2011
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(546 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


WW
William W.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/26/2017
too many serious problems
purchased a 2009 SantaFe had drive shaft problems. purchased a 2011 SantaFe, had steering problems. probably wont buy another.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
E M.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/05/2017
Sold me a car that was in an accident AND DIDN'T TELL ME.
Sold me a car that was in an accident AND DIDN'T TELL ME. I'M NOT HAPPY

Pros
SERVICE PEOPLE ARE GREAT

Cons
SALES SOLD ME A CAR THAT WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND DIDN'T TELL ME.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Lisa A.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/12/2018
2nd owner vehicle of a Lemon
I only drive the car to work maybe 7 times & the front right spring broke. I did not buy from a Hyundai dealer which was my first mistake as what can a Chevy dealer do for me except they did pay for that repair. But only for 1000 miles did they cover me. No sooner did I drive a few business trips then my car started banging & jerking violently w/stops & turns into parking spots. Very embarrassing as people stop & stare at the loud noise!! It is a coupler in the AWD train. It would have been covered IF I was original owner sadly so I’ve only had the car under 90 days & in the shop & not driving it!! Ridiculous. Hyundai won’t stand behind their product here. Who buys a car & immediately needs mandatory repairs in order to drive it like this?!!

Pros
The car looks nice but the mechanics of it are not solid.

Cons
Issues since first bought vehicle Only been under 90 days & not safe to drive as sure the spring will break soon on the left side while driving & my coupler causes me to jerk & loud bang scares me every time!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Regina B.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/15/2019
Santa Fe
Doubt that I would ever buy another one...plus the Thomas (Cumberland) dealership people...all of them from manager to service are stupid, rude, and could care less about their customers after the vehicle is off the lot!! Thanks!!

Cons
Too many problems and service department not on the up 'n up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joaquin M.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/24/2019
First huge repair at 16,000 miles
In my own experience, I wouldn't recommend a vehicle that makes you spend more than $400 repairing it after only 16,000 miles. I have to add that it feels extremely unstable in difficult driving conditions like snow or ice. Very easy to lose the control of the vehicle even being extremely careful. I never feel safe driving it under these conditions. Very scary and stressful.

Pros
Nice looking outside.

Cons
Problems with the engine and the oil switch under 16,000 miles. Terrible to drive in the snow and ice. Unstable and very dangerous driving on these conditions. I almost had some accidents even being extra careful.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
DAVID P.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/26/2016
where is longevity quality????
vehicle has been great,,, but the washers quit, and doorlock quit, car has over 100,000 miles and runs great... but the door locks and windshield washers should be covered by warranty.... very disappointing.... falling apart like my OLDS DELTA 88.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Joseph F.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/18/2018
Buy a car that ends in A like Toyota or Honda.
Let’s see- my car’s not even 8 years old, it has 154,000 miles. I’ve had it quit on me on the expressway TWICE. Arrow was unable to diagnose it the first time apparently. Hyundai apparently misled buyers about the mileage to which they offered us affected owners something like $200 off the price of a NEW one. Really? I drove 154,000 miles and lost countless miles per gallon. Then the electrical outlets in the back stopped working- that’s a $400 repair job. The first week I had the car the sunroof stopped working. Yes out was repaired, but c’mon folks build a better car. I do all highway driving and shocks and struts were needed at $1500 plus. Now it’s the timing cover-leaking oil. Never had that before either. Never had that happen on either of my Toyota’s or Honda’s. Simply put- Hyundais are only priced like good cars-don’t be deceived.

Pros
It looks nice and the seats are comfy.

Cons
It’s a poor performer over the long term.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Donald M.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/09/2019
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
My Santa Fe has a problem with faulty acceleration. When I stop or slow down and then accelerate, the vehicle often lurches forward. It has been this way from the time I bought it in Feb, 2011.The service techs could not determine the cause, so I gave up trying to get it fixed. I would be hesitant to buy another Santa Fe due to this issue.

Pros
Good ride, handles well, large cargo area

Cons
Road noise, faulty acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PU
Pat U.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/12/2016
66003 miles on vehicle purchased as an experienced vehicle
Engine four cylinder runs like a top. I believe the plastic air scoops under the car rattle some times when running over bumps. Best set of high beams in a car i have ever owned and this is i think my eight car/truck. Ride is a little hard, plenty of space behind second seats to take stuff to and from camp. Viability looking left or right at intersections is restricted by the wide vertical post sections that house the air bags, must lean forward twist to look out for on coming vehicles instead of just turning the heard. Excellent fuel mileage.

Pros
Great mileage - large trunk area.

