2005
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(73 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VC
VICKIE C.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
2005 Hyundai Sonata Service
My aging 2005 Hyundai is still giving me good service. If you take care of your car today's car can give you good service. If the time comes to replace the car it will be a Hyundai that I would buy again.

Pros
My 2005 has a tape deck and CD and both are still used. Good leg room in the back seat and comfortable seating front and back seats. Driving was smooth and great pickup.

Cons
No backup camera. The new cars have all the fancy features that I get along without but the camera would be nice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YC
Yvonne C.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2019
2005 Hyundai Sonata
This is a super vehicle and though it is getting older, I am extremely reluctant to sell it and buy something I might like less visually and in terms of the way it handles on the road. The newer models do not seem to have such a feeling of spaciousness and expansive view of the road.

Pros
As above

Cons
It doesn't have high tech electronics but I don't want or need all that stuff as it is all available anyway just by using one's phone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
SANDY G.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2019
Hyundai Sonata
Love my Hyundai Sonata...it is a 2005 with 199k miles. Of course with age things happen but it is a great and reliable car fir me. Just had the alternator replaced and it was the original...after 14 years!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Sheryl K.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/12/2019
2005 Sonata
Since I bought this car, I feel it was one of my best purchases. Having kept it serviced, with few very minor issues, it is still running great. It is the most comfortable and smooth riding vehicle, no complaints, and minimal blind spots. I have to say I enjoy this car better than my newer ones, and will keep her as long as I can.p

Pros
Minimal blind spots, reliable, comfortable ride, engine power.

Cons
Door handle tape, small cup holders

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
Helen H.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/16/2019
My car
I received this car brand new and I have had no problems at all. I have 158,000 miles and still purrs. It still has great gas mileage. Seating is very comfortable in front and back. Very nice leg room and trunk has lots of space for travels.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Elynn H.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2019
Beautiful reliability
I am still in love with my 2005 Sonata after 14 years! One of the best decisions I have ever made. It still rides like a dream and Hyundai always does exceptional body styling. It's a gorgeous vehicle that just keeps going. I don't see myself owning any car other than Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Deborah B.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/08/2019
Great car
I have had my Sonata for 12 years still runs great best car best car i ever had. So pleased with it that's why I go to Richard for service because they are trustworthy. I have had people ask me if I wanted to sell it because of the great condition my answer is NO.

Pros
Great car runs great very little problems car 13 years old only thing needed was New tires and battery windshield wipers and headlights and taillights bulbs installed love my Sonata.

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LE
Leigh E.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/16/2018
This has been the best car I’ve owned in 40 years.
I bought this car new and it has almost 240 thousand miles, with normal maintenance and some repair it keeps on running very well. I’ve taken long trips and it’s been very comfortable and it’s always been a smooth ride.

Pros
Great value!

Cons
I have to face the fact that soon I’ll have to replace it do to age and miles, I’d another new one just like this in a heartbeat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Leroy B.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/20/2018
Sonata for thirteen good years
We worked in South Korea and upon returning home purchased a new 2005 Sonata as it was so well received in Seoul. My wife fell in love with her! car and love to drive it, especially around town. We had little repair costs for over 100,000 miles which seems extraordinary. After a wash, it always looked new! Congratulations to the Hyundai folks for producing a great reliable car.

Pros
best buy in 2005

Cons
Dealer repair to far from us

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Diana C.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2018
The best car I've ever owned
We made the correct choice in 2005 when we bought my little Sonata. It's been a great car through the years and is going strong. Regular oil changes and maintenance has made the difference in its performance.

