Style image original

2005
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5rating 4.87

105 Reviews

Latest review 15 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LW
Lena W.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2018
Love it! Wish I could afford a newer version. Someday!
This is my 4th Hyundai; I have owned 3 new ones. My 2014 was totaled last year. I'm retired so can't afford a car payment & bought my 2005 SantaFe for 4k. Love it - will upgrade sometime soon.
Thanks
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
Vanessa A.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2018
It's the perfect size for me.
I absolutely love my Santa Fe! It's got the right amount of oomph I need. Perfect in storage space, passenger room and quite frankly I love how it drives. I don't have any conplaints about this car at all.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VT
Veronica T.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2018
Immediate live affair!
This review is based on my first experience with My Santa Fe. I loved it from the beginning . With back problems the comfort of the drivers seat was great! I sat in other parts of the car as well. The feel of the ride was smooth . It had great pick up. It was 2005 so it was nicely equipped for a 2005 vehicle. The vehicle has held up very well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Chelsea S.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/10/2018
Oldie but a goodie
I've had this car for a good long time, bought it new back in 2005. It's reliable, easy to fix, handles well and has a great speaker system (important!). Holds a good amount of cargo and handles snow and off road conditions great.

Pros
Versatility
Holds a lot of cargo

Cons
Gas mileage could be better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Kenneth W.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/02/2018
Great Ride. Feels solid driving. Convenient
Very good and reliable overall. We do have an intermittent braking problem the dealer could not find even after explaining in detail , ABS engages and or hydraulics don’t braking at slow speeds 15-20 mph on wet or uneven roads. See 2004 exiter crack problem. We took in 5 times dealer not able to discover. It’s gonna take pulling exiter to find and it started happening within 1st year. If you purchase a 2005 or earlier Santa Fe make sure to have exiter ring checked for cracks. Drive it at 15.20 mph on a slope and ride brake to a stop. It usually triggers then.

Pros
Strong well built

Cons
Braking problem not fixed. Similar to 2004 issue with ABS engaging on cracked exiter ring. Crack opens and triggers sensor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DELORES M.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2018
LOVE IT
lm glad I wanted and got this SUV,I love it. I usually choose a sedan and I have had a SUV before but this one seems better than the one I had before I really like the way it handles, the color is cool its a very beautiful dark blue.

Pros
Not too big just the right size for me. I just got it a couple months so I'm still getting used to it I don't know how many times I can say it I love it.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MZ
Martha Z.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2018
The best car all the way
Since the moment I bought it. The car never had any issue. Almost 13 years and the car is running without any problem. So if you are thinking to buy a car please don’t hesitate the Hyundai StaFe is the right for you.

Pros
Never have any problem with the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Tamara R.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/11/2018
I am the greatest fan of your Santa Fe model. I've been a loyal leasee and buyer since 2001. From a manual stickshift to the 3 row automatic with the panoramic roof, heated/cooled everything - these vehicles have performed well and are very reliable. I will always be a Hyundai Santa Fe fan. I have 3 vehicles and am looking to buying another one in the near future. Go Santa Feers!!! Great - Reliable - SUV :)
I am the greatest fan of your Santa Fe model. I've been a loyal leasee and buyer since 2001. From a manual stickshift to the 3 row automatic with the panoramic roof, heated/cooled everything - these vehicles have performed well and are very reliable. I will always be a Hyundai Santa Fe fan. I have 3 vehicles now and I will be looking to buy another one in the near future. Go Santa Feers!!! Great - Reliable - SUV :)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Shirley L.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/28/2018
2005 Santa Fe
I love my Santa Fe. I don't drive it much, just close to home but it's been very reliable. It has a nice smooth ride. It's 12+ years old and I still have original brakes and tires. I take it in usually every 6 months even if I don't have many miles on it.

Pros
Very comfortable car for me. I'm short so being able to have good vision is important. I like sitting up higher than sedans.

