2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5rating 4.6
4.6
(266 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


FA
Frank A.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/29/2018
Happy with everything but the dual clutch drive
My summery of my 2017 Hyundai VelosterTurbo I am kinda of disappointed with the automatic transmission because of the dual clutch system. I wish I would have purchased a manual transmission instead. Other than that I love what I have done to my cars aesthetic look and wish you could see it. I give my car an 8 for performance due to dual clutch transmission. I believe it should be a smoother take off.

Pros
Love the looks of my car even with all the modification done for appearance.

Cons
I have a big problem with the dual clutch transmission. If I knew about the performance on take off with the automatic dual clutch I would have gone with the manual transmission. That by far is my only thing that bothers me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/31/2018
Great Sporty Economical Car
The Veloster is a great economy car. Miss my CD player not an option in these cars. Would have preferred the turbo. Would like an automatic hatch opener feature. Like the unique body style. No heated or AC seats. Would prefer vinyl seats over cloth.

Pros
Good on gas.

Cons
No CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
George W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/01/2019
7000 miles review
This is a great little coup... fun to drive. Using manual transmission ,it has great pick up. The only thing I think could improve would be the front seats. Not comfortable on long drives.

Pros
Sharp car! Fun to drive.

Cons
Uncomfortable front seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Patrick D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/16/2019
Good city car
Great city hatchback that has a fun style.Small size, good sized hatchback, like the sun roof, great warranty.
Good power for normal driving, should have gotten the turbo. Looking at trading up to the N.

Pros
Small size, good sized hatchback, like the sun roof, great warranty

Cons
Good power for normal driving, should have gotten the turbo. Looking at trading up to the N.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
Wendy C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/16/2019
Zippy and fun
I love my Veloster. I was skeptical of moving from a minivan to a small car, but needed something that was more economical for my long daily commute. I fell in love with this car on my test drive and am so glad that I decided to down size. The gas mileage is great, it has decent get up and go (in sports mode) and by purchasing the Value Edition, I got all the bells and whistles. It really is a great value! The only complaint I have about this car are the blind spots.

Pros
Very stylish, fun to drive, and loaded with every option you could want.

Cons
The non-turbo version lacks the amount of get up and go that I would like. It has some wicked blind spots.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Karen S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/18/2019
Really like my car!
I am really happy with my car. I feel comfortable and safe and I get more compliments on it! I have put mostly freeway miles going to and from California. Great on gas. I can make it 6 and a half hours on one tank. It handles well on corners and straight away. It comes with so much. Android Auto is really handy. I love the sun and moon roof. Extra huge! The seats are super comfortable and I have a bad back so that is important! I like the back up camera even tho I still look back. I am old school! I really like how much this little car can hold. It is unbelievable! And it holds my three dogs! I like the fact that the body is a bit stronger because if the three door. No back door behind the driver! Really cool. Freaks people out when they notice that it has one on one side and not the other. The hatchback is awesome! Love the car so far. Only had one bad battery. The warranty place towed it to the dealer and I had it the next day. Free! Overall.....Cool car! My payments are a bit much but I like having a new car so I don't get other's problems.

Pros
I really like it. It holds a LOT! Fun, Cute, Great on Gas! Handles well.

Cons
Sometimes you can feel the road when it is a bit rough. Not a totally smooth ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
Richard N.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/22/2019
Veloster Review
Overall very satisfied with my Veloster. I wish the engine had a little more power. I do enjoy driving the car. The mileage is very good too. The one disappointment would be when I purchased the Veloster I noticed a swirl in the paint on the hood. I contacted my salesperson and he said nothing could be done. I told him at the time I didn't notice it until I washed the car a few days later. It didn't matter. That was sad. At least an effort could have been made to buff it out or something.

Pros
Handling andvfas mileage. Its also quite when driving.

Cons
Power of engine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HQ
Hector Q.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/01/2019
Veloster turbo 2017
Great car Love it, i Love The entire design exterior and interior looks like sporty, better than The new 2019, but i dont like some small things it doesn't have a trunk botton in The front and The other is dont have a spare tire in The trunk... I recomend this vehicule for everyone.....

Pros
Fuel efficient, nice comfort sporty seats, DCT.

