Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RA
Robert A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
It was a banner year for me.
The 2006 Sonata was when I suddenly took notice of Hyundai's models. I was not attracted to their lines; nor the quality of the make. But 2006 they suddenly got sexy looking. Inside was leather seats, sun roof, heated seats, heated side mirrors, 6 CD player with a incredible sound system, 17 inch rims, 3.3 liter V6 power, etc. So much car with a price tag that seemed to not add up correctly...and leaning very much towards my favor. It drives solid. Runs smoothly. And still after 14 years, gives this owner confidence when traveling. The sexy lines have continued. And I'm sure all the newer models are superb outside and in. But for now, my fun with this one has not ended. I'm done talking. Go talk to my two sons if you need to hear more. Both have 2012 versions. One has a Santa Fe; while the other drives an accent.

Pros
Strong poiwer. Comfortable ride. Plenty of room. Ideal gas mileage. 8 inch screen. Nice sound system (6 CD player). Heated seats.

Cons
Makes the owner spoiled.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
Barbara R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
excellent
Hyundai cars ride well and since I had it I did not have much trouble since I bought it. Hyundai's service department is very reliable and accommodating. very good service. will highly recommend. Very satisfied

Pros
rides well

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

US
Urszula S.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
The sonata is a decent car. 14 year old car with limted problems.
Decent car for the money paid 14 year ago. Very few problems but we do keep up on the upkeep pretty much to the book. It is helpful when Armando's sends out reminders about maintenance. My wife brings the car in as I am usually unable to and she is very satisfied with Armando.

Pros
The vehicle was bought new with little or few problems. It was the usual maintenance issues that pop up with an older car but no major expenditures.

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
John R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/12/2020
Best bang for your buck.
Performing the way you expect with very few negative experiences. Enjoy the ride and the ability for the car to ride smoothly and accelerate promptly when you need it. This one of 3 sonata's and each has been outstanding cars. I look forward to my next new Sonata.

Pros
Love it all.

Cons
A great vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/28/2020
Just purchased this vehicle 2 weeks ago and have great expectation of it's performance in the future.
This vehicle has a great representation in this community and that is the reason why I purchased it used and in it's current condition. We shall see over the months to come if it preforms the same as my other Hyundai vehicles.

Pros
Will be able to evaluate it over the next year

Cons
It was not in the best of conditions when I purchased it a few weeks ago.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jason L.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/26/2020
Bought car new
This car has only had oil changed every 6 to 8 thousand miles full sytentic motor oil the motor is a 4 cyclender has 247000 have had no problems not even a check engine light I have found the door latches are prone to break Let her than that I would get in this car and drive around the world 10 out of 10

Pros
The 4 cyclender version can get up 2 40 miles per gallon on highway 80 miles pre on cruze

Cons
Door latches prone to brake

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Cherry C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2020
Great car
Have had the car for 14 years and as of now, no major problems. I plan to keep it for many more years. It rides nice, handles easy , the only problem that bothers me is that the trunk lid is awkward to lift up, no easy grip to lift it and is very heavy when it drops with a solid bang.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JAN W.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/01/2020
Best Car I've Ever Owned
Over 267,000 miles and still going strong! No major repairs have been needed even after the 100,000 mile warranty expired. Zero engine repairs. The automatic window mechanisms did fail. Regular maintenance has been performed, of course.

Pros
Quality, performance, reliability, comfort, good gas mileage, warranty, etc

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Brian M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/07/2020
2006 Sonata
I bought the car about 8 years ago used. All three of my daughters have driven the car over the years, it’s been very dependable. I’ve been very happy with the car. I did just have the passenger airbag fixed . It took a few weeks because the seat was sent to California for reprogramming but it was covered by Hyundai which was great since the car is a 2006. I think it’s great that Hyundai still covered it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
George C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2019
Sold on Hyundai
Our 2006 Sonata is the 5th Hyundai owned by either my wife or I, two Sonatas for my wife and a Tuscon and two Santa Fe's for my business. We love the Hyundai product. The best value out there for the money, in our opinion. All of the vehicles have been purchased at the Stew Hansen dealership where we have always been treated fairly and courteously whether in the sales or service departments.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kaye C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2019
Great car.
I could go on forever but great is the best word to cover it all. Handles great. Stands up perfectly after all these years. It is a 2006 model and still looks great and handles well.
I would recommend to anyone who wants a reliable car.

