2008
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(185 Reviews)
Latest review about 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AC
Asim C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/28/2017
Perfect
Perfect comfortable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Andrew B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/27/2017
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Haven't had any major issues with either of our Hyundais and am thoroughly satisfied with these vehicles

Pros
works when I need it and is very reliable

Cons
the cup holders should be a little better equipped to suit more than small drinks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dwight W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/23/2017
Love my Sonata.
My 2008 Sonata has served me very well. Never had a major problem with it. Just routine maintenance work: brake work, oil change, serpentine belt replacement, etc.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lisa D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/17/2017
excellent
Had the Sonata for several years it didn't have problems with car, VERY DEPENDABLE, My grandkids also enjoyed the car. Would recommend this car to anyone.

Pros
none

Cons
only thing had to change out headlights and tail light bulbs several times like for the brake lights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FW
Felisa W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/15/2017
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Heated seats, smooth road handling, and stering wheel adjustments for the convenience of when driving. Very nice. I love my car..

Pros
Very sporty and sleek looking still.

Cons
The vinyl/leather is hard to get back to it's original look. Wish I would have chosen cloth seating material.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Sylvia G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/14/2017
You Get Your Money Worth
It is a very reliable car, comfortable and it has many features that comparing with cars that cost a lot more
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
Gary M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/10/2017
One of the best
My Sonata has been one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. It has been extremely reliable and is well built. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone and also as a great value in the used car market.

Pros
My vehicle has maintained its performance and reliability year in and year out. Comfortable interior, great sight lines and handling.

Cons
Somewhere in the 35 - 40 mph range my transmission/drive train seems to make a small humming sound, but only in that speed range. However this has never lead to any problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Daniel H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/07/2017
92,000 and going strong ...
Purchased wife's Sonata V6 Limited new at Fitzgerald's in '09. Great 6 cylinder engine - terrific pickup, handling, mileage, etc.
Service - other than normal wear & tear "things" like brakes, tires, etc. - has been minimal.
Looking at new car for later in year - no doubt a re-boot at Fitzgerald's.

Pros
See above --

Cons
Minor components - no iPhone/cell phone jack, no back-up camera, etc.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Steven S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/05/2017
Sonata
This is our second Sonata and are really pleased with the performance. Our second one is doing so well we have 125,000 miles on it and it's going strong.

Pros
Fun to drive in town and on the long trips.

Cons
Would be nice to get better gas milelage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Edward D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2017
My Vehicle Review
We purchased our vehicle December 07. We have had great luck with this car. It came with all the amenities that were available at the time of purchase. We drove it all over the East Coast area with nary a problem It was comfortable and relaxing. A pleasure to drive.

Pros
The ratings speak for itself.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Linda H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2017
Sonata x3!
We have had two 2008 Sonatas, travelled to Florida, out west to Montana and back to Maine. Great vehicle for traveling, plenty of room, great gas mileage. Loved them so much that we just bought another one last week! Can't wait to explore more of the USA in our red, sport Sonata!!

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Would prefer more color options for the upholstery fabric. Black too dark, hot in the summer. Tan too light, shows dirt easily. How about something in between?!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RONALD S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2017
A great car!!
This vehicle has been very good to me since I got it. No major problem outside of the ordinary.very reliable vehicle Plus great warranty.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Amit S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2017
Robust and reliable
Used the car since 2010. So far no issues. Am happy with my return on investment

Pros
very robust

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Diana S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2017
Excellent Customer service
Service Managers go beyond to help to their customers
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Charlotte H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/30/2017
My Sonata
This car has serviced me and my family extremely well over the years. We bought it as a certified pre-owned after the older Honda Accord was in an accident. The power from its V6 engine is terrific and when I look for an upgrade, I'll go to another Sonata!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Rand M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2017
A Song to be Sung
The 2008 Sonata 6 cyl dual exhaust star hub caps deepwaterblue is a gem of a car, mobile art studio, semi - truck during moving to new home from Sandkey beach to Countryside. A great companion to my wife's sc430 Lexus. My Sonata !

Pros
Rides like a dream with new Hankook Kinergy GT tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Beverly F.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/20/2017
Great Car
I love my sonata. Roomy, fits my needs and no problems with maintenance or performance. I own it without a loan now and it will continue to serve me well for many more years to come.

Pros
runs well, easy to maintain, long life 122,000 and going strong.

Cons
can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
Thomas A.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/19/2017
Our 2008 Sonata Limited V-6.
Have less than 50,000 miles at near 10 years. Can't complain about service of car or the dealer.

Pros
Requires only minimum simple routine maint.

Cons
A bit more road noise than previous Lincoln. Would like cup holders to accommodate larger cups.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Theresa P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/04/2017
Still in good shape.
With good maintenance plan and people who know what my car needs, whether it is the tech or the service specialist, I know that my car will last for as long as I need it to.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
Terry A.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/02/2017
This car is a great value.
We love our 2008 Sonata. It has served us well with no surprises and we will definitely be looking at Hyundais when we purchase our next vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 185 in total