2016
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5rating 4.81
4.8
(2845 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CC
Carmen C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/10/2019
I Love my Baby!!!
I Love the way she glides, the power of when to pick up. She looks and feels like luxury. Spacious, and the sun roof is the icing on the cake. The roof stretches to the back and My Grand Daughters love it. They stair at the stars, planes, Moon and so much more to relax in.

Pros
?

Cons
?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Diane C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/10/2019
4th Sonata!
I am on my fourth Sonata and I absolutely love them! You get a lot of "bang for your buck" and they are a good looking car too. I love the new 2020's and when I get more mileage on my car, I am sure I will be buying my fifth one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Derrell M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
Great
My customer service representative was very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The service was very fast and the price was alot less than I thought it would be. I will definitely tell all of my friends. In 2 years I will give my son this car and buy myself a new vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
Thomas D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2019
Sonata limited
Been extremely pleased owning a sonata , quiet smooth ride, all the bells and whistle and safety features one could ask for. Car has maintained its quality inside and out, still looks brand new 3 years after purchase.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Elaine B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2019
2016 Sonata
My review of my 2016 Sonata, goes like this: Hyundai has gone beyond what my expectations were on this vehicle. The vehicle has great styling, is comfortable, easy and fun to drive, it’s incredibly reliable, magnificent fuel economy and definitely without a doubt, is one of the finest vehicles I have ever owned and I’ve owned over 25! Great job Hyundai!!!!!

Pros
In 2014 I bought my first Hyundai Sonata...I drove it 65,000 miles and because I loved that vehicle so much, I decided to buy another brand new 2016. I have probably owned 25+ brand new vehicles in my life and the Hyundai product is unbelievable in terms of: quality, workmanship, reliability, and comfort...they really take care of business!

Cons
None!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Aleathia F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/22/2019
Love My Sonata
I love my Hyundai Sonata! My family has a total of 5 Hyundai vehicles. The only thing I do not like is Hyundai Motor Finance. If you are 3 days late on your payment, they start harassing you with phone calls multiple times a day, night, etc. Never will I ever again finance a car with Hyundai Motor Finance unless they change their fees, their harassment procedures, and the way they operate.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Anthony J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/18/2019
Just another sedan
The car is reliable, relatively low maintenance if you don't abuse it with poor driving habits. Average acceleration and gas mileage. Interior fabric seats are not very soil resistant. Will likely buy Toyota or Mazda sedan next time.

Pros
It starts everyday. Exterior holding up well.

Cons
Avg acceleration
Substandard seat fabric

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2019
2016 Sonata Sport!
I bought my vehicle as a CPO Hyundai April of 2018. The car was in the 39,000 mile range, and got a stellar deal! I was originally driving the car back and forth from Southern California to Arizona literally it was weekly for about 3 months and the car gave me zero issues. Now fast forward to November 2019 my Sonata has 65,000 miles and has never given me any issues and still drives as if it were new. I always keep up with all its maintenance at the local Hyundai dealer and only use full synthetic engine oil. I’m hoping this car to last me a few years, it’s got great handling, superb comfort and enough power for a daily driver. It’s extremely great on gas, almost as good a hybrid I would say. My Sonata is the Sport model with the comfort package, which makes me almost feel as if I had bought a limited edition due to its amazing features included. I would definitely recommend the Sonata to anyone looking for a vehicle with lots of features and comfort at a reasonable price to fit most budgets! Makes you feel as if you we’re driving a more high end vehicle, see for yourself, the Sonata won’t disappoint!

Pros
It’s an amazing car, very well built with no rattles whatsoever!

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HT
Hugh T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/12/2019
2016 Hyundai Sonata Limited
10 years 100,000 miles bumper to bumper warranty is the best in the industry. Spacious cabin, lots of head shoulder and leg room for 5 full size adults. More safety features than other vehicles in it's class.

Pros
10 years, 100,000 miles bumper to bumper warranty. Spacious cabin.

