2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(303 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/04/2018
2017 Veloster
Great car for the money. Would prefer a 2.0 next time. I think the speed from 1st to 2nd gear would be better. I love the Boston Red color with decal design on outside door panel. Comfortable ride for an economy car. Good gas mileage. The hatch does not automatically open with the key. The key must be in your hand and you must lift up the hatch manually. Would be better if it was automatic. Manufactured tinted windows would be a nice feature for the front and back. Heat and cool seats would be nice. Automatc seats would be nice but you'd have to have 2.0 or better. Leather of vinyl seats would be better than all cloth. Even a combo would be an improvement. I bought seat covers to protect the cloth seats. The layers of paint could be improved or some kind of paint seal.

Pros
Technology. Tall or large people might find the car confining. Its a sports style and people who like 4 door or more room in the front or back for more people or a big dog might not like it. Suits me because I'm retired and have a small dog. The blind spot might be an issue. There are mirrors but an lane changing alarm would be helpful.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HK
HALEY K.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/09/2018
Love the body style
I love the body style and I have always loved the look of this car, I just wish it had more power but for a get around town car it's good. It's definitely fun to drive and I love all of the features like the big radio display, the sunroof, and the navigation system.

Pros
Great body style, sporty, entertainment upgrades without the major costs, decent on gas.

Cons
Low power and visibility.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Theo B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/10/2018
Great Car
Nice little fun car. Great gas mileage and a sleek look that makes it fun to drive and play with. Although it is small, the car is very cozy but I do wish that it had a fourth door for the back. It is difficult getting in and out of the back.

Pros
Very Sporty

Cons
3 doors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carrie H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/01/2018
Love the fuel milage
My previous vehicle was a 4 wheel drive pickup truck that only got about 11 mpg. I did a little research and was pleased with the fuel mileage of the veloster.
My next concern was "Will I fit"? I am 6 feet 2 inches and weigh 220. Yes I fit in comfortably.
Over all it is a very fun car to drive that is saving me lots of money in gas.
So far i give it 4 stars!

Pros
Great fuel mileage
Fun to drive.
It is saving me money due to the 32 mpg.
The radio and other entertainment features are nice.

Cons
All thow it is fun to drive it is a little weak in power.
There are blind spots that is unique to this model , and can be dangerous if your not paying attention.
The air conditioning works ok but is weak and takes longer than expected to cool the vehicle on a hot day.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Barbara D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/19/2018
Love it!
I love driving the manual shift. It's so like some of the sport cars I've had. Just a few things should be changed: suspension - I feel every little bump on the road. It's not very easy to get into 6th gear. It's difficult to see when u make a right turn as the door frame blocks the view. Hope u change these things with the next model year.

Pros
Love the shifts.

Cons
Mentioned previously.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CARLIE C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/26/2018
foo
barrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Pros
feel

Cons
seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/10/2018
2017 velostar
GOOD CAR..GREAT GAS MILEAGE AND SPORTY AS WELL AND THE PRICE IS NICE AS WELL. COMES WITH NAVIGATION WHICH IS A NICE FEATURE, I DONT LIKE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT IN UNFAMILIAR AREAS..WITH NAVIGATION SHOWS YOU ON A WELL LIT SCREEN THE BENDS OF THE ROAD.

Pros
FOR WHAT YOU SPEND..NICE SPORTY CAR THAT GETS GREAT GAS MILEAGE. I LIKE THE NAVIGATION IN THIS CAR AS I DONT LIKE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT BUT THIS SHOWS WHERE THE ROAD IS TURNING..THIS IS A GREAT FEATURE.

Cons
INSIDE SEAT COULD BE LIL MORE COMFORTABLE..BUT FOR THE PRICE YOU GET THIS CAR FOR..CANT HAVE EVERYTHING.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Julie D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/18/2018
2017 Hyundai veloster
The veloster is stylish, has a smooth ride, a cool interior, and is great on gas; however it is hard to accelerate quickly, and when you do try to accelerate quickly there is a huge lag and your RPMs run extremely high.

Pros
Very stylish, good gas mileage, smooth ride

Cons
Hard to accelerate, takes too long to shift into higher gear,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mario M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/18/2018
2017 Veloster VS oder models
So far I had own three Velosters and the reason is the speed it provides, the technology packet they offer on the high tech version. Colors are not as aggressive.
I think if you have a sport car, it should be to improve it, not to down the performnace.

Pros
speed, technology, the 110 volt outlet in the central console,

Cons
the new version has a "slow" transmition they called double clutch make the takes off not as fast as the older models.
exterior colors are not as hot for the turbos,
suspension is to jumpy (due to the sporty ride)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHAEL M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/13/2018
2017 Hyundai Veloster
I absoultly love my car, it feels like your driving a go cart. I would defiantly recommend. The third door is nice for having a child/ friends. The trunk has plenty of storage for a weekend outing and you can add alot of aftermarket gear.

