2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5rating 4.6
4.6
(266 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CD
Cassandra D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/23/2018
Excellent
I am very grateful for my car and I am thankful to the people at Humble Hyundai for being patient with me in explaining to me everything to me about my sales contract and the feature it offers. I lost my car during Hurricane Harvey and I was feeling very tramatized and pressured my by my Insurance company to get a car so that I could turn in the rental they rented for me. I thank God for Humble Hyundai. From the salesperson to the manger. They all went out of their way to make my transition into the new car.

Pros
It is a beautiful car with a lot of bells and whistles.

Cons
I wish it came with the roof handles so that I could pull myself out of the car because of my back problems. I also wish it came with a CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sherbree S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/27/2018
I love my car
I love my car veloster, it's unique and also it's a cute , but yet a fast car. Yes it is small and low to the ground. But it's very spacious inside the car as well. I used my car to help move and had plenty of room to move a lt.

Pros
It's compact and spacious

Cons
Not for tall people, and depends on which model you have take off speed could be a whole lot better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JOHN S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2018
2017 Veloster turbo
I traded in my 2016 Hyundai Veloster for a 2017 Hyundai Veloster turbo. Excellent car! Interior and exterior styling is great and it stands out from everything else which is why I decided to purchase a Veloster originally. Coming from the base engine to the turbo was a big step up in power and response. Love my Veloster!

Pros
Responsive engine especially for highway driving, comfortable interior and stands out from every other vehicle in the road

Cons
7 speed dual clutch transmission lags in lower gears especially when trying to quickly accelerate from a stop to merge into traffic.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Provchy G.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2018
Surpasses all my expectations.
The navigation system is amazing as I used it throughout Seattle in places where my phone consistently gets lost. Seating is so comfortable as I have a bad back and it is very comfortable and lots of leg room in the front and back. The 3rd door access to the back seats makes getting in and out very easy when carrying passengers and hardly noticeable until you need it. Since buying the car I constantly go for drives just for fun.

Pros
Great sun roof and options making it not only a very comfortable ride but fun as well. One of my favorite features is the 3rd door. You cannot even tell you have a door until you need it to access the very roomy back seats. The navigation system is also extremely accurate. I was all over Seattle on back roads ect and it had not issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Tony C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/03/2018
Great car
Love the Veloster turbo! Surprisingly roomy for a small car, easy to get in and out. Controls are easy to reach. Good on gas while still having plenty of power. Very quick and nimble, fun to drive. If you're looking for something economical and fun to drive this is definitely your car.

Pros
Small and economical, extremely fun to drive.

Cons
Only one rear door. Low, sloping roof makes the back seats uncomfortably cramped for taller people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Glendaly S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/08/2018
Amazing Vehicle
You will be surprised with this car. It is powerful and spacious. It has been very reliable and economic as well, in terms of gas mileage is amazing. The interior design is very comfortable and very fun to drive. It also has a lot of features that I like in a vehicle, such as a great radio system with connected navigation. Very fast car, which I love!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HF
HENRY F.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/12/2018
Veloster
Awesome car for the price. After looking at several other vehicles u found the car and warranty unmatched in the class of car I was looking in. After taking delivery all if my expectations have not only been met but have been exceeded

Pros
Awesome car for the price

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HOLLY H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/13/2018
Great customer service
I have no complaints everyone was amazing! I will definitely recommend this dealership and plan on always using them for my vehicle needs. Fun friendly staff, nice accommodations, clean dealership overall
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Paul H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/22/2018
Buy One!
I have had at least a dozen cars in my life time. From Corvettes to compacts, and my Veloster is by far the most fun ride in a long time. It draws attention everywhere I go! The overall quality is second to none and backed with the best warranty also. This car makes me feel 10 years younger. Anyone that is looking for a car in this class should do themselves a favor and drive a Veloster, you will buy one guaranteed!

Pros
Everything!

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jeffery H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2018
I LOVE my Veloster!
My veloster is so sporty! The sun roof makes it feel like a convertible (for older people but safer). Sitting low to the ground let's me feel like a real race car driver! It's the best Hyundai I've ever purchased! I fill my tank up on Friday and I know I can drive 400 miles around town and not worry about filling up again until the next Friday! It's so much fun to drive! I thought my Elantra was the best, but my Veloster trumps it hands down! Vivien Harney

Pros
My Veloster is loaded! I'm so happy with it! Sleek design, powerful pick-up, sunroof!

Cons
It doesn't have a CD player.
It doesn't have a spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Dini S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/28/2018
Small but fun to drive
This is my first car and I like how it drives on the street or freeways. and how people still disbelieve that the car is only have three door and it's very easy to navigate on the street or freeways. It's a fun little car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2018
2017 Veloster
This my second Veloster. I traded in my 2013 for the 2017 model. I love it as much as I did the first one! It's really fun to drive (the automatic with paddle shifters made me forget my manual 6-speed), very comfortable, and the gas mileage is just great. My grandson, who will inherit the car in 3 years, loves the body style as much as I do! This is my first car with Navigation, I am extremely pleased with how intuitive it is to use (didn't even need the manual!). I also like the smart key/push button ignition.

Pros
Gas mileage. Great Navigation system. Body style. Fun to drive (handling, cornering). Smart key/pushbutton ignition.

