2006
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77
4.8
(74 Reviews)
Latest review 4 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PG
Pamela G.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
Love it!!!
Comfortable, practical, versatile- she brings home good finds of all kinds!- great visibility (especially in New England -snowbank season -can see over snowbanks in parking lots safely). Comfortable cabin accessibility- love her! ( don’t even want to think of a future vehicle 😟 but when time comes will look for a replacement Santa Fe. 😢😉.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Susan M.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/02/2019
New to me/used Hyundai owner
As you can tell from my title, I have not had my Santa Fe for long before my gas tank started to leak. I drove the vehicle for 96 days before it went to the shop for 72 days. I have some minor complaints about the vehicle but that comes with buying used. I have wanted a Santa Fe for a long time, finally found one in my budget. I like it, handles well in the snow! I hope the rest of my ownership goes well!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
Danielle N.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/08/2019
Wish Hyundai would have stayed with the old body
I absolutely love my Hundai. Its been 12 years and I immediately started shopping for a new Santa Fe. The blind spot is so bad that there's no way I can get it. The seven seater does not comfortably seat seven. I had to go with a Discovery to get that I wanted but I would have preferred a Hyundai...great cars. The new body just isn't as safe as the old one for driving.

Pros
Sturdy car, reliable. Great visibility and comfortable fory size 5'4".

Cons
The side panels would never stay on. Got tired of taking it in for that.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sharron R.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2018
Love my 2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
My 2006 Hyundai Santa Fe is an excellent vehicle. Drives great & great mileage. When ever I have a problem I always take the Santa Fe back to the dealer. The service department is excellent. And recently Mr. David Ruiz took excellent attention to my problem. Thank You

Pros
Great vehicle.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Ricardo S.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/29/2018
It's old, but runs great
Car is very reliable. Bought it used, needs some work. It runs though! I've traveled up and down Florida in it. I've seen similar vehicles just like mine with better qualities, but it's okay. Hyundai models over all seem very reliable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Ron M.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2018
'06 Santa Fe
My wife and I bought this vehicle,used, about five or six years ago. We both love the vehicle. I am retired now with some health issues,on oxygen 24/7, and on a fixed income. Quite frankly, if we could afford it,we would purchase a new Sante Fe in a heartbeat. Maybe in the future we can purchase another later model one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOHN B.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/13/2018
Good Solid workhorse
I was happy to get this car in the shape it was in. The inside was immaculate and there were no dents or major dings. It rides a little hard - guess that's the "sport" part, but I would change to softer struts if I could. Headlights aren't made well - I guess Hyundai hasn't mastered that part yet. The permanent fog that builds up on the inside of the headlights can't be fixed, and you end having to replace them. You can reuse the bulbs though. Overall I like this car. Its very comfortable on long cross-country trips and is very dependable. The only part I don't like is that when a sensor goes out it costs over $300 to fix, but I guess that's true of all modern cars these days.

Pros
Comfortable seats, especially on long trips, AC works well, mechanically sound. Speakers sound good. Decent gas mileage. Wheelbase is the size of a compact car.

Cons
Hard to see out the windows for backing up - can't really see how far back you can go. Back seats don't fold down all the way for max space. Suspension is pretty hard. Headlights need to be replaced after about 10 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Joesph R.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2018
Hyundai Santa Fe 2006
They made this series from 2000 to 2006 in my opinion it was a great 6 years. Almost 170,000 miles and no major engine or tranny problems. Timing belt 2 times, 3 sets of tires, numerous oil changes replaced belts hoses and 2 tune ups, and 2 brake jobs. And replace the blower motor. Can not complain at all.

Pros
Just a great vehicle bought it used and 70,000 and now has 170,000 still going strong

Cons
Have in the past had some clock issues. Just reset the clock and kept on going Been very reliable just routine maintenance and it has 170,000 miles..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Ernie C.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2018
Great car outstanding performance
This is the fifth Santa. Fe I owned. I love the performance and efficiency. Very comfortable car. I get lots of compliments. I have driven and owned many Hyundai. By far this is the best one I have owned.

Pros
Smooth ride low road noise.