Cons
Not a turbo

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Leticia R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/24/2018
Good car
Hey really like the fact that my car is the value addition yet it has all the bells and whistle‘s I need! Would like a little more power but other than that everything is good ..Maybe a little more room in the back

Pros
Comes standard with navigation and backup camera cute design great warranty

Cons
Not enough power would like a little more

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ALBERT B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/01/2018
Well made
It has been a year since I purchased my 2017 Veloster. Everything is running well with no problems. I enjoy the handling, good mileage, and my grandsons like it as too. They say it is Papa's race car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHERYL C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/13/2018
Sporty and Fun!
Love the look of the Veloster, it is a vehicle that does get 2nd looks and questions. I would like to see it offered with 6 cylinders, w/o turbo. I'm not looking to wow anyone, just have a bit of get up and go. I can it my putput mobile. I'm accustomed to large vehicles with 6 cylinders. If you never had that before you most likely will not miss it.

Pros
Looks.

Cons
No get up and go and drives a bit rough.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mark W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/20/2018
Veloster 2017
I am extremely happy with my Veloster. Since I am 6' tall & 68 yrs old, I hated selling my 2007 Miata convertible, but knee & back issues were taking their toll getting in and out. My mechanic was a head mechanic for Hyundai for over 10 yrs before opening his own shop & thoroughly recommended Hyundai, which has become the affordable Honda. Like my old Honda & my wife's Honda, they will last for many miles as long as you maintain your scheduled services. I didn't want a box car that looks like everyone else's, so when I heard about the Veloster I felt I found my larger size Miata. I can comfortably get in/out & have a modern look with features I never had before, plus the warranties are the best in the industry.

Pros
Able to use the Sports mode for faster pick up and drive ability.

Cons
The view for backing up at an angle is hopeless as you cant see anything from the rear sides, but the rear camera is very helpful as long as you go very slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sacha S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/21/2018
Not a bad car.
I am a longtime Mitsubishi driver (2007 Eclipse and 2011 Outlander Sport) after a deer destroyed the Outlander I needed a new vehicle ASAP. The Veloster looked great, and I know people who have owned a few with no issues.
The price was right so I bought the Veloster... a few months in I can say I'm a little disappointed in the overall power, but everything else is great.

Pros
Great looks.
Great gas mileage.
Great reliability.
Good comfort for the size.

Cons
Power... I feel like it should be measured in gerbil power, not hose power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Donald G.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/25/2018
I love this car
This car just fits me. I like being in it. driving position is very good. like the feel of the steering wheel. There is a very large amount of space considering the size of the car. value added pkg. has a lot of features making for a good value.

Pros
Style

Cons
Front pillars block view at times. 18" tires seem a bit much

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Greg E.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/27/2018
Overall very happy
This is my second one. Couple of issues, paint on hood chips easy, cover on top of radio needs to cover glare on screen better. I do feel black rims would look better on the vehicle. Blue link should not cost as much as you charge
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GUILLERMO S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/25/2018
Sexy Blu veloster
Love my car but has little hiccups love interior space love the 3 doors love the color blue tooth connection very convenient little problem with a/c -Heater fan and I take it to the shop and they can’t find anything. It also trembles or vibrates after 20 min driving and when I take it to the shop they can’t find an issue. It is fast

Pros
Looks great

Cons
For it being torbo performance is lacking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Gregory B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/08/2018
my 2017 veloster is a great car
The Veloster is a great car it rides good and gets great gas mileage and i like the body style and have gotten many compliments about this car.It handles well on the road, has a great sound system notto mention many other options such as back up screen and bluetooth and other electronic options

Pros
loks great good gas mileage greatradio and electronic package,backup camera and the panaramic sunroof is wonderful

Cons
back seat area kind of small Does have some blind spots as for driving

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FA
Frank A.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/29/2018
Happy with everything but the dual clutch drive
My summery of my 2017 Hyundai VelosterTurbo I am kinda of disappointed with the automatic transmission because of the dual clutch system. I wish I would have purchased a manual transmission instead. Other than that I love what I have done to my cars aesthetic look and wish you could see it. I give my car an 8 for performance due to dual clutch transmission. I believe it should be a smoother take off.

Pros
Love the looks of my car even with all the modification done for appearance.

Cons
I have a big problem with the dual clutch transmission. If I knew about the performance on take off with the automatic dual clutch I would have gone with the manual transmission. That by far is my only thing that bothers me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 221 - 240 of 303 in total