2002
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5rating 4.87
4.9
(62 Reviews)
Latest review almost 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DD
David D.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/17/2016
187,000 miles and still going strong
Our 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe, just past 187,000 mile and has never fail us. We bought it new in 2002 and have been its only owner. Early in its life it was rear-ended and repaired but you could never tell.. It performs well. We now own two Hyundais!

Pros
It has a 6 cylinder engine. It picks up and goes! After all these years, there is minimal rust damage.

Cons
The car seems to have a mind of its own. It locks the doors on its own. Its more of a joke now, since by not using the remote key for locking the vehicle, the situation is avoidable. It really is more effort to try to find the real cause so I stick with the work aroumd.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
Elizabeth F.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2016
Solid. Very Reliable!
At times I feel as if I want to complain about this suv because it's a little on the plain side (2002 was the year before they started putting all cool toys on them, no Nav Sys, Backup camera & the radio came w/only a cd & cassette player!) but then I remember how little money I've actually spent repairing it and I realize I can't complain. :)
The "Slap Shift" feature plus the 10y/100k mile warranty was the selling point for me on this as my very first new vehicle. I use the slap shift all the time to power into and across heavy traffic. Instantaneous response and it has never let me down!
Tough little midsize suv. Sturdy. Stable. Comfortable. Enough room with the back seat down to haul almost anything you would want or for a person plus 2 lg dogs to sleep comfortably on long road trips. It powers around corners with no fear of tip overs. I have the more powerful V6 4WD (all-time all wheel drive) version. Have never had any engine, transmission or rear differential problems with it. (2002 Santa Fe with 120k. I have always set the parking brake when parking before releasing the brake pedal. A habit leftover from my standard shift car days which I'm told is an excellent habit.) It's also awesome in snow! Runs like an energizer bunny! I have powered over packed snow piles and through massive snow drifts (massive for Ohio). During one blizzard this was only one of a handful of vehicles in the neighborhood that could navigate the over 2' of unplowed snow.
My only complaints would be about what I consider slightly poor gas mileage. It averages about 20/22mpg highway within legal limits. It's sweet spot seems to be around 85/90mph where it will do 25/26mpg Hwy. Also, the Santa Fe's all seem to have the same body rust spot over the rear wheel well.
Over all an excellent vehicle! Every mechanic I have ever spoken to says they very rarely see the '02 era Santa Fe's in for repair. Would always recommend this vehicle to someone looking for a reliable used suv!! :)

Pros
Overall Reliability is excellent.
Slap Shift has Instantaneous response, has never let me down.
Tough little midsize suv.
Sturdy. Stable. Comfortable.
No fear of a tip overs.
Have never had any engine, transmission or rear differential problems.
Awesome in snow!

Cons
Wish it had better gas mileage!
They all seem to have the same body rust spot over the rear wheel well.
No Nav Sys, Backup camera or cool toys on the 2002 mid-range models.
Shocks & Struts became a little creaky around year 5.
Window design allows rain to drip directly onto the electronic controls in the door while stopped.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NL
Nancy L.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2016
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
I bought it used, and it has been a great car.

Pros
I like the height for getting in and out.

Cons
I hate seat belts, and I hate the seat belts in this car, too.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Juliette D.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2016
The best car ever
I've owned a Toyota Camery, Honda Accord. Volvo240 Station Wagon, Ford Granada, Chevrolet,Nova, and a Dodge Volt. Each car was purchased brand new.Not one of the cars named lasted more than four years with scheduled maintenances. Some only three years. My Hyundai Santa Fe Is the best car that I have owned. I brought this car brand new in 2002, it is 2016 and my car is still running g beautifully and very comfortably. My next car will be a Hyundai!!!

Pros
Reliability, longevity,minimum maintenence and comfortable ride.

Cons
Tracking system on occassion.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GAIL H.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/30/2016
Best car I've ever had! 15 yr old car.
Never had any major problems (mechanical or otherwise) until now, so I cannot complain. Repairs I am doing now is from normal wear & tear of this super auto.great mileage even after 14 yrs.

