Style image original

2002
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5rating 4.88

36 Reviews

Latest review about 7 hours ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 08/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"This is the best vehicle I have ever owned."

Keep up with routine maintenance and this vehicle will not let you down.

Pros
This is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. I have kept the maintenance up, and it has never let me down. I have put it to the test, both off-road and here in Minnesota in some of the harshest of winter weather conditions. It is very capable in the snow, the rain, and anything else nature has thrown my way.

Cons
Maybe someone hit it in a parking lot? I didn't see any marks, but I came out of a store and there was the door trim laying on the ground. I saved it, but the cost to put it back on was prohibitive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai vs. all the rest."

I worked for GM for over 17 years. During that period, I bought several GM vehicles. They all were good cars. However, Hyundai has the BEST warranty bar none! I bought my 2002 Santa Fe new in December 2001 and still have it. I will be trading it in this week for a new Santa Fe.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/20/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"LOVE MY 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe!...."

Over the years, I owned many cars, mostly GM products. My experience as a Staff Member and Manager at Bank of America at Los Angeles, Ca. Led me to acquire this SUV, based on my admiration by which umy Korean colleagues performed their duties. I knew I could trust the Korean workmanship and design!...Hyundai Corp. provided me with a sturdy and reliable Product, at competitive pricing and 100 K miles Warranty!.... I'm thankful to the Company, its workers and Marketing Staff!.... Respectfully, Alfredo Jomsky

Pros
Great design and protective features. Very stable on the road, still a Good looking SUV, despite years gone by. Hopefully it will continue its great performance!....

Cons
Some electronic deficiencies, although of minor relevance in terms of Performance of the vehicle such as electronic entry occasional failure. Needed to replace electronic entry device, although the device was never used, at a very expensive cost. Question is why the 2nd. Device had to be purchased, when it should have been replaced by the Dealership!.... Now days, the audio, radio and CD systems, are breaking down, and I do not wish to spend the kind of Money that will probably be required, for it to be repaired!....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/21/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Pleased and satified "

I feel confident that the work preformed is A OK
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/05/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Better with Age"

She has truly been the family vehicle. To work, vacations, school, and shopping our Santa Fe never quits. Now at 15 she has been retired to our daily run about town. We still love taking short trips in her. But like any teenager, she still wants to get out of town from time to time.

Pros
To many to list. Good interior. Great engine. no squeeks or rattles. Great town driver.

Cons
Not the cars fault but dont buy a black color and leave outside for 15 years. Paint takes a beating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/26/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2002 Santa Fe"

My Santa Fe has been very good. Just had air conditioner fixed. Very nice car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/23/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My 2002 Santa Fe"

Leaving in Connecticut, I have to go up 3 hills to get to my house. I chose the Santa Fe and have no regrets. Presently, we have over 138,000 miles and enjoy driving it. Whether on a long trip or around the city, it is still comfortable and great on fuel. Another plus is the storage space. This is one of the best vehicles I have owned. Oh, and during all those snow storms, we have never been stuck on the hills. Awesome vehicle.

Pros
Performance,reliability and fun to drive

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/20/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai's"

My Hyundai has been an excellent car since my mom got the car 12 years ago. It's been excellent with getting us to and from different places such as North Carolina and Washington,D.C

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2002 Hyundai Santa Fe"

Well driven to and fro. Overall good SUV

Pros
It's 2002

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"i have love it ever since i bought it i would onlyn buy from Hyundai "

I cant find nothing to say cause I love my car an id like a new one

Pros
lovce everything about my car

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/29/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Nice car"

It's a good car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/12/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"This has been a great car"

Great car, minimal issues.

Pros
Has been a very reliable car.

Cons
A couple small rust spots on the body, which seems to be the norm with this model year.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/02/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Santa Fe 2002"

Great I give it 10

Pros
Headlight easy to replace

Cons
No Cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/26/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my santa fe"

I love this santa fe, as I can see out so good in it,easy to put groceries or other stuff in the back. Have hauled a lot in it. I bought it used,but it has really been good,every thing that had been done with it,is on record ,so that is good. Someone had traded it in,and I saw it and bought it,before you had time to even get it cleaned up. The previous owner took good care of this car,and it still looks good. 2 of my daughters also had bought Santa Fe's,and I liked thiers. Mileage is about 87,000. I do not put a lot of miles on it so that is good. I don't think I would ever buy a regular car.,after having a suv,and really can't afford to trade it in anyway. I may have paid too much for it,but it has been good,.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/17/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"187,000 miles and still going strong"

Our 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe, just past 187,000 mile and has never fail us. We bought it new in 2002 and have been its only owner. Early in its life it was rear-ended and repaired but you could never tell.. It performs well. We now own two Hyundais!