Cons
Lack of spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Paul H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/05/2018
Veloster
I love my 2017 veloster! It is absolutely a blast to drive! The handling it unbelievable, and you can't beat the gas mileage. My veloster is all black, and the 18" wheels really set it off, I get a lot of looks everywhere I go! This car rules!

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jennifer M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/06/2018
Veloster 2018
This is a great car. Fun to drive, stylish and all the accessories I wanted. This car is also Reasonably priced and you can’t beat the fantastic gas mileage. I would definitely recommend this car for anybody.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
TROLEUM D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/06/2018
Interested survey test and the full complete vehicle info to educate on about nowhen the veloster.the name of the car to the body style is so unique.enjoying this car everyday and excited to drive in style.good to see only few people have cars like mind of the veloster but different colors.good to see Hyundai brand is upcoming highest quality car.good off gas and fit just right for me
I enjoyed the survey test and just stopping to look at my new car.amaze me by the three doors.good to see hyundai company helping by buying a new Hyundai vehicle,they help on wit children on cancer patients of kids.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
Wayne J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/07/2018
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Very nice car love the styling and it's really fun to drive especially with the sun or moon roof opened. Very large trunk and with the 3rd. door I'm very happy with this car. I noticed this car @ The Austin Auto Show last year I didn't know anything about it until that. I was hooked.

Pros
I really love the sun/moon roof and the over all styling of the car really fun to drive.

Cons
I would like a little more power and I would of liked a CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jeramie C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2018
ABOVE ALL OTHERS
I bought this car this year i owed a 2016 but it didnt have enough power for me so i got the turbo edition and the power and joy of driving this it better than all the rest I have customized it and looking to by more things to make it mine

Pros
FUN TO DRIVE AND AMAZING TO OWN

Cons
Wish i could have gotten the feature of blue link on this car that does navigation and remote start only feature i didn't get and i cannot add it to this one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PERRY B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2018
‘17 velostwr
Rides good and fuel efficient. It’s the best value for the money you spend. I love the panoramic sunroof and navigation. It’s is a decent vehicle that doesn’t cost much at. I would definitely recommend this to my friends

Pros
Sporty and fuel efficient

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Michelle L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/09/2018
Amazing car
My new Hyundai Veloster 2017 is absolutely amazing it runs great it hasn’t given me any problems at all the gas mileage is great i drove all across town all day and I still had gas when I got back home it a dream car to have absolutely amazing it’s confortable and the sports mode is so smoothe doesn’t even feel inside that your going that fast the best car will be a favorite of mine !

Pros
Amazing driving style
Comfortable
Speakers are amazing
Radio is great

Cons
It’s better to have 2 blindspot mirrrors instead of 1

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
DAVID F.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2018
Great Value and Great Fun!
The first thing that attracted me to the Hyundai Veloster is the styling. I absolutely love it. It has the looks of a sleek coupe with the flexibility of a sedan with the 3rd door. I love that quirky and useful feature. It's like nothing else on the road.

The interior is very well laid out and attractive. Everything is clearly visible and easy to reach. I really like the center mounted push button start and the large grab handles on the doors. Again, very unique and a little quirky. A let down is the lack of padding on the door arm rests and the lack of lumbar support on my model (I purchased the 2017 Value Edition).

The car has a 1.6L gas direct injection engine that is normally aspirated. It's a smooth and quiet motor, but lacks very much in torque. Having only 120 lb ft at about 4800 rpm, spirited acceleration isn't this car's strong point. It's okay for getting around town, but passing ability is virtually non existent. If you know this, it's easy to work around it's short comings. Also, I've owned the car for about 3 months now and it does seem to have become more energetic as I've owned it, perhaps adjusting to my driving style and breaking in. Since I knew the car was slow going in, the car has met my expectations and has proven to be very fun to drive.

I did test drive a new Veloster Turbo at the same time as my Value Edition and was very surprised to find I liked the non-turbo set up more. I found the Turbo to be quite noisy. The intake sound to me was horrendous and very unpleasant to hear. Also, the lag was terrible. The lag was aggravated by the dual clutch transmission in that the transmission shift points were very poorly matched to the turbo power curve so I was constantly on the gas pedal to keep the revs and the power up. It was faster for sure, but not much fun to drive in my opinion and not worth the thousands more in price.

Handling is very good. The car corners nice and flat. Shortcomings in this area are the numb steering and torsion beam axle. The steering is fine just driving around town, but go fast into a sweeping turn and you get no information about what's going on with the front tires. It feels the same in all conditions. Not very confidence inspiring at first and it takes some getting used to. The rear axle design gives you a nice, flat loading area, but hit a bump in the middle of a turn and it tends to hop around a bit. Overall, it's quite fun to drive fast though.

My car has the panoramic sunroof and it's one of my favorite features. My wife says it feels like a convertible, but with glass over head and yes, it does feel like that. It makes the cabin feel very open and airy and adds a lot to the fun.

Overall, this car is an unbeatable value and a very fun car to own and drive.

Pros
Fantastic, unique, quirky styling
Great handling
Roomy and flexible
Economical

Cons
Under powered
Steering is numb, no feedback

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 266 in total