2002
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5rating 4.87
4.9
(61 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EC
Edward C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/20/2019
Excellent SUV
I have this SUV since 2002. Now it’s over 170,000. This vehicle is excellent and handle well. Just worked little bit on it and now run better like brand new. I like to keep it for long time and maintain it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CATHERINE M.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2019
My best car ever
My Santa He will be 17 years old on April 39th. This car has never disappointed. Repairs made to my car have been the usual wear and tear than anyone expects. My mechanic agrees that the car still drives and rides well. Couldn't be happier except the coating on the body has pretty much peeled off. My only negative.

Pros
Cimfortable, reluable, performance.

Cons
Paint coating has peeled. Looked like it had a bad sunburn.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Cindy R.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/11/2019
Love my 2002 Hyundai Sante Fe
My sante fe has over 194k. Can’t afford another vehicle. however I love it! My 2002 has done well! As a matter of fact I still see many on the road in my area. Would consider buying another if that becomes possible

Pros
Love the rack on roof

Cons
Pretty standard interior accessories. A/C Has rarely worked properly. Repaired three times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Janice H.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/31/2018
Fantastic
Our Santa Fe has served us well. Not only is it reliable, it is a pleasure to drive. We have driven it a lot and have taken it on many cross country trips. It still looks like new and continues to get compliments.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Steven B.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2018
very positive
My wife drives it to and from school. We live in a major snow belt area & area of major over population of deer. Being the car sits up higher she can see better in AM darkness for deer. Due to wider tires she feels safer tracking thru snow and for stopping safely with relative ease.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Stacye B.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2018
My Santa Fe is the best truck that I have ever purchased. I would like another new one same model.
I love my Santé Fe because it is 6 cylinder and I want another 6. I like the new 2019 but I am not so sold on the colors. I like choices and there are not enough for me right now. I will keep looking until I find the right one for me for the right price and options and note. But, I love my truck because it does not drive like a truck and I can park it with ease. I need a strong pick up for traffic here in the Metro DC area. That is why I bought a V6 in the first place and it is still good on gas. I might just keep it and have it painted, I love it so much!! Hard to give it up even for anew one!!

Pros
I have a V6

Cons
New ones aren't V6

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
David W.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2018
2002 SantaFe
A great solid vehicle . I can see why it had a 100,000 mile warrantee.
Very dependable, corners well, excellent acceleration, and roomy inside
Great styling and workmanship. The paint job is exceptional for a vehicle of this type
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dorothy B.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2018
i really like my Hyunai
I really do not know any more to say, other than i like my Sante Fe. This won't let me send until I hit 200. I may have paid too much for this SUV, but if I did, well it is too late to complain now. I almost did not send this, as i did not know what you wanted to know, so mabe next time just leave the review out

Pros
I like the fact that i set up high, can see out good, and it is so easy to put the groceries in the back. Plus I can haul just about anything I want to. Goes thru rain and light snow. Love the wind shield wiper on the back glass. This is the first SUV I have had, and altho the cars are really nice, i would not like to go back to driving a car. i am 84 years old and do feel safer in a SUV. I just like the feel of a SUV. If I could I would buy a new one, but that is completely out of the question. But i have about 80,000 miles and it is still going good. 3 of my daughters have had the Sante Fe. One daughters has heated seats, moon roof and is really nice. 2 bought silver,like mine and one bought black.

Cons
I do not very good gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Tajuana F.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2018
My type of car
I love the Hyundai Santa Fe I currently own a 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe and so badly want to upgrade to a 2017 or 18 they are very dependable nice Vehicles smooth riding with the room that I need. perfect

Pros
Perfect

Cons
I haven't seen any with a sunroof

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lillian B.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2018
Tee
Great customer service! I bought my car preowned. The only problem that I had was the alternator being replaced twice, along with the window motor regulator seems to have problems. Other than those no problems.

Pros
Good automobile!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kelly R.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/10/2018
DIE HARD HONDA FAN BUT SATISFIED WITH THIS HYUNDAI
This car was a gift from my mom which was purchased brand new 16 years ago. It's had a pretty good history. I've sold Honda and owned MANY Hondas. This car has helped me stop looking down on the other 'H'.

Pros
Reliable
Cost to maintain is decent
Nimble

Cons
Lesser attractive Santa Fe out of all (but it was the first one out)
Gas mileage is mediocre.
Sometimes seems to have too much torque (I own 2WD) especially while accelerating while turning a corner. Can feel car trying to grip to maintain traction.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RODELLO S.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2018
Goldielocks - My First Car!
I love my 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe! Very dependable and it gave me wider options for my job hunting than I was with my bicycle. Goldie as I named her coz she's gold in color helped me in driving my father to his check ups and my other errands. Very reliable car! My first car and I got my driver's license with her as my behind the wheel test vehicle!

Pros
Driver friendly!

Cons
Consumes more gasoline coz it's V6.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Debbie P.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/31/2018
Very dependable
Have 128000 on the vehicle, and has turn out to be a very trouble free vehicle, only major work is timing belt which is to be expected, change oil every 3000 miles keep the regular maintenance up on it, as you should on any vehicle, has been a very good vehicle.

Pros
The Santa Fe has been an exceptional vehicle and very dependable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
Nikky M.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2018
Like wine she’s only gotten better with age
I’ve heard so many horrible stories from my friends and family about their vehicles throughout the years and I’m pleased to say that I just paid $1157 for some repairs for the 1st time in 15yrs. Before that I paid $500 for new shoes about 3 yrs ago. I wouldn’t trade that kind of odds for any other vehicle in the world. Here’s to as many more years my baby girl has left in her.

Pros
Warranty
Safety
Comfort
Style

Cons
Material not leather
2002 not as high tech

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jacqueline C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/19/2017
A hard working old horse
The most reliable car I have owned. Demonstrated versatility whether taking coonhounds into the timber or the family to the movies. Smart design and efficient operation have made this car the proven smart choice when it was purchased so many years ago.

Pros
Deceptively large storage capacity, surprising how much will fit in the back. Excellent handling and traction in sour weather. This car handles blizzards when everyone else was sitting at home. Comfortable interior features and practical design, very roomy. This car is about to break a quarter of a million miles of operation and is handling its age well.

Cons
There are times when I wish I had spent the extra money for the 6 cylinder engine but the efficient 4 cylinder has met all needs also.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Edward C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2017
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Not big or small just the right size vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Juliette D.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2017
My Santa Fe is a 2002. I bought it brand new. It is the best car that I have ever owned and kept this long or had this many miles. By the way, I have owned a Volvo, Toyota Camery, Honda Accord, Dodge, Ford, And a Chevrolet. I'm in my late 60's. Without a doubt, this is by far my best car ever. My next new car will be a Santa Fe!!
Best Car Ever! (ABOVE)

Pros
The longevity, and the reliability

Cons
The braking TBS SYSTEM

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Ronald F.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2017
Best in the long run.
My 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe is still in great shape and runs like a new car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Carol D.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2017
Fab Fit Fun!
Fabulous ride. Fit to look at . Fun to drive.!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Cindy R.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/17/2017
Hyundai Sante FE 2002
Love my 2002 Sante Fe. It has been good to me. It is getting older as any vehicle with keeping up the maintenance it is going run as long as you take care of it. Aside from a few recent major repairs due to its age, I LOVE IT! Would I buy another one? Yes, I would.

Pros
4wd!

Cons
Until gets older - NONE!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 61 in total