2006
Hyundai
Azera

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84

115 Reviews

Latest review 6 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KC
Kimberly C.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2018
2006 Hyundai Azera
I bought my 2006 Hyundai Azera from Speck Hyundai as a used in 2012. It had only had one owner before I bought it and low miles. I got a really good deal on it. I really didn't realize how great of a car it was until I had been driving it for awhile. It has all the bells and whistles that a 2006 could have. Although a Sedan, it seats 5 comfortably. Now I have owned it for 6 years myself. It is still running strong although I have put alot of miles on it. Unfortunately, Hyundai quit making the Azera. But I was told that they upped their game on the Sonata and now it is as nice as the Azera! If you want a really nice car, get a used Azera or a new Sonata! Oh yeah...one more thing...this car has some giddy up and go!

Pros
power everything
heated seats
roomy
lots of cubby space up front and big cup holders
sun roof
6 disk changer
great sound system

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Shirley J.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2018
Great Car
I really like my Azera and sad that they no longer make it. It rides well and is very comfortable. I would definitely buy another one if available.
I have had no problems with it at all. I like the style of it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2018
2006 Azera
I bought this car brand new at the end of the year for best price. This is now 2018. This car was 2006 Consumer Reports Best Buy and they were right. Have only needed regular maintenance - oil changes, brakes, tires, etc. This car has been cross country several times. Trouble once in another State, stopped at a Hyundai dealer and they fixed it right up, no charge. Hyundai good service appears to be nationwide. Comfort and dependability is still on display for this car today. Good Investment.

Pros
Well built under the hood

Cons
The dvd player is not working so unable to play my books on tape while travelling. Radio is fine and cost prohibitive to fix.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Trefalya F.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/04/2018
Always Something
I purchased this car used, so you expect issues. The car fax report shows that all regular maintance was done. I have spent more money on repairs than I paid for the car. There is always a new issue. I would buy another Hyundai, but I am glad they discontinued this one.

Pros
Good on gas, looks good for the age of the car, interior has held up very well

Cons
Something is always in need of repair

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Elizabeth W.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/27/2018
so comfy!
Our Hyundai Azera is soooo comfortable and easy to love. Smooth and easy to drive, easy to set driver preference and recall. Our friends & family enjoy the comfort and roominess of the back seat. Lots of zip and go as needed. Spacious trunk with easy load. It's not brand new but, is well cared for.
Has a few kinks to work out. Our biggest issue are the headlight lenses which compromise the light needed for night driving. We have to use the bright lights to see and be comfortable driving after dark.
We just had it checked due to a noise in the front when we ride over a bumpy road. Found out the right front tire is bad (INSIDE) so we need to replace both front tires. Yikes!
Yes we still love our car and will take care of it as best we can.

Pros
almost everything!

Cons
The factory choice for headlight lenses is bad.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Shawna P.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2018
Very good vehicle
Real good automobile. Reliable. Very good power. Good comfort and ride. Gas mileage is okay, not great. Very good response when accelerating. Handling is good. Temperature control is very good inside vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Darryl L.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2018
Best car I ever had
My Azera is far an away the best car I've ever had...and I've had a bunch. Comfortable ride, comfortable seating, extremely roomy, decent gas milage, and it's been extremely reliable. In the 12 years I've owned it, the only major failure I've had was the air conditioning compressor...last year. Two issues were recall items: a faulty front passenger seatbelt sensor, and an antilock break circuitboard prone to moisture damage, and both were fixed free under the recall...and didn't affect my ability to use the car.

So why have I kept this car for so long? I love it so much I hate to part with it. Unfortunately, it's getting tired...so I'll eventually have to let it go and find a new one. But I plan to stick with Hyundai/Kia.

Pros
Comfortable, roomy interior.
Comfortable ride.
All the features I could ever want.
Extreme reliability.

Cons
Very minor...door handle fell off after years...but was still usable. A minor inconvenience that was fixable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jay R.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2018
Affordable, dependable
Have had this 2006 Azera for 9 years and have never had a problem with it. Replaced the alternator last summer, and after 8 years of dependable use, I decided to give it a "fresh-up". With 96K on it, it got new tires, brakes, tranny service, coolant flush, I now have a car that looks and runs like new. I would have no problem taking it cross country tommorrow. AC still cold, all the bells and whistles still work, rides and handles like it did when I got it!!!

Pros
Dependable good horsepower.

Cons
?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
Roberto J.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/02/2018
My experience with my vehicle in my dealer Huffines Hyundai McKinney
My dear 2006 Hyundai Azera is excellent.I recommend this vehicle extensively.I really enjoy driving it.Othrs vehicles of my property have caused back pain. In my Azera Hyundai I have a high comfort zone. Your mileage ratio versus fuel used is economical.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/30/2018
Azera great Hyundai product
I compared the Azera to Toyota Avalon and compared favorably and better in many instances. 2006 and still looks classy. Runs like a new car with no problems. Hyundai service over the years has been excellent. Had a minor problem with rear window screen and front power seat motor and both fixed under warranty quickly. I normally would be buying a new vehicle but have yet to find a suitable replacement especially for the price. Azera looks like they are phasing the model out for the Genesis. Genesis emblem looks like Chrysler’s and should be changed for this luxury model. See many Azera’s with over 100,000 miles and only being let go due to warranty expiration.

