Style image original

2004
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79

110 Reviews

Latest review 8 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SM
Susan M.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2018
Such a durable vehicle
I have taken my Santa Fe everywhere, even to places I shouldn't. Out in the wilderness, the vehicle is so reliable. I know I will get out of rough spots. Lots of room for my camping gear. I maintain the vehicle well and it shows by being very dependable. I plan to keep this car a long time to come. Too bad other vehicles aren't made this well.

Pros
I can rely upon this vehicle. It never breaks down.

Cons
If the gas mileage was better, but for its size you can't complain too much.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Steven K.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2018
Great, Trustworthy Vehicle
I've been very happy with my 2004 Santa Fe. I bought it back when it was less than 49,000 miles. It was a one owner, well maintained vehicle. It rides very comfortable. Great for road trips with the sunroof open on a blue sky day. The vehicle has been dependable. I have not been as religious with the maintenance schedule as the 1st owner. It's my fault that now it needs some understandable repairs. The vehicles with go over 200000 or more if you keep up with regular maintenance. I have the 2.7 liter v6 GLS/LX model. I love the gas mileage I get. It now has the prevalent valve cover leak that these vehicles get over 90,000 miles. Currently has 120,000 and is running fine. I love the vehicle so much, that I was very upset when given an expensive list a mile long to fix my car. However, this is a good testament to the dependability of the Santa Fe. I recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Pros
Very dependable and comfortable riding vehicle. It has great cargo space when you need to haul something. It also drives like a car, with smooth ride and comfort. Unlike other similar vehicles I've driven by other manufacturers, which tend to feel like you're in a pickup truck.

Cons
I don't have blu tooth with a 2004 and the body style is much less sleek, stylish and smart looking than the newer models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2018
Great and dependable!
We bought our 04 Santa Fe used with under 60k miles. Didn't know the history of this mean machine, so we did exactly what Hyundai recommends at 60k. This is where the journey begins... Our Santa Fe has been our primary vehicle, driving city and highway miles. Gas mileage is pretty decent for this caliber of vehicle, roomy enough for the family and groceries, and the power...we have the 3.5L front wheel drive model...this thing scoots! I'm a die hard Chevy V8 man, but this thing has far exceeded my expectations. We strategically planned to replace this beast after a few years of owning it, but no matter what nature, aggressive driving, and my wife put this thing through, it still has life in it like when we bought it. It's comfortable. I've taken it on a few road trips crossing state lines, and it has never failed. I've watched 4x4's get stuck in the snow, but this little bean of wizardry has had no problems. This is even after I had stopped to help a handful of folks while the Santa Fe sunk into the quick-like-sand of snow and ice. Maintenance...this is fairly easy if you're mechanically inclined. Changing the spark plugs require you to pull the surge tank (upper intake) off. Changing the alternator requires the radiator be removed for easy access. You definitely want to be sure when you're replacing one component, you might as well replace whatever is nearby just so you won't have to dig in that spot multiple times. We still have this vehicle. It survives the technological attacks from the new generation of Hyundai's and other manufacturers as the technology in this old 04 is plain as can be. However, this IS the first generation Santa Fe that paved the road of Hyundai's current success. But, in the grand scheme of things, this vehicle doesn't have the looks of the very attractive 2018 Santa Fe, but rest assured, if you take care of your first generation Santy, it will pay back in kind. Love them, and they will love you back.

Pros
Roomy, powerful (3.5L), reliable, comfortable, easy maintenance, inexpensive.

Cons
Looks, technology not up to par with other vehicle manufacturers of the year model.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mary H.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/17/2018
Love my Santa Fe
I bought my car by myself and did not know what kind to get but once I got in it and drove it got it and my Santa Fe has been very dependable and service has helped me stay safe so I enjoy it now 14 yrs later as much as the first time I drove it

Pros
Comfortably reliable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Darlene D.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/15/2018
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
This is the first car I bought that was new. I enjoy the space as I camp and it gives me the room I need for packing things, I also like having the room for items that would not fit into a trunk. I have maintained the vehicle well and it has served my purpose. I have no regrets with my purchase

Pros
Fits my needs, longevity with proper maintenance

Cons
Spare tire storage, spare tire is difficult to access, recall on gas tank, it seems I have had to maintain brakes more then I remember with other vehicles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Marilyn D.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2018
2004Santa Fe
I've had my Santa Fe for 14 years. I have 52,000, miles on it. I' ve taken it to Marhoffer, for 14 years, to do work. I've had a few major things done, and it costs alot, which it would be at a dealer for 95$ a hr, but it's a Hyundai Dealer, why not., and I dont know of any other Mechanics! I don't know of any trusting ones!

