2014
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(1856 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

WF
Wilmer F.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/11/2019
Best car I ever had.
Best car I ever had. Great features,except that the Blue link guidence package had removed traffic and weather after a few months. After 6 and a half years I am constantly having issues with the guidance system. To often, the agents connected via blue link are offshore (Phillipines) most of the time they give out false information. HYUNDAI CAN DO A LOT BETTER IN THIS AREA

Cons
Blue link guidence service

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Scott S.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/11/2019
2014 Sonata - Solid
Bought new, and have been very happy with the vehicle. Reliable, and no surprises. Boring is good when it comes to vehicles - meaning that it shows up for work every day and gets the job done. Would recommend.

Pros
Very reliable. Great overall vehicle with no surprises.

Cons
Can feel the bumps in the road

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AE
Ann E.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/10/2019
Great car
I have owned my Hyundai for nearly six years. Have driven it several times to central and northern California to visit family. Have never encountered any problems...46000 miles coming up. No plans to replace it any time soon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Ben T.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/05/2019
We like the car, but it’s had some issues.
We picked this car for its fuel economy and comfort. It has a large fuel tank and thus less fill ups between stops/ days of driving. That being said there has been a series of frustrating hiccups. A flashing engine light that has to be addressed multiple times. If it wasn’t for the service department I’d have jumped ship before now.

Pros
When working great fuel economy

Cons
Known manufacturers defects
Ac is sketchy at times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TE
Thomas E.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/01/2019
all ok
Easy to clean, good gas mileage ,Fun to drive large trunk, the hidden keyway on the trunk lid was found buy luck, I could not find it in the book. Hard to clean the back window on the inside, The steering wheel and shift locked up a few times could not open the little latch to free it up with small screw driver as directed by book. turned the key, moved the shift lever and wheel and put my foot on brake many times and then back in business and away I went.. When I park now I park with the front wheels straight ahead 'NO MORE LOCK UPS Put that in the book.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Cornelius R.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2019
excellent
my vehicle has always been dependable.
i put a lot of miles on my vehicle, and did not experience any major issues.
now that i am retired i dont drive as much as i used too, still keeping up with mainenance is very important.

Pros
nice ride

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2019
Sonata is the best
We have had this car for 5 years and have had no trouble and have gotten great gas mileage. It has all the safety devices and other bells and whistles that the expensive cars have. The dealer went out of his way to show us all the outstanding features this car had after working with us to get us a great price for it. It was much better built than the Nissan we were going to buy.

Pros
great mileage and economical car in all other ways

Cons
It's a bit low so a bit awkward to get in and out of

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jack C.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2019
Sonata Hyundai
Very luxury car. Drives great, love the extras
Love the radio, gps, color
Like reverse camera,heated seats dual heat controllers. Radio and cd player, bluelink, sunroof,syrrius, we just love the courteous service men.

Pros
Runs great
Good on fuel
Classy looking
No mechanical problems

Cons
Service is far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VD
Veronica D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2019
Love my car
I love everything about my car, the way it handles, miles per gallon, the way it looks, and the dependability is exceptional. The dealership kept pushing me to buy a new car, I told him in the very beginning I wanted used. For $2.52 more a month they said I could buy a new car, I said for how many months they said 84. I laughed and said who does that, that’s buying a car you really can’t afford.

Pros
I feel like I may have gotten a better price somewhere else. I was a Female buying my car,I feel like I probably could’ve got a better price.

Cons
Price

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
Asuncion V.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/15/2019
Quality of manufacturing.
Not as I expected for quality of car. It was overhyped. The gas mileage is not what I expected. The exterior is nice though. We had to shell out $128.00 just to change the light bulb on the breaklight. The light bulb cost less than $4.00, but the housing burned and melted. Our service advisor was very nice and he contacted Hyundai on our behalf regarding the issue. Hyundai only agreed to pay half of installation of the break light assembly. This is a safety issue/manufacturer's defect. This should be looked at.

Pros
Exterior is nice.

Cons
Manufacturer did not shoulder all the expenses to change the housing for the break light.Contact housing broke and melted. It is not a wear and tear of the car, it is a safety issue. There should be a recall for this,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Cynthia J.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2019
My Car runs well, but needs more maintenance in the near future.
At this particular visit, my car needed a n Oil change, tires rotation. I was informed by the Car representative, that it requires shocks and a transmission fluid. I was not able to get these other two jobs done due to insufficient finances, however, I will try to get this work done next month. My vehicle was presented back to me in a timely manner...