Pros
Performance, reliability, styling, pricing.

Cons
Model being phased out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Carol D.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/30/2018
Terrific if you can stand the cluncky suspension noise.
This has proven to be an inexpensive car to own. Keep it for backup vehicle during winter season absences. Great in snow. The clunky rear suspension when driving on rougher paved roads is down-right irritating. On smoother surfaces OK. Peppy car which if not careful when accelerating from stop, you''ll spin the wheels. Good material used for interior and truck spaces that resist hard use.

Pros
Inexpensive transportation with front-wheel drive for good winter traction. This is a backup vehicle with hitch for hauling a utility trailer for household tasks. Affectionately call the car/trailer combo our pick up truck. Have only 32k miles. Low service costs which except for battery replacement, have been performed by the selling dealer.

Cons
Hyundai's stubborn resistence to address the "Clunky suspension noise " when driving on rougher surfaces. If you load up the trunk with heavy-weighted cargo, the effect is dimminished but at the cost of compromised fuel economy. The effect is highly reported by other owners of similiar year/model Azeras. This experience will likely me from purchasing a newer model of the same class Hyundai. its a pity.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Richard H.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2018
a very nice car for the money
build quality is quite nice. The interior could use a little less hard plastic on the dash area. Mine is an 06, their first year, so my issues may have been corrected. I have had no issues with the car, which I purchased new, and cost of ownership for a 12 yr old car has been very reasonable.

Pros
Power. styling, handling, comfort

Cons
too much hard plastic on the interior. could use softer and better quality materials

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Linda P.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2018
Most reliable comfortable and safe car
I have owned this car for 10 years with 118,980 miles. It has a powerful engine yet the gas mileage is excellent. I feel very safe in this car and since I drive my granddaughter around a lot safety is of utmost importance. I love this Azera and will definitely buy another Hyundai. My son also bought a Hyundai and is very satisfied.

Pros
Beautiful car, excellent handling. Very safe and so reliable.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Ray H.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2018
my Azera
Bought my Azera new in 2007. It is a 2006 Limited. Have driven this car for 11+ years. It is my daily driver and has 225,000 miles on it. The only problems have been a few factory recalls that have been repaired easily. This car still rides and drives very nicely. Gas milage has never varied. 23mpg city and 25 or more hwy. Would buy this car again.

Pros
Comfort and more affordable than similar sedans.

Cons
Black exterior. Not a good choice for the south west.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Monique T.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/16/2018
Azera review
This car is amazing! Comfortable, drives well, rides well, sits great on trips, and the leather is a bonus!! We have had 9 Hyundai vehicles, my kids drive Hyundai vehicles. The only disaster one was Verecruz!!

Pros
Beautiful

Cons
Im short and its harder for me to drive so I drive Sante Fe

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Chris D.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2018
Still a very good car.
I am a Hyundai fan. There's something about the feel and substance of them that strikes me just right. When I have the chance to choose another brand when renting a car I'll choose a Hyundai. Started with a 2002 Sonata purchased from Avis, and sold that car to a friend who had the first non-maintenance repair the car has needed at 95m miles (alternator). And we just purchased a new hybrid Ioniq, replacing a Prius, took it on a 1500 mile round trip drive with the usual Hyundai competence and 57 mpg. average.The 2006 Azera was purchased used in 2011 with low miles and still is just at 73,000. Comfortable, competent, fun to drive (but no more than 20mpg overall). Just spent a few thousand bringing it up very good condition, and worth that. I can't exactly recommend purchase of a 13 year old car, because you never know. But I will always recommend that you consider Hyundai when buying a new or used car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Earl G.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/11/2018
smooth and comfortable
I have had my Azera for over 10 years with few if any problems. it runs smoothly and is very comfortable. it performs well on the highway and in the city as well. I love it. I love the color. It is reliable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Herbert M.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2018
Best car I have owned
My Azeri is the most comfortable vehicle I have ever owned. The ride is very smooth and there is adequate room for five adults to ride without being squashed in the back seat.
I am hopeful that Hyundai will decide to bring this car back to the USA. if so, I will be on line to purchase it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Joyce G.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/01/2018
Hyundai Azera review
I've had my Azera for 11 years now and love it! It's comfortable and has run very well. I really rely on a dependable car and the Azera has been that for me. Plus I love all the features that came with the car. I appreciate that the rear view mirror dims the headlights behind me at night. And that I can dim the dash lights as well to help with the glare. It's been a great help with driving at night and my eyes don't get so fatigued. The rear window retractable screen has been great. (unfortunately it's no longer working) I love my heated seats in the winter. They heat up faster than the car. Lovely on a cold day. Overall I really love the car and hope I have many more miles to go with it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VW
Valerie W.
2006 Hyundai Azera
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2018
Bring back the Azera
We just traded in the car this week, and would have bought another one if it was still made. Just the right balance of comfort, reliability and value. When we bought it, we also had a Lexus 400 series, and the Azera was just as roomy, and drove as well on the highway... at 40% less cost.

Pros
Value
Reliability
Road worthiness

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 115 in total