2017
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79
4.8
(2456 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

IL
IRENE L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/20/2019
Hyundai Sonata 2017
I like 2017 Hyundai Sonata. I would like to see more improvements with steering and more comfort for an every day drive and commute. My car is also a sport so I wish it had better steering and handling.

Pros
Spacious

Cons
Needs more interior lighting, better material for seats and better design inside. It also needs a bigger screen for navigation.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Charles C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
My 2017 Sonata Sport
It's a great car. I've leased three a 2012, a 2014 and now the 2017 Sport. I enjoy the ride and handling of the vehicle. The easy of entry is also great. The automobile is a pleasure to drive. In its class it's a standout.

Pros
I enjoy the overall experience with the Sonata. Hyundai continues to improve the model from styling to features.

Cons
I really haven't found any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Amanda C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
Spacious, comfortable — Great family car
I purchased my first Sonata in 2015 and it was a used 2014 Sonata. I absolutely loved it. It was the basic edition with no extras and it was perfect for my son and I. Being 5’10 and having a rather tall child, we got so accustomed to sitting on opposites sides of the car so we each had enough space. The Sonata not only eliminated that problem, but we fell in love. After a bad accident in 2017, we decided to get another Sonata, this time the new 2017 model. Our family uses this car for everything from work commute to sport tournaments in other states. It’s comfortable, roomy, great on gas —- everything we need!

Pros
Leg Space, trunk space, overall size of the cabin, technology, gas mileage,

Cons
Better use of the display area in the front, seat movement,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Christie K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/19/2019
Fit and finish lacking
I have nearly 90k on my Hyundai Sonata. Mechanically I trust the car and feel good about driving it. Fit and finish however are lackluster. Paint has chipped along the bottom of the drivers door and a couple places on the hood despite being garage kept and regularly washed and waxed. Materials used for the interior are already showing significant aging as well.

Pros
Peppy, mechanically reliable, great mpg.

Cons
Fit and finish and paint job

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Judith M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Love my Sonata
My 2017 Sonata is not complicated. Want heat or cooling, just turn the knob. Want music, just push the button. The drivers seat has excellent positioning. I never sit in a hole like other popular vehicles. My eyes and vision is well above the steering wheel so i see the road and other cars and drivers clearly and they can see me as well. Passengers sitting in the back seat always comment about the unexpected roominess and comfort. I love my Sonata.

Cons
Front bumper too low and constantly scrapes and hits curbs etc.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Rex H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
My Hyundai Sonata Limited History
First Sonata Limited- 2014 Model- Very good auto: Second Sonata Limited- 2016 Model- Zuric? paint protection was applied by dealer and the protection chemically ate through the paint to expose bare metal; had to trade in model 2016 for 2017 model: Third Sonata Limited- Model 2017- Stored outside under canopy for 1+year and wheel
rotors became rusted and pitted with unsafe braking thus causing me to have to replace the wheel rotors even with very low mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
Pamela R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Sonata is a great all around vehicle
On my second Sonata, and strong chance I will have a third one in the future. Sonata is a versatile car and a strong value for the price. I wanted car with enough leg room that adults would be comfortable in the back seat, Sonata is comfortable for 2 adults in back seat, three will fit, but cozy. Trunk is large for the size of vehicle and the drop down back seat gives a generous cargo area. Vehicle handles well, has good acceleration, excellent fuel economy and a lot of standard features you will pay extra for on similar cars in other brands

Pros
Good value, stylish, economical in fuel, tires and service, back up camera, electric driver seat, comfortable for long drives,

Cons
Tend to end up crooked in pull in parking space and have to adjust. Other drivers have commented on same experience. Wish there was more body color selections,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Robert G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
My Sonata
Car rides well and easy to use. A/C and heating are reliable. Radio works fine and the dash is easy to operate. Highway driving is wonderful very smooth and quiet. Gas mileage is low I thought it would be much better

Pros
Ride features and colors

Cons
Gas mileage is low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tracy P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2019
Great Car overall
So far I have had problems with the trunk switch (replaced) and a leaking AC on my 2017 Sonata SE. It also cut off on me in the middle of the street and no one could figure out why. That only happened once. Prayerfully won't happen again. Great gas mileage on the highway. Comfortable ride. Technology is cool too with Android Auto and Bluetooth features.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michele D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2019
❤SONATA❤
This is my THIRD SONATA! So, I guess I like the car. It responds smoothly and without hesitation. I now lease a 2017 Sonata and can't wait for the 2020 model. My only wish is they would bring the SONATA CONVERTIBLE here to the states. That would be great!