Pros
1st Suv, to realize , I like them, more so then a car! I used to haul things in a car!, no more, and I plan to get another Suv, in acouple years, If mine last! (2004)

Cons
A Smaller Suv, as I don't need a Big Suv, bc, I can still haul, but don't need all that room!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Steven R.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2018
Sante Fe 2004
I have had my Santa Fe since December of 2003 and it has serve me well, I must say...I wish I was able to purchase me a later model but because of financial situations I just not ready to do so at this time.

Pros
*****

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mary B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2018
A++++++++++++++ and then some!!
I've never owned a car like my 2004 Santa Fe. Prior to purchasing, I never kept a car more than 4 years because something would need to be fixed and would be so expensive that it would be unreasonable to do it. I have had no major problems and only have done routine things needed due to age and mileage. Even if I won the lottery, I'd still buy a Santa Fe -- just a new one!

Pros
in my opinion, everything about the car is great

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/28/2018
Love it
I've been a Hyundai Santa Fe lover for years. My husband has wanted me to trade this car in for the past 5 years and my response has always been the same "over my dead body". Why would I trade this JEWEL OF THE NILE for a newer model when it still runs great. Having newer bells and whistles is great but if it ain't broke don't fix it. Good old Spanish proverb.

Pros
Driving visabilty, paid for, comfort, all the bells and whistles a car could ask for.

Cons
Old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WE
William E.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/08/2018
2004 Santa Fe
I like it better than the new ones...it simply suits me better...uncomplicated, reasonable on gas, dependable transportation. Selected as my second utility vehicle, it has become the vehicle I use most.

Pros
The 2004 Santa Fe is very intuitive. Control are simple and just where they ought to be. No steering wheel controls except for Cruise Control. Very dependable, rides well and handles road condition just fine. Excellent value!

Cons
I really do not have any cons for this vehicle considering the cost and function.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Craig B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/03/2018
I love my Hyundai
I'm a stickler for maintenance. I do everything required within the recommended time frames. Because of this, I've driven 123,000 trouble free miles in my 2004 Hyundai. I would definitely buy another, but am disappointed they are eliminating a c.d. player in several models. Being old school and having a huge collection of c.d.'s, and no I don't want to transfer them to a flash drive, this may influence me to buy a car from a different manufacturer. I wish Hyundai would offer a c.d. option in EVERY model.

Pros
Plenty of head and leg room, extra cigarette lighter port so I can plug in a GPS and a camera at the same time, good options offered, reliable.

Cons
Mediocre gas mileage, expensive to maintain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Deb K.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/31/2018
Best ever made
Our two Santa Fe “ twins” were the best model ever made. 2004.
Enough said. But you must maintain the cars! Loving care has lasted us 14 years!
This model has always looked good. We wash wax, vacuum, and maintain regularly.

Pros
Size, safety, weight. Reliable car.

Cons
It is not luxurious or fancy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Sharon J.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/22/2018
Love my Sante Fe
Awesome car. It is 14 years old and still looks good and has held up well. I like the room in the back and it is comfortable for passengers well built car, i would definitely chose a Sante Fe as my next car

Pros
Dependable very few repairs needed

Cons
Rust around back wherls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/05/2018
Over 144K and still running like new.
No need to buy another with proper servicing and timely repairs of my current 2004 Santa Fe, although I will purchase a newer model of same car for improved options. Traveling from California to Florida with multiple road trips to mid west regions, we are confident this vehicle will get us to our destinations.

Pros
Interior ambience is quiet at low and high speeds
Design and quality remains (if not better) in newer models

Cons
New OEM parts are getting harder to find
Peripheral vision is blocked by mirror and right side passenger windshield pillar

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mary H.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/02/2018
Love my Santa Fe
I have had my Santa Fe for 13 years and enjoyed every moment I drive it
Long trips and short dependably and always good service being a widow I can always depend on having comfortable and reliable vehicle 🚗

Pros
Comfort and quality

Cons
Not good car for tall people but great for us short ones

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KV
Kuno V.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/29/2017
Excellent service
Excellent
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
James L.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/16/2017
fun
I love my 2004 4 wd santa fe, it's fun to drive, quite, dependable, drives great.

Pros
Great handling, quite, good features. Just fun to drive.

Cons
Gas mileage could be a little better, but that's not why I got it. It's not to bad. About 20.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Sean G.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/11/2017
Great vehicle
My Hyundai Santa Fe was with me for 14 years and almost 250,000 miles. It was a great vehicle with an amazing warranty. I’ll only purchase Hyundai’s from now on.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Richard B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2017
Love MY Santa Fe
I love my Santa Fe. I would like for it to last forever.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Edna B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2017
Santa Fe
I have been very satisfied with my Santa Fe. It is a 2004 and I have never had any big problems with this vehicle. This vehicle handles real nice in bad weather especially in the snow. If and when I buy another vehicle, it would be a Santa Fe.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 110 in total