Cons
Low 2.4L engine output, 185hp. The 2011 - 2014 2.4L engine had 200hp.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Beulah M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/10/2019
Knocks
I hope the frequent knocks are not going to become a transmission issue. I purchased this vehicle with the intention of keeping it for at least eight years. I plan to take it to the dealership for a check. Don't think this will be my next vehicle of choice.

Pros
Good looking car

Cons
Engine knocks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sally S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2019
Hyundai Sonata
This vehicle is very reliable. I
have had it for 3 years and it runs beautifully and is a very comfortable ride. I love the navigation system. The heated seats and steering wheel is a great feauture that I have used often. Sun roof is easy to open and close.

Pros
Navigation System
Heated seats and steering wheel
Back up cameras
Side alarms fro changing lanes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Aldine B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2019
Becoming a family tradition
My mother started it,she got a Sonata about 8 years ago. It was roomier on the inside than it looked and was great on gas. Then my aunt who lives with her got one a few years later. When my husband and I started talking about buy a new car our first thought was Hyundai. While on vacation we had to rent a car and we had a chance to drive an Elantra. We were in L.A. for a week up the coast highway and all over and only filled the care up once we were sold. When we went car shopping we were looking at the Elantra but with my husband being over 6 feet tall he preferred the leg room of the Sonata, so that's what we got and we love it, no problems, no worries, no hassles and we love the warranty. You can pretty much bet your bottom dollar that our next car will be a Hyundai most likely another Sonata.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Donald C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2019
Love our Sonata
Our 2016 Hyundai Sonata is the nicest car we have owned. We love it so much, we may buy it when our lease is over. We may upgrade to one with more safety options.
we also are considering an SUV for our winters here in the North East.

Pros
everything about it.

Cons
Would like auto stopping feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Blair P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2019
Hyundai Sonata
We took advantage of the Hyundai warranty which is the best in the business. but in 3 years there have been no extreme issues with this car. In fact, it has been a joy to drive and has performed better than our expectations. The EPA fuel economy estimates have been exceeded in regular conditions. As far as comfort goes, we love the leg room in the back seat and the roomy trunk. The seats could be softer. But overall, we love this car!

Pros
The advantages of this vehicle far outweigh any disadvantages. It rides quietly, fairly smoothly, and the instrument panel is easy to read and easy to use. And the room in the back is outstanding. I may have not mentioned that the trunk space is terrific as well.

Cons
The middle storage area can be difficult to open, but that is very seldom.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/23/2019
2016 sonatta
very nice car however there is an engine bearing premature wear problem w ith motor hyundai put sensor to detect early engine knocking puts car in limp mode,the sensor they put on was defective, unnessarally putting car in limp mode

Pros
its a nice car all around

Cons
engine problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Crystal C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/20/2019
Defective Paint
Defective paint that is slowly but surly peeling off. My hood looks awful. And Hyundai will not fix it. It’s pretty sad when you pay of $20,000 for a brand new car, and you get defective paint. More than likely won’t by Hyundai again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
John P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
Great car.
I bought this car used and I love it. It is very quite, even on rough roads. It absorbs bumps nicely. It has power when you need it. If you need more power, just put it in sport mode, but I have never had any problem merging onto an expressway in regular mode. My previous car was an Acura RL and I have had no problem adapting to this car.

Pros
Quite ride

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OA
Ogbazgy A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
Routine service and oil change
Hyundai North is a good and closer place to have the service done! I am pleased with the service provided! Continue providing good service as you have been doing throughout the years and to many customers.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tania B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/15/2019
Going, going , gone
I was in love with my vehicle when I first purchased. Up until this year when I noticed that my paint was chipping off. Off course I searched to see if this was a known issue and to my surprise it is. I have taken my vehicle in numerous occasions to be serviced and the missing paint was not even a thing of discussions.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jessica S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/07/2019
Best Car Ever!!!
You would not believe the MPG this vehicle gets! I would and will own a Hyundai Sonata for the rest of my life. I gave the styling a 9 because of the front grill. Not too sure I like the newer front end. DIDO on the rating for exterior design.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2845 in total