2008
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(432 Reviews)
Latest review 6 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SS
Sabine S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2020
Best car I ever had
Very dependable car and efficient car , since you can lay down the back seat , I moved quite some things in her ! I love the blue lights on my dashboard the seats are very comfortable! I will definitely get another one ! One day !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Carol K.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2020
2008 Hyundai Santa fe
I love my 2008 Santa Fe. I love how structurally supportive it's built. Makes me feel safe in all freeway traffic.
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxzzzzzzzzz,zzzzzzzzzxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxzzzzzzzzzzz-zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz-zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz-zzzz-zzz-xxxxxxxx'xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××

Cons
It's an older model, so it doesn't have as many features as the newer models. It's still a nice vehicle even without the newer features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Christine D.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/01/2020
Really not worth the purchase
This was great protection in a small accident but from the moment I drove it off the lot, things started breaking. I only now, after the 10 year warranty, realized I could have used the lemon law but the dealer never made me aware. 11 years later it is constant repairs on things way beyond maintenance. It has 75K miles and I am looking to sell it just to not have to deal with it anymore.

Pros
Keeps you safe in an accident and is a comfortable ride.

Cons
Constant repair - and parts are expensive. Gas tank problems, engine problems. Made very cheaply.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WV
Wayne V.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/24/2020
Very dependable performance.
Over 240,000 miles on the 3.3L V6 engine, which keeps running like the Energizer Bunny! The result of timely and proper maintenance. This vehicle is still fun to drive, performance and acceleration is amazing.

Pros
Very Dependable vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KATHY B.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/19/2020
Santa Fe Hyundai
I just got it today. It’s an amazing clean car. Really comfortable.

Pros
Great car for the miles and year. One owner is impressive.

Cons
It has some miles on it. Older car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Carlos R.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/31/2019
Spacious and comfortable
This vehicle is pretty comfortable during driving. The only problem is this vehicle is V6 and it needs a lot of gas plus the spending is too high. By the way for the price of this car is a good fit for people who loves driving with comfort.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
LISA C.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2019
Great SUV for the money
Very pleased with my purchase, she's been a very reliable vehicle with normal maintenance issues. Mine has the larger v6 on the 4, so I would be only recommending on that one. Handles great in the snow, only complaint on 2009 is the wiper spray freezes up sometimes due to poor design. Small complaint for an overall great vehicle 10 yr/100,000 mile warranty can't be beat! Ty Anchor Subaru for finding me my gem!!

Pros
Great warranty and reliability. Good space more than crossovers by Honda and Toyota. Mine is a a v6, not the 4L. We carry 2 kayaks in summer on rack with no problem.

Cons
In 2009 they had poor design for windshield water, it freezes at really cold temp which is a problem in the North East, but other than that not much to complain about.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
John S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/05/2019
2008 Santa Fe
Car has withstood the many I95 travels North (Lansdale PA) without any problems on the road. The one point I'll make about the 2008 and model years going forward is that the instrument panel/warning should alert to pending problems with the alternator. With today's usage of IC and/or electronics, the weak link is a failing alternator. Once the battery is without charge the car seizes up, making for a dangerous driving situation! I have first hand experience which I wouldn't wish on any driver.

Pros
Very road worthy, comfortable seating, seats with high elevation, and interior size is great for mid size suv.

Cons
Instrument panel was no real time alert for a failing alternator!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Christine D.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/28/2019
Great in an accident
Before my accident I would have given the Santa Fe a poor review. Seems like things break on it constantly and the parts are expensive to repair. That said, had an accident in it a few weeks back. It was not a major accident however when I compared the Santa Fe's damage from the oncoming Subaru Foster, the Santa Fe held up great! Kept me safe with minimal damage to the front end. The other car's front end was a mess! The driver was safe though so that's a plus for Subaru too.

Pros
Holds up well in an accident.
Offers extra features that you would have to pay more for with their competitors like the 6 cyclinders - makes for a nice ride and easy handling.
Spacious.

Cons
The good deal in price for initial purchase is not worth all the expense into repairs over the course of owning it. Odd things have gone wrong with mine that cost ridiculous amounts of time to diagnose and then more expensive than competitors to repair.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/17/2019
Hyundai Santa Fe
I've always been an American made motors kind of guy, but this Santa Fe has been a very good vehicle. A149,000 miles and still going strong. It's had it issues but not much more than your standard maintenance. I recommend it to friends.

