2009
Hyundai
Genesis

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82

249 Reviews

Latest review about 12 hours ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NA
Norman A.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
Comfort and style
I currently own a blue 2009 Genesis, which I purchased in 2012. The color remains incredible to this day.
The sleek style gives the car uniqueness. People do double takes looking at the car.
Suspension is far above all other makes and models.
Fuel mileage is comfortable.
Only downfall is the front wheel drive. Not good in snow, but I’m cool with that. Maintenance isn’t too bad.
Extremely satisfied with my Genesis.

Pros
Comfort

Cons
Driving in snow. Poor traction

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2018
2009 Genesis
I inherited this car from my mom with 45K. It has been a strong car mostly except I had a major challenge with an electrical problem. It took a special mechanic to repair the issue. I spent $3K before finally getting the problem fixed for $125. That is why I only gave 4 stars. Also, I have had issues with the opening/closing of the moon roof three times. It is fast and powerful.

Pros
strong
fast
spacious

Cons
Electrical problem where the vehicle stopped running while driving - scary.
Dealerships could not fix, but charged lots of money to try solutions

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Patricia G.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2018
2009 4.6L Genesis
Still going strong. Purchased new in 2009 and traded in my Mercedes Benz for this Genesis. I have been very happy with the car - love the style, reliability and power of the 8 cylinder. Looks sedate, but can really open up! Car has low mileage, since we are a multi-car family and I typically have no need for frequent, lengthy trips. Friends love riding in comfort. Only negative I have is that the car is stiff when going over any bumps in the road - otherwise the ride is smooth and comfortable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/05/2018
MyVehicle Experiences
Very satisfied with vehicle. Repairs are sometimes costly for simple things, i.e., interior back light bulb, back door lock, and other little things. Vehicle offers a great ride. It looks good. Gas mileage is great city and highway. Styling is better than current





genesis..

Pros
Gas mileage is great. Styling draws eyes. Persons want to know who makes this car. Great looks. Looks like Rolls Royce

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Stanley D.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/24/2018
Genesis
This car is a thoroughbred. It has provided excellent service without any major service. It runs well, has great performance and still looks good after 175,000 miles. On the freeway at a steady 70 mph, one can still get 30 miles to the gallon and that is with a v6. Incredible. .

Pros
Great build quality
very, very reliable

Cons
Older model, no backup camera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Curtis S.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2018
excellent car
I purchased a 2009 Hyundai Genesis 4.6 with 130,000 with the technology package. The car has an eloquent look. The car is roomy. The seats are very plush with top grain leather. The speakers a good. This eight cylinder engine is power and fast. I averaged over 65 miles per hour and averaged 30 miles per gallon. I traveled over 400 miles on a single take of gas. I have one complaint. On smooth roads the ride is soft. On bumby roads the ride is bumpy. I am very happy with my purchase.

Pros
Reliable, attractive look, roomy, fast, great highway mileage, good speakers, lots of nice features.

Cons
Bumby ride over rough roads. Only 17 mpg in the city.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kay P.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/10/2018
We really love our Genesis!
We have always really enjoyed driving or riding in our Genesis. We have kept this car longer than any other car we have ever owned. It drives good, rides good, and people are always saying what good looking car it is.

Pros
Drives and runs good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OW
Orrin W.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/06/2018
I purchased my 2009 Hyundai Genesis new. The car has given me good service with minimum mechanical problems. Replacing a bulb here or there over a period of 9 years speaks volumes about the stability of the Genesis. I am satisfied that purchased a good luxury car at fair price.
Overall my 2009 V-8 Genesis has been a great car. I only have about 52,000 actual miles. I try and keep my car in excellent condition by changing oil and scheduled maintenance. I would recommend the Genesis to anyone that would like a luxury car that is quality built and not out rageously expensive. The V-8 that I have gets about 25 to 26 miles a gallon on the highway. I am pleased to own a Genesis.

Pros
Good quality

Cons
The car only came with driver side seat cooling only on the 2009 V-8 Genesis. I don't understand why both front seats were not equipped with cooling. The front seats are equipped with built-in heating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
Wesley C.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/03/2018
2009 still a luxury
Found this 2009 Genesis online, went buy and wanted it. The car I've wanted for a while, just used Jedi mind trick on wife to get. These cars have come along way. They have loyal repeat return buyers.

Pros
All good, the bells and whistles. Feel like I'm driving a Lexus or Mercedes for a fraction. It's a car

Cons
Bought used, don't like the exterior color, but it's a car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
David B.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2018
My 09 Genesis
My 2009 Genesis has been a superb vehicle from the first day we purchased it new from Priority Hyundai. Other than routine maintenance, brakes, tires, etc, it has been trouble free which turned out to be a broken hose on the filler piece/cap. We now have over 145,000 miles on it and given its trouble free performance we expect to put many thousand more miles on it. When it does come time to purchase a replacement vehicle, I will be looking closely at the new G8 or G9 Hyundai Genesis.

