2011
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.51/5Overall Rating 4.51/5Overall Rating 4.51/5Overall Rating 4.51/5rating 4.51
4.5
(2174 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JG
John G.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Hope it lasts as long as I do..
I hope it lasts as long as I do. I enjoy driving & the 6- speed transmission enhances that enjoyment. Madison & Gary treat me like I’m their only customer. I have had my vehicle serviced by no one else..

Pros
Love the 6-speed..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HA
Humberto A.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Sonata SE
I highly recommend this vehicle , not only because of great reliability and gas mileage, but anytime you buy a new vehicle the service behind the sale is just as important.
The service I have received at Phil Long Hyundai over the years has been outstanding and along with a great car has made this purchase and excellent buy..

Pros
Good looking , fun to drive, and Great Reliability cannot be overstated

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lindsey T.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2019
Hyundai 2011 auto
In my 50 year opinion of vehicles, this car, bought used, has been a GREAT INVESTMENT without a DOUBT!!! I would highly recommend ANYONE looking for a GOOD auto to realize the underlying common GOODNESS of this type of vehicle!!

Pros
it holds together
it runs ok
it needs careful attention, FIND A GOOD AUTO REPAIR PLACE, i suggest for those in the Lexington, SC area: North Lake Auto Repair, talk to Peter!!!

Cons
not really as everything JUST WORKS lol

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Stephanie C.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Love my Sonata
I've had my car almost 9 years and it has almost 100,000 miles. Until just recently, I hadn't had any problems with it. A few weeks ago, on a Saturday morning, I went into the grocery store and when I came out the car wouldn't start. It needed a new starter and also something to do with the manifold exhaust and oxygen sensors. Once repaired, knock on wood, I've had no further problems. The car has a lot of power yet gets great gas mileage. It is roomy, both in the cabin and in the trunk. The seats are comfortable and even the base model has great amenities.

Pros
Gas mileage, power, reliability, visual appeal

Cons
It's a sedan so it sits low - when riding in the passenger seat I feel like I'm in a hole. It would be nice if you could raise the passenger's seat as well as the driver's.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Steffanie C.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
Great Car
The Sonota has been a great vehicle ... good gas mileage and sleek features. I took it on plenty of long distance drives and it handled very well. I drove it for more than 7 years and have just moved on to my next Hyundai ... the Kona!

Pros
Lots ... good gas mileage, didn't need a lot of repairs. Was comfortable on long trips and had a pretty fast take off from the line.

Cons
The only con was that I had the base model, so no bells and whistles which is why I only gave it an 8 on features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Caulbert T.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
Great Value
Glade I purchase this hybrid model vehicle. Both batteries are the original factory equipment. Also, all maintenance performed by the dealer. I purchased this vehicle during high gas prices and the money saved on monthly fuel bills was used to pay the car note. Great Deal!

Pros
Gas mileage and smooth highway ride on non-bumpy roadway.

I had this vehicle for 7.5 years with over 130,000 miles without any major problems.

Cons
Low front-end ground clearance is a slight issue. The suspension can be enhanced to not bottom-out when riding over the bumped roadway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Richard G.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/09/2019
After 100k miles, One of the Best Cars I've Ever Owned
While I've read some consumer reviews on the Sonata Hybrid that are not very good, I've had a great experience with mine. After 100,000 miles, it runs, looks, and feels like a new car. Gas mileage is, of course, great, and though it doesn't have super acceleration and handling (not like the two Mustangs and Pontiac GTO I owned in my younger days), I never expected that from the Sonata. It is comfortable and still one of the best looking sedans on the road; the design is classier than any Sonata models since! There have been a few minor fails on interior plastic trim parts; none ever noticeable. My only real complaint is the under-inflated tire warning light comes on and does not go off (I have to get a dealer to turn it off). If that light would operate properly, this would rank as the most enjoyable and best of the 20-30 cars I've owned over my 80 years!

Pros
Looks, reliability, gas mileage, comfort.

Cons
Minor interior plastic problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
James B.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
Great car
I was an auto mechanic my whole life and serviced Hyundai when it was first imported. I must say, they have come a long way since then. The fit and finish is very good,handles and rides very well. The performance of the 2.0L engine is un-expected-quite powerful,quick and fast. Along with that I've been getting 32mpg highway.
I drove a Chevy for 30 years.
My daughter gave me this car 2 years ago. I'm glad she did. I'm real happy with it.