Pros
It has a 6 cylinder engine. It picks up and goes! After all these years, there is minimal rust damage.

Cons
The car seems to have a mind of its own. It locks the doors on its own. Its more of a joke now, since by not using the remote key for locking the vehicle, the situation is avoidable. It really is more effort to try to find the real cause so I stick with the work aroumd.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/12/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Solid. Very Reliable!"

At times I feel as if I want to complain about this suv because it's a little on the plain side (2002 was the year before they started putting all cool toys on them, no Nav Sys, Backup camera & the radio came w/only a cd & cassette player!) but then I remember how little money I've actually spent repairing it and I realize I can't complain. :) The "Slap Shift" feature plus the 10y/100k mile warranty was the selling point for me on this as my very first new vehicle. I use the slap shift all the time to power into and across heavy traffic. Instantaneous response and it has never let me down! Tough little midsize suv. Sturdy. Stable. Comfortable. Enough room with the back seat down to haul almost anything you would want or for a person plus 2 lg dogs to sleep comfortably on long road trips. It powers around corners with no fear of tip overs. I have the more powerful V6 4WD (all-time all wheel drive) version. Have never had any engine, transmission or rear differential problems with it. (2002 Santa Fe with 120k. I have always set the parking brake when parking before releasing the brake pedal. A habit leftover from my standard shift car days which I'm told is an excellent habit.) It's also awesome in snow! Runs like an energizer bunny! I have powered over packed snow piles and through massive snow drifts (massive for Ohio). During one blizzard this was only one of a handful of vehicles in the neighborhood that could navigate the over 2' of unplowed snow. My only complaints would be about what I consider slightly poor gas mileage. It averages about 20/22mpg highway within legal limits. It's sweet spot seems to be around 85/90mph where it will do 25/26mpg Hwy. Also, the Santa Fe's all seem to have the same body rust spot over the rear wheel well. Over all an excellent vehicle! Every mechanic I have ever spoken to says they very rarely see the '02 era Santa Fe's in for repair. Would always recommend this vehicle to someone looking for a reliable used suv!! :)

Pros
Overall Reliability is excellent. Slap Shift has Instantaneous response, has never let me down. Tough little midsize suv. Sturdy. Stable. Comfortable. No fear of a tip overs. Have never had any engine, transmission or rear differential problems. Awesome in snow!

Cons
Wish it had better gas mileage! They all seem to have the same body rust spot over the rear wheel well. No Nav Sys, Backup camera or cool toys on the 2002 mid-range models. Shocks & Struts became a little creaky around year 5. Window design allows rain to drip directly onto the electronic controls in the door while stopped.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/15/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2002 Hyundai Santa Fe"

I bought it used, and it has been a great car.

Pros
I like the height for getting in and out.

Cons
I hate seat belts, and I hate the seat belts in this car, too.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/05/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The best car ever"

I've owned a Toyota Camery, Honda Accord. Volvo240 Station Wagon, Ford Granada, Chevrolet,Nova, and a Dodge Volt. Each car was purchased brand new.Not one of the cars named lasted more than four years with scheduled maintenances. Some only three years. My Hyundai Santa Fe Is the best car that I have owned. I brought this car brand new in 2002, it is 2016 and my car is still running g beautifully and very comfortably. My next car will be a Hyundai!!!

Pros
Reliability, longevity,minimum maintenence and comfortable ride.

Cons
Tracking system on occassion.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/30/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best car I've ever had! 15 yr old car."

Never had any major problems (mechanical or otherwise) until now, so I cannot complain. Repairs I am doing now is from normal wear & tear of this super auto.great mileage even after 14 yrs.

Pros
Great mileage even after 14 yrs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/23/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Santa Fe Lover"

I love my vehicle.but wish my rear seats would fold onto themselves. Also would be better if front seat would fold down also, as I am a hauler. Surprising how much I can actually haul in my SUV.

Cons
Folding seats could be better designed for hauling stuff.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 36 in total