2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1675 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GH
Gabriel H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/03/2019
Hybrid battery is very concerning.
It took awhile for the technicians at a Hyundai dealership to figure out that my car needed a new hybrid battery replacement. It's very concerning because my car shut off on it's own various times in the middle of busy highways. It could've turned into a big liability issue if any of my loved ones would've gotten hurt because of this issue. Hyundai needs to train their technicians better for quicker diagnostics on hybrid cars. Don't want anybody out there going through the same stress I did because of the hybrid battery.

Pros
Gas friendly.

Cons
Hybrid battery.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Maria P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/27/2019
This 2012, and 2011 have a terrible history. Do your home work before you buy used.
Official recalls have been issued for the 2012 Hyundai Sonata by the NHTSA. There are 8, and the Engine is a major one which Hyundai fought them on. A midsize sedan that looks like a high-end luxury car, has a 10-year/100,000-mile power-train warranty

Do your homework, or else.

Pros
The Sonata was once was just a low-priced midsize sedan with a great warranty. Hyundai prides itself on offering vehicles chock-full of standard features, and the 2012 Hyundai Sonata sedan is no exception. The standard equipment list includes Hyundai's new Blue Link infotainment and safety service, Bluetooth phone connectivity, iPod/USB music integration and steering wheel-mounted audio/cruise controls. An impressive array of standard safety equipment includes six airbags and electronic stability control.

Cons
"numerous factory recalls/ bad engine"

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JZ
Jesus Z.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/27/2019
Very good car
The sedan car most affordable and confortable inside the Avg in gas is well , the warranty of hyundai is really good for 10 years is really the company with the most extensive warranty in the market i really recommend get a hyundai

Pros
Very affordable and good design with good avg in gas

Cons
In my case my car is black maybe its better get white color

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jerry C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/22/2019
My 2012 Sonata Hybird
This actually is a pretty good car and competitor of similar sedans. It has a lot going on with the battery packs, starting system, etc. Loaded with extras and comfort, rides well. The maintenance schedule could be written better for a realistic world. Particularly the expression "normal conditions", REALLY!! I can not picture a location that would be the case. By description, it is always serve conditions. Good thing the after market products are generally better today. Would I buy another, maybe. To many recalls and too many issues not recognized/acknowledged by the brand. If you want to be number one, better pay attention to who (consumers) puts you there.

Pros
Comfort, styling, technology and features

Cons
Gas mileage - use to get good MPG, never the same/inconsistent, set really low, recalls, problems not recognized by corporation

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Rodney R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/21/2019
Excellence
Wish the 2012 style would return will buy again and again. Warranty and customer service will make me a owner for life. I couldnt of bought a better car for the price. I would feel confident buying any model.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Tamika T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/20/2019
Transmission sensor...
It seems all the sonatas are having this transmission issue and Hyundai has done nothing to fix it. Not even extend the manufacturing warranty or offer a discount. It's not right and I don't appreciate it!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Edward W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/19/2019
2012 hyundai sonata
I would not recommend the 2012 sonata. I bought it new and it has had too many recalls on this model year. I also have a 2002 sonata, which still runs better than the 2012 model. Thus if anybody is looking for the used car, don't buy the 2012 sonata. Hopefully the later years have corrected the problems.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Etta C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/19/2019
It’s a ?
I have had trouble out of this car every since I had it, taken it back and forth to the dealership and staying to three hours. From my backup camera to sensors has been worked on, the engine light stays on and no one knows why! I hold my breath every time and turn the key because anything could be wrong with it or going out on it, I just paid it off and I don’t want to go in debt for another vehicle, every time they fix one thing something else needs fixing. 2012 sonata’s are lemons and that’s maybe just my opinion

Pros
Beautiful car, drives good, performance good, great features

Cons
Stay needing services, on all features, stay in the shop. It’s a beautiful lemon. I wouldn’t recommend this car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Alice T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2019
MY 2012 HYUnDIA SONATA
I LIKE MY HYUNDIA SONATA NICE RIDING AND HANDLES VERY NICE GETS GOOD MILEAGE PASSES GAS STATIONS LIKE THEY ARE NOT THERE OVERALL I LOVE MY HYUNDIA !!!!!! ONE THING I DO WISH;;;I WISH I HAD LEATHER SEATS EASIER TO SLIDE IIN AND OUT OF CAR
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Bobby M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2019
Excellent Style, Quality, And Road Performance.
Excellent comfortable stylish-comfortable-first-class ride!!! I purchased the vehicle new in 2012. It's an all pro ride!!! And, of course, I am highly satisfied. And, I will purchase another new Sonata in 2020!!!!

