Style image original

2002
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5rating 4.85

53 Reviews

Latest review 4 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TF
Tajuana F.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2018
My type of car
I love the Hyundai Santa Fe I currently own a 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe and so badly want to upgrade to a 2017 or 18 they are very dependable nice Vehicles smooth riding with the room that I need. perfect

Pros
Perfect

Cons
I haven't seen any with a sunroof

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lillian B.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2018
Tee
Great customer service! I bought my car preowned. The only problem that I had was the alternator being replaced twice, along with the window motor regulator seems to have problems. Other than those no problems.

Pros
Good automobile!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kelly R.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/10/2018
DIE HARD HONDA FAN BUT SATISFIED WITH THIS HYUNDAI
This car was a gift from my mom which was purchased brand new 16 years ago. It's had a pretty good history. I've sold Honda and owned MANY Hondas. This car has helped me stop looking down on the other 'H'.

Pros
Reliable
Cost to maintain is decent
Nimble

Cons
Lesser attractive Santa Fe out of all (but it was the first one out)
Gas mileage is mediocre.
Sometimes seems to have too much torque (I own 2WD) especially while accelerating while turning a corner. Can feel car trying to grip to maintain traction.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RODELLO S.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2018
Goldielocks - My First Car!
I love my 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe! Very dependable and it gave me wider options for my job hunting than I was with my bicycle. Goldie as I named her coz she's gold in color helped me in driving my father to his check ups and my other errands. Very reliable car! My first car and I got my driver's license with her as my behind the wheel test vehicle!

Pros
Driver friendly!

Cons
Consumes more gasoline coz it's V6.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Debbie P.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/31/2018
Very dependable
Have 128000 on the vehicle, and has turn out to be a very trouble free vehicle, only major work is timing belt which is to be expected, change oil every 3000 miles keep the regular maintenance up on it, as you should on any vehicle, has been a very good vehicle.

Pros
The Santa Fe has been an exceptional vehicle and very dependable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
Nikky M.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2018
Like wine she’s only gotten better with age
I’ve heard so many horrible stories from my friends and family about their vehicles throughout the years and I’m pleased to say that I just paid $1157 for some repairs for the 1st time in 15yrs. Before that I paid $500 for new shoes about 3 yrs ago. I wouldn’t trade that kind of odds for any other vehicle in the world. Here’s to as many more years my baby girl has left in her.

Pros
Warranty
Safety
Comfort
Style

Cons
Material not leather
2002 not as high tech

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jacqueline C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/19/2017
A hard working old horse
The most reliable car I have owned. Demonstrated versatility whether taking coonhounds into the timber or the family to the movies. Smart design and efficient operation have made this car the proven smart choice when it was purchased so many years ago.

Pros
Deceptively large storage capacity, surprising how much will fit in the back. Excellent handling and traction in sour weather. This car handles blizzards when everyone else was sitting at home. Comfortable interior features and practical design, very roomy. This car is about to break a quarter of a million miles of operation and is handling its age well.

Cons
There are times when I wish I had spent the extra money for the 6 cylinder engine but the efficient 4 cylinder has met all needs also.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Edward C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2017
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Not big or small just the right size vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Juliette D.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2017
My Santa Fe is a 2002. I bought it brand new. It is the best car that I have ever owned and kept this long or had this many miles. By the way, I have owned a Volvo, Toyota Camery, Honda Accord, Dodge, Ford, And a Chevrolet. I'm in my late 60's. Without a doubt, this is by far my best car ever. My next new car will be a Santa Fe!!
Best Car Ever! (ABOVE)

Pros
The longevity, and the reliability

Cons
The braking TBS SYSTEM

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Ronald F.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2017
Best in the long run.
My 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe is still in great shape and runs like a new car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Carol D.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2017
Fab Fit Fun!
Fabulous ride. Fit to look at . Fun to drive.!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Cindy R.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/17/2017
Hyundai Sante FE 2002
Love my 2002 Sante Fe. It has been good to me. It is getting older as any vehicle with keeping up the maintenance it is going run as long as you take care of it. Aside from a few recent major repairs due to its age, I LOVE IT! Would I buy another one? Yes, I would.

Pros
4wd!

