2004
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5rating 4.81
4.8
(124 Reviews)
Latest review almost 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TJ
Timothy J.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/03/2016
Durable and comfortable vehicle!
We really love our Santa Fe. It's spacious, especially when seats are folded down. It's powerful! We used it to tow two different boats on their trailers from Ohio to North Carolina.
It's nearing 200,000 miles and we haven't had any engine issues at all.
The engine is accessible, so maintenance is convenient, unlike out other import car.
We ARE having a chronic alignment issue, the root cause of which, neither the dealership nor other garages are able to determine.
And, the big 3.5L engine uses a lot of gas.
All in all, it's a great vehicle and we're glad we bought it!

Pros
Reliability, power, comfort

Cons
Fuel efficiency, alignment issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dale G.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/28/2016
Strong car with some flaws
We have owned an 04 2.7L for 13 years and 120k miles. This vehicle has been very reliable. With just regular maintenance the motor and transmission have had very few issues.
The only complaints fall into the quality of the parts used on this vehicle. Every door handle on the car has broke and needed replacing. The paint has oxidized and is ruined all over the car. The interior door handle on the drivers side needed replacing. The dash is also lifting at the vents.

Pros
Reliable motor and transmission

Cons
Poor quality matireal used to build the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
Nickolas S.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2016
Hyundai Santa Fe
Original owner, has been a great all-around vehicle with only minor problems

Pros
All wheel drive excellent, solid body,

Cons
Driver door lock works only with the key inserted, actuator failure.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Neil B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2016
Great Car
My 2004 Santa Fe has been cross country twice. Just did 100,000 overhaul. If I didn't like my car I wouldn't have done it. My next car will probably be a Santa Fe too. We have 3 Hyundai cars in our family.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WE
William E.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/19/2016
2004 Santa Fe
This is a very serviceable and dependable vehicle with reasonable economy considering it is a spirited V-6. Nice size for people and their paraphernalia. Tried is better than expected. All wheel drive is useful in the winter particularly, but is nice to have anytime.. Having bought it used, I cannot comment on relative value.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sandi M.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/14/2016
Love my car
I love my Santa Fe. I've had it since it was new and I haven't had any major issues with it. The only "issue" over the years is that on occasion, the transmission slips, especially while I am stopped. I've had it in several times, even to different dealerships, and no one had been able to determine why it would do this. I've lived with it all these years, and it's never really bothered me.

Pros
3.5L v6 engine with 4-wheel drive
ABS brakes
airbags
roomy
I feel safe driving it

Cons
it doesn't have all the bells and whistles that the newer cars have
never have been able to figure out why the transmission slips

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Josephine D.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/20/2016
Everyone in the Service dept is so helpful.I been coming to island Hyundai for 10 yrs never had a problem,
I did recommend Island Hyundai to my friends and relatives

Pros
HEATER IS GREAT LOTS OF TRUNK SPACE RECLINING FRONT SEATS.

Cons
RADIO RECEPTION STATIC REAR VIEW MIRROR NOT A GREAT VIEW DISTANCE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Diane J.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/11/2016
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Great reliable ride

Pros
Tons of room. Love that the back window opens separate from the back door.

Cons
Would like larger A/C vents

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jennifer P.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2016
2004 Santa Fe
Excellent vehicle. Have been very satisfied for the past 13 years and would purchase another Santa Fe again. A very HAPPY customer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Janet M.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/08/2016
My Santa Fe story
My 2004 santa fe is the BEST car i have ever owned.....bought it brand new and i have never regretted that decision since..I do take care of the car , the oil changed the tires rotated and all that but i have to say i replaced 1 battery, and i just did $1000.00 work on it but the SUV is gonna be 13 years old in April 2017......I LOVE my SUV!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Cynthia G.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/04/2016
12 years of reliable and enjoyable driving!!
Love the Santa Fe!! Comfort and Reliability are wonderful!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bruce P.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/01/2016
Dependable...
...unlike the 4 VWs I owned before that were always in the dealers garage.

Pros
Makes driving in snow easy. Definitely would buy another one.

Cons
Eats more gas than I'd like. Turning radius is larger than desired.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Tiffany M.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/23/2016
Santa Fe
Love this car had it for about 8years. One owner. Minor issues with it. Very reliable. Highly recommended. SUV...

Pros
Great for traveling and Moving things. Reliable vehicle.

Cons
It's 12 yr old car. Getting old.☹️ Will soon need a new one😉

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Richard S.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2016
My Duracel bunny
I have an old one, 2004 Sta Fe 3.5 liter. I got it used and it has proven to be quite a dependable car!!!! I love its handling and its comfort. I wish they'd bring back an updated 3.5 Liter Santa Fe model!!!

Pros
nothing cons about this car!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Theodore B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/15/2016
Ted
Runs OK pleased so far
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Kelly H.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/14/2016
love my Sante Fe
With the exceptions of some sensor issues I. Hadwhen i first got my usedSUV, once they were corrected, the car has given me lots of driving pleasure.

Down side, clear coat wote off several yrs after buying it.

Pros
Control, style

Cons
Paint wore off too soon after purchase. Runs a little loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FT
Frank T.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2016
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Car gave twelve years of good service. Time to retire the old girl.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Fairly versatile. Just what was needed at the time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Carol B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2016
I love my santa fe
I doubt I will ever trade it in
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sims R.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2016
Great value in a certified pre-owned Santa Fe
For the second time this year Jeanine guided me to a great value in a certified pre-owned vehicle. I bought my daughter a Tuscon a few months ago and she absolutely loves it. Last week I went back to find me a Santa Fe and again Jeanine was spot on in finding the right one for me. This dealership just seems to find the best in pre-owned vehicles and the certification process makes me very comfortable about purchasing from their inventory. There is no pressure selling at Fort Mill Hyundai and the whole buying process is easy and fast. I highly recommend Fort Mill Hyundai and Jeanine for your next new or certified pre-owned vehicle.

Pros
The "premium package on this vehicle is awsome. Hyundai has thought of everything for comfort, convenience and style! I especially like the keyless entry,start, and lock that the key fob delivers. I'm getting 28 MPG on average of all driving with this peppy 4 cylinder engine. When gas prices go back up (and they will) this will be very important.

Cons
None that I have found. Just a great value!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Darnell L.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2016
2004-A year to remember
Good vehicle, does the job required

Pros
Gas efficiency, good power, durability

Cons
No speed, no 7 passenger version, no standard features,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 124 in total