2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58
4.6
(1609 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

D
D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/24/2019
Great Car
I really like the Hyundai Sonata. It gets good gas mileage. has plenty of power and handles great. It runs down the highway very well. It has all the modern features. The only small down side is that it has some road noise.

Pros
Handles really well. Plenty of Power. Good gas mileage. I just like the overall look and design and it has all the modern features.

Cons
The only con would be that it has some road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Edna H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2019
My Sonata Is One best
My sonata is a great running car , excellent on gas, have had only normal wear, no breakdown since I've had my car. The manufacture has had recalls but with prompt and good service, at no cost to me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Paul L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/19/2019
2012 sonata
Great car , will definitely buy another one . 201/ and I have 185500 on it and still drives great . Good on gas 35 mpg. Would recommend this car to anyone. Only problem was ac went at 17500 miles . Just normal maintenance and car still runs great

Cons
Passenger seat sits to low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2019
2012 Sonata
This is a Great vehicle! It was a good price. The ride is fairly comfortable. It gets good mileage. ........................................................,.........................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Apurva A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/16/2019
N/A
N/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/A

Pros
NA

Cons
NA

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jose A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2019
Hyundai Sonata
Have had my 2012 Hyundai Sonata a little over a year. I am now the second owner of this vehicle. No major issues, just regular maintenance has been done to it. Car has been really reliable, great on gas.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Rene P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/13/2019
Great car for the price.
Nice stylish car. Love the interior on the sonota 2012 limited 2.0. Good on gas . definitely recommend the brand. The negative is there's a few recalls but haven't had any issues with either of them prior to the recalls.

Cons
quite a few recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sheila M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/13/2019
Comfy car...
I bought the Sonata used with 15,000 miles. I had rain shields added to the windows. They help keep the unoccupied car cooler in hot weather. I Hope it lasts the rest of my life (I am in cancer remission.)

Pros
Love the heated seats on cold mornings and long drives.

Cons
I would have preferred a light grey color rather than charcoal. There are some annoying blind spots.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michelle M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/09/2019
Don't buy
Do not buy. It will give you problems with the electrical computer of the car. Look up the problem on YouTube. Seems to happen to all of them! I took my car to dealership and they could not find the problem.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
LINDA S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/08/2019
Love it!
I've had the car a little over four years and just love it! I've never had any problems with it. I've had several opportunities to sell and won't do it. Routine maintenance is easy to schedule and is done quickly.

Pros
Everything about the car is "PRO".

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BZ
Barbara Z.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/05/2019
I like my car
I enjoy driving my car. It is comfortable, reliable, roomy. Few things that are a bit annoying... there appears to be a "short" when pushing the radio button on the steering wheel. It doesn't turn the volume up or down... it changes the channel and once in a while the cruise control won't engage.

Pros
Tires have worn well for the 50K miles I have driven. Great gas mileage. Trunk is spacious. Love the sun/moon roof. Tall people have adequate leg room in front and back.

Cons
Don't like having so many recalls. The polycarbonate sunglasses make it difficult to see the radio with the blue background. There appears to be a "short" in the steering column to control the radio and cruise control.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Diane R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2019
2012 Sonata
I never loved a car so much as my Sonata the gas usage is so great, even my daughter loves it, the ride is comfortable, and the body inside and out is so classy and well looking , oh I love my 2012 car

Pros
Love. THIS car

Cons
I dont want it to get old ,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
LARRY F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2019
2012 Limited Red Sonata 2.0 turbocharged, long term review
64500 miles. Overall a good dependable semi-sporty car. The red metallic paint is holding up well for Arizona, Had to upgrade the brakes to ceramic type with drilled and slotted rotors as I have a more "sporty" style of driving. No real electrical problems, no body or interior problems. I did however accessorize both the body, lighting and interior. LED lighting, body accenting in black and chrome, carbon fiber interior trim. No reason to upgrade, this 2.0 turbocharged model has excellent power for it's size, handling is good with (wider)aftermarket 18" tires and wheels. NO ENGINE problems! No Transmission problems. I do however as a well certified ASE mechanic/tech highly recommend using full synthetic oil, transmission fluid and brake fluid. Follow the recommendations for maintenance as outlined in your owners manual an YOUR Hyundai should last for several years!

Pros
Great warranty, great reliability and build quality.

Cons
Paint, starting to show age, will have to repaint in the next couple of years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dan G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/02/2019
2.0T is a great car
I have had this car since 2012 and have done the required maintenance and have had no issues. Any recalls have been done in a timely fashion. Get great mileage and very comfortable for long drives. I travel from Raleigh, NC to Miami, FL 2 to 3 times a year.

Pros
Power & Comfort

Cons
GPS could be better. Very computer like voice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Tracey F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/01/2019
Sonata Turbo
This vehicle is amazing. Not to expensive. Great horse power. manageable to fix when parts need to be replaced. comfortable and stylish. i would recommend this car to anyone. I will probably stay with this line for a long time

Pros
stylish and comfortable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Shana P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/01/2019
Comfortable
I like my car.It's Ok for me some things about the vehicle I do Not like but I am very satisfied with the car and I do enjoy driving the car. Almost 2 months I had the car and so far its doing just ok.

Pros
sunroof, heated seats

Cons
no back up camera and some of the buttons doesn't work

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Eric H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/31/2019
Terrible quality. Constant recalls.
Hyundai should be ashamed of this piece of junk wearing it's badge. Constant recalls..... Many for serious safety issues. Stranded my wife twice. Electrical system is terrible.... I've replaced every bulb multiple times. Ride is terrible.... Chews through tires like nothing I've ever seen. Save your money and buy something else. I see first hand why they're priced do cheaply. Hyundai should do the right thing and buy back every one of these horrible cars.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joyce D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata
I love my car and it has done well by me! If I could change anything it would be for the tires to be a bit larger. I got stuck in the snow once and I think had they been larger, it wouldn’t have been an issue. Other then that, no problems!

Pros
Tires too small. Also, I hate that all the exteriors now are made of such flimsy materials. The older cars had metal that stood up to a bump if they were bumped. Now if that happens, you need to replace a whole section of the car.

Cons
Nice little car for driving around in. Very comfortable inside!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Donald F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
Sonata!
The Sonata is a great car. On my second, and eyeing the 2019! We have around 5 Hyundai's in my immediate family. Have taken on many long trips. No complaints. For driving around town - no complaints, Will be getting another soon.

Pros
I like the Sonata because it is an excellent car for the money. Been through my sports car, fast car phase. Really enjoy my Sonata.

Cons
Front pillar blocks view to the right. Voice telephone system is useless. I connect on about 2 calls per 100. Not a good system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Melissa M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2019
I Want Another One!
This is our second Sonata. Our first 2002 was purchased new and we sold it with over 200,000 miles on the odometer. It was still purring like a kitten when we sold the car, but we decided to get a newer vehicle. We chose the 2012 Hyundai. It was used when we purchased it; has never given us a minute's problem (minus the recalls Hyundai has placed on the vehicle since we purchased it); currently has 126,000 miles on it and is still going strong. I will purchase another Sonata or similar Hyundai when the time comes. Keep doing what you are doing Hyundai! Your cars and your attention to service details are appreciated by this long-term customer!

Pros
Great gas mileage, comfortable seats 5 medium-sized adults. Large trunk space; easy to drive and hugs the road in all weather.

Cons
The front passenger seat sits veryyyyyyy low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 1609 in total