2009
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8
4.8
(474 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RC
Roel C.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2019
Best car
Best car I have ever owned. They don’t make them like my car anymore! I LOVE IT! I wish they would make them like this one again! Hopefully my car will last longer than I have years of life left in this body of mine!

Pros
To many to list.

Cons
Trunk can be opened by Valet therefore can not leave valuables in trunk.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WT
William T.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/06/2019
Overview
This car is dependable and road worthy. I have driven it on long road trips with no problems.Trunk space is adequate.I like the adjustable seats, being able to tilt slightly. Sliding the seat back & forth to provide more leg room in the front or for back seat passengers.

Pros
This car has lasted ten years and still looks good and runs good.

Cons
Has more road noise than I would like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Alexandru H.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2019
Great car!
Great car, excellent for driving everyday to work, aprox 100 miles daily. Comfy interior, strong engine and transmission. Nice features inside.
The basic sound system really sounds good. Is not noisy at all.

Pros
Excellent quality at great price.

Cons
Driver’s side mirror could have a wider viewing angle to cover the dead spot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2019
Great service but I find the length and demands of this survey irksome.
My experience with the dealer is consistently pleasant. I have never been disappointed. I will certainly purchase another Hyundai when the need arises. The advances om technology of your newer models is inspiring.

Pros
Vehicle is very reliable. I have owned it for ten years and am very impressed. It has never failed me mechanically.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Helmut S.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Good, dependable
Bought in 2008, sonata, 2009. Have had very few problems. Dependable, easy to drive except for blue light in dashboard. Replaced A/C last year and brakes last week. I feel that is pretty good. Will seriously consider the Sonata again when ready to purchase a new car. Have 1001000 miles on car.

Pros
Have had very little problem with car. A/C replaced after 10 years, brakes after 11 years. Very good. Smooth drive.

Cons
Milage is impossible to see while driving. If you need to go 5 miles it is impossible to see, the blue light is pretty but useless.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jane C.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/01/2019
I love my Hyundai Sonata!
I love my Hyundai Sonata. I wouldn't drive any other car but a Hyundai. I'm totally hooked. Well I'm told that if it's not 200 characters they won't take it so I'll just keep typing until I come to 200.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Deborah W.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
Dependable
I have a 2009 Sonata and 10 years later, it is still fuel efficient, dependable, powerful, and just an awesome looking vehicle. I had a 2006 Santa Fe which I traded in for a new 2009 Sonata and it was a very good decision.

Pros
Fuel efficient, easy to handle, comfortable, reliable.

Cons
Seat belt needs constant adjusting, too high. Left vent on driver's side, hard to adjust, doesn't seem to have enough air flow.;

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Louis B.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2019
My 10 year old Sonata
Our Sonata is 10 years old and I love it. We recently bought a Santa Fe and will be keeping the Sonata as a second car. It has been reliable and drives well. The only real problem that we experienced during the 10 years is the faulty air conditioning unit. It had to be replaced twice.

Pros
Almost everything about it is great. I love the car. Drives well.

Cons
The Navigation monitor is extremely difficult to see when the sun is shining. Easy to see at night. Same is true for mileage counter. Blue printing is difficult to see. White on black is easy to read. The monitor should NOT have been designed on a slant but should have been vertical (straight up - not slanted). Sometimes I bump my head while entering the vehicle (am only 5'7" tall). The handbooks are not well written. They could have done a better job. The heating a/c unit has not been very reliable. Had to be replaced twice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BE
Beth E.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2019
would buy another one
I say I would buy another one, but not necessary 2009 Sonata runs like it's brand new. Just keep up the maintenance right at McCarthy service center. They are honest, friendly and provide quality service. When I am ready to buy again not doubt I will be buying from them.

Pros
interior and exterior still looks great
low maintenance
always a great service experience

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Josephine B.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Reliable car
The more "elder" one gets, the more reliable must a car be. This fits the bill. My only complaint is blind spots. Far too many and, as a result, I've had some close calls. The newer models corrected that.