Cons
No spare tire, and no trunk botton in The front

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kevin P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/19/2019
2017 Veloster
Love this car, looks small from the outside but has plenty of room on the inside. Really drives smooth, even at high speeds, and sport shifting is excellent. I would definitly recommend this car to would be buyers

Pros
comes computerized

Cons
could be a little bigger in back for storage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FA
Frank A.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/19/2019
Happy with everything but the dual clutch drive
I wish this automatic transmission did not have a dual clutch drive! To me that just drives me nuts on take offs from a red light. I totally regret buying an automatic. I wish I would have know about this before,

Pros
I love the style of my car, and all the after market stuff I have added gets a lot of people looking.

Cons
the only thing that I truly hate IS THE FREAKEN DOUBLE CLUTCHING OF THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
April D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/21/2019
Love the car but not impressed with the performance
I feel The 2017 model it was not a good year I currently have issues with the car switching gears and maintaining speed pick up .At many times starting from a stop position when you press the Excelerator vehicle doesn’t move and then all of a sudden it snatches into motions and then drives.
I have Friday then it asked them to check the fuel injectors however they said they couldn’t find anything wrong . Not pleased with the performance lately and I only have 16,000 miles

Pros
I like the style of the car and I like that it’s turbo

Cons
The vehicle is not made with quality parts

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Paul S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/02/2019
This car is fun to drive
This car is fun to driveBecause it has a wide foot print and handles pretty well.
If it is re-designed they need to step up the horse power on the base engine.

I may even buy another Hyundai and get something larger like a Kona.

Pros
This engine has more pick up than I expected.

Cons
It might be a little too under powered to hold up well over the years. I’m hoping the power and his remains

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SHAUN S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/06/2019
Great little car
I love this car. Just under powered. That's all I have to say😂😮#################№#############№##########################9999999999999999999999)9999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999)

Pros
Great looking. just

Cons
So under powered.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PRESTON S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/18/2019
NA
NA........................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Pros
Excellent gas mileage.
Glass rooftop

Cons
Visibility.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SV
Sofia V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/08/2019
I think it needed the carpets, looks poor and cheap without it.
My Veloster is good, but inside it looks poor because you guys didn't give me full equipment carpets as It supposed would be. I think the day I went to the dealership was a big mistake. I wanted this car so badly that that becomes a nightmare because my experience as a buyer was not good. I already had an Elantra, it was perfect, then I did think your brand was good to continue but after my Veloster's carpets, I would re-think before another car's change.

Pros
the children like it.

Cons
As I said early, inside look awful. I bought plastic carpets, they aren't that nice at all

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
RYAN N.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2019
2017 hyundai veloster
love the car, I knew the car's engine was smaller than my older car.
took me awhile to adjust to the slow acceleration, but there is a sports mode that helps out.
the design of the car and the comfort for this car for the money is amazing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
PATRICK R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/08/2019
2017 Volester
the car is fun to drive, and fits the use I intended it for a second car for the wife and kids. shopping, school, kids camp. Looks sharp, handles well, the only issue we have is the slight hesitation at full acceleration. I plan to bring it to the dealer for this soon. Lee in Florence, sc.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Terrie S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/19/2019
Reliable automobile
Fuel efficiency, great reliability!! I would definitely recommend any hyundai to my friends. This is the third hyundai I've owned and neither car has ever left me stranded. Hyundai has come a long way. Keep up the good work Hyundai!!

Pros
Great fuel mileage, reliable!!

Cons
Road noise, no spare tire, some interior squeaks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/05/2019
2017 Veloster
Good on gas. Would prefer a turbo for acceleration especially from 1st to 2nd gear. Love the body design. Wouldn't hurt to provide more room inside for future models. Better suspension for a smoother ride over bumps. Automatic back hatch would be better than the manual lift (must have key in hand). Hatch button on key would be better.

Pros
Good mileage.

Cons
Could use turbo for acceleration 1st to 2nd gear.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
PATRICK R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2019
Wanted To Give Five Stars
Great looking vehicle, nice 4 cylinder engine with dual clutch system that provides Sport Shift and manual paddle shifting. Excellent sound system with subwoofer with separate amplifier. The only reason I didn't give the 5 stars is because it broke down on me and had to have a $2000 warranty repair. Both catalytic converters were replaced and the exhaust system and muffler. Not sure why this happened but it was a major inconvenience.

Pros
Nice looking, decent gas mileage, great warranty, proximity key sensor

Cons
No separate control of subwoofer volume

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 221 - 240 of 266 in total