2017
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(2592 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RC
RICHARD C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2019
Best car for the money
The Hyundai Sonota Limited 2019 is the best car for the money. The warranty is the best in the industry, safety features are exceptional and the stylish design make it a winner. I highly recommend this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SV
Shacuanna V.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
2017 Sonata
I brought my car from CarMax, but am having it serviced through a Hyundai dealership. As much as my family and I take road trips, this car has hung in there every step of the way. The gas mileage is awesome, as I drive about 24 miles from home to work, one way. Today is Friday and I filled up on Sunday...I am just getting to half a tank of gas.

Pros
Gas mileage
Its Cute with tent (which I have)

Cons
I have the Standard Edition, and we do not have a place to plug in a USB charger in the back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
KATHLEEN K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/10/2019
My Hyundai
I cannot think of anything I don't like about my car. I have always had my car serviced at 3 different dealerships and only one will I not return to, Hyundai in Vero Beach Fl., they are overpriced and try to up sell.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LE
Leslie E.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/07/2019
Sonata
I have had several Sonatas. Performance is excellent and the car is easy to drive. Now that I live alone I count on the honesty of the salesman and maintenance. I have never been disappointed. I would not go to another dealership. You are my dealership!

Pros
Everything I want in a car...feel safe...I lease this car.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JEFFREY W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/06/2019
love it
Between the comfort and design safety features, fuel economy and style there is nothing I could say negative on my purchase, I forgot it holds its value much longer the other car's on the market in the same category
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARK A.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2019
great
was good as I leased it and had to return it since was eating into tha mileage guess what needs to pay for top up to free of .......in all was great to experience new vehicle and great experience too lol

Pros
awesome

Cons
nothing bad

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JOANA D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2019
It was a great car, great design, but 2019 changed it all
I loved driving my Hyundai Sonata, until time came to trade it in for a new vehicle. I was certain I was going to get into the next Sonata, but when I saw the new body design I changed my mind quickly. They shortened the car’s length, it’s also smaller and tighter inside. The whole body design has completely changed and I ended up on the brand new 2019 Toyota Camry SE. If in the next two years Hyundai changes the body design to the elongated, elegant, luxury body design, I will definitely reconsider.

Pros
2017 Sonata had a great body design.
Fun to drive. It had a good response. It went when you needed it. It was a smooth car to drive. Great interior design, Apple Car Play, etc.

Cons
2017 Sonata had no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lyle H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/05/2019
disappointment
I had to take my 2017 Hyundai Sonata in for repair due to the fact that when I would accelerate the engine would try to stall, they repair the issue after a few days of having my vehicle and I drove it for a few months and then suddenly a few weeks ago the same exact issue occurred this time it took over a week for repair ...my problem is ...am I going to get three times lucky? What if I’m pulling out into traffic in the car stalls again ??? I live in a very busy part of town and this could be more than hazardous to my health

Pros
Looks beautiful inside and out

Cons
Call repair issue problems with acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
KATHLEEN T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2019
Sonata 2017
Great car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
A lot of car for value price

Cons
?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Brandi T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/04/2019
Love my car
Only one complaint is that my pre paid carrier is not compatible with the android auto app so i am unable to use any apps but other than that i love it. It is dependable. Have had it for 3 years with no major issues. Love the design. Get lots of compliments. Easy to drive. Roomy back seat . huge trunk .

Pros
Sporty
Interior leather
Good gas mileage

Cons
A little rough ride at times
Engine idols a little louder than expected.
Cant use apps if you have pre paid carrier
Sales people and service in savannah ga is horrible
No remote start without paying for blue link

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
Ernesto A.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
My Sonata
I initially bought a new 2011 Elantra GLS wagon and have not had any problems in the years that I have owned it. I needed a second car and based on that experince I bought the Sonata. I still do not regret my chioces.

Pros
I am very happy with this vehicle and I would purchase another one.