Pros
Easy handling. Great response.

Cons
Front windshield support bar on left & right
blocks a clear view of pedestrians when turning.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
SMILEY L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/14/2019
Smiley
The car is fun to drive reliable. The design is nice but can use a few improvements to distinguish from sport and other models. The partially cloth seats are not the best idea. The front doors can use a new construction to prevent closing on passenger when exiting. Overall, a nice car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NK
Nilesh K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/13/2019
Disappointed
I have been a Hyundai loyalist for the better part of last 11 years and this is the 4th Hyundai iteration I have owned in those 11 years and by far, this is the worst.it has under delivered on every count except, looks. Other than its outwardly super refined appearance, this 2017 model has nothing new to offer. My earlier 2013 Sonata hybrid was far more refined than this one.

Even my 2011 Sonata was better.too much cabin noise, within a year the condensation from my AC started flooding the passenger side & several services later the problem still persists. The Bluetooth had been pain in the neck since the very beginning.

Hyundai has seriously let me down.

Pros
Exterior styling, ergonomics, trunk space and leg space both front and back, well designed console.

Cons
Unrefined handling, poor cabin sound insulation, nerve wrecking Bluetooth connectivity and persistent problem with air conditioning

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
EDWARD K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2019
Nice car.
I think this was a good buy.The dealer and salesperson made this a nice experience.Overall I have been happy with the vehicle. Like the styling.features and performance. I enjoy some of the features such as heated seats and the sunroof.

Pros
Comfort ride and features.

Cons
Audio sound quality, road noise. Neither are real bad but could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dan B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
radio and window control
After changing stations it takes to long to see what channel I'm on but the radio works.
I don't like the automatic window control on the drivers side. It's distracting because when putting the window down a few inches I have to lift the button back up to stop it from going down I think this is really bad. I like the passenger side button much better.
I also took a alantra for a loaner car and it had a different button like the passenger side.

Pros
Great all around car for the price.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MONA H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Too long review
Great car..your survey is tooooo. Long
Great car..good looks.
I do not have 200 words...feel like my arm is twisted great car. Great look. Great ride

Jeez
Jeez
Jeez
Jeejeejeez
Jeejezz
Jez
Jeez
Jeez
Jeez
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
David L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Gives you the most for your dollar.
The brand seems to care about the customer after the sale, love the warranty, just wish the had a better resale like Honda, Subaru, and Toyota . That's ridiculous to require 200 characters in order to submit

Cons
Better use of material for the seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Larry S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Repair service
I took my car in for some wrannty work to be done and the service department was very punctual and very professional. I arrived early and they got right to work with my vehicle. They made sure that you are comfortable and very satisfied with their services.

Pros
Excellent customer service.

Cons
N/A.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lynn B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Bought new
Really enjoy driving my Sonata. Bought new with hardly any complaints. About 75 percent of my driving is on the highway. Amazing gas mileage and hard to believe the response for a 4 cylinder engine. Even my city driving is a pleasure.

Pros
Good quality and a fun to drive.
Great gas mileage.

Cons
Ride could be a little softer.
Road noise a bit much, some road textures gets a little loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Brian K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/11/2019
Average quality
From day one I have been confused about this vehicle. The salesman told us that this top-of-the-line model kept the vehicle in the lane and showed us videos from the Genesis brand. Following that we realized this vehicle does not have those capabilities. A couple months into ownership I noticed that I could not open the door without fully extending it open or it would close on my leg. When I asked them to repair this I was told by the dealer it was operating correctly. Then came the recalls, when I brought my car and the parts were never available and I was never contacted when they were available as I was promised. I have owned the car almost 2 years and then the trunk latch stopped working. There is No way to open the trunk from the inside so if A child was trapped, or you had a flat tire, or were on vacation in California like we were you have no way to open your trunk due to a faulty latch. The dealer explained this happens all the time So they had plenty in stock. I asked what would happen when I am out of warranty and they said they would not be covered unless Hyundai decided it was a recall issue. Overall, I expected a higher level of quality for a brand new car with top-of-the-line features.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CY
Carole Y.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2019
My Sonata
A wonderful operating vehicle, as Napleton provides. Loved my Elantra and love this car. It performs like a charm. The backseat accommodates my 3 little granddaughters.
It steers very well on city streets and on the highway.
Thankyou, Carole

Pros
Sharp design
Operates perfectly
Smooth interior
Great warranty
Great service

Cons
I purchased this car, so I cant get a new car every 3 yrs with a lease, but my Sonata never disappoints me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2456 in total