Pros
A top quality vehicle.

Cons
Cost for the purchase of a new Genesis is a little be off setting but ultimately work the money. Wish it had more performance under the hood!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/25/2018
I love my Genesis
My 2009 Genesis is my all time favorite auto purchase. I especially like it’s classic understated luxury style, it’s many accessories. It’s audio system is totally awesome. On the road it rides like a dream. I can only imagine what the new Genesis is like but mine is still noteworthy.

Pros
Overall styling interior and exterior. Smooth ride on highways. Awesome audio speakers.comfortable seating. Plenty of accessories.

Cons
Audio amp went out at 30,000 miles,original tires were awful had to get rid of them. Rough riding experience until about 100,000 Miles. Inability to save channels on audio system. Lighting of headlights. Racist dealership.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YL
Yang L.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2018
2009 Genises
Best car I have ever owned. Purchased new in December 2008. It is still in excellent condition. I have had many complents on the beauty of my Genius and am proud to be its owner. I recommend Hyundai vehicles to anyone looking to purchase a car and in fact, my granddaughter recently bought a new Elantra.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Stuart S.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2018
2009 Genesis
I love my 2009 Genesis. The newer models may be a bit too pricey. I hope that Hyundia can have a base model for the year 2018 or the future that is priced in the mid 30,000 range. If not it have a comp model that is in the mid 30's.

Pros
Wonderful car on the road

Cons
New vehicles are expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
Kathy E.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2018
Hyundai Genesis 2009 Sedan
Best car overall that I have even owned. I have had very little maintenance on this vehicle and I intend to keep it!!!!!!! Gas mileage is wonderful on highway driving.
The ride is really comfortable.

Pros
Ride, gas mileage, low cost maintenance

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Brett T.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2018
Absolutely love the car
Everything about are Genesis is a wonderful experience. From the excellent ride, handling and comfort to it's amazing looks. Our expectations for the car have been superceded. It's very comfortable and luxurious, but also very fast. We were pleasantly surprised that the gas milage is better than we had expected as well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Leon D.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/03/2018
78000 mile checkin.
My 4.6 Genny continues to hum like a kitten. The v8 is fun to drive. The suspension could be tighter as well as the steering but it’s still fun especially with performance tires. A couple of intermittent rattles are annoying but overall I continue to like the car. FYI - I have always used Top Tier Premium Gasoline and full synthetic oil. Rear brakes are still original.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Allen B.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/02/2018
Outstanding car - Love my Genesis!!
Outstanding vehicle, smooth ride, great acceleration (8 cylinder), classic design look, still turns heads 6yrs after model year, best warranty 5yr/60K miles bumper to bumper...poor design for water running off trunk when you open trunk, passenger mirror blocks view at intersections...

Pros
Outstanding overall value...layout of interior controls very good...best warranty 50k miles/ 5yrs bumper to bumper...

Cons
Poor design - passenger side mirror can block view at intersections...water that runs off the trunk will leak into the trunk when you open to it...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OB
Orville B.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/01/2018
My Genesis 2009
One of the first to own a GENESIS fully loaded package in MA - Love the Car - only downside - i needed AWD which is now available.(6-7 years later) I Will upgrade when Hyundai makes me an outstanding offer as a 10 yrs customer (having to wait 6 years for AWD) with 3 cars in the family. (1 Hyundai, 1 mercedes, 1 BMW) I feel the move to make Genesis an independent dealer is great but lets not blow up the prices as you will lose customer as the market choices are great these days. Excellent automobiles - comfort and performance are untouchable...(Recommend You change the rear lights and move to 10 touch screens on new cars) 300k later i still can cruise at 110-120 mph even across the Mojave desert - in that heat (my great service maintenance is key) Time to change but if it is not broken - I am in no hurry to change. "Well done Hyundai Genesis"

Pros
Well built style and performance, great comfort, love the handling

Cons
smoother quieter AWD, loyal customer pricing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Leah M.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2018
wonderful car! great value
Bought this model the first year it was in production. I had always had sport or luxury cars and friends thought I was crazy to get a Hyundai. But I knew a good value when I saw it, and it has been a great car. Smooth ride, plenty of power (even though it's the smaller engine), comfortable interior. The transmission is excellent - I live in a hilly area and the gear ratios when I use select shift are perfect, allowing me to control the car with gearing instead of riding brakes - 45,000 miles on the car, still 30% brake life remaining. That's amazing for a vehicle that has to go down a 3 mile steep grade everyday. Haven't had a single mechanical problem in 9 years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Ron K.
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/28/2018
Tops
Good looking vehicle and fun to drive. I would buy a new one but I don't like the looks--too boxy. The price of the new models
is too much money. You've priced me out of the market. I would look at the Azera perhaps.

Pros
Awfully good looking--too bad later models got too boxy.

Cons
Engine noise, although you get used to it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 249 in total