2014
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5rating 4.71
4.7
(1844 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DM
DARRYL M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/12/2019
Great
Great car. Love it.. it drive well on the road. And I would buy another one. Real smooth ride. A very great car to have. Just a great car overall and it handles the road very well .. like I said it's a great car ..
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
Terrence A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/12/2019
76139660701 AL
Vehicle has had more recalls than any other vehicle I have ever owned.
Paint on the trunk spoiler has been flaking for the past three years. (Car is only 5ys old)
Suspension is stiffer than a skateboard.

Pros
N/A

Cons
Stiff suspension
Bad paint
Far too many recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carol H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2019
My 2014 Sonata SE 2.0 T
Great car. 125,000 miles, one battery, 2 sets brakes Still gets 31 mpg.
Just as much power as when I first purchased. I would have preferred non chrome door handle but that was more personal preference

Pros
Everything

Cons
Front Seats on the 2.0 are Sport Seats and are not comfortable on long rides

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Carol G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/06/2019
review of my 2014 Sonata
Love my car. Comfortable and easy to drive. Only issue for me with the 2014 is that the passenger seat can be manually pulled forward and pushed back but you cannot lift it up and feel that you are seated too low. I'm sure a pad would help but they are a pain to deal with as they move. You probably have improved this issue but if not .......

Pros
Size, looks, gas mileage, comfort, reliability

Cons
Passenger seat on the 2014 Sonata should be able to be raised higher. It moves forward and back but not up or down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KENNETH P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/04/2019
The Silver Beast
I absolutely love my car. It is about 5 years old now.... it has about 30,000 miles on it when I bought it from Enterprise Car Rental. I haven't had any major problems at all. Unfortunately, I have put a lot of miles on it in the past 4 years. It is up to 118,000 + miles. I will probably be trading it in within the next year.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Anthony A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Great Service
Great service, courteous and amiable staff.The vehicle advisor was professional enough to advise me as to what I should be thinking ahead of time to repair now or very soon before it or they become a problem/(s) and leaving the decision to me whether to repair now or later.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Peter L.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/27/2019
2014 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T Limited
I bought mine in Sept 2014, brand new, The car was very cheap (27k out the door) I am finding out you get what you pay for. The GDI Turbo engine has had several recalls and a class action suite filed and won against it. The engines are notorious for catching fire. They suffer from really bad carbon build up in the head because of the GDI design, make sure you only use full synthetic oil and change every 3k miles. The transmission is sluggish and weak at best, don’t put it to the test of it’s limits, it won’t hold up. I’ve changed my tranny fluid at 40k miles and plan on doing it again when and if I reach 80k miles. The A/C units are built cheaply as well, mine failed at 64k miles and living in Florida not having A/C just isn’t plausible. If you buy a Hyundai I would suggest leasing for no more than 3 years, they just aren’t built to last and for god’s sake don’t buy one and sell it after three years, their re-sale value is the worst of any car made. I bought mine new in 2014 and like I said it was super cheap. I like to keep my cars ten years to get a good amount of use out of them, I don’t think this pile is going to make it. I’ll eat dirt before I buy another Hyundai again.

Pros
Cheap, look good and ride good when they are new.

Cons
The quality will not hold up over time. GDI engine design is plagued with issues, some potentially life threatening (see engine fires). The resale vale is horrible, best not to buy, better to lease.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
Susan Y.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2019
Best gas mileage
I drive from Katy to LaPorte Texas a few times a month. I take I10 and Beltway 8. I took picture of my gas mileage on eco. I get 45.6 mpg. Around Katy I get 39.3. My Sonata was a good investment. I liked me car and Katy Hub so much my daughter now drives a Tucson. My son has owned an Elantra for years.

Pros
Like everything about the car.

