2003
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.89/5Overall Rating 4.89/5Overall Rating 4.89/5Overall Rating 4.89/5rating 4.89
4.9
(47 Reviews)
Latest review 25 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JK
jim K.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Our Sonata
So, we tried many cars out before we found this one, back in 2003. It drove very smoothly, was quite reasonably priced, and was very comfortable. Fast forward to today, and we still have it, and drive it daily. This car is fantastic...over 200,000 miles, and still runs smooth and comfortable! We have had regular maintenance, oil changes, etc., however, only a couple of major problems...Key Fobs going out and hard to find and replace, plus the air conditioner went out, and we had to replace the compressor. Right now, we need a front end alignment, but, in 15 years, that is not bad. If we had to do it all over again, this car would still be our choice!

Pros
Smooth driving, and long lasting ...our car is 15 years old and still enjoy driving it. The V6 engine still gets 25 to 26 MPG on the highway, with over 200,000 miles. We would do it again!

Cons
Paint around the exterior door handles has peeled away due to weathering, si the doors handles are white, the rest of the car is Silver Gray...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jesse A.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2019
MY 2003 HYUNDAI SONATA
I'M! VERY PLEASED! WITH MY 2003 HYUNDAI SONATA! IT'S VERY DEPENDABLE! IT RIDES GREAT! IT PERFORMS WELL ON THE HIGHWAY! IT'S DURABLE! RELIABLE! HANDLE THE ROADS WELL! WHETHER ON SIDE STREETS! OR HIGHWAY!

Pros
RELIABLE!

Cons
NONE!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
RENEE A.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/19/2018
Workhorse
My 2nd Sonata. Seriously dependable. Love the sunroof (moonroof?!? what's the difference?) Next one will have heated leather seats. Newer ones are very nice! If you have an issue with brake lights not working, trying having the rubber grommet replaced. Do not listen to the dealer telling you it's the fuse box!

Pros
Diehard!

Cons
Such a diehard that I am driving a 15 year old car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Reinaldo R.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
Beautiful
Sweet and stylish and fun to drive luxury to the eyes looks are like Mercedes and jaguar three cars in one love it and cars motor is noticeable with excellent exhilaration and dependable with safety A

Pros
Great engine

Cons
Side window chrome detachment over time paint erodes on handles over time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Agnes R.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2018
Longevity of Vehicle
We keep regular scheduled maintenance service and our 2003 Sonata gives us a quiet and smooth ride. It still looks good; we are always given compliments. We keep it refreshed with nice fragrances, also.

Pros
When purchasing our next vehicle, it will definitely be a Hyundai

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Carole K.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2018
2003 Hyndai Sonata
I LOVE my car. It is 15 years old already, but I DON'T want to give it up. The way it drives and handles makes me feel like I am driving a catillac! Recently the Sonata model has come back to what I like. A few years they were producing cars that reminded me of a Ford sedan which I didn't like. I haven't hit 100K miles on it yet, but hope to keep it for many more years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Cindy J.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2018
Sonata
I love everything about my Sonata it drives wonderful and rides very smooth the size is perfect for four people to take a long trip. I have had very little mechanical issues with this vehicle other than basic stuff. I will buy another one or Hyundai product without any question. I hope to have this car for a long time.

Pros
I love my Sonata . My 2003 Sonata has been very dependable and I have pretty much only had it in for basic repairs and I have 144,000.00 miles on it. I would buy another Hyndai product with out any questions.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Ken H.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2018
My Sonata has been a joy to own. Very low maintance when properly serviced.
Have had few problems . Outside door handle paint. Inside door handle chrome peeling. Radio cuts on and off. No repair was ever found other than replacing with aftermarket. Vehicle runs well and is very dependable.

Pros
Low maint.

Cons
Radio, Interior lock handles chrome peeling, exterior door handles paint peeling.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jesse A.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2018
MY "03" SONATA!
I'M! VERY PLEASED! WITH MY "03" HYUNDAI SONATA CAR! WITH IT'S SMOOTH RIDE! & DURABILITY! ON THE HIGHWAY! & RESIDENTIAL STREETS! MY "03" HYUNDAI SONATA! HAS GOTTEN! A LOT OF COMPLIMENTS! FROM FAMILIES! & FRIENDS!

