2018
Hyundai
SONATA

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67
4.7
(2420 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AT
Adele T.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2019
Beautiful Car
Purchased this vehicle less than a month ago and have already had several people stop me to comment on what a great looking car it is. The inside is roomy and very comfortable. We now own two Hyundais- and have owned Hyundais previously and have always been very satisfied and happy with their performance and quality and value.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Elli S.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/01/2019
nice but noisey
I love everything about my sonata but the road noise, I feel I received a car that is safe to drive and yet feels nice. the car is not a race car but, is great for short or long trips. I wish the manufacture could have put in more insulation for sound from the tires when the car is on the highway. A great value otherwise.

Pros
overall a solid value

Cons
wind and tire noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Marion R.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/31/2019
I like the Sonata 2018.
Nice car. I just wish the sales people had been honest up front about what I was getting. I left the dealership on my first lease, and the second lease to great disappointment that the auto had not all the attributes that I wanted. The sales pitch was glossed over and I felt cheated, twice. Shame on me.

Pros
CHeck before you leave the dealership that it has everything you wanted. I've been mislead with both my leased vehicles and I won't ever leave a dealership again without checking that it has everything I was promised by the salesman.

Cons
CHeck before you leave the dealership that it has everything you wanted. I've been mislead with both my leased vehicles and I won't ever leave a dealership again without checking that it has everything I was promised by the salesman.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Linda W.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/31/2019
Great driving car.. i love tthe style as well as the colors...you will not be disappointed with this car...Love it...👍🏽
What can i say about my Sonata ...well..i wii do my best...i am middle age and i have driven so many cars....my sonata sport is by far the best.
This car blew me away when i did my test drive...i wanted to tell my sales person i want it i want it but i was trying to stay cool....when George asked how you like it...i said its all good but really wanted to shout YES!! People just try this Sonata...You will never be disappointed and the technology will not disappoint....i am loving it...😁😁

Pros
Everything going..try this vehicle...

Cons
There are non ..you will love the ride... everytime.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brooke B.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/31/2019
Paperweight
Within the two and a half months I have had the vehicle and it's been back in the service department four times. Still cannot be made to run properly issue has not been repaired. Car has 59 miles on it when purchased.
Headliner is alread pulling away.
Lemon

Pros
Beautiful car with tons of features. Roomy and comfortable

Cons
Does not run
Built poorly
Unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Andrea H.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/31/2019
Great buy for the money.
This is a great vehicle very reliable I personally don't think you can get a better vehicle for the money. I'm on my second sonata and I will probably be staying in the Hyundai brand because they came a long way from when they first started in the 80's .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Beth T.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/30/2019
Sonata Review
I am very pleased with my Sonata and enjoy all the bells and whistles. However, there are two things that are lacking. I would like to have cameras and sonar on the front to detect closeness to other vehicles and curbs and I miss the CD player.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
DONALD P.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2019
i love his car it handles good gas mileage is great
This is my first new car I have owned in years. I am very happy with its performance, the features that it has, and the great gas mileage it gets. I like being able to pair my phone with it so I can use my phone totally hands free.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
James B.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/29/2019
My sonata
The vehicle is very nicely organized. We did notice that the mileage went down considerably after the 7500 mile checkup. No one seems to be able to explain this .we still would like someone to explain some of the features. The dealer promised that twice and it never happened
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARGARET H.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2019
Great car with many amenities
This car really delivers for the price. This is roomy sedan packed with all the amenities of the higher priced luxury cars. I bought the Sonata 2.0T with the bigger engine and the Limited edition packed w all the safety features and extras. I love this car and have a little over 6,000 miles on it. I drive in a diverse set of weather conditions and it performed well under each seasonal change. I highly recommend it as amid sized sedan.

Pros
safety features abound, easy visibility, firm steering and ride, led headlights are wonderful,

Cons
plastic fuel tank cap, use of plastic in the car (in general in high area use places)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ronald D.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/29/2019
Too much crap to read and try to use. Cars should exist for an 82 year old to drive not try to be an everything to worry about. Not enough SIMPLE 82 Year old info. GPS doesn't work except when it wants to. Not when I want it to.
Why do I need to give a title to my opinions? I like a 1940's tech car, not one apparently attempted to be a designed for 2025. Stuff doesn't work without taking a college course in modern tech stuff. GPS is a joke.

