2008
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(426 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NB
Nidza B.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/25/2018
Great SUV
I'm the original owner of my 2008 Santa Fe for more then 10 years. I love
that it has air conditioner vents for the back passengers. Also it has a lot
of room for storage. Engine and transmission are great.

Pros
Has a lot of room and I love that it has air conditioner vents for the back passengers.
Overall great.

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Tim G.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/19/2018
Trouble free motoring
Have had very few problems with my 2008 Santa Fe. For an 11-year-old vehicle it continues to be mostly trouble free. Next vehicle will be partially electric as I want to minimize my carbon footprint and enjoy better gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marian S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/18/2018
Good vehicle
Our 2008 Sante Fe has been apart of our family the past 10 years. With our regular maintenance it provided us with many miles for work, college (2 sons used this), moving, and pleasure. Good choice.

Pros
Nice size even for 5 adults. Handles well in daily drivivg and open highway.

Cons
Headrest not comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CE
Catherine E.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/15/2018
My beautiful SUV
My car has about 55,000 miles on it and it worked good for the last !0 years. It needs a fuel sensory that cost over $700.00 to repair. and the price for a fuel sensory is less than a 100.00 which means the labor is going to cost me over $600.00. Merry Christmas

Pros
I love that car

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Betty M.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/10/2018
I LOVE MY SANTA FE
I love everything about my car. But, my recalls and no recall on the gas sensors that I’m taking back for the third time to ck out. It’s all over the internet the the gas sensor issue. I’ll think twice before buying another Santa Fe. It depends if they can fix this issue. I’ve spent to many hours on this problem all ready. b.maire@sbcglobal.net 925-933-6986

Pros
Great features. Was great until the gas sensor went out

Cons
The interior leather could be nicer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Suzanne K.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2018
the best car I have ever owned
Its not only the style that attracted me to this car , its the fact you can have it all without going broke ! I fell in love with this car back in 2002 and it wasn't until 2007 I could purchase it. It is so roomy, comfortable and has all the features I could ask for. Heated seats, sunroof are my most favorite features ! When the time comes for a new vehicle - hopefully around 200k miles..I will purchase another Hyundai, whether it be a Santa Fe or Tuscon.

Pros
This car is 11 years old and in great condition inside and out. Friends purchased vehicles from different auto makers and within 6 years found rust...not me. But then again I take very good care of vehicle and every other year I have it rust proofed (live in Bflo NY). I feel so safe when driving it

Cons
I have NO complaints

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FF
Franklin F.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2018
Excellent SUV
Nice and excellent SUV highly recommended economic in gas , quality excellent services in autorizad dealer is excellent safety car only turn on and trip my sta fe have 150.000 miles and lock like new .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Scott P.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/23/2018
08 Hyundai Santa Fe Limited
Bought vehicle new in early 2009. It has been a very good vehicle overall with very few problems.
I will first start with the bad, had to put a few alternators on it due to the poor design of alternator being down low on bottom of engine. A leaking front valve cover results in oil dripping down into alternator shorting it out.
The 2nd short coming is the fuel gauge/ sending unit. It failed fairly early in it's life.
Good news is there was a service bulletin on the leaking valve cover gasket in Hyundai repaired that and put a new alternator on at no cost., And our vehicle is 10 yrs old.
there are several things good about the vehicle we purchased it with the big 3.3 l motor, and it is very responsive and gets good fuel mileage. The engine still runs as good as it ever did and has nearly 200,000 miles on it. The vehicle rides better than most SUVs I've been in in the same size category. The Santa Fe has a great number of safety features, and visibility driving it is superior to many others. Would not hesitate to buy another one.

Pros
Great performance along with very respectable fuel mileage. Comfortable ride for a small SUV. Great durability

Cons
Fuel gauge/sending unit quit working fairly early in it's life.
Poor design on where alternator is placed on engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Ruleen K.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2018
2008 Santa Fe
This was one of the best investments we have ever made. The car has 110,000 miles on it, and it's never had major problems. Very comfortable and dependable! The service dept has had ups and downs thru the years, but they are honest and do a great service job.

