2004
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5rating 4.81
4.8
(125 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MC
Mark C.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Great Car
We are original owners of a 2004 Santa fe. This car has been virtually maintenance free other than basic oil changes, etc. Has 150k miles an is extremely reliable and has taken us in travels to many western states and east of the Rockies. Been a great family car.

Pros
Leather seats, heated front seats, great sound system and very good air conditioning

Cons
The center seatbelts in the back is very difficult to adjust and uncomfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Bob W.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Reliability.
Best vehicle I have ever owned and I’m 77 years old. Would like a new Sante Fe but they are too expensive for me. The vehicle is very comfortable and handles nicely. Highway driving is a pleasure in the Sante Fe.

Pros
Comfortable, easy to drive, look great, very good mpg.

Cons
Bark seat doesn’t lay flat when down. Drivers’ seat doesn’t go back quite far enough.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WE
WILLIAM E.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe V-6 AWD
Bought it 2nd hand with 24,000 miles, now has 81,000. Brakes were replaced once, exhaust system piping repaired once. Other than that it has been amazing in it's dependability, gas mileage, road handling, steering, comfort, load capacity, visibility...all excellent. The most important feature to me is the intuitive design of the no-nonsense dashboard. Many people want a lot of "junk" on the steering wheel and dash board which, to me, is a distraction and unnecessary for safe driving and transportation. The controls makes it easy to operate them without taking your eyes off the road.

Pros
See the review above.

Cons
Perhaps an all stainless exhaust system would overcome the need for repairs to this system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Sharon J.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2019
Love my Santa Fe
I bought this new in 2004. I always took care of the oil changes and maintainence and guidelines. I have never had a problem. There was a recall on the gas tank , that Betten notified me about and they took care of very quickly. I would buy another Santa Fe

Pros
very dependable. I would buy another Santa Fe

Cons
rust around back wheel well

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Patrick W.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2019
2004 Santa Fe
What a great little SUV!.............................................................................................................................................................................200

Pros
Versatile, fun and a work horse

Cons
A little noisy on the highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Derek G.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2019
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Almost 200,000 miles and still goes like hell. Outside of normal wear out parts, this has been a very reliable vehicle and per the ads back when, handles the lousy after winter pot hole filled roads around here very well.

Pros
Still rides like brand new

Cons
No complaints

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ID
Indra D.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/25/2019
'TOUGH' little SUV
These earlier models run steady if taken care of. Plenty of room for people.Trunk space is huge for an SUV, but with the row seat down, you are ready do some moving. Despite it's age, there's plenty of features to make life easier.

Pros
Well-packaged with loads of features for an older SUV. Lots of these are still on the road driving around like (VW) bugs.

Cons
[1] Wish the parts were less expensive.
[2] Labor cost are very high.
[3] Could use more lights, front & back, but this is an older model, so add-ons are an must.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Randy S.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/02/2019
Pretty good car
Not many problems but I have had 2 Santa Fe's and both of the stereos have lots of problems. Not many problems but I have had 2 Santa Fe's and both of the stereos have lots of problems Not many problems but I have had 2 Santa Fe's and both of the stereos have lots of problems
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Ruth H.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/26/2019
15 years old and still runs like a Swiss watch
This car has over 125,000 miles on it and it is still going strong. In the second half of the ninth year of the warranty the power steering went out and Hyundai honored the ten year warranty. The car is as peppy as ever and a pleasure to drive. Whoever gets this car as a used car when and if we decide to trade will be getting a real gem.

Pros
Comfort. Easy to drive. With regular maintenance will continue to deliver.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Albert M.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/14/2019
Love my santa fe
I've had my Santa Fe since 2013 and I have to tell you I had really no major problems outside of the defect with the airbag on the driver's side seat other that other than that I have no complaints .1
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Lynda A.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/28/2018
2004 Santa Fe
Love my 2004 Santa fe, wish they still made the cars that way. I have passed the 2004 down to my son and now drive a 2015 Tucson, but my heart is still with the Santa Fe, wish you still made them that way. Just the right size and built to last, never had any trouble with it and its over 100,000 miles and still going strong.. I might add that my son is a rough driver and has had the car for 3 1/2 years and it still runs great!! Thanks Hyundai for making a car that lasts.. If you would bring this body style back with some updates I would trade the Tucson and go back to a Santa Fe again.

Pros
Love the 4 wheel drive and the comfortable seats, without feeling like I'm sitting on the ground. All the new cars are difficult for the elderly (my parents) to get in and out of. The Santa Fe was easy for them to get comfortable. The size of the car was perfect to park and easy to maneuver, comfortable ride!

Cons
Could use a back up camera and hands free would make it complete.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Linda P.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2018
Loving my Santa Fe
It might be 14 years old but it has lived in 6 states has driven me all over the place and has caused me absolutely not one problem. I had an a/c problem in the beginning but it was addressed and fixed. I love my Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
PATTY D.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2018
It's been a great car
I have had my Hyundai for 14 yrs. Have not had any major trouble with it. I just got back from taking it to Iowa, Illinois, and Michigan. It's been a very trustworthy car. Love my Hyundai. I will buy another one when I'm ready for a new one.