Cons
Noisey ride - replaced power stearing pump and at idle starting to move steering wheel hard to turn til accelerating which cause a jump start into an intersection etc etc

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
John L.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/15/2016
Good Value for the Money I Paid in 2011
Overall, the car has been comfortable and dependable. Performance is as I would have expected. There have been a few glitches though. One was the headlight sealing. There was a leak around the casing that caused the light to burn out. In Hyundai's defense, they took care of it. The other glitches have been the tail gate door and the overall sound insulation. It never closes properly unless you really slam it. I tried to have the dealer correct but it never did work right and I often have to stop and get out to slam it shut. My complaint about the overall sound insulation is that, after about a year, the doors started to sound tinney when you close them. Beyond that, I have been reletively happy with the car and would consider another Santa Fe but will look seriously at other brands as well

Pros
Reletively Dependable - has never broken down and left me stranded
Interior comfort
Power and performance is very good

Cons
Feels cheaply built from tinny door sounds and a light problem
Have had problems with the tail gate closing properly from the begining

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Deborah H.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/13/2016
Ok
In the beginning I was not happy with the truck and now I like it.

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
It's not very good in snow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
Kyle E.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/02/2017
weak part of engine - should be covered, if Hyundai knows about it.
There are a number of reports of concerning the weakness of the Oil Pressure Sender or Switch... it consistently breaks AFTER the 5 year warranty is up - meaning you have to pay, unless you bought extra coverage. I think Hyundai would see this as an opportunity to give they type of coverage that they promise to those buying a new vehicle from them... Covered Service is the main reason we bought the Santa Fe brand new - so we could get the coverage we needed. I would like to see them consider their clients' needs over the few hundred thy might save for the repair. It is a good thing to take care of those you want to be loyal to your company. To be fair, we haven't had any problems other than this one for 5.5 years. with 4.5 more to go with the coverage. We have enjoyed this vehicle a lot.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Roseanne P.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/28/2017
HYUNDAI SANTA FE
QUALITY CAR
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kyra B.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/03/2017
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
It's a good car for the most part. Comfortable and roomy for a small family. Car drives smooth.great if you dont want a huge suv but want space.Does well in snow and rain. However it does have a good number of unusual things going on with the car. It shutting down for no reason, smoke from turn signal, oil coming from the bottom which became 2000 dollar job. Just not your basic wear and tear. I drive a while lot. Rain sleat snow ice sunny days. I need something that will work for me in all these types of weather for the long run and this just might not be it.

Pros
Comfortable interior, roomy cargo area, good 4 wheel drive when used occasionally, nice tush warmer for cold winter weather

Cons
Turn signal smoking, ball joints, car would just stop running for no reason,weird noises when starting the car in the cold, not top notch quality materials. Weird things happen with this car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Joanne C.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/27/2017
n/a
n/a

Pros
10

Cons
the car is very hard to get into. The windshield and the door are positioned wrong and it is very hard to get in or out easily.. The car is nice to look at but, hard to get in and out of .. There could also be more head room.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

V
Valued Customer
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/28/2017
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe Review
Have had few warranty problems, but find service does not really want to use you warrantee

Pros
The vehicle over all is very good. Some exterior parts are rather cheep and breakable. I like the way it runs.

Cons
Some things are not for the long haul like the radio, the mirror lights, alternator, tail light seals breakdown quickly and allow water to accumulate inside the lights themselves. Better coverage of original warrantee would be helpful. When vehicle starts it make a racket that is not good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Laura W.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/26/2017
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
This vehicle is LOUD. If you want a quiet ride, look elsewhere. That said, it is comfortable for long road trips, and for an SUV the gas mileage isn't as terrible as it could be. Be warned, though, that these cars have front-end suspension glitches. A vehicle well under 100,000 miles should not have to have ball joints, sway bars, and other front end suspension components replaced all in rapid succession -- especially since the vehicle is only ever driven on paved roads. You get what you pay for with Hyundai. You're certainly not paying for suspension durability, at least not with the Santa Fe.

Pros
Comfortable ride. Gas mileage is not great, but livable.

Cons
LOUD. Suspension is iffy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
James P.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/12/2018
Issues
Have extended warranty but had issues that were not covered under this warranty. Ex internal lighting system over dashboard. Had other problems not covered & strong discussions. Poor camera & clarity on screen. When extremely cold guidance does work until warmer temperature is reached

Pros
General results has it being dependable but extended warranty not the best

Cons
Warranty. Paint job never the best quality from day one. Paid extra for clear coat & wasn’t best from start

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Arnold G.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/04/2018
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe Limited
I like my Hyundai Santa Fe a lot but repair cost and replacement parts are VERY costly. Even brand new I noticed outside noise. If I were to purchase another Hyundai Santa Fe Limited I would purchase one with all wheel or four wheel drive for better stability.

Pros
Good power for it's size

Cons
costly parts and repairs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Mary C.
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/01/2019
IT SURE WOULD BE NICE
If the vehicle could not be so noisy. There has to be something that can be done about it. Otherwise, I'm happy with my vehicle. It is holding up pretty well for being a 2011.
Need to bring in the vehicle for more work after the 4th of July. Seems I need rear brakes and new tire alignment. One more thing too but I can't recall. I just hope I can keep the bill UNDER $800. My wallet can't take much more.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 546 in total