Cons
I am having a problem with the seat's plastic cover on the driver side of the car. This plastic piece keeps breaking off and I need to take it back for replacement. It has a poor design, it is attached to the seat frame by plastic clips and these keep breaking off. I would replace the clips with springs and they would not be break off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gloria D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
Hyundai Sonata
This is my second Sonata and I love them. They are spacious and drive great. Other than normal maintenance, I haven't had any problems. They are very reliable, comfortable and stylish cars. I also was very pleased with the price compared to other manufacturers.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Patricia D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
Great car
I love this car because its Great on gas, is smooth riding, no outside noise when the doors r closed. U cant even hear it running. It has lots of room, very reliable, has great features like back up camera and Bluetooth. Its stylish and looks awesome.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
AMANDA F.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/03/2019
Issues
Overall has the ability to be a great car. I have had some engine issues I hope will be taken care of from the manufacture. If not I wouldn’t recommend or purchase another Hyundai vehicle. Car does have great gas mileage

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Engine problems

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Stephanie W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
Safe!!!
I purchased my car in Clovis,Ca. I was so comfortable with this purchase that all I needed to do when I arrived there was see the car and sign the docs. This Dealership was awesome the salesman had everything ready for me when I arrived. I had a long drive back to the South Bay and felt very Safe.... The South Bay Dealership in now my service center and my 2017 Sonata is my safe haven.

Pros
All of the Above!!

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
SALEEM A.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2019
Hyundai Sonata is an Awesome car.
The Hyundai Sonata is a great car. Most importantly it has a great fuel economy. Very comfortable and spacious, and to top all this nothing goes wrong and it’s a beautiful car. I enjoy driving the Sonata more than many other cars.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Constantine W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2019
Very nice ride.
Great ride. Great air conditioning, and heating, nice radio sound. Big trunk, and good on gas.It accelerates very fast. Good on turning curves. and very roomy in the backseat, compare to my other car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KATHY W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2019
AAA+++ Vehicle
Love my Sonata. It is beautifully stylish and extremely comfortable with great amenities and features. World class treatment from my dealer both during the purchasing process and serving needs. This beauty gets great gas mileage and is fun to drive. I shopped other brands but the ROI was greatest through Hyundai - price, features, performance & warranty exceeded that of other brands.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Stanley S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/30/2019
The Works Are Worth It.
Originally we purchased the ECO model with the turbo. It was fast and very economical but the seats were not as comfortable as I would like them to be. The Sport model has the perfect combination of power versus economy. The driver's seat is absolute heaven and while both are heated the passenger seat doesn't have the power combinations of the driver's seat. I wish it did. My wife wishes it did. We've got the sun roof which is great to get rid of the heat on a hot day when the car is parked in the driveway instead of the garage. The car rides smooth but still it feels firm on the road as a "Sport" model should be. The ECO rode better but except for the speed it didn't drive any better. Also the ECO has only one exhaust pipe while the "Sport" has two and they look really good when you're walking up to the rear of the car. The A/C and heater work great and the entertainment system is perfection for my ears. The driver's seat is perfect for me with its lumbar support and ever adjustable controls. The dash is laid out well with everything within easy reach. There is a button on the console for normal driving, economical and sport driving. Sport is really fun to drive. The car is faster, shifts faster, up and down when needed. The steering wheel becomes a direct connection to the car's suspension where you can feel what is going on with the car. The car becomes alive when you push that button which I rarely do but it sure is fun when I do. Eco is for long trips of course and normal is for around town when there has to be a balance between economy and city traffic. It works great because its paired with a 6 speed transmission that is flawless in its operation. It seems to know what I need before I even think about it. Anyway the car works great and is just the right size for a retired couple who make trips to see our children around the country. It has just the right amount of luggage and grocery space that a "car" needs. This morning I purchased a bathroom cabinet that would have been too large for a lot of vehicles. It slipped right into the trunk, no problem and if there is anything long and skinny the backseats fall forward to allow the item to slip right in. I love the backup camera. I don't have to worry anymore about objects jumping into my way anymore back there. I do wish I had a camera or a sensor up front that would tell me how close I am to the object in front of me. The front end is very sensitive to solid objects apparently. Everything works as it should and I would recommend one to anybody but if one can possibly afford it get the best package that is possible. It's worth it.

Pros
The extras such as the sun roof, the adjustable heated seats, the large engine without a turbo, the drive mode button, the excellent visibility and the room for 5 and their luggage. It's comfortable and fun to drive. It looks great!

Cons
It looks like too many other cars such as Camry, Altima and Accord. Too many other cars are the same color (metallic gray)
It needs a sensor or camera in the front to warn of barriers when parking. Motor/Transmission lags on hills in normal or eco mode. Sport mode snaps the car back into its high energy state.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MARILYN L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2019
Love My Kona!
I really love this car. It is my first small suv, and I am impressed with everything except the hesitation upon acceleration. I was happy to know that it was designated as small suv of the year. Glad I found it!

Pros
Easy to handle,fun to drive.

Cons
Hesitation upon acceleration from a stop.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2592 in total