Pros
Good gas mileage, easy to drive, very inexpensive when I bought. Looked at new ones and way more expensive and seem smaller in side.

Cons
Hard to fit more then two car seats for grandchildren. I have three under 5 so it's hard to take them anywhere.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SO
Stephen O.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2018
My santa fe
I love my santa fe. Hyunda makes the most reliable car on the road. I bought my first santa fe in 2005. Never been in the shop for a major repair I also own a 2016 Santa fe same thing. I love both cars and both are still on the road and doing fine my 2004 now has 103,000 miles and never has had a problem. They really are great cars.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Joseph L.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2018
2004 hyundai sata fe
good car even with all the miles few repairs I keep up with the car get oil changes every thee months take the car back to pacifico for repairs and anything wrong with the car because of the great service and repairs.

Pros
good suv.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Susan M.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2018
Such a durable vehicle
I have taken my Santa Fe everywhere, even to places I shouldn't. Out in the wilderness, the vehicle is so reliable. I know I will get out of rough spots. Lots of room for my camping gear. I maintain the vehicle well and it shows by being very dependable. I plan to keep this car a long time to come. Too bad other vehicles aren't made this well.

Pros
I can rely upon this vehicle. It never breaks down.

Cons
If the gas mileage was better, but for its size you can't complain too much.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Steven K.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2018
Great, Trustworthy Vehicle
I've been very happy with my 2004 Santa Fe. I bought it back when it was less than 49,000 miles. It was a one owner, well maintained vehicle. It rides very comfortable. Great for road trips with the sunroof open on a blue sky day. The vehicle has been dependable. I have not been as religious with the maintenance schedule as the 1st owner. It's my fault that now it needs some understandable repairs. The vehicles with go over 200000 or more if you keep up with regular maintenance. I have the 2.7 liter v6 GLS/LX model. I love the gas mileage I get. It now has the prevalent valve cover leak that these vehicles get over 90,000 miles. Currently has 120,000 and is running fine. I love the vehicle so much, that I was very upset when given an expensive list a mile long to fix my car. However, this is a good testament to the dependability of the Santa Fe. I recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Pros
Very dependable and comfortable riding vehicle. It has great cargo space when you need to haul something. It also drives like a car, with smooth ride and comfort. Unlike other similar vehicles I've driven by other manufacturers, which tend to feel like you're in a pickup truck.

Cons
I don't have blu tooth with a 2004 and the body style is much less sleek, stylish and smart looking than the newer models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2018
Great and dependable!
We bought our 04 Santa Fe used with under 60k miles. Didn't know the history of this mean machine, so we did exactly what Hyundai recommends at 60k. This is where the journey begins... Our Santa Fe has been our primary vehicle, driving city and highway miles. Gas mileage is pretty decent for this caliber of vehicle, roomy enough for the family and groceries, and the power...we have the 3.5L front wheel drive model...this thing scoots! I'm a die hard Chevy V8 man, but this thing has far exceeded my expectations. We strategically planned to replace this beast after a few years of owning it, but no matter what nature, aggressive driving, and my wife put this thing through, it still has life in it like when we bought it. It's comfortable. I've taken it on a few road trips crossing state lines, and it has never failed. I've watched 4x4's get stuck in the snow, but this little bean of wizardry has had no problems. This is even after I had stopped to help a handful of folks while the Santa Fe sunk into the quick-like-sand of snow and ice. Maintenance...this is fairly easy if you're mechanically inclined. Changing the spark plugs require you to pull the surge tank (upper intake) off. Changing the alternator requires the radiator be removed for easy access. You definitely want to be sure when you're replacing one component, you might as well replace whatever is nearby just so you won't have to dig in that spot multiple times. We still have this vehicle. It survives the technological attacks from the new generation of Hyundai's and other manufacturers as the technology in this old 04 is plain as can be. However, this IS the first generation Santa Fe that paved the road of Hyundai's current success. But, in the grand scheme of things, this vehicle doesn't have the looks of the very attractive 2018 Santa Fe, but rest assured, if you take care of your first generation Santy, it will pay back in kind. Love them, and they will love you back.

Pros
Roomy, powerful (3.5L), reliable, comfortable, easy maintenance, inexpensive.

Cons
Looks, technology not up to par with other vehicle manufacturers of the year model.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mary H.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/17/2018
Love my Santa Fe
I bought my car by myself and did not know what kind to get but once I got in it and drove it got it and my Santa Fe has been very dependable and service has helped me stay safe so I enjoy it now 14 yrs later as much as the first time I drove it

Pros
Comfortably reliable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Darlene D.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/15/2018
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
This is the first car I bought that was new. I enjoy the space as I camp and it gives me the room I need for packing things, I also like having the room for items that would not fit into a trunk. I have maintained the vehicle well and it has served my purpose. I have no regrets with my purchase

Pros
Fits my needs, longevity with proper maintenance

Cons
Spare tire storage, spare tire is difficult to access, recall on gas tank, it seems I have had to maintain brakes more then I remember with other vehicles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 125 in total