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2019
The best car for our needs!
Our Sonata gives us around 35 mpg on the open road and around 22 mpg in town. The car has plenty of power when you need it. The paddle shift works great and is easy to use. The cars finish looks like it did when we purchased it. We are very happy we purchased the 2014 Sonata!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Brenda H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/23/2019
Great looks, bad mechanically
Car is 147k m, already replaced axels and has a known wire harness problem that melts your stop lights making it impossible to replace bulbs, Hyundai only covers if under 60k after that you are screwed
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Benny T.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2019
Sonata 2014
This car has always been very reliable. I've not had any issues with the car. The only out of pocket repairs came to the Navigation/radio system. It had to be replaced 3 years in and then once more for an update. I would never buy another white car. Too many blemishes and constantly looks dirty. I wish Hyundai wo UK ld stop calling me trying to convince me to trade up to a new model.

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Front end stabilization doesn't react well to street traffic.. pot holes, construction, etc.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sherry B.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/21/2019
Love it !!
One of the best cars I’ve ever owned. No trouble with anything on it. Very reliable.
No problems at all. Runs very well and smooth. Not sure what else to say!! Just love it! Would recommend it to all.

Pros
All good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Adela H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
My Dream Car
I lost a horse some nine years ago named Sonata, and the same day I saw a Hyundai Sonata for the first time. I said that day I'd own one to commemorate my little horse someday and just recently I finally bought one. It's my dream, a beautiful car inside and out, handles perfectly (how could it not, there's three different suspension and steering modes!), good on gas and just beautiful to look at. It's my baby and when I move back to Europe it's going with me.

Pros
beautiful
high performance
love the manual shift option
easy to maintain and keep clean inside
beautiful paint job (black w/colored metalflake)
handles like a very high $ European vehicle
tinted windows make sunny days tolerable
heater works great, great dual control system
AC is spot on
Great Navi system
Dash display very easy to look at and see
love the keyless entry and start!!!
styling!!!! It's gorgeous

Cons
absolutely NO CONS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Joseph T.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2019
Great car for the price
I bought my car used. It was two years old with 18000 miles. I've had the car for 3 and a half years and it currently has 63000 miles. All I have done to the car is brakes, tires and fuel. My next car will be the same.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Marc W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2019
MY 2014 SONATA
JUST MADE THE LAST PAYMENT. THE CAR STILL LOOKS GREAT, RUNS GREAT, AND I HOPE TO KEEP IT THAT WAY FOR MANY YEARS TO COME. AND WITH THE CONTINUED GREAT SERVICE FROM THE MERIDEN HYUNDAI SERVICE DEPT, THAT SHOULDN'T BE A PROBLEM. SORRY SALESMEN.!

Pros
SURE GOT MY MONEYS WORTH WITH THIS CAR.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
David J.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
Sonata
Best car I have ever owned. Wouldn't trade for any other model!!! This suits my needs. It is so comfortable for me and have had very few minor problems which were covered by warranty. Overall great vehicle

Pros
Style comfort fuel mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
Evelyn A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/08/2019
Sonata Limited
I’m very pleased with the looks and performance of my Sonata...
I have had no problems with my vehicle and loves the way it drives and the gas mileage. The leather seats are easy to care for....I’m running out of praise for my Sonata Limited...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Amanda G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/06/2019
I loveeeee my baby!!
Let’s start briefly when I was 18 this was my dream car because of the shark fin on the top lol my obsession with sharks is real & the color!! Was gonna be driving a shark around lol well when I went to get it, it didn’t work out. Fast forward 8yrs ahead 26yrs old this beauty became my baby 6days after my birthday this was car #3 for me and I been in love since!! So much space for everyone we’ve been on 2 road trips together and counting my sisters named the car JAX there initials. Not getting it at 18 but getting it at 26 showed me things take time the best things that is & I've grown so much more patience.

Pros
Every loves the adjustable driver seat my best friend is only 4’9 so that was a plus for her lol

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Jensy F.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
The Best Vehicle You can drive!!
Comfortable, Economic, Safe, Fuel efficient and Good Looking! Just Excellent!
I bought it new. And it has never given me problems. After five years of driving it every day the car is like new.
I would not change it for anything!!
I’m so proud of My Hiundai Sonata!
My Best Decision!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ryemel W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
I Love my Hyundai sonata
The features and the way this vehicle drives. I fell in love when I test drove it. Hands free capabilities ,speed,steering . I've been on several road trip since I purchased this vehicle. It's so reliable and comfortable .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1844 in total