Pros
Bluetooth,steering wheel controls,sport shifter,performance.

Cons
None , really .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
David H.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
Best Investment ever
When my 2011 Hyundai Sonata went in for warranty work last week, I was provided a very nice 2019 Corolla. I'd take my Hyundai any day! It's fully functional, a breeze to drive and, in 50 years of owning cars, it's the most reliable car I have ever owned. Best value EVER!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
Patricia R.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
2011 and still a beauty
Drove the Genisis , but still love my Sonata.. I’ like all the features this car has and the overall appearance it has. I car “shop” when I’m driving and looking at other vehicles. Nothing ( in this price point) has excited me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Max R.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/29/2019
Car has so many problems
The 2011 Hyundai Sonata have so many problems I’m having problems with my lights in the back of my car they are burning the wires this car should have a recall it’s so many on the road that has a missing brake lights

Pros
It’s a car

Cons
I had some many people from my cd burned out my drivers seat stop working and it goes on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Robert G.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
great car
Would buy another one when the time comes. the factory warranty is the best. I have had two occasions to use the warranty. Never a problem . I was given a loaner car at no charge. Hyundai paid all the expenses involved with the claim .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
David D.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Very nice car!
The car is from the first year they created the Sonata Hybrid and it has worked very well throughout. No worries with the battery system. I got well above expected mileage at the beginning but it has tailed off a bit over the years. Great little 2011 and I am guessing the new ones are really nice. I have thoroughly enjoyed the car. I guess my only complaint is the seats aren't comfortable with my shoulders as they push them in at the corners. Not a problem for most people. My wife doesn't like the small back window but it doesn't bother me at all.

Pros
Great car, great mileage.

Cons
Seats aren't the best in terms of comfort.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Sheila H.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
2011 Sonata
This has been one of the best cars I have owned . I don’t know what else to say I have been very satisfied with car both performance and styling this has been a wonderful car to drive and I have received many compliments on the way car looks.

Pros
Total car has been very good

Cons
Has had a few recalls nothing serious

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PA
Patricio A.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
Hyundai Sonata
To many recalls and engine problems not good went that happens, star to have issues after 30,000 miles one think after another, the star button got stranded to many times during the day and night no good.

Pros
Very nice design and fun to drive.

Cons
Engine problems and to many recalls no good !!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JZ
JOHN Z.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Car from Heaven
I've had it for 8 years, 170k miles and it's been a true thoroughbred. Still averaging upper 30's mpg on the highway. I think the only thing I've had to replace was the starter one time, (besides tires, brakes, wipers, lights, etc.)

Pros
Sporty styling, great gas mileage, fun to drive,

Cons
Maybe not as many standard safety features as some of the other brands.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Arville M.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2019
I love my Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Those are words my wife has heard me say repeatedly over the past eight years and 222,000 miles since I bought one of the first available hybrids at the Hyundai dealer in Rockwall, Texas. It has been a wonderful car, free of any major problems or issues, and the maintenance costs have been minimal, i.e., no engine or drive train trouble, no air conditioning repairs, etc. My first Hyundai was a 2001 Santa Fe, which I drove for ten years and 301,000 miles; now it looks as if I will have a similar record for longevity and performance from my Sonata.

Pros
Looks, durability, comfort

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
German M.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Best ar I ever have.
This is the best card I ever have in my life. The quality and reliability of this car make this vehicle excellent in class. The performance also make this car unique. For the money I pay for this car I will never found another car like this one.

Pros
Quality, Performance and reliability of this car is unique.

Cons
I need another car like this one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GV
Gloria V.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/16/2019
Very Good
I am overall pleased with my auto. Not too happy when recall notices are received; it concerns me and I question my choice; so far it’s been ok. The mileage could be better. Original offer/perks were great.

Pros
Warmer seats; electric maneuver for drivers’s seat

Cons
Passenger front seat poor visibility forward; not adjustable like the driver’s. I wish it came with GPS.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
James A.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2019
Thanks
This is the best car I have had in a long time, very reliable, great gas mileage, comfortable well made. My biggest problem is the low front bumper dragging the curb needs to be replaced, I wish it had all the bells and whistles the later ones have now.

Cons
Front bumper

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2174 in total