Pros
My car is 5 yrs old, which I do consider it comfortable to drive. I've had to brin g my car into service on several recalls of the engine, and other parts to be repaired
in the past.

Cons
I would like to get a newer vehicle in the future.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kristle C.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/14/2019
2014 Sonata
The Sonata can use improvement
More notifications such as when lights are out .
Seat warmers better
Ac/heat circulation could be better
Don’t make passenger seat lower than driver
Brakes always squeak no matter new or old

Pros
Safety is excellent

Cons
Indications
Brakes
Ac/heat
Chair warmers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DARRYL M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/12/2019
Great
Great car. Love it.. it drive well on the road. And I would buy another one. Real smooth ride. A very great car to have. Just a great car overall and it handles the road very well .. like I said it's a great car ..
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
Terrence A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/12/2019
76139660701 AL
Vehicle has had more recalls than any other vehicle I have ever owned.
Paint on the trunk spoiler has been flaking for the past three years. (Car is only 5ys old)
Suspension is stiffer than a skateboard.

Pros
N/A

Cons
Stiff suspension
Bad paint
Far too many recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carol H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2019
My 2014 Sonata SE 2.0 T
Great car. 125,000 miles, one battery, 2 sets brakes Still gets 31 mpg.
Just as much power as when I first purchased. I would have preferred non chrome door handle but that was more personal preference

Pros
Everything

Cons
Front Seats on the 2.0 are Sport Seats and are not comfortable on long rides

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Carol G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/06/2019
review of my 2014 Sonata
Love my car. Comfortable and easy to drive. Only issue for me with the 2014 is that the passenger seat can be manually pulled forward and pushed back but you cannot lift it up and feel that you are seated too low. I'm sure a pad would help but they are a pain to deal with as they move. You probably have improved this issue but if not .......

Pros
Size, looks, gas mileage, comfort, reliability

Cons
Passenger seat on the 2014 Sonata should be able to be raised higher. It moves forward and back but not up or down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KENNETH P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/04/2019
The Silver Beast
I absolutely love my car. It is about 5 years old now.... it has about 30,000 miles on it when I bought it from Enterprise Car Rental. I haven't had any major problems at all. Unfortunately, I have put a lot of miles on it in the past 4 years. It is up to 118,000 + miles. I will probably be trading it in within the next year.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Anthony A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Great Service
Great service, courteous and amiable staff.The vehicle advisor was professional enough to advise me as to what I should be thinking ahead of time to repair now or very soon before it or they become a problem/(s) and leaving the decision to me whether to repair now or later.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Peter L.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/27/2019
2014 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T Limited
I bought mine in Sept 2014, brand new, The car was very cheap (27k out the door) I am finding out you get what you pay for. The GDI Turbo engine has had several recalls and a class action suite filed and won against it. The engines are notorious for catching fire. They suffer from really bad carbon build up in the head because of the GDI design, make sure you only use full synthetic oil and change every 3k miles. The transmission is sluggish and weak at best, don’t put it to the test of it’s limits, it won’t hold up. I’ve changed my tranny fluid at 40k miles and plan on doing it again when and if I reach 80k miles. The A/C units are built cheaply as well, mine failed at 64k miles and living in Florida not having A/C just isn’t plausible. If you buy a Hyundai I would suggest leasing for no more than 3 years, they just aren’t built to last and for god’s sake don’t buy one and sell it after three years, their re-sale value is the worst of any car made. I bought mine new in 2014 and like I said it was super cheap. I like to keep my cars ten years to get a good amount of use out of them, I don’t think this pile is going to make it. I’ll eat dirt before I buy another Hyundai again.

Pros
Cheap, look good and ride good when they are new.

Cons
The quality will not hold up over time. GDI engine design is plagued with issues, some potentially life threatening (see engine fires). The resale vale is horrible, best not to buy, better to lease.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
Susan Y.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2019
Best gas mileage
I drive from Katy to LaPorte Texas a few times a month. I take I10 and Beltway 8. I took picture of my gas mileage on eco. I get 45.6 mpg. Around Katy I get 39.3. My Sonata was a good investment. I liked me car and Katy Hub so much my daughter now drives a Tucson. My son has owned an Elantra for years.

Pros
Like everything about the car.

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1856 in total