2008
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(177 Reviews)
Latest review 25 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HC
Hollenbeck C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2019
Best car I have owned!
This car nut has purchased over 100 Carson my lifetime. I purchased our 2008 Sonata SE new 12/30/07. It’s shy of 12 years old with 127,000 miles on the clock. About 9/8/19 an Air Bag light came on. We took it to Crain Hyundai of Fayetteville, AR for its first repair EVER! Plus a needed a transmission fluid change. Zack the Service Writer took down the information. It was determined to be a passenger sensor and the seat would need to be sent to Hyundai for repairs. They provided me a 2019 Sonata Hybrid. Zack called with great news, he reached out to Hyundai and they said they would fix whatever it was under Warranty, I was shocked with excitement. So grateful on my way to pick up car I took 3 huge Pizzas to Zack and his co-workers! Car is home still looks and drives as it did 12 years ago. The interior also looks new, no wear, no pulled stitching, absolutely perfect. Truly an amazing car. After my wife drove the New Sonata loaner car we will being purchasing a new Sonata Limited 2T. I do wish they still offered the V6 but, I’m good with the 2T 4cyl.
I’m one happy Veteran!

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
James M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2019
2008 Sonata
I have all my service done at Delray Hyundai. Always proffesional service. As far as the Sonata 2008 I am a proud owner. Never had a problem with the vehicle except for all the maintenance by far the best car I ever owned. I am a driver for 52 years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Bruce L.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/09/2019
2008 Sonata
this 2008 Sonata limited is the best car I have owned in 50 years of driving. It goes and goes. Minimal maintenance and comfortable ride. I always look forward to driving this car. Getting close to 200,000 miles and not ready to give it up. Great ride!

Pros
low maintanance. Reliabilty. Great design. Nice interior.

Cons
Gets 29-36 miles per gallon, would be nice to get more but not complaining.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jim C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
2008 Hyundai Sonata SE
Up until my recent problem with the slave cylinder of the clutch, I had never had to take my car in. Routine maintenance such as oil changes, etc. are easy to do. Everything is easy to get to in the car, so a DIY guy can get things done. I have had my car for 8 years and I absolutely love it. I constantly recommend Hyundai's to everyone.

Pros
1. It has a 5-speed manual transmission.
2. Gets great gas mileage, more than 30 mpg.

Cons
1. The manual transmission is a rarity, so parts are harder to find.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Michael P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
2008 Sonata
Bought this car new in 2008, 155,000 miles runs great serviced regularly and thinking about getting a newer model but for now most happy with the performance. My 2 daughters have used this car off and on over the years and very comfortable with it when there at and about.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHARLIE M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2019
Rock solid car.
Bought it with 12000 miles and one year old. If been flawless from over eleven years, with only routine oil and air filter changes. Very quiet and stable. No rattle or squeak. Comfortable adjustable seats. Big trunk. And good looking!

Pros
Super reliable

Cons
Sun visors too loose

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAMES M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2019
dependable, good looking car
Have had car since purchased new. Very little work required outside of normal maintenance. Car still looks and runs well and cleans up like a new car. Electronic Stability control inspires driver confidence in bad weather.

Pros
comfortable and dependable car. Body work and fit and finish is first class.

Cons
gas mileage is fair, performance is moderate, has always had hesitancy when accelerating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TJ
Teresa J.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
My 2008 Hyundai Sonata
This is the second Hyundai Sonata I've owned over the past 16 years. My first Sonata was pre-owned and also performed well. I've owned my current 2008 Sonata for 12 years. When I bought it, it only had seven (7) miles on it. It still looks good and has given me good service. I am pleased with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Theresa P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2019
Best car for the price!
What can I say. I have praised Hyundai since we started with them with our 2005 Sonata. The 2008 has been just as faithful to us. We have replaced our 2005 with a 2018 Elantra because we trust Hyundai.

Pros
It has been dependable and within my budget.

