive, both in town or on the highway.

Pros
Great car that is smooth, comfortable and fun to drive, both in town or on the highway.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/24/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Bought it and never looked back"

People compare to Mercedes and my car always beats them hands down.

Pros
Awesome car

Cons
Upgrade the shocks and handling to beat competitors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 410 in total