2008
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(184 Reviews)
Latest review 4 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JS
Joyia S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2020
Great car
I really enjoy driving this car. I have driven other makes and models of cars and I would definitely recommend this one. It’s easy to drive and the dash panel is not confusing or distracting to navigate.

Pros
The stability and traction control features are awesome. It’s not too noisy on the road, has really good pick up and a good braking system on the highway or the streets. Lots of room in the trunk and this car has comfortable seats that fold down in the back for loading larger items. Easy car to park.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Diane J.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/26/2020
Great
The value for the money for this car is excellent and the service at Hyundai has been great. I have the oil changes for life and still use that. It is a quality car. And this is my third Hyundai vehicle I have owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAMES M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/18/2020
2008 Hyundai Sonata
car has been a quality product that has not had need of repairs other than scheduled service. Fit and finish are good and paint still looks good and upholstery has worn well. Comfort level is good. Car now has 125k miles and is in excellent condition. I would take it on a trip across country any day.

Pros
good car for money...looks great

Cons
performance is moderate, headlamp reach low beams poor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sandra M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/22/2020
Car
I never had one before. Me and mom purchased it new and still have it. The repairs I put in were minor but it got me where I had to be. The color is great along with the interior color. I liked the idea of the handles when I broke my foot and had to use them a lot.

Pros
With maintenance it is great to drive around city and highway.

Cons
My seat had to be fixed as the foam padding was coming out of it and had to replace sun visor as a friend turned it to the side and broke it so it would not stay up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
James N.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2020
2008 Sonata Limited 4cyl
I bought this car new from VHC in Sheboygan. Aside from normal maintenance (oil, lube, tires, brakes and recommended maintenance) this car just keeps on performing perfectly. No rust, everything functions as it should. I don't foresee a need for another sedan until this is approaching 300k. Right now just shy of 120k so I expect it will be with me for more than another decade.

Pros
Dependable; has never ever left me stranded.
High quality; everything works as if car were new
Great highway manners
Roomy

Cons
At this point, 12 years later, some might consider the design "stodgy".

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/04/2020
Left with another problem!
Left the dealership brake problem was fixed (Sat) and they replaced the right rear tail light. Sunday drove the car 97 miles North of Pittsburgh and towards dusk no cluster lights on the dashboard or heater knob lights and the Right tail light was not on and the right front marker light not on. Could not drive the car home in the dark since I had no dashboard lights and traveling on Interstate 79S would have been hazardous. Took my car into today to someone local and the fuses kept blowing out. Making an appt. Monday to have the car looked at not at dealership due to their hourly rate etc. Coincidence I think not, but I will find out when my local guy get's the car in this coming week.

Pros
The car is 12 years old and still rides like the day I got it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Chrissy A.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/11/2019
Great Car
Reliable and easy maintenance -love Sonatas
Great car for highway driving as well. This would be a great car for Highschool and college students as it doesn’t required ally if maintenance and the costs are not expensive

Pros
Easy to maintain, great features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HC
Hollenbeck C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2019
Best car I have owned!
This car nut has purchased over 100 Carson my lifetime. I purchased our 2008 Sonata SE new 12/30/07. It’s shy of 12 years old with 127,000 miles on the clock. About 9/8/19 an Air Bag light came on. We took it to Crain Hyundai of Fayetteville, AR for its first repair EVER! Plus a needed a transmission fluid change. Zack the Service Writer took down the information. It was determined to be a passenger sensor and the seat would need to be sent to Hyundai for repairs. They provided me a 2019 Sonata Hybrid. Zack called with great news, he reached out to Hyundai and they said they would fix whatever it was under Warranty, I was shocked with excitement. So grateful on my way to pick up car I took 3 huge Pizzas to Zack and his co-workers! Car is home still looks and drives as it did 12 years ago. The interior also looks new, no wear, no pulled stitching, absolutely perfect. Truly an amazing car. After my wife drove the New Sonata loaner car we will being purchasing a new Sonata Limited 2T. I do wish they still offered the V6 but, I’m good with the 2T 4cyl.
I’m one happy Veteran!