Cons
The sport se was a little pricy. The financial guy lied to me. I wanted Hyundai finance like my other vehicles. He said it wasn’t available. I later learned it was.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Edward W.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/01/2018
I've had the car for 12 years. Comfortable to drive. Love it.
Had the car for 12 years. No service other than routine things. I hope it last a lot longer but I would definitely buy another one. Very comfortable seating. I would only buy an SUV from now on. Great car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Joesph R.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/07/2018
2006 hyundai santa fe
Great vehicle 2006 v6 is the best engine. Suspension and struts still going strong good on tires, gas, and maintenance just normal repairs 2000 to 2006 great years for this model. 160,000 miles still going strong.

Pros
overall can not complain 160,000 miles going strong just normal wear and tear. Timing belt, tires, hoses, brakes, no struts or cv boots to replace yet. Just a great vehicle.

Cons
Have to have remotes taken to the dealer for programming. Overall no complaints.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
Deborah E.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2018
2006 Sante Fe
I LOVE my car! I love everything about it - the size, style, make-up, sun roof, . . the way it runs, everything; it has been very reliable and manageable, with almost no 'issues'. I am regular with the check-ups and ,,, yes, she's old, but she's a great car.

Pros
everything

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Elizabeth M.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2018
Sana Fe lover
I love my Santa Fe! My 2006 model has 140k miles and still runs as smoothly as the day I bought it. Reliable in all sorts of weather, easy on gas and elevated enough to have an SUV view of the road. My next vehicle will undoubtedly be another Hyundai.

Pros
Great handling, SUV quality without high has cost-exceptional mileage for its class. No blind spots, and great comfort for road trips.

Cons
The only think I would wish for is keyless entry

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Maria Angela B.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/13/2018
This vehicle is so competitive
For just a fraction of the amount compared to those top ends, this car is so competitive with its performance and style, I’ve never regretted purchasing this for more than a decade now. Given a chance, i will trade this in with the same brand and model.

Pros
Let my level gauge speak for itself

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
James B.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/03/2018
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
I'm not writing 200 characters !xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
Very responsive and dependable. Easy to drive and comfortable .

Cons
Timing Belt requires 60K mile replacement.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kevin M.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/03/2018
Excellent vehicle
I had my Hyundai Santa Fe from day one It has been excellent since I have 170,000 miles on my SUV no real problems just basic Maintenance just changing your oil and fluids and basic upkeep of your SUV It will treat you good in the end and give you added years of enjoyment driving down the road.

Pros
The high step up into your SUV rather than the cars now of days. A great 6 cylinder get up and go vehicle. Smooth easy great to drive vehicle

Cons
The only negative thing I have to say the so called bumper no much and it’s dented up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Amy H.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/03/2018
Santa Fe 2006
I’ve had this car from the beginning. It has been totally reliable and sturdy. It’s roomy and comfortable. I’ve traveled down to North Carolina with confidence on the highways,with no fear of breaking down.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WT
Walt T.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/25/2018
Reliable, durable and Fun, not luxurious
Good value, reliable vehicle. It was our second SantaFe bought new. Still in good condition (AC just went out...)
When new, we took it four wheeling in Colorado Rockies up to 13,000 ft across the pass from Ouray to Telluride. Many custom Jeeps and Hummers could not make it as far.

Pros
Visibility is great, and has been a good multi purpose vehicle.
Just reached 100,000 miles a month ago.

Cons
Too much road noise at highway speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KO
Kathleen O.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/21/2017
Why I like my Hyundai Santa Fe
I'm going to keep this car till it gives up the ghost. One wonderful thing for me is that it has BOTH cassette tape and CD players. My biggest difficulty is the headrest. It consistently pushes my head down so I can't sit up straight. Some government official must have decreed this headrest angle to prevent whiplash. I think this may be corrected in the newer models.
I also like the large capacity rear. I bought the car specifically so we could get a wheelchair into the rear, and it works! I love the carrying capacity. Also, it's small enough to be able to parallel-park it with ease. I do hope the newer models have a wider rear windshield. I've learned top rely on side mirrors, which do a very good job.

This small SUV is still going strong after 11-1/2 years. Good going, Hyundai.

Pros
1. Rear carrying capacity 2. Both CD and cassette tape players. 3. Size allows easy parallel parking. 4. Easy to see the road from its height.

Cons
1. Headrest forces head down. 2. Needs wider rear windshield.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Ronald R.
2006 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/14/2017
Still moving!
I have a 2006 Hyundai Santa Fe, and it is still in good running condition. I have had only a few services, but none major. Just a good running vehicle!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 74 in total