Style image original

2004
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78

101 Reviews

Latest review 9 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 02/08/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2004 Santa Fe"

I like it better than the new ones...it simply suits me better...uncomplicated, reasonable on gas, dependable transportation. Selected as my second utility vehicle, it has become the vehicle I use most.

Pros
The 2004 Santa Fe is very intuitive. Control are simple and just where they ought to be. No steering wheel controls except for Cruise Control. Very dependable, rides well and handles road condition just fine. Excellent value!

Cons
I really do not have any cons for this vehicle considering the cost and function.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/03/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love my Hyundai"

I'm a stickler for maintenance. I do everything required within the recommended time frames. Because of this, I've driven 123,000 trouble free miles in my 2004 Hyundai. I would definitely buy another, but am disappointed they are eliminating a c.d. player in several models. Being old school and having a huge collection of c.d.'s, and no I don't want to transfer them to a flash drive, this may influence me to buy a car from a different manufacturer. I wish Hyundai would offer a c.d. option in EVERY model.

Pros
Plenty of head and leg room, extra cigarette lighter port so I can plug in a GPS and a camera at the same time, good options offered, reliable.

Cons
Mediocre gas mileage, expensive to maintain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/31/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best ever made"

Our two Santa Fe “ twins” were the best model ever made. 2004. Enough said. But you must maintain the cars! Loving care has lasted us 14 years! This model has always looked good. We wash wax, vacuum, and maintain regularly.

Pros
Size, safety, weight. Reliable car.

Cons
It is not luxurious or fancy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/22/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my Sante Fe"

Awesome car. It is 14 years old and still looks good and has held up well. I like the room in the back and it is comfortable for passengers well built car, i would definitely chose a Sante Fe as my next car

Pros
Dependable very few repairs needed

Cons
Rust around back wherls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/05/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Over 144K and still running like new."

No need to buy another with proper servicing and timely repairs of my current 2004 Santa Fe, although I will purchase a newer model of same car for improved options. Traveling from California to Florida with multiple road trips to mid west regions, we are confident this vehicle will get us to our destinations.

Pros
Interior ambience is quiet at low and high speeds Design and quality remains (if not better) in newer models

Cons
New OEM parts are getting harder to find Peripheral vision is blocked by mirror and right side passenger windshield pillar

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/02/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my Santa Fe "

I have had my Santa Fe for 13 years and enjoyed every moment I drive it Long trips and short dependably and always good service being a widow I can always depend on having comfortable and reliable vehicle 🚗

Pros
Comfort and quality

Cons
Not good car for tall people but great for us short ones

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent service"

Excellent
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"fun"

I love my 2004 4 wd santa fe, it's fun to drive, quite, dependable, drives great.

Pros
Great handling, quite, good features. Just fun to drive.

Cons
Gas mileage could be a little better, but that's not why I got it. It's not to bad. About 20.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/11/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great vehicle"

My Hyundai Santa Fe was with me for 14 years and almost 250,000 miles. It was a great vehicle with an amazing warranty. I’ll only purchase Hyundai’s from now on.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/08/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love MY Santa Fe"

I love my Santa Fe. I would like for it to last forever.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/06/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Santa Fe"

I have been very satisfied with my Santa Fe. It is a 2004 and I have never had any big problems with this vehicle. This vehicle handles real nice in bad weather especially in the snow. If and when I buy another vehicle, it would be a Santa Fe.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love This Vehicle"

Next time i purchase a vehicle it'll be a newer model Santa Fe. Comfortable, spacious, great handling, very dependable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned"

I first purchased a Hyundai Santa Fe in 2002 because I needed a larger vehicle but I didn't want a giant gas guzzler. The Santa Fe was the perfect in between size, had every option I needed, was gas efficient and reasonably priced. I bought my second one in 2004 and I'm still driving it. The maintenance costs have always been manageable and regular recommended maintenance has kept it running very well for all these years. I will be attending the car show in November to have a look at the new models so that, when I'm ready to buy another, I'll have all the information I need to make an informed decision but there's no question that my first choice will be a Santa Fe.

Pros
Tight turning circle gas efficient comfortably appointed reasonable maintenance costs very room cargo area

Cons
slightly noisy cabin too cumbersome to lower back seats for added cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/11/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Dante fe"

the best service I ever had with a vehicle is from Hyundai. You feel safe in any of its models.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/30/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Good old car!"

I have had this car for 14 years now and never owned a car this long but it is still working for me. I've kept up with the regular maintenance and not had any 'big' problems with it. I have had some belts replaced and of course new tires but other than that, nothing I can think of. Now I do not drive much, the car only has 52,000+ miles on it but still with the age it could have had many problems. I do think doing regular maintenance really helps any car and it certainly has proven true with this one.

Pros
Reliable Great Warranties Good in snow

Cons
Can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/26/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"NICE VEHICLE"

Enjoy the AWD on this SUV, help a lot during the winter months, like the 3.5L engine, has the extra power when needed. Didn't get all the options with tis SUV, but satisfied for what I have.

Pros
The 3.5L engine, for new models it looks like you have to order the 3.5L for additional cost, and like the AWD, helps in the winter months in MN.

Cons
Gas mileage, not the greatest.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/25/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2004 Santa Fe"

I have owned this vehicle for 13 years and 107,000 miles and have had very little trouble with it and is the longest time that I've owned the same vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love this car."

I've owned my 04 Santa Fe since its first 800 miles. It was one of the last four remaining to be sold in the Northwest, and had been used by the dealer some. With good care, it has been very good to me. It may be my last car, I'm 81, as I love driving it, and drive less than before I retired.

Pros
Looks nice; drive well.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/07/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best car I've every owned"

I bought this car new in 2004. To date, I've had one small warranty issue regarding seat locks. Other than that, there has been nothing more than routine maintenance. I've followed the manufacturer's recommended maintenance to the letter. The service center sees my car every 3,000 miles for oil changes. It gets a new filter, synthetic oil, and a full check on brakes, alignment, lights, etc each time. I've yet to replace a light, and the brakes lasted 108,000 miles. It never overeats, and is smooth running. This is the best car I've ever owned.

Pros
Smooth and powerful engine. Excellent cruise control, good gas mileage on the highway.

Cons
Driver's seat needs to be able to move rearward another two inches. There isn't much room for feet on cruise control so a bent leg is needed to avoid the accelerator pedal.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/01/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Service"

Love hyundais

Pros
Love hyundai

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 101 in total