2004
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(83 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EL
Elaine L.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2017
Best car I ever owned.
Reliable,comfortable, great handling.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Julia D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2017
Hyundai repair my 2004 Sonata
This vehicle was hit by a U-Haul truck, hit and run with car in parking space. Of course the person driving U-Haul didn't stick around so my Insurance had to pay for my car repairs. Over $1000.00. My car was repair by Hyundai body shop. They did an awesome job.

Pros
Love the comfort of driving this vehicle has over 136,000 miles.

Cons
Door handles lost the paint had to have them painted again. Trim over the doors had to be replaced.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Edward S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/12/2017
Great vehicle
I have had my 04 sonata gls for over 3 years without a glitch wonderful product

Pros
Durable and reliable

Cons
Would prefer the i4 over the v6 only do to fuel economy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tina H.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/06/2017
Reliable
This car is comfortable and dependable. It is a little crazy for the timing belt maintenance. But other than that , no complaints.

Pros
Dependable

Cons
Pricy routine maintenance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
John T.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/01/2017
Excellent Car!
With regular maintenance and care....our 2004 Hyundai has been a remarkable car! Don't have 100,000 miles on it yet...but close. This car is a great size, nice looking and has held up beautifully. I hope the seats are more comfortable on the new models but this hasn't been a big problem. Great trunk space, leather interior. Had problems with dvd player when we purchased car and then for a few years. Don't know what happened but it has cleared up. I would recommend a Hyundai Sonata to anyone looking for a new or used car. It has exceeded our expectations.

Pros
Great Size.
Dependability
Great Trunk Space
Nice Style inside and out
This engine won't quit!

Cons
seats a little hard
dvd player problems first few years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Sandra T.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/14/2017
Reliable vehicle
Reliable vehicle- no major repairs or services needed in 13 years of ownership
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Julia D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/06/2017
2004 Sonata
It has been a great vehicle it has 150,00 plus miles. Still going strong my family driving it now. I bought a 2014 Genesis it is awesome vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Arnie H.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/14/2017
Car
Excellent car, dependable, Good looking,
Handles great, very comfortable.
Good mileage.

Pros
Great car!

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lisa M.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2017
My Hyundai Sonata that I bought new in 2004 from Hyundai
I would recommend the Hyundai Sonata to everyone. I have always had Hyundai do ALL maintenance and take care of any problems for my Sonata. I now have over 130,000 miles and this car is still running like new.

Pros
This car has always run great for me and no really bad problems.

Cons
There really is no cons for this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARYJO W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/01/2017
My first new automobile! I was fortunate in buying this 2004 Hyundai Sonata new ~ and have been very happy!
I have never had a major problem with this car.
I make sure I keep the oil changed when needed!!
I have been very, very happy in owning this 2004 Hyundai Sonata!
I love the outside features of this vehicle: sunroof, front lights, chrome-siding, large trunk (inside).
I truly can't say enough about this make and model of Hyundai's 2004 Sonata!
Can sit three in back seat comfortably.

Pros
I have always told people and said I would (buy) another Hyundai, which make, I don't know, as I always liked the Sonata!!
I have never had any major problems with this 2004 vehicle!
It is comfortable for my family & friends!

Cons
LEFT & RIGHT REAR CORNERS - BLINDSPOTS!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Diane G.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/05/2017
Good
I love my car

Pros
Great car.

Cons
It's now old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Timothy L.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/03/2017
2004 Hyundai Sonata is a Best Buy
This car has been one of the most reliable cars that I have owned . I am at 168,000 miles and it still runs consistently with the power and reliability of a new car . I hope I can get another 100,000 out of this car because I don't ever want to have to trade it in for something else .

Pros
Excellent performance and reliability . Plenty of trunk space . All electrical and mechanical features are still working properly after 13 years of use ; won't find many new these days to live up to that reputation .

Cons
Wish had better gas mileage , but it is a V6 and I get 22 mpg after 160,000 miles . I find that I have low headroom entering the car : I am 5'11' .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EU
Elizabeth U.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2017
Love my Sonata
It's a little old but still running
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Andrew S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/21/2016
Great Car!
Drives like a dream! Love my car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Patricia W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/24/2016
Love My Hyundai!
I LOVE my 2004 Hyundai!!!!!!!!!! Maintenance and service has been pretty care free and relatively inexpensive. People are surprised that I've kept the car so long. But I love the sleek body style and the windows offer good visibility and the interior is comfortable. My paint however needs help. Thanks Hyundai for a great car!

Pros
99%

Cons
Paint deterioration (started happening sometime ago).
Window relay went out twice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Darinda P.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/16/2016
A CAR THAT KEEPS ON GOING
My 2004 Hyundai Sonata is in awesome shape. I bring all of my service needs to Pearson Hyundai Service Center, and they have done an outstanding job taking care of my car. Just recently, my odometer hit 250,000 miles! I thank Hyundai for making such a great car that lasts and having amazing customer service.

Pros
Perfect car

Cons
N/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lynda H.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/11/2016
owner
dependable, good value. this is my third Hyundai.

Pros
worthy

Cons
some repairs seem expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Ronald C.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/29/2016
My 2004 Hyundai Sonata
It is big enough for 5 people, but is very reasonable on gas mileage

Pros
GREAT car for the price

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nadine B.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/24/2016
2004 Sonata
I purchased my car in March of 2004 from then, Hallmark Hyundai. I have gone to Spokane from Walla Walla twice a year for the service. In March of 2016 I had the first major work done on the car. The car is comfortable and,for me at age 84, easy to drive. I feel very safe in the car.

Pros
Love it.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Darreon W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/16/2016
It's okay ....
It's an okay car it has a lot of issues at times under the hoo but it gets me where I need to go and is great on gas

Pros
It's great on gas
Easy and cheap to fix
Can come in ether manual or automatic or both
Has sun roof

Cons
Engine issues and needs safer structure for as building

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 83 in total