2008
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(444 Reviews)
Latest review 9 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CS
Constance S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2020
Hyundai SantaFe
Purchased this vehicle two years ago, it has been a great car, not a problem...being an older model, this is an example if how excellent the Hyundai vehicles perform. Had expected to drive it about a year, but I really enjoy driving it and will continue long as possible!

Pros
Handles and looks good for its age!

Cons
Plan to have a few imperfections fixed when possible....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Kyle W.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/27/2020
Eh
so this car has issues. Reoccurring issues. I have 3 other people I know with the same year, make and model and all of us have the same issues. The gas sensor doesn't work and for an 08 to dump 1k worth to fix it is not really good. My model is a limited edition. I have dual a.c, only one side works and that is pathetic! And no, no Bluetooth. Seems super strange to not have Bluetooth in an 08 but I seen cars newer thag don't have it so, oh well. The things I do love is the size I find to be perfect. Trunk is great size back seat leg room is great and you dont feel cramped. I do love it being all wheel drive so I feel super safer now in the winter time.

Pros
Roomy and comfortable

Cons
mostly everything in the engine compartment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Laurie H.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/25/2020
I'd buy again
I purchased the Santa Fe after exhaustive research. The vehicle has suited me well for 12 years. My main concerns were a quiet and comfortable interior, a tonnage that would survive an accident with trucks, farm equipment, etc., and overall reliability that would not burden me with many costly repairs. I have maintained the vehicle well and have had very few problems over the years. I will consider Hyundai again when the time comes to shop for a new car.

Pros
Few repairs if maintained
Comfortable ride
Roomy interior
Well laid out design for driver

Cons
Dark interior can get hot.
Electrical system minor annoyances that affect the radio

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Kevin W.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/06/2020
Love my car!
I love my 2008 Santa Fe! It’s just the right size, extremely comfortable, quiet ride, and very dependable. I haven’t had any major issues with it since I purchased it in 2008! In fact my battery lasted 10 years & factory tires about 70,000 miles!🤗

Pros
Love the dual air & heat! Heated seats in front! V6 engine which is hard to find now!

Cons
No GPS system built in but I use my phone for that anyway. No cameras in my 2008 on front or back - need to watch better myself when driving!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Patricia S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2020
Best car EVER!
I have never kept a vehicle for more than 2-3 years until buying my Santa Fe. I will never consider any other brand when the time comes to finally replace this one. I have actually never loved a car before my Santa Fe. They were always just a necessary tool in life. I am extremely attached to what we lovingly call "The silver bullet" !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Amy H.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2020
Love Our Hyundai Santa Fe!
This 2008 is our second Hyundai Santa Fe and we have started looking for a third. It is a wonderful vehicle. Beautiful styling and long lasting quality make this Hyundai Santa Fe a great value. We also love the tight turning radius.

Pros
Reliable
Comfortable
Tight turning radius

Cons
Older now

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
MICHELE D.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/16/2020
Love it.
Absolutely love my Santa Fe very dependable sturdy safe vehicle . I highly recommend the Santa Fe for a safe dependable family car I would not hesitate to purchase another one in the future.Although I really like the new palisade

Pros
Very safe dependable suv

Cons
No complaints

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lynn R.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/16/2020
Love my Santa Fe
I have an older model Santa Fe (2008) and I just love my car. I love the blue interior dash and lighting, one of the reasons I bought the car in the first place. It has held up very well and other than normal wear and tear, it's been a gem of a car.

Pros
Well built, nice styling, and the interior lighting (blue) is so pretty. I've not found that with any other car make or model since. No issues or complaints.

Cons
The only con I ever found with the car was the driver's leg room. I'm not tall, 5'4 and I have always had the seat moved back as far as it would go and I'm still pretty close to the steering wheel should the air bag ever go off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NR
Nancy R.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/17/2020
2008 and running strong!
Our SUV is running good sure we have a few minor issues that were easily(or should of been) solved. We don't put a lot of miles on our cars so Im sure that's helpful. It has been a comfortable ride for many of our road trips! and plenty of storage space for these trips for the 2 of us. The backseat is big enough to haul the grandkids around

Cons
none that I can think of I gave lower scores on a few things but these were the features we bought and as for the value of the money well that's because we all want more for less!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Rome C.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/12/2020
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe - my favorite car ever!
I have never had a vehicle this long. This vehicle is functional, affordable to maintain, classic styling, multiple configurations and responsive! I have no desire to trade it or replace it! I always recommend a Hyundai and especially the Santa Fe!