Pros
Best car for cost and service.

Cons
None that I have found.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
LARRY C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/07/2019
2006 Hyundai Sonata
We were so pleased with the reliability and dependability of our 2006 Hyundai Sonata that when we recently were looking for a new car we went to Hyundai first. We purchased a 2019 Hyundai Tucsan. We hope we will enjoy this vehicle as much as we have our Sonata!

Pros
Reliability, dependability, smooth quiet ride.

Cons
Leather seats are slippery and the design of the seat caused me to slide forward in the seat. I had to slide back up in the seat frequently.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Misty M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2019
Great buy
I love my 2006 Sonata. Every car has a weakness and with this one it is brakes. The brake pads and rotors have to be replaced more often than cars I have had in the past, but this car has been reliable and stylish from the start. At 103K miles I anticipate passing "Sonny Sonata" on to my daughter in a few years.

Pros
Reliable, stylish, fun to drive, great pick-up even with the 4 cylinder engine

Cons
Brakes and rotors need replacing more frequently than the other cars I have previously owned.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NW
Nicole W.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/05/2019
Car review
I have a 2006 Sonata, and I love my Hyundai and I am looking forward to upgrading my car to the SUV Santa Fe. I have had Hyundai since 2004. Never had any major issues and love how it handles the road especially in the snow. My kids have had access to my car and grandkids. It needs cosmetic care due to rough handling but as far as everything else I have no complaints. When taking car in for service prices are about the same as everywhere else.. Love my Hyundai and will not change. I had 2019 rental car a Jetta , but I could not wait to get my car back it wasn't a Hyundai

Pros
Interior features for basic things.. And the six air bags for safety.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tobias P.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/31/2019
2006 Hyundai Sonata w/ 213,000
My 2006 Hyundai Sonata is still going strong after driving it for over 13 years. Its or family Work Horse for our commute to and from work. It still has the same Horse power as if we just bought the Car brand new. Me and my Wife love it!!! :)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mary M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2019
Love my car
Bought my car new and am still driving it. Since 2006 I replaced tires, a windshield pump and most recently an alternator. Not bad for 13 years! The car fits me at 5 feet tall and my husband at 6'1". It has been a very comfortable and reliable car.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Not stylish: it is a sedan. :-)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Joseph A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2019
2006 Sonata
Having owned about 20 cars in my lifetime, the 2006 Sonata is the best mechanically overall car I've owned. Over 100k miles and all I've changed are filters, the battery, tires and transmission service. to my amazement I am still on the original brakes!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Ruby B.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2019
Sonata
I chose to purchase a Sonato after having the opportunity to rent one. I found them to be roomy and quiet. I purchased my Sonata in 2014 used and have not had any major problems with it. This one did not let my judgement form change and when the time comes to replace it, I will look forward to purchasing the latest model.

Pros
Very reliable, roomy, gas saving .

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gary E.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/16/2019
2006 Hyundai SONATA
This vehicle is the best car we have ever owned. It is 13 years old and still gets 30 miles to the gallon. We have never had any serious mechanical problems with it. We get the oil changed every 3000 miles or so and have most of the scheduled maintenance done. We have 240,000 miles plus on the engine and it is still running great. Hyundai did something right when they made this car. We plan on putting a new engine in it when the time comes and keep on driving it. The styling is timeless and it never looks old to us.

Pros
Reliable always.

Cons
There are none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Marc A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2019
Could be the best car I have ever owned!
I have only owned my Hyundai a year and a half. I have been a life long Toyota fan, and up until this time around, they have been my number one choice! My Hyundai is at a close second and steadily rising to the top. We will see in the next year or so. At this moment, it is just excellence on wheels!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 286 in total