Pros
ALL Pro!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Mario P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/14/2019
Good cart for your money
The Sonata has been a very reliable car for me. I bought it new in 2012 and after 110,000 miles still gives me over 30 miles x gallon in the city. Minimum maintenance until the airbag light turned on and I was told needs 3 dollars to repair the airbag on the driver side. I like the car and was planning on driving it for another 2 years minimum but now I am not sure if that is safe enough to continue driving it. I hope Hyunday would had made the repairs to a faulty airbag without a cost to the consumer.

Pros
Very economic car
After 7 years driving it in the hard winters of Chicago, I see no signs of rusty parts.
Pain still very shine
Confortable for all 5 passengers.

Cons
Faulty airbag after warranty was over and not able to get repairs done because of high cost that a 7 year old car value is equal or less to cost of repairs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Albert G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2019
2012 Sonata SE 2.0 Turbo
Six yrs old but only 75k miles. Can still "zip" past semi's going up-hill on I80 in western PA.
No trade in in mind.10.Takeit as is or I'll delete bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

Pros
You got 10's, what more do you want?

Cons
Couldn't get heated front seats or dimming rear view mirror when I bought it. Too much roadnoise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Barbara B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/11/2019
Would buy another just like it.
Good buy for the money. Stylish, Easy to keep clean, Good Gas mileage, Comfortable seating & Driving. Easy to handle on long trips. Excellent trunk room for baggage. Seats four passengers and the driver comfortably.

Pros
we love our car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Clint F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/10/2019
Great car, bad gas mileage
I pretty much love everything about the car except for the gas mileage especially in the summertime when the AC is running nonstop I get anywhere from 20 to 25 miles per gallon...need vehicle updates that should have been covered by hyundai but I was made to pay for them

Pros
Looks great, comfy, techy,

Cons
Horrible gas mileage, ac does not cool in winter

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Burger C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/09/2019
Great value and very reliable
Great value. Stylish inside and out. Very reliable. Fold down rear seats expand trunk capacity. Repair costs seem to be reasonable. Easy to drive on the freeway and off. Exterior finish is holding up well.

Pros
Great audio and Bluetooth. Trunk is a great size. Like the fold down back seats-they make it easy to expand trunk capacity.

Cons
Tail lights seem to have a short “shelf life”. I’ve had to replace both of them in the last 8 months.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Colleen T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/01/2019
Nice car!
Love my Sonata but a little concerned about the number of recalls that just keep coming. Everything has always been taken care of to my satisfaction but still a concern. Glad Hyundai stands behind their cars!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sharon B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2019
My second Sonata. I am a major Hyundai Sonata fan!
My second Sonata. I am a major Hyundai Sonata fan! I have owned many other brands and Hyundai is now my first choice. My first car served me well and this one is still going strong and I put close to 200000 miles on my first. For me, the Sonata gives me the most comfort and value for the money. I always recommend the Sonata to my friends!

Pros
Solid, reliable, comfortable, many upgrade features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
Glenn M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/29/2019
Sonata 2012
Car has 113,000 miles and runs well. What I don’t care for is too much hard plastic in the interior. This seems to be an issue with Hyundai’s. I find that Toyota’s, Honda’s, and Subaru’s seem to be more “solid” as they age compared to my Hyundai

Pros
Runs well...still looks great.

Cons
Too many hard plastic parts. Car runs a little too tight on its suspension. Hybrid is getting noisier with age. Car sits very low which is ok but it can be a bit burdensome getting in and out of the vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mountain B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/25/2019
EXCELLENT SERVICE AND MR ERIC TAKE CARE OF OUR CAR PRETTY WELL
Thank you Mr. Eric for your help as always you do. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/25/2019
This a agreat vehicle
This car is reliable. It is an I4 with a 2.4 Liter engine that develops over 200 hp but gets 40 mph on the highway. It is eye catching and very streamlined but very comfortable. The cloth seats are a bit hard to keep clean and delicate. I like the car so much I have purchased a leather kit to convert the seats, headrests and console to leather. The headlights are not too great. But I like the car so much I put in Innovited 55w HID bulbs and now they work fine after much help from Sharon Norman and the techs on getting them alligned.

Pros
Economy and performance
Comfort

Cons
Headlights dim and unfocused
Cloth seats delicate and easily soild

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 1675 in total