Pros
Great mileage even after 14 yrs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joan P.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/23/2016
Santa Fe Lover
I love my vehicle.but wish my rear seats would fold onto themselves. Also would be better if front seat would fold down also, as I am a hauler. Surprising how much I can actually haul in my SUV.

Cons
Folding seats could be better designed for hauling stuff.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Gloria B.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/23/2016
My Hyundai Santa Fe
Best vehicle that I have owned!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Donna M.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/21/2016
outsanding performance and durability
My 2002 Santa Fe is still going strong!! Regular maintenance is the key.

Pros
rides terrific
comfortable inside
easy visibility

Cons
I notice many of them to tend to rust by back tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
FRANK S.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2016
Fanta Fe
I purchased my Hyundai Santa Fe new in 2001. I have worked for GM for over 12 years and bought several GM vehicles during that period. However, Hyundai is the ONLY vehicle I would buy again. Could use a new paint job but other than that, I will keep u the repairs and drive it for another 15 years!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Laurel R.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/04/2016
2002 Santa Fe
I loved this car when I bought it and I still love it. It still runs & looks great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charles G.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/28/2016
How has it been for "14" years?!
It is amazing how well "MY" 2QQ2 has held up for 245K miles and is still going strong!!

Pros
What can I say "this vehicles is great & I expect many years and miles to come.

Cons
NO cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
Nina C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/25/2016
2002
Dennis Hyundai

Pros
heated leather seats

Cons
small, 2 wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Dale J.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2016
The best vehicle I have ever owned. I have never kept a vehicle this long (2002 - 2016). I have had no significant problem.
Same as above
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Renee H.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2016
My Santa Fe
I love my 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe. It has been a good car through the years and never has given me any problems. The style has held its own. Besides driving to work it hauls my kayaks and bikes. Roomy inside, comfortable to drive and powerful enough engine.

Pros
Runs great, no major problems. Handles well. Lots of room, fun to drive.

Cons
Silver paint faded after 7 years and had to get it repainted. Acceleration is alittle slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Beverly B.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2016
2002 Hyundai
I purchased my vehicle new in 2002. I have kept up with the general items that need to be done, such as changing oil, etc. The only major repair has been the air conditioning in 2014. My next purchase will be a Hyundai Santa Fe.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dennis W.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/23/2016
Santa Fe
Seals apparently dry out causiing oil leaks. Appears to be a design flaw. Perhaps different material in the manufacture of the seals might correct the problem.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2016
Hyundai Santa Fe
My 2002 Hyundia Santa Fe continues to run great with proper maintence. I would buy another. It has been a reliable auto to own.

Pros
Very reliable.

Cons
Could use more leg room. Great car if you are not over 6.2 feet tall.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Lorena A.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2016
Hyundai Santa Fe
Own it for 14 years and it still rides smoothly! Love it!

Pros
I love my Hyundai!!! After owning it for 14 years the only recent repair ever needed has been the starter.

Cons
Glad the shape of the front of the car changed. Love the newer models!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CATHERINE M.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2016
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe.
I love my car. Even though it's now 14 years old, it's runs beautifully. Interior leather seats still in perfect condition as well as other interior fixings. I would recommend this car and have many times. I know at least 4 people who bought Hyundais on my word. They love their cars too.

Pros
Minimal repairs in 14 years.

Cons
Coating covering paint I'd peeling and looks terrible. Can't afford to repainted, but I love this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Don Kent L.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/22/2016
HYUNDAI RUN FOR EVER
iF YOU MAINTAIN THE CAR IT WILL RUN AND RUN TRYING FOR 300,000 MILES
ONLY NEED ANOTHER 82 000 A FEW MORE YEARS
THEY ARE A GOOD FAMILY CAR.

Pros
OTHER THAN THE PLASTIC ON THE DOOR HANDLES EVERY THING IS GREAT

Cons
UP GRADE THE RADIO

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 62 in total