Pros
Blind spots

Cons
Everything else.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mandy B.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
Looking for a decent vehicle
I love this car and it has been a wonderful vehicle. It's everything I been looking for in a vehicle and has gotten me everywhere I needed to go. It also does great on fuel and I like the xm radio that I got with it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mary W.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
Great
My dad was a Ford man! All we drove was fords. My Hyundai is a very good running car. 137k miles, still running strong. It has a sport shift, I miss the clutch so I dont use it much. Has very good horse power.

Pros
Heated seats. GPS. Electric driver seat. Love everything about the car.

Cons
Seats sticky in summmer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Cynthia P.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/01/2019
Hyundai Sonata
I have had my car since 2009 and it has over 233,000 miles it is continuing to service me well. I keep my major service work and regular oil chains done. Hope to get 500,000 miles out of her but will settle for 400,000 over halfway there.

Pros
Great little ride takes care of me.

Cons
Not enough leg room on the 2009 model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ronald D.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2019
Great Car
We purchased 2 of the 2009 Hyundai Sonatas. One for my family and one for my In-Laws. Both cars have performed exceptionally well. My Daughter now drives one of them as her college commuter vehicle and just loves the car. Granny loves hers too! So we have been extremely blessed at how dependable the cars have been. We look at another soon.4

Pros
Just a well built car.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SABRINA R.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2019
Hyundai Sonata 2009
The best car Hyundai ever made. I love my car! I had my car for 10 years and I just now needed a little work done. I can't complain . I'm the first and only owner of my 2009 Hyundai Sonata. I'm proud I made the right choice!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Victor B.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Best Car I Ever Had
I purchased my 2009 Sonata in November 2008. It has a 6-cylinder, 249 horsepower engine, and 15-inch tires. It has lots of power, and is very easy to drive. The seats are really comfortable, and it has lots of leg room. No noises, and just normal maintenance has been needed.

I see no reason to trade it in; however, if I had to, I would probably buy another Sonata.

Pros
Quality car
Low price
10-year, 100-mile warranty
Lots of power
Smooth ride

Cons
None, for its very reasonable price

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Blaine L.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/01/2019
Ratings are based on reoccurring issues with breaks - wear and maintenance.
This has been a solid vehicle except when it comes to break issues. Both front and rear breaks. I feel there are design flaws in the break design that allows for more that normal wear. I have a 2007, 2008 and 2009 Sonata and have similar issues with all three vehicles. The calipers have stuck on numerous occasions that have caused the break pads to wear out. Sometimes to the point that it is metal on metal before you know there is a problem. Other than that I have just had to do routine maintenance.

Pros
Car is reliable and has very good sight lines.

Cons
Break issues makes it very expensive to maintain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Margaret M.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2019
My car
I have to say it has a comfortable ride, you feel like your up a little like the higher priced cars very comfortable seats. This car has great response to speed and braking. It’s over 1000 miles but still handles like its new, I go for regular visits to Mytee service station they keep my car road ready. Updating as we go! It has great curb appeal. I like that the radio is on the steering wheel, easy access.Performs well in snow and rain.

Pros
Overall a great car!

Cons
I’d like to add the backing up and car starter features oh and seat warmers!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
Lawrence K.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2019
2009 Hyundai Sonata
I have been very good to my car through the years and after ten years of having no trouble I find that it just might be “tired”! The overhead eyeglass holder just kind of shattered and fell out. I intend to keep my gem but now I’m a little leery of what might happen next. I know it’s ten years old but I want to last and last.

Pros
6 cylinder so good pick up. Comfortable in back seat with good legroom. Nice to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
John F.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2019
Great Car
Great car. I have 140k miles on the car and have not had anything major go wrong with the car. I have the 3.3 v6 and still manage to get 27 mpg on a regular basis. At times only on the freeway and cruise control i did get 34! It shows wear but still runs strong!

Pros
Gas milage for a v6. Power. Reliability.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 474 in total