Cons
Until gets older - NONE!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Stacy S.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2017
Replaced front coil springs
Per factory recall, technicians replaced front coil springs and suggested one other repair, which l informed them l will go back to repair shop where repairs were previously done. They were very helpful! ! !

Pros
2002 Santa Fe, I LOVE my set warmer, Bluetooth, road performance and its GREAT on gas

Cons
Only major repair is power steering components

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Penny C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/25/2017
My Santa FE
I love my Santa Fe. wish I could afford a new one. Mine is a 2002.. But it's been good to me. I have only had several problems with the air conditioning but I beiieve that it was poor mechanics/repair places that took me to the cleaners. Would buy a new one if I could.

Cons
air conditioning problems

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2017
This has been a great vehicle. Low maintenance and very functional design.
This car is now well out of its warranty, which was the best one available at the time I bought the car back in late 2002. Until this year I've only spent money on oil changes and the only repairs were recall items. The brakes and steering hose (yeah, a hose) went out this past year, so I have spent money on it of late, but that's been for almost 15 years. I love the looks and the internal design features. The only thing I would change is that I decided against AWD drive and then ended up doing a lot more towing and driving in winter than I originally thought I would. The 2WD version does get decent gas mileage (for a car-based SUV). It's right at about 23 MPG and has been between 20 and 23 for as long as I've owned the car.

Pros
Very comfortable seating for 4. Can hold 5. Very reliable. No problems to speak of until recently hitting some costly stuff that is sort of expected (brakes, for example).

Cons
The model I bought really isn't great for towing. I added a hitch anyway, but it's not ideal. I probably should've opted for the AWD version since I live in MN now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Edward C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2017
Santa Fe LS
Excellent Handling
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Miguel H.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/24/2017
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Comfortable and affordable SUV.

Pros
Comfortable. It feels like driving a regular car. I have driven this car for over 150,000 miles, and the engine has been reliable so far. The cost of this new car was $21,000 the lowest you can get with a good warranty for an SUV.

Cons
The exterior paint started fading after the first 3 or 4 years. Starting the 5th year, the exterior paint was so faded and it looked ugly. The new paint job cost me $3,000. Inside the car, the LED light indicators for doors, windows, and stereo have been burned out or mulfunctioning after 3 to 4 years as well. For the transmission after 140,000 miles of driving, it broke down on me while driving on highway 101 in San Jose, CA. This cost me another $3,000 for repair.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dawn M.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2017
This is the best vehicle I have ever owned.
Keep up with routine maintenance and this vehicle will not let you down.

Pros
This is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. I have kept the maintenance up, and it has never let me down. I have put it to the test, both off-road and here in Minnesota in some of the harshest of winter weather conditions. It is very capable in the snow, the rain, and anything else nature has thrown my way.

Cons
Maybe someone hit it in a parking lot? I didn't see any marks, but I came out of a store and there was the door trim laying on the ground. I saved it, but the cost to put it back on was prohibitive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
Frank S.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2017
Hyundai vs. all the rest.
I worked for GM for over 17 years. During that period, I bought several GM vehicles. They all were good cars. However, Hyundai has the BEST warranty bar none! I bought my 2002 Santa Fe new in December 2001 and still have it. I will be trading it in this week for a new Santa Fe.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
ALFREDO J.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2017
LOVE MY 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe!....
Over the years, I owned many cars, mostly GM products. My experience as a Staff Member and Manager at Bank of America at Los Angeles, Ca. Led me to acquire this SUV, based on my admiration by which umy Korean colleagues performed their duties. I knew I could trust the Korean workmanship and design!...Hyundai Corp. provided me with a sturdy and reliable Product, at competitive pricing and 100 K miles Warranty!.... I'm thankful to the Company, its workers and Marketing Staff!.... Respectfully, Alfredo Jomsky

Pros
Great design and protective features. Very stable on the road, still a Good looking SUV, despite years gone by. Hopefully it will continue its great performance!....

Cons
Some electronic deficiencies, although of minor relevance in terms of Performance of the vehicle such as electronic entry occasional failure. Needed to replace electronic entry device, although the device was never used, at a very expensive cost. Question is why the 2nd. Device had to be purchased, when it should have been replaced by the Dealership!.... Now days, the audio, radio and CD systems, are breaking down, and I do not wish to spend the kind of Money that will probably be required, for it to be repaired!....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 53 in total