Pros
Love the big hidden storage in back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Tanya R.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/12/2018
average
I do not like the way the car rides, it rocks to much going over and kind of roads. Im sorry but dont like writing, things like these. interveiws. hope i dont have to do any more of these interviews.

Pros
ok car

Cons
just a ok cae

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Catherine T.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/09/2018
Gas mileage
Have had to have recalls on quite a few things, and my air conditioner had issues and I needed a new windshield due to a stress fracture crack....thank God it was still under
warranty. Nice design but the gas mileage is Not good on city driving.

Pros
Nice design inside and out

Cons
Too many recalls, needs more cut spaces for drinks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Alenka R.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2018
Love this suv
This is wonderful truck
This is 4th Santa fe in my family. Love this truck
Its stylish and dependable
I have extended so it very roomy.
Price was excellent with all rebates.
Waiting for Santa Cruz.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TJ
Tim J.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2018
Best car I have ever owned.
Great cabin space- front and back seats. Good storage and hauling space. Back seats fold down to extend hauling space. Solid power and acceleration on interstate. Nice cloth seats. Cruise control. Great braking. 5 star crash rating all the way around. Very mechanically reliable- always the biggest plus.

Pros
Great cabin space- front and back seats. Good storage and hauling space. Back seats fold down to extend hauling space. Solid power and acceleration on interstate. Nice cloth seats. Cruise control. Great braking. 5 star crash rating all the way around. Very mechanically reliable- always the biggest plus.

Cons
Street ride over all the bumps and seams in the road is certainly not that of a luxury car but it is also not nerve-wracking. Did have a few repairs including leaky engine seal at 80-85,000 miles but nothing that broke the bank.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
RICHARD H.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2018
2008 Santa Fe
Since owning this car when new, have replaced brakes and tires. Have not had any repairs other than a few minor recalls and one visit for warranty work. Even after storing the vehicle, there was very little maintenance required to restore it's performance to like new condition. BEST CAR I ever owned!

Pros
Incredibly reliable automobile.

Cons
Which it had more gauges rather than lights to indicate what is happening with the engine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Richard G.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2018
Great
My car has been the best experience. Since I bought my car. I would recommend anyone to buy this car. I look forward to my next car. I hope this will get the right experience everybody else. Enough said.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SN
Stephany N.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2018
Amazing Car
I love my Shante Fe. I have plenty of space. It travels well. I always take it back and forth to Ohio. My children have plenty of space and the truck holds everything. The leather seats make it easy to clean and the warmed seats in the winter give an extra layer of warmth.

Cons
High tip over rate

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Martha C.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2018
Love my 2008 Santa Fe!
This has been a great car--I keep waiting for something major to go wrong which would prompt me to get a new SUV but mine is still going strong--less than 63,000 miles so I will keep it awhile longer!

Pros
Love everything about it!

Cons
Can't think of any--larger so my children's Elantras are a little more "fun" to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Donald K.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2018
Best Car I have Owned
2008 Santa Fe Limited - 77k miles Love Leather heated seats, better than advertised HW miles/gal. No issues at all for 9+ years of ownership. Always a little jerk when going from 1st to 2nd gear - heard that is typical for this car. Drives well, handles great. Great interior. I couldn't ask for more in a car.

Pros
Interior styling, gas performance better than listed, Reliability-No technical issues for 9+ years

Cons
Ugly wheels, slight jerk from 1st to 2nd gear.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WA
WILLIAM A.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2018
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
GREAT SUV! Minimal issues during 196,000 miles over 10 years. Looks like new. Drives great. Good mileage. Totally reliable vehicle in all weather conditions, summer thru winter, in the worst that New England can throw at it.

Pros
Minimal repairs and cost of ownership. Nothing on the market can match the interior design. Basic but GREAT!

Cons
Lacks the latest gadgets and features, bit then again... Nothing to go wrong.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Melvin E.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/11/2018
Underpowered and thirsty
Use the vehicle as a local runabout it’s ability to accelerate makes it a liability on the freeway. 15 mpg in a vehicle like this terrible definitely will not buy another it has a six cylinder engine that must have come out of a lawn mower

Pros
Cheap to buy

Cons
Expensive to run, poor performance. The plastic is melting away

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/11/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 426 in total