Pros
Love the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LE
Leigh E.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2018
A best value import car
We purchased this car new in 2005, it now has 237,000 miles and has been the best car I’ve owned in past 40 years. It’s been relatively trouble free, regular maintenance and some minor repairs and it’s still a joy to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Donald W.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2018
Best car ever owned
Hope to get over 200,000 miles on it. So far so good with no problems. I would always buy a six cylinder if they are offered because of the smooth shifting and ride. The engine never seems that it's laboring because it's a six.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dorothy B.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2018
I LOVE THIS CAR!
I purchased this car new, and it drives as well as it did the day I drove it off the lot. It is still beautiful and I love it as much as the day I bought it. I am gifting it to my niece, and it is difficult to part with it, but I have a Genesis and need to downsize. I thought it was past it's prime, but regular maintenance and attention has kept it in tip-top shape. A wonderful car, a beautiful car, a dependable car!

Pros
Exquisite styling - never goes out-of-style. Just plain beautiful! Handles well, comfortable, hugs the road when on the highway. CD and cassette player compliments the radio. Ample trunk space. No problems with A/C. A dependable, and excellent ride!

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Joyce C.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2018
My sonata
My sonatas has been a very dependable car for many years. I like to drive it for short and long distances. I wish there were more and larger cup holders. I hsve owned this vehicle cor a long time and it has been dependable

Pros
Dependable

Cons
Needs more cup holders

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Allison B.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
Very happy with my sonata
I bought my 2005 Sonata GLS new. A lot of friends were surprised at the overall quality of my Sonata, and it has held up well over many years and miles. The interior leather has held up amazingly well. The v6 engine is fast and powerful and fun to drive. The interior is roomy and comfortable and seats five comfortably. The traction control system helped out on the snowy roads though occasionally it would turn on when I didn't want it. The sound system sounds pretty good. I wish it had an aux input. The cupholders hidden in the back are nice and solid, and it's great to be able to fold down the back seats.

Pros
Hardy interior leather
Powerful fast engine
Roomy and attractive interior
Large roomy trunk
Nice audio system
Traction Control System

Cons
I had a problem with the locks locking themselves out of nowhere a year or so after I had the car. The service department had to work on it a couple times before it stopped.
I never liked the way the back end of the car looks.
Gas mileage is ok, could be better, but that's the trade-off for power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
Rocco V.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2018
2017 Sonata
Team Watermark Hyundai Rocks! (Thanks Nathan (sales)n, Ryne (service) & Melonie B (quick lane) and all the others to whom I've worked with but never caught a name. 99.9% of the time I am greeted with a smile or at least some since of Familia. I have never gone away from any appointment unsatisfied with performance - workmanship or service.... This is my 2nd Sonata and if this one is as good as the 1st it will be my 3rd

Pros
too many to list

Cons
Haven't found any yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TV
Terrance V.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2018
Best and most reliable car I ever had
Has a very quiet interior compared to other type of vehicles with great gas mileage and best cost of ownership around. The exterior still shines like new and the cloth seats have not worn like other vehicles I have had.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Ernestine W.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2018
The Best Car Ever
My husband brought this car in January 2005 at a Hyundai dealer in Henderson, Nevada. At first I did care for it because I thought it was too big for me to drive. After I got use to it, it is the BEST car we have ever owned and we had a lot of cars. A lot of people will come up to use and ask us about the car and this just happened again yesterday. It rides grade and very, very little maintenance needed except for the usual, oil changes, tire rotation and windshield wipers replacement. It is a GOOD car.

Pros
It is a good car, low maintenance, good gas mileage and most of all the price was AFFORDABLE.

Cons
There are none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kathy B.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2018
Best Car i've Ever Had
I love my 2005 Sonata. I am the original owner and have had not one problem with it. It has never let me down. The ride is as smooth as if it was rolling on ice. I really like that about it. Crain Hyundai has done an excellent job taking care of it, and because of their maintenance, I plan on driving my Sonata for another 13 years. Besides, it's a beautiful car.

Pros
Drives smoothly
Beautiful exterior design
Dependable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Joe W.
2005 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/06/2018
Reliable
Have owned this car since March 2005. Been reliable with general expenses but not to costly. Nice to not have a car payment. Have had to use my own car mechanic for parts and service which has been fine, because dealership parts and service to expensive. Looking at new Hundai Kia and Honda in the future.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 73 in total