Cons
None!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VW
Verginia W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2019
Hyundai Sonata
The car is 11 years old and has been very reliable. I've spent very little money on repairs. The only major issue I have is the paint. It's starting to chip and show some rust. I would buy a Hyundai again but probably only if they still have a 6 cylinder version which is what I have now. I didn't like the feel of the 4 cylinder Sonata in 2008 when I bought my car. Maybe the newer ones have more pick up.

Pros
Very reliable

Cons
Paint is chipping and showing rust above the windshield.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Clayton C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2019
2008 Sonata
Had this car since 2008 new has over 225000 miles on it and has been one of the best cars I have ever owned the service department has been the only one doing work on it especially Brad Atwood he has kept it in top service and that why it still runs good without no major issues and why I still drive it even though it has a lot of miles
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HO
HENRY O.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2019
Bought as a little old lady special
I bought it as a commuter car with 56k on it. It has been very reliable and trouble free. It is comfortable for my 1 hour+ commute. I am considering upgrade to 2016 or newer hybrid and will stick to the brand.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jodi K.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2019
I love my Sonata
My Hyundai Sonata is a fantastic car! So comfortable, great ride, great gas mileage and so roomy! I absolutely recommend this car!!! With regular oil changes, my car has continued to drive like the day I bought it new!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Paul H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2019
Great car
For 160,000 miles and being a 2008, the body is in great shape and the only major repairs that I have needed so far are new brake/gas lines (typical with any vehicle in Michigan). Runs great. If all Hyundai vehicles are like this one, I'll be a customer for life.

Pros
Runs great

Cons
Engine noise is a bit loud

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Bruce L.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2019
2008 Sonata
This car has been a dream. It goes and goes and goes. Minimal maintenance. Great gas mileage. Plenty of room and always handles well. The service department is super and very knowledgeable. I owned a few other cars prior to this car and none of them stack up to the reliability of this Sonata.

Pros
Low maintenance. Great mileage. Good looking car inside and out.

Cons
They don't make this style anymore.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Connee P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/18/2019
2008 Hyundai Sonata
I have owned my car for over ten years and it has never has needed mechanical repairs, body yes, mechanical no. The only time it had a service consideration cost me $28. Yes, this car has minimal miles, but everytime I get in her so goes. I'm very senior and have driven my life away. I have taken car of my cars, but my Sonata is something special.

Pros
Dependable and comfortable and economical.

Cons
No problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
Diana O.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
Diana
The car handles great. It drives so smooth. We have a Limited with the special rear view mirror which is great. The car looks great. Especially love the V6 engine. I won’t settle for less than a V6 on my next sedan.

Pros
V6, special wheels, leather seats, how the car handles.

Cons
No heated steering wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brenda B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/12/2019
Great Customer Care !
Thank you for such great care of our car ! Your team is outstanding, as always ! Colleen is, "our gal", and the service manager of the express lane took great care of us also. We will continue to get our cars serviced at The Fox !

Pros
Great service, thank you !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BE
Barbara E.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/11/2018
My Favorite Car
Because I think of my Sonata as being the most comfortable car I've owned, I don't want to replace it. Regardless of the season, it works well, and during warm or cool weather it's pleasant to drive.

Pros
The characteristics I have enjoyed for years are listed above.

Cons
I haven't thought of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
Nicholas C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/11/2018
Hyundais are garbage cars and Hyundai Motor Company will charge you for every OEM issue
Needs new trans after 10 years-NO aid. 2 engine rebuilds, battery drain, cooling system leaks, check engine after leaks fixed. A/C compressor, visor, cup holder, change drawer,console latch all broke.

Pros
Good gas mileage ~30 highway/25 city
Comfortable
Roomy
Big trunk

Cons
Unreliable
HORRIBLE in rain or snow - skids and hydroplanes if it rained four hours ago
EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE to maintain
Parts break often and catastrophically
Hyundai corporate delivers ZERO customer service - except 'servicing' my bank account
No Bluetooth or Aux port
Radio head unit has poor reception
Side view mirrors are solid build not collapsible - I had TWO snapped off in parking lots
Rear seats don't fold flat so you can't transport anything large
Donut instead of full size spare
The "driver door open" ping is SO ANNOYING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 177 in total