2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1653 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JO
John O.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/26/2020
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata
A very dependable, safe and comfortable vehicle to be in and operate on the road. Love the design both inside & outside, also handles well during our storms in Arizona, both during wind, dust and rain conditions. Thanks Hyundai engineers !!!

Pros
Happy with my decision when purchasing New my 2012 Hyundai Sonata

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Dale H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/16/2020
2012 Sonata
Low milage vehicle when bought. Had oil consumption issue, Hundai replaced the engine. Vehicle performs well now. Drives very nice, quiet and luxurious. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Drives easy, well designed, very comfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Melissa W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2020
Runs like new
Our 2012 Sonata still runs like new from start to end regular service at the dealership and their customer service is the most important asset to us as a customer keep up the good work a job well done!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Scott J.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2020
All power
My Hyundai Sonata 2.0 sport edition is all power and sleek line, all leather soft interior moon roof , 40 miles to gal on hi-way, wouldn’t trade for anything!!
Awesome to drive, paddle shifters fun, sound system excellent, heated seat all the way around, list is endless

Pros
2.0 turbo

Cons
Not that great in the winter

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sandra R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020
Great Car
Bought my used 2012 Sonata in 2016 with 19,000 miles. Was in mint condition. Love all the bells and whistles on the car especially the leather seats, precision steering and turbo engine. Have never used the sun roof. Do not like light shining down on me when I drive. Classy black vehicle. Love the room in the back seat. Grandson is over 6' and he has plenty of leg room.

Pros
Love everything about this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FA
Frank A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/05/2020
A great car!
We have not had a minutes problem with the car. The mileage has been very good. The car is so wonderful to drive. My husband keeps saying we need to get another car, but I keep telling him, I am keeping it. I have 115,000 on it. I will drive this puppy 'til the wheels fall off:)

Pros
All the ratings are for me. Others who ride in the car may have other feelings. Mileage is good, but was not what was first advertised.

Cons
For some folks the seats may be a bit low. My husband has some difficulty getting out of the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Joseph A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2020
Good and friendly service
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccxccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccvcvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvcccvcccccvvvvvvcvvvvcvvvvccccccvvvvcccccccggvgvcvgggggvvgvggggccvvccccccvvvvvvvvvvvvv

Pros
Good style and performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/23/2020
Good car, not great.
Have had the car for over eight years and I've had no trouble with the car except the gas mileage problem. Lately the mileage has dropped below what I would expect from a non hybrid. other than the mileage problem the car has been trouble-free.

Pros
Comfortable and reliable.

Cons
Poor gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
Robin J.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/18/2020
I like but dont want another one
I love that it saves gas but the up keep cane pricey and I dont like the take off it's too slow with some of the traffic I have to drive in or going into the Express way sometimes I feel like it wont pick up the speed I need

Pros
Gas saver

Cons
Slow take off

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Maria A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2020
Total trust in my Sonata Hybrid
The best car I have had in years. Excellent performance and relationship energy efficient vs gas consumption. Customer service staff in Wesley Chapel location is accurate, honest, reliable, friendly and always thinking what is more convenient to customers. It is almost impossible not to recommend Hyundai vehicles and services

Pros
Energy efficient to the utmost, contemporary design,

Cons
Bumpers are low and scratches with low objects too easy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Alice T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/06/2020
my Hyundai Sonata
I like my Hyundai Sonata it drives nice and very economical it passes gas stations all the time I am very happy with the Hyundai Sonata If I should buy a new car it would be a Hyundai Sonata or maybe a SUV
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Patricia S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/28/2020
2012 Hyundai Sonsta
The car has been very dependable. The 2.0 Turbo engine and transmission we love. Design of the car inside and out we very much like. The ride on this suspension and low profile tires is not good to say the least, very rough. The panoramic sun roof rattles. We have had it looked at several time to no avail. Last week they looked at the sunroof one more time and said it would have to be replaced. Cost would be thousands of dollars to us. Not worth it for an 8 year old car with 42,000 miles.

Pros
Engine, trans, interior, exterior, styling, fit and finnish

Cons
Ride comfort, panoramic sun roof rallies, shocks too harsh.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KJ
Keith J.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/28/2020
Great Service
Sheehy Hyundai always takes great care of me. I am in the market for a new vehicle and will definitely make sure that I give Sheehy the 1st opportunity to make the sell. The VIP package is second to none and there service department is top notch!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Laura B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/21/2020
Excellent vehicle
This is my 5th Hyundai, 3 Sonatas and 2 Entourages. My first 2001 Sonata had 210,000 miles before I got the 2007 Sonata currently has 260,000 miles (6 cyl). My in-law's have it now. Got a 2012 Sonata and currently has 210,000 miles. I will never get another vehicle with low profile tires. They do not handle real well in snow or rain. Our 1st 2007 Entourage Limited was totaled by a trash truck about a month after purchase. We bought our 2nd 2007 Entourage Limited a couple of weeks later after the insurance money came in. This vehicle has about 140,000 miles and is one of the most comfortable cars I have driven. Gets about 20 miles to the gallon. I will get another Hyundai when I need another vehicle.

Pros
Well machined car. Very reliable. Backs their warranty.

Cons
Not as comfortable as my 2007. Does not have a radio mute button. Low profile tires/rims do not handle well. Did not like the tires that came with the car (touring).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Aaron M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2020
2012 sonata
Although I'm more of the SUV type I am very pleased with my sonata. The warranty is great, good gas mileage and the overall performance is good.I definitely would recommend anyone to purchase Huyndai vehicles just for piece of mind and reliability.

Pros
Great warranty and gas mileage

Cons
Too low to the ground for me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Susan P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/18/2020
Hybrid
My hybrid is 7 years old. It's been good to me but I don't think I would buy one again.
It's been very reliable and has the equipment that is sufficient for my driving habits.
Service can be called if there's a breakdown of any kind.

Cons
Take off is slow. It does a thing when you try to speed up quickly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Katherine M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
This is my second Sonata. Love my car.
I have owned two Sonatas. I traded my first for this model because I liked the style. . Both cars have been solid vehicles. The new 2020 Sonata is a real good looking vehicle. Tempts me to trade again.

Pros
- love the navigation in dash

Cons
Gas tank release does not always work. Sometimes need to open the trunk and manually release to open. Have had it looked at several times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/14/2020
Love my Sonata
Great car for a great price. Our last car was totaled (13 yrs old) and insurance gave us 1/4 the cost of what we originally paid.keeps its value. Excellent warranty too. Rides smooth. Looks great. People always tell us they like our car.

Pros
Keeps its value
Awesome warranty

Cons
Can’t think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Doris R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/30/2019
Gas mileage
Nice car would upgrade to suv. Sturdy on the road, great mileage can drive from MD to NC on one tank of gas.
I would choose a suv with that in mind maybe something in red with camera, sun roof, side sensors, has to have spare tire, automatic starter

Pros
Great on gas
Trunk size big.

Cons
2012 Hyundai sonata is basic package.
No power seats on driver or passenger side.
Passenger seat sits love.
Navigation series had issues with from day that was not fixed so stopped using it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tom B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/27/2019
Love this car
Great reliable vehicle, great warranty! Great dealership. Service departments are great at all Hyundai dealerships. Looking at the new Palisade maybe next year after it has good ratings and i will give my car to my older son.

Pros
big trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1653 in total