Cons
wish it had a Bluetooth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Adriana G.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/17/2019
I.LOVE.MY.CAR!!
Complete trust in my vehicle. It has taken me everywhere - Mississippi, Arizona, Alabama, Florida (from Jacksonville to Miami), Georgia, and of course all over Texas! I keep it as best a shape as possible with the help of Tipton Hyundai in Brownsville, Texas. 100% in them keeping me safe and on the road!

Pros
After 11 years, it still drives well.

Cons
Crossbars should be standard

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
John K.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/15/2019
Very satisfied with our Santa Fe!
Our Santa Fe has been very reliable. Other than routine maintenance no mechanical problems. We will seriously consider a Hyundai as our next vehicle.

Words to meet the required 200 character minimum.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VU
Vikki U.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/07/2019
Great SUV and very durable
I purchased a new Santa Fe from Rick Case in 2008. With 125,000 miles on it and combined with regular maintenance has only needed the normal wear/tear items (breaks, tires, etc.). It's a great car!

Pros
Plenty of room for the grand-kids and all of their "equipment". Trunk space is great for groceries, hauling small pieces of furniture, etc. It's big enough to do what you need to do but small enough to get in regular parking lots and spaces. Mileage is fairly good. Driving lights are awesome.

Cons
I'm short so it's a little too high for me to comfortably get in/out. I didn't opt to get automatic seats, which I regret.. DVD player isn't good. It broke right before the 36k mileage was up so they replaced it. It just broke again recently and I'm not getting it fixed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Dennis R.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/06/2019
Obsolete in features but a pleasure to drive
I purchased the Santa Fe used, with only 47K miles on it in 2016. It replaced a 2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport. After a period of adjustment, I found it responsive on the road and reliable. The cabin is noisy at sustained highway speeds but the seats are comfortable except for an inability to retract the driver's seat to provide more legroom, and I have short legs. Limitations aside, I have found that it suits my needs satisfactorily and I find its stability of adjustment very pleasing.

Pros
As a 2008 model, it does not have a display terminal but does have buttons, dials and switches, all of which I prefer, so much so that it provides an incentive to keep the car running well as long as possible.

Cons
Driver's seat doesn't retract far enough for maximum comfort. Thickness of pillars between windshields and front door obscure some details. Two of the door latches on this vehicle have had to be replaced, an expensive repair.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
Denise N.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/19/2019
2008 Santa Fe w/ 30k miles
Love my car, and from recent communication from Hyundai it is worth a whole lot more to me than you would ever pay as a trade-in. Interesting I cannot comment unless all 200 characters are used, bazaar.

Cons
Hyundai's estimated value of my car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Christine H.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/17/2019
Customer
It’s been a great car! Very little problems with it. The only thing was the gas gauge stopped working and it was too expensive to repair. Overall it has been a great car and the dealership has been wonderful to work with.

Pros
Runs great

Cons
Gas gauge stopped working

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
William S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2019
Superb!
I Love my Santa Fe! It is comfortable and dependable and has all the features I need. When I need that extra power to enter the highway, it doesn’t hesitate. I keep up on oil changes and tire rotations and expect to be driving it for many years to come. I can’t imagine a better vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/07/2019
Reliable vehicle
We have had this car in the family for about two years. It has been reliable. Only routine maintenance so far. I think it has about 140k so far. My only dislike as a 6 foot tall person is I’d like a little more leg room and or higher seats.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RI
Rebecca I.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/07/2019
Sante Fe
First time buyer, 2008 Sante Fe. Pleased so far, like the styling and features. Have 3rd row seating but gave up some of the head space in the front seat. Love it otherwise. Have to try a newer one to see if the problems been solved.

Pros
Love the look and features.

Cons
We have the 3rd row seats, it seems cramped and the front seats give up head room getting in and out you bump your head easily. Maybe they’ve fixed this by now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Michele G.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/10/2019
Luv it
Over100000 miles. Still very nice car. Have recommended to many others. Still love the navigation system. Excellent value for the cost. Will purchase another santa fe when I am ready to buy. Would love more comfortable seats.

Pros
1040000 miles,very reliable

Cons
Seats a bit uncomfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 432 in total