2008
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(170 Reviews)
Latest review 16 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TJ
Teresa J.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
My 2008 Hyundai Sonata
This is the second Hyundai Sonata I've owned over the past 16 years. My first Sonata was pre-owned and also performed well. I've owned my current 2008 Sonata for 12 years. When I bought it, it only had seven (7) miles on it. It still looks good and has given me good service. I am pleased with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Theresa P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2019
Best car for the price!
What can I say. I have praised Hyundai since we started with them with our 2005 Sonata. The 2008 has been just as faithful to us. We have replaced our 2005 with a 2018 Elantra because we trust Hyundai.

Pros
It has been dependable and within my budget.

Cons
None!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VW
Verginia W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2019
Hyundai Sonata
The car is 11 years old and has been very reliable. I've spent very little money on repairs. The only major issue I have is the paint. It's starting to chip and show some rust. I would buy a Hyundai again but probably only if they still have a 6 cylinder version which is what I have now. I didn't like the feel of the 4 cylinder Sonata in 2008 when I bought my car. Maybe the newer ones have more pick up.

Pros
Very reliable

Cons
Paint is chipping and showing rust above the windshield.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Clayton C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2019
2008 Sonata
Had this car since 2008 new has over 225000 miles on it and has been one of the best cars I have ever owned the service department has been the only one doing work on it especially Brad Atwood he has kept it in top service and that why it still runs good without no major issues and why I still drive it even though it has a lot of miles
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HO
HENRY O.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2019
Bought as a little old lady special
I bought it as a commuter car with 56k on it. It has been very reliable and trouble free. It is comfortable for my 1 hour+ commute. I am considering upgrade to 2016 or newer hybrid and will stick to the brand.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jodi K.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2019
I love my Sonata
My Hyundai Sonata is a fantastic car! So comfortable, great ride, great gas mileage and so roomy! I absolutely recommend this car!!! With regular oil changes, my car has continued to drive like the day I bought it new!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Paul H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2019
Great car
For 160,000 miles and being a 2008, the body is in great shape and the only major repairs that I have needed so far are new brake/gas lines (typical with any vehicle in Michigan). Runs great. If all Hyundai vehicles are like this one, I'll be a customer for life.

Pros
Runs great

Cons
Engine noise is a bit loud

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Bruce L.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2019
2008 Sonata
This car has been a dream. It goes and goes and goes. Minimal maintenance. Great gas mileage. Plenty of room and always handles well. The service department is super and very knowledgeable. I owned a few other cars prior to this car and none of them stack up to the reliability of this Sonata.

Pros
Low maintenance. Great mileage. Good looking car inside and out.

Cons
They don't make this style anymore.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Connee P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/18/2019
2008 Hyundai Sonata
I have owned my car for over ten years and it has never has needed mechanical repairs, body yes, mechanical no. The only time it had a service consideration cost me $28. Yes, this car has minimal miles, but everytime I get in her so goes. I'm very senior and have driven my life away. I have taken car of my cars, but my Sonata is something special.

Pros
Dependable and comfortable and economical.

Cons
No problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
Diana O.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
Diana
The car handles great. It drives so smooth. We have a Limited with the special rear view mirror which is great. The car looks great. Especially love the V6 engine. I won’t settle for less than a V6 on my next sedan.

Pros
V6, special wheels, leather seats, how the car handles.

Cons
No heated steering wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brenda B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/12/2019
Great Customer Care !
Thank you for such great care of our car ! Your team is outstanding, as always ! Colleen is, "our gal", and the service manager of the express lane took great care of us also. We will continue to get our cars serviced at The Fox !

Pros
Great service, thank you !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BE
Barbara E.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/11/2018
My Favorite Car
Because I think of my Sonata as being the most comfortable car I've owned, I don't want to replace it. Regardless of the season, it works well, and during warm or cool weather it's pleasant to drive.

Pros
The characteristics I have enjoyed for years are listed above.

Cons
I haven't thought of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
Nicholas C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/11/2018
Hyundais are garbage cars and Hyundai Motor Company will charge you for every OEM issue
Needs new trans after 10 years-NO aid. 2 engine rebuilds, battery drain, cooling system leaks, check engine after leaks fixed. A/C compressor, visor, cup holder, change drawer,console latch all broke.

Pros
Good gas mileage ~30 highway/25 city
Comfortable
Roomy
Big trunk

Cons
Unreliable
HORRIBLE in rain or snow - skids and hydroplanes if it rained four hours ago
EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE to maintain
Parts break often and catastrophically
Hyundai corporate delivers ZERO customer service - except 'servicing' my bank account
No Bluetooth or Aux port
Radio head unit has poor reception
Side view mirrors are solid build not collapsible - I had TWO snapped off in parking lots
Rear seats don't fold flat so you can't transport anything large
Donut instead of full size spare
The "driver door open" ping is SO ANNOYING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Bruce L.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2018
2008 Sonata
Bought this car used in 2010. Has performed very well. Reliable, great gas mileage. Limited edition with leather seats very comfortable ride. Low maintenance compared to other cars I have owned. Plan on keeping this car for a while longer.

Pros
Very reliable car with normal maintenance.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Linda G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/30/2018
Best car.
Excellent in every aspect. This car is reliable and easy to drive. Is very economical on gas and very comfortable both front and back. Very large trunk and the look of the car is very easy on the eyes. I love the color.

Pros
Excellent all around

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
Ronda V.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2018
Sonata
I have a 2008 Hyundia Sonata and the car is a beast! Besides regular maintenance, I have not had any problems with the car! It is awesome in the snow! And would buy another without hesitation! Live the car!

Pros
Everything about the car! Handles great in the snow. Awesome gas mileage.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Paul W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2018
Excellent
Has been a good reliable rehicke. The mileage is good. We bought a Santa Fe at the same time and have been pleased with both vehicles. Would recommend the vehicle for mileage and and reliability. Would purchase a newer version of the vehicle.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Parts are expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YC
Yunsuk C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
The Most Reliable Car - Hyundai Sonata
I have driven a Hyundai Sonata for more than 10 years without having any problem.
Of course it has scratches and dents mostly caused by my lack of driving skills. The first scratches were made when I parked the car in the street. .....10 years later, my Sonata still looks cute and runs well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
Patricia J.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2018
Love Hyundai
Bought our Sonata used with 121,000 miles. Three months after purchase we headed to Albuquerque and had no worries at all about car problems. Best car yet!
Definitely will be in Greenville Hyundai for our next vehicle.

Pros
Almost everything!

Cons
Need electric seat on passenger side in front.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Thomas G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
2008 Hyundai Sonata
I wish this car would last forever. I love it. The newer models are uglier, so I'm glad I have the beautiful 2008. Only complaints are that I can't kill the incessant beeping before I buckle my seatbelt and no one claims responsibility for the woefully inadequate Sirius/XM screen display which covers only 2/3 of the screen with a way too large character font. But that's it. All else is great.

Pros
Performance, styling, comfort, value.

Cons
Seatbelt beeper, Sirius/XM screen display.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 170 in total