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
James M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2019
2008 Sonata
I have all my service done at Delray Hyundai. Always proffesional service. As far as the Sonata 2008 I am a proud owner. Never had a problem with the vehicle except for all the maintenance by far the best car I ever owned. I am a driver for 52 years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Bruce L.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/09/2019
2008 Sonata
this 2008 Sonata limited is the best car I have owned in 50 years of driving. It goes and goes. Minimal maintenance and comfortable ride. I always look forward to driving this car. Getting close to 200,000 miles and not ready to give it up. Great ride!

Pros
low maintanance. Reliabilty. Great design. Nice interior.

Cons
Gets 29-36 miles per gallon, would be nice to get more but not complaining.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jim C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/07/2019
2008 Hyundai Sonata SE
Up until my recent problem with the slave cylinder of the clutch, I had never had to take my car in. Routine maintenance such as oil changes, etc. are easy to do. Everything is easy to get to in the car, so a DIY guy can get things done. I have had my car for 8 years and I absolutely love it. I constantly recommend Hyundai's to everyone.

Pros
1. It has a 5-speed manual transmission.
2. Gets great gas mileage, more than 30 mpg.

Cons
1. The manual transmission is a rarity, so parts are harder to find.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Michael P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/03/2019
2008 Sonata
Bought this car new in 2008, 155,000 miles runs great serviced regularly and thinking about getting a newer model but for now most happy with the performance. My 2 daughters have used this car off and on over the years and very comfortable with it when there at and about.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHARLIE M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/28/2019
Rock solid car.
Bought it with 12000 miles and one year old. If been flawless from over eleven years, with only routine oil and air filter changes. Very quiet and stable. No rattle or squeak. Comfortable adjustable seats. Big trunk. And good looking!

Pros
Super reliable

Cons
Sun visors too loose

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAMES M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/27/2019
dependable, good looking car
Have had car since purchased new. Very little work required outside of normal maintenance. Car still looks and runs well and cleans up like a new car. Electronic Stability control inspires driver confidence in bad weather.

Pros
comfortable and dependable car. Body work and fit and finish is first class.

Cons
gas mileage is fair, performance is moderate, has always had hesitancy when accelerating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TJ
Teresa J.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/02/2019
My 2008 Hyundai Sonata
This is the second Hyundai Sonata I've owned over the past 16 years. My first Sonata was pre-owned and also performed well. I've owned my current 2008 Sonata for 12 years. When I bought it, it only had seven (7) miles on it. It still looks good and has given me good service. I am pleased with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Theresa P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2019
Best car for the price!
What can I say. I have praised Hyundai since we started with them with our 2005 Sonata. The 2008 has been just as faithful to us. We have replaced our 2005 with a 2018 Elantra because we trust Hyundai.

Pros
It has been dependable and within my budget.

Cons
None!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VW
Verginia W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/25/2019
Hyundai Sonata
The car is 11 years old and has been very reliable. I've spent very little money on repairs. The only major issue I have is the paint. It's starting to chip and show some rust. I would buy a Hyundai again but probably only if they still have a 6 cylinder version which is what I have now. I didn't like the feel of the 4 cylinder Sonata in 2008 when I bought my car. Maybe the newer ones have more pick up.

Pros
Very reliable

Cons
Paint is chipping and showing rust above the windshield.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Clayton C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/22/2019
2008 Sonata
Had this car since 2008 new has over 225000 miles on it and has been one of the best cars I have ever owned the service department has been the only one doing work on it especially Brad Atwood he has kept it in top service and that why it still runs good without no major issues and why I still drive it even though it has a lot of miles
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HO
HENRY O.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2019
Bought as a little old lady special
I bought it as a commuter car with 56k on it. It has been very reliable and trouble free. It is comfortable for my 1 hour+ commute. I am considering upgrade to 2016 or newer hybrid and will stick to the brand.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jodi K.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/30/2019
I love my Sonata
My Hyundai Sonata is a fantastic car! So comfortable, great ride, great gas mileage and so roomy! I absolutely recommend this car!!! With regular oil changes, my car has continued to drive like the day I bought it new!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 184 in total