Pros
Very affordable to own and maintain!
Reliable!
Classic design!
Functional, lots of interior configuration options!

Cons
Mine eats batteries every 2-3 years!
Could stand to have a more smoother ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dale C.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/02/2020
12 years old and still running strong.
Thank you Hyundai for a great SUV. The Sante fe has been serviced by Meriden Hyundai for the past 12 Years with little or small problems. The quality of the Sante Fe is wonderful. Thank you Todd and Bob the owners and Bud and Kathy in Service..

Pros
After 12 years still looks great.

Cons
no Cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Tabitha W.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2020
Green Santa Fe
I Love my car it is great on gas and Love my color.. I would tell anyone to buy a car like this one .. I imagine the new ones are awesome.. A very comfortable car and smooth driving car.. Maybe one year I will get a newer model

Pros
For any one this is a great car .. If you were rich or just average

Cons
Maybe not enough room for the later models

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sabine S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2020
Best car I ever had
Very dependable car and efficient car , since you can lay down the back seat , I moved quite some things in her ! I love the blue lights on my dashboard the seats are very comfortable! I will definitely get another one ! One day !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Carol K.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2020
2008 Hyundai Santa fe
I love my 2008 Santa Fe. I love how structurally supportive it's built. Makes me feel safe in all freeway traffic.
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxzzzzzzzzz,zzzzzzzzzxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxzzzzzzzzzzz-zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz-zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz-zzzz-zzz-xxxxxxxx'xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××

Cons
It's an older model, so it doesn't have as many features as the newer models. It's still a nice vehicle even without the newer features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Christine D.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/01/2020
Really not worth the purchase
This was great protection in a small accident but from the moment I drove it off the lot, things started breaking. I only now, after the 10 year warranty, realized I could have used the lemon law but the dealer never made me aware. 11 years later it is constant repairs on things way beyond maintenance. It has 75K miles and I am looking to sell it just to not have to deal with it anymore.

Pros
Keeps you safe in an accident and is a comfortable ride.

Cons
Constant repair - and parts are expensive. Gas tank problems, engine problems. Made very cheaply.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WV
Wayne V.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/24/2020
Very dependable performance.
Over 240,000 miles on the 3.3L V6 engine, which keeps running like the Energizer Bunny! The result of timely and proper maintenance. This vehicle is still fun to drive, performance and acceleration is amazing.

Pros
Very Dependable vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KATHY B.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/19/2020
Santa Fe Hyundai
I just got it today. It’s an amazing clean car. Really comfortable.

Pros
Great car for the miles and year. One owner is impressive.

Cons
It has some miles on it. Older car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Carlos R.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/31/2019
Spacious and comfortable
This vehicle is pretty comfortable during driving. The only problem is this vehicle is V6 and it needs a lot of gas plus the spending is too high. By the way for the price of this car is a good fit for people who loves driving with comfort.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
LISA C.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2019
Great SUV for the money
Very pleased with my purchase, she's been a very reliable vehicle with normal maintenance issues. Mine has the larger v6 on the 4, so I would be only recommending on that one. Handles great in the snow, only complaint on 2009 is the wiper spray freezes up sometimes due to poor design. Small complaint for an overall great vehicle 10 yr/100,000 mile warranty can't be beat! Ty Anchor Subaru for finding me my gem!!

Pros
Great warranty and reliability. Good space more than crossovers by Honda and Toyota. Mine is a a v6, not the 4L. We carry 2 kayaks in summer on rack with no problem.

Cons
In 2009 they had poor design for windshield water, it freezes at really cold temp which is a problem in the North East, but other than that not much to complain about.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
John S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/05/2019
2008 Santa Fe
Car has withstood the many I95 travels North (Lansdale PA) without any problems on the road. The one point I'll make about the 2008 and model years going forward is that the instrument panel/warning should alert to pending problems with the alternator. With today's usage of IC and/or electronics, the weak link is a failing alternator. Once the battery is without charge the car seizes up, making for a dangerous driving situation! I have first hand experience which I wouldn't wish on any driver.

Pros
Very road worthy, comfortable seating, seats with high elevation, and interior size is great for mid size suv.

Cons
Instrument panel was no real time alert for a failing alternator!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 444 in total