Cons
I have the 3.5 engine so I don't get very good mileage. But, I like the pick-up it has on the freeway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
David D.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2018
Santa Fe is my forever vehicle
Do you recall as a young person that your vehicle Was your everything well now I am70 years old ,I bought this car in 2005 a brand new Santa Fe and IT STILL LOOKS AND RIDES BRAND NEW! TRY ONE ON !! The Santa Fe is reliable looks good and it measures up to anything on the road right now and this is a 13 year old vehicle it still looks and runs sharp when the time comes I will replace it with another Santa Fe without a doubt I recently became handicapped so my wife is now the driver and I am the Passenger now there is a heartbreaker but it is just as great looking out the passenger window as it was looking out the driver side window AND because of the design and interior room I can still comfortably get in and out of the car stepping up to the comfortable seats if you’re looking for a midsize SUV a good front wheel or 4 Wheel Dr. car consider to Santa Fe you’d be doing yourself a favor and I think you’ll agree with me 100%

Pros
Still fits on the Modern road and it looks and rides like a charm It Compete in style and looks with anything out there

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joyce S.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2018
great services
they took go care of me very nice services and very quit to get to me and look over my car and let me know what going on and gave me good price to get the job done also show me all the discount i can get and no matter if went with it our not stll thank me for coming to them

Pros
run great very comfortable

Cons
just needed some more feature in side

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ARIF B.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/09/2018
excellent value and ride for money
Excellent value and comfort. Sensible pricing. Had this car for over 10yrs and have very little problems. it has good functionality and quite reliable. I will be looking to get another one soon. thanks
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Renee D.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/09/2018
One of the best vehicles owned.
Overall, this is an excellent rating for the 2005 Hyundai's Santa Fe. So it's highly recommended for performance, reliability, body, 4-wheel during inclement weather traversing up and down roads. My vehicle is still a favorite among other small SUVs.

Pros
Like the feeling of being seated higher up in heated seats when cold, plus other features.
Also being able to observe better ahead.

Cons
Would like to see an overhead support hold for driver.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Darlene W.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2018
Keeping this car maintained
This vehicle is over twelve years old, oil changes, tire rotation has been a blessing. Taking this vehicle to the dealership has proven after 12200 it will continue to run in excellent shape. Will return

Pros
Will purchase again

Cons
Never had a Major problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Karen M.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/31/2018
Excellent
Very reliable vehicle. Good gas mileage. Easy to drive and good amount of space. Very comfortable interior steering wheel is adjustable. Controls location great. Had it since 2005 never had todo any major work done.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Daniel P.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/30/2018
Dependable SUV
Initially bought this vehicle for my wife after having done a lot of research on dependability and safety. Purchased this as a used one owner vehicle from a dealership. Initial owner had performed all maintenance and after having owned it for the last 7+ years it has performed flawlessly and has needed only basic maintenance. Would definitely consider this vehicle again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/30/2018
It's reliable.
This is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. It's nearing 100,000 miles and l3 years without any needs beyond scheduled servicing. When I bought it I had hoped it would last as long as I was alive and fit to drive, and I haven't been disappointed.

Pros
Reliable.

Cons
Some wind noise and the gas mileage is only so-so.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Carolina P.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/23/2018
Best car ever
I have had his car for over 12 years and I only have to do maintenance for keeping it on the road. Very good car!!!. The car's performance has been excellent and is a family vehicle. I will buy another Santa Fe when the time comes

Pros
good performance in general

Cons
it's an old car and needs more security features and updates

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FG
Frank G.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2018
Great service.
My 2005 Santa Fe was an excellent choice when I first bought it in 2005. It has given me great driving, and it has not given me any problems since the one I had while visiting in this area...Am I a Hyundai for life, you bet I am....I own a 2010 Sonata and it has also given me great driving.....you need to buy Hyundai to see what great vehicles they are.

Pros
Everything.

Cons
Nothing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NW
Nikki W.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/03/2018
It's a great little suv
I love this little suv , it handles well and is very comfortable . I take senior citizens around in it and they have no trouble getting in or out of it. The interior is very roomy and comfortable as well , love the visibility as too . This is a very comfortable suv that acts like a car . I would love to be able to afford a new one . The only thing that is troublesome is that I am at 155,00.00 miles and am having to have some major repairs like the air compressor / idol / tension arm / radiator / some very large ticket items and I was hoping it would last a few more miles before needing all of these things . Don't get me wrong I love this little suv but the repairs now are not as much fun . If I could get a really good deal on another used one I would be really interested in that for sure.

Pros
It is very comfortable , I like the dimensions very much . Small yet very roomy . I also like it's profile sits up high but is not hard to get in and out of . Handles wonderfully , just like a car . I wish I could afford a brand new one

Cons
I am at 156,00 and am starting to have some serious repairs like the tension arm / idoler / radiator / air compressor .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 105 in total