Pros
I'M! VERY SATISFIED! WITH MY "03" HYUNDAI SONATA!

Cons
NONE!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Angelita W.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/24/2018
Nice Car but known to have trouble starting
I bought this car from a private owner for my teenage daughter a few months ago. In the beginning I thought it was the best car ever. No problems, until it started having problems starting after you gas up. The problem got worse to the point where its hard to start every time. We have replaced the Purge Valve, Throttle Body Sensor and the Idle Air Control (IAC) Valve and it's still having problems. Next step is the fuel pump and praying that will fix the problem.
Besides all of that, I love the car. It drives and rides nice.

Pros
Love the look and how comfortable it is. It is fun to drive.

Cons
Engine problems - known for having problems starting after the adding gas. Usually after the initial start up issue the problem goes away. But will eventually get worse.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mary B.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2018
Great , dependable car
This car has been dependable and pretty much care free for 15 yrs! I have loved owning this car....but I guess it's time for a new one...which will probably be another Hyundai! My 3003 sonata has over 176,000 miles on it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EO
Edward O.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2018
15 Years of dependable duty.
Our 2003 Sonata has taken us many places during the past 15 years since we purchased it new in 2003. On family trips across much of our country our Sonata has delivered us to each destination safe and sound. It now does duty as our second car to our 2015 Sonata. We have never owned cars previously as dependable and as roadworthy as our 2003 and 2015 Hyundai Sonatas!

Pros
Comfortable, reliable, dependable, economical. A great value

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Carol C.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/02/2018
Love My Sonata
This is one of the best cars that I have ever had. No I take that back it is the best car I have ever owned.
That is why I have kept it so long. It is top of the line and worth every penny I paid for it. Its priceless to me!

Pros
Everything!

Cons
Not any!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ET
Ellen T.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2018
2003 Hyundai Sonata
This Sonata was / is my fantasy car. I could not afford it when it came out. In 2013 when my 2004 Hyundai Elantra was totaled, I had the opportunity of a life time to purchase the car I always desired. It is extremely spacious and drives like a dream . I have the sun roof open as often as the weather permits and you can hear me singing like no one is listening. The general maintenance costs have been minimal and I plan to drive this car til it doesn't run anymore.

Pros
There are no blind spots

Cons
Rear wheel wells have rusted ... sigh ... will have repaired when funds become available

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sharron D.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/17/2017
Great Car
I love my 2003 Sonata. My car has never given me any serious problems. I have my car serviced when it is time at Pohanka.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jimmy H.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2017
My Sonsta
I think I will never have another car like this 2003 Sonsta. It has never disappointed me in any way. So reliable. Still stylish comfortable and dependable.

Pros
All the snove

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Herbert M.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2017
My Sonata is dependable
Even though the comfort may not be the best, it has never let me down.

Pros
It have tremendous traffic merging power

Cons
The seats are not comfortable for long drives.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YF
Yolanda F.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2017
A great car
I traded my Elantra in for the 2003 Sonata because I liked the new body style of the Sonata. I got the 4 cyl to save on gas was my main goal. I took the car for all its routine maintenace and never had any major problems. I love my Sonata and I'm still driving it and it still runs great. But cars were and are very goog cars no regrets.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Ashley B.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2017
In love!
I love my car so much, I might be selling it soon to upgrade to a newer sonata and I might shed a tear, this car has treated me so well! Love it!

Pros
Smooth ride, amazing stereo system, leather, overall beautiful car :)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Denise P.
2003 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/20/2017
14 Years Strong
I am the sole owner of my 2003 Sonata. I service it regularly and according to recommended schedule. It is a great car with few major repairs, due to general wear and tear. Gas mileage could be better, but it is average compared to other 2003 cars. When I pump gas, it constantly cuts off, like its full. I've read this is typical for this model car. It's irritating to say the least.

Pros
Built to last. Dependable.

Cons
Pumping gas is now a chore, as the fuel tank reads full and shuts pump off, even when its not full.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 47 in total