Pros
A comfortable ride

Cons
Too much high tech stuff. Bells and buzzers going on all the time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SN
Scott N.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/29/2019
Hyundai Excels in Value!
I have owned many cars and many brands of cars in my lifetime. In my 25 years of marriage, my husband and I have mostly owned 7-8 seater vehicles - Ford Expedition, Chevy Surburban, or vans. Having four children, this was a necessity. However, large vehicles mean bigger fuel expense and with less gas mileage, mostly. Having one child all grown up, and another right behind, we decided to downsize and bought a 2018 Hyundai Sonata. This is our second Hyundai we’ve owned and, through it’s not a luxury car, it’s a great family car! Our three growing children - 13, 15, 16 - fit nicely in the backseat. The trunk is huge with plenty of space to store backpacks, lunch bags, and groceries.....and even my husband’s golf clubs...with extra room to spare. Our car came with the Tech Package — so it has all sorts of cool features. The car runs smooth - it has three Drive Modes. I love the Steering Wheel — the feel of it, the thickness of it, and the telescoping/tilting ability it has. I do wish the passenger seat was electric but that’s not a dealbreaker for me. The Control Center is user-friendly. If you’re shopping for a new vehicle (or preowned), give Hyundai vehicles a try! We’ve owned a Hyundai Santa Fe in the past and it was also an awesome vehicle. In my opinion, Hyundai vehicles excels in value and does a great job at everything else!

Pros
Gas mileage
Value for the money
Large back-up camera
Tech package features

Cons
Map only available when phone is plugged into the USB
Firm seats
Manual passenger seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
COLETTE C.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2019
Excellent Value
I fall in love with my Sonata every time I get in it. It is comfortable, quiet, and has a lot of features that would be add ons with other manufacturers. What I spent on my brand new Sonata is significantly below same class competitors.

Pros
Great visibility, lots of standard features that are not included with others, excellent pricing, fuel economy, confortable

Cons
Not AWD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Edward D.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/29/2019
Weird service
I loved this car until I took it to the dealership to get an oil change and they forgot to put oil in the car. I stopped when the engine and oil light was on. I added two quarts and shen I got back to the dealership they said it was three quarts low. Unbelievable! K now hear noises in my engine so I no 5th thrilled about the car now.

Pros
Good looking, great gas mileage, and great technology on this car.

Cons
Dealership service. The chrome instead of being bright everywhere has in some areas a darker grey hue. The wheels covers could be chrome to match the bright chrome on the car. My sport version could have a better spoiler in the rear of the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Beverly B.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/28/2019
Great! but ...
Still waiting for requested bars of light on all windshields, so I can know there is a car behind me that has come so close, with tinted glass, at night -- I do not know they are there. Two cars would be damaged, if I needed to back up.

Pros
Safety features

Cons
I would like to sit higher than the seat will go.
Want 3 more cameras to avoid curbs and get centered in parking spaces.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Colleen K.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/28/2019
Great car
We are extremely satisfied with our 2018 Hyundai Sonota. This is the fourth Hyundai we have owned,three being Sonota’s and Most likely our next vehicle with be the same. Just a great car, dependable , safety conscious, well made and built to last. Let’s not forget that great warranty, which definitely is a deciding factor on all our purchases. We do recommend Hyundai when our friends and family inquiry and our son now owns a Hyundai too.

Pros
Love the sleek grill !

Cons
Only thing I can think of is maybe reposition the skylight button separate from the others. At the current location sometimes it is easy to accidentally push it. Not good if it’s raining or snowing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/28/2019
Sonata Limited
Great car for the price. I got all the latest safety features with the Limited package and enjoy driving the 2018 Sonata. After 11K miles, no problems. Very comfortable driving, and like the easy to use console features.

Pros
Comfortable driving and safety features.

Cons
MPG in winter months goes down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dennis B.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/28/2019
2018 Hyundai Sonata Limited 2.0T
I have owned my Hyundai Sonata since September of 2017, so it would have been one of the early ones. It has been a great car to date. The 245 hp is very responsive; the vehicle is pleasantly quiet on the highway; the electronics are all very easy to use and reliable. The Blue Link Connected Services option that is included on this model at no cost for the first 3 years is just excellent. Navigation is a delight and very reliable. I have not always felt the outside appearance to be my favorite - that is just personal preference - and maybe because I feel my 2012 Hyundai Sonata 2.0 Turbo was an eye catcher and great as well. Hard to find any disappointment with Hyundai, especially with the aggressive warranty program they offer.

Pros
All are noted in my comments above.

Cons
Would really have preferred to have this car be about 6 inches shorter -- but I realize this is the standard length for this type vehicle in many brands.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Raul T.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/27/2019
Scared
This car was running perfectly for over a year and we loved it, we brought it in for an oil change and received back a car that may need a motor replacement. We are really concerned about the reliability of the vehicle after such a major repair, not knowing what happened to the car when we were just getting the oil changed and here we are, five days later and still don't know what is going on.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tammy P.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/27/2019
This little car is great. I have driven it to the northeastern part of the state two times and to the north western part of the state.
I have driven my new to the northeastern part of the state and to the north western part of the state. It ran great on all my trips and was fantastic on gas! My biggest problem was watching my speed. It runs so quietly and smoothly that I had to be careful not to speed.

Pros
Love the touch release for opening the truck and the locks built into the outside door handles. It makes my life easier.

Cons
Needs cup holders in the back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 981 - 1000 of 2420 in total