2009
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(472 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PJ
Pamela J.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/20/2018
2009 Hyundai Sante Fe
Overall, I have had a good experience with this vehicle, albeit not great gas mileage. However, at about 32,000 miles my fuel indicator stopped working, and I think this should have been a recall issue since I have read many posts that this has happened on 2009 Santa Fe vehicles.

Pros
Nice sized SUV for hauling larger items.

Cons
The seats are a little too high for transporting my big dogs, who are now older, and they have difficulty getting in and out of the car. I wish I had bought a slightly smaller SUV.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Curtis J.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2018
121,000 miles later ...
121,000 miles later, this car runs like it is new. The 6 cylinder engine is powerful and gets decent mileage for a car in this category. The driving position is comfortable for long drives. Good in snow.

Pros
Love the 6 cylinder engine. Lots of room, GREAT sound (best of any car I had ever had), and very reliable.

Cons
Doesn't have some of the new fancy stuff some cars have, but I have my phone for that!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Spencer F.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/17/2018
I like my car
Reliable car had it a long time 8yrs. Bought new minimal major repairs. Good service from Hyundi when happens. Like big back window. New models don’t have it can’t see as well. I hope to get 200000 miles out of it

Pros
Great visibility All wheels in bad weather. Big rear window

No falling apart like my 40K Tahoe

Cons
Not any that come to mind. Like simple. Minimal electronic dash. Others may think outmoded not me

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
Kathryn T.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/12/2018
Great Car
I've had this car since 2009. I spent a long time looking for a smaller AWD car with lots of room for 4 adults and with a terrific warranty and good reputation. I've been very happy with this car. I love the way it drives, it is so smooth.

Pros
great turning radius
nice looking car

Cons
my new cell phone no longer connects to the bluetooth.
I wish it had an aux jack and a usb port

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Maureen B.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/23/2018
Reliable Vehicle
My 2009 Santa Fe is very reliable. Best vehicle I ever purchased! And there have been many... I definitely would consider purchasing the same vehicle if I choose to trade it in at a letter date. Great!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Patricia L.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/22/2018
Best snow car!
I bought my Hyundai Santa Fe with skiing in mind. It gets me to work every day too but I am always especially glad to be safe inside as it handles so well in the snow. I always have the family in the car with me and we always feel safe even in the worst weather driving over the pass.

Pros
All wheel drive handles great in the snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Bobbie C.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/22/2018
Good serviceable automobie
One of the best cars I have owned. Only had one problem with this automobile and that was the pedal stopped working and was on vacation traveling home and this happened in Tulsa Oklahoma, had the automobile towed to local dealer and they were very accomadating and had me on my way before they closed shop, great agency.

Pros
Paint, performace.

Cons
Steering, not enough gears in transmission. Blind
Spots front windshield support post. Rear window should roll down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ID
Irene D.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2018
I had to have another one
I purchased my first Santa Fe in 2005 I wanted to upgrade to a newer model with all the luxury features that I wanted. I will buy another one and that will make my third one when I do. 2018 is a yes
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Louann T.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/15/2018
dependable
My Hyundai Santa Fe has been very dependable with no problems at all. It handles well and rides good on the highway. The mileage is comparable to other SUV's

and I love the exterior color (Dark Cherry).

Pros
Exterior color
Handles well
Dependable

Cons
GPS is not easy enough to operate. I do not
like black interior, but prefer lighter colors such as grey or tan. They do not show every little thing that comes into the car.
The seats should be more supportive of the back and the headrest is at an uncomfortable angle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Roy L.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2018
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe Limited Review
We are very pleased with the engine and drive train and have been basically trouble free. However, we have hated the ride since our purchase. The dealer has been unable to correct our problems. During the cold winter months there is not enough heat flow to the passenger side floor. My wife's feet stay cold and uncomfortable. Also, There is not enough heat to the rear seats resulting in passengers feet getting cold. The problem is not enough heat and cooling through the side door vents. The other problem is that the paint started chipping and peeling on the hood and front about 4 years ago and is still cracking and peeling. I have noticed from other Hyundai Santa Fe owners that this is a common defect with some models. My wife and I will not purchase another new Santa Fe unless these problems are corrected.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Pat M.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2018
Santa Fe
Completely satisfied We particlularly like high stance so to see traffic ahead. We use the seat heaters many mornings and this feature is not available on many cars. The sunroof is very enjoyable on many days.

Pros
Sits up high. Good fuel economy. Great seat heaters and sun roof

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carol S.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/26/2017
Awesome vehicle!
My 2009 Santa Fe just hit the milestone marker of 121000 and I know it has many more miles to give me! Best vehicle that I have ever owned!

Pros
Reliable, comfortable, roomy in the front seats but the back seat is a little short for long legs, and it can handle hauling lots of gardening supplies of dirt, mulch, plants, fertilizer, etc.

Cons
When the warranty ends :-(

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WI
W I.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/26/2017
Great car
This has be n a great car except for Gas Mileage9

Pros
Reliable, good to drive

Cons
Gas mileage, vendor installed radio

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
David G.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/25/2017
Santa Fe Overview
Over the years we have purchased the Santa Fe (two) for its value, design, fuel economy, and standard features. The vehicle warranty is above the industry standard with the company standing behind its product for 10 years. The dealership's management and staff are second to none and entice customers to return for service and expertise in sales.

Pros
Outstanding vehicle for the money
Well designed
Great Fuel Economy
Available standard features
Vehicle Warranty

Cons
Interior noise is louder than older models
The ride could be improved

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Martin T.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/22/2017
Love it
This is a great car

Pros
Too many to list

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Coreatha J.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2017
I love my Santa Fe
Vehicle is great never had any problems other than regular repairs brakes other routine wear and tear

Pros
Great over all vehicle

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Annie J.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2017
Vehicle
Like vehicle very well
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Shelley M.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2017
Santa Fe
I love it . It handles very nice. And I am a small person so the added height of the car, I can see much better.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Robert T.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2017
Best car I've ever owned
I purchased my Santa Fe in September 2009 fm Gregory Hyundai. Over the last nine years it has served me and my family above my expectations. With 134,000 MILES of driving it, I can honestly say it is the best auto I have ever had.
The manufacturer, coupled with Gregory service department, have maintained this auto with only minor repairs and given me confidence in the Hyundai Brand.
A SINCERE THANK YOU TO BOTH.!!

Pros
VERY SATISFIED ALL AROUND.

Cons
When are you going to make a pick up truck???

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Joseph C.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/15/2017
Love my car
My Santa Fe is a2009, purchased by my late husband just s month before he was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. He drove the car home from the dealer and never drove it again.

Pros
What else can I say, it’s great I’m thinking of a new Sport.

Cons
None I said I love it, I wish it had auto open & close lift gate.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 472 in total