2012
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(608 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LW
Lynn W.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2020
Awesome car.
This is one of the best card I have every owned. I had a 2007 GLS previously and loved it. This is a Limited, heated leather seats, sunroof, auto mirrors, lights, it has everything. I will probably keep this car United one of us dies.

Pros
Every option, great to drive, good mpg, reliable, comfortable, and easy to look at.

Cons
Engine does not have enough power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Aisha H.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2020
Amazing
Awesome. The best car I have ever owned. I will never buy any other car but this one. Working on getting a new one in a couple of years. I would recommend it to family and friends as well. Keep up on the great work.

Pros
everything is a pro

Cons
no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
John E.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/17/2020
I Love My Santa Fe
I was a pickup guy most of my life but when I retired I decided to get a SUV, and this is a good one. Comfort , gas mileage, quality, safety and made in USA. I can still carry some cargo, and the warranty is the best out there.

Pros
Comfortable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carla W.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020
Carla Warren
I love my Sante Fe but I think my next vehicle will be a Tucson because it’s harder as I get older to get into my car and I think the Tucson is lower. The reason I chose the Sante fe is the size of the back window. With the newer vehicles they have the back up cameras which I look forward to for more safety. My biggest challenge will be not having a CD player in the newer version

Pros
Very comfortable

Cons
Since the beginning of ownership 2012 she acts up with the A/C. If you go over a speed table the air comes on. It’s been looked at a few times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VT
Viola T.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/06/2020
2012 SantaFe
We purchased our Santa Fe new to replace my 12 year old Escape. Yes we hold on to cars until the repair costs out way a new purchase. As with all our cars we buy fully loaded, and the price was reasonable. After 8 years we still love it and it is a workhorse that has all the amenities. It has almost 90k on it and has not need much other than routine maintenance. Interior well designed, seats are comfy with heat and electric makes them easily adjustable on long rides. Roomy rear, big enough for luggage and two large dogs. Excellent headroom and timeless style! Excellent performance makes getting on and off highways easy. Must say great value and still love it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Harold S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2020
after 100k
This is my second Santa Fe (my first was a 2002 that was totaled). I enjoy this car and its versatility. My only real issue with this car is the location of the front seat cup holders. They should have been located in front of the drive shift lever, because with them being behind it makes for a very uncomfortable reach to get a cup.

Pros
all around great car with a super warranty

Cons
front seat cup holders too far back
very uncomfortable to reach

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Charles P.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/17/2020
Sante Fe Limited is as good as they come for the money.
I bought my car in 2012, and have loved it ever since. Unfortunately, it like me are both aging, and are not equal to the new 2020 Santa Fe, but until I can be a new one, I am as happy as I can be having my car back, because it is the best car I have ever owned and driven.

Pros
It rides well, the interior features are good, wish it had a backup camera, but the heated seats, sound system, electric seat and other included features make it second to none.

Cons
no backup camera, and unfortunately I have to let it sit outside in my driveway, as my garage is unable to accommodate the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Philip L.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/10/2020
Nearly 100% Satisfaction
Our Santa Fe 2012 has 182,000+ miles on it. We are very happy with the vehicle. Had some minor issues which were promptly handled. However, over the last 6 months our radio will randomly go off and on. Sometimes it will stay off for hours, but other times just gonon and off! Then there are times it is fine. Googled this problem and there are MANY people experiencing this issue! Can't say that a faulty radio would preclude me from purchasing again as the vehicle has been mechanically fine, but it does give one cause to ponder! Seems that Hyundai Corp has been of no help to people contacting them with this issue! Reportedly, new radio ranges anywhere from $1200 - $1500! This per the Google reviews! I will NOT spend that amount to fix!!!

Pros
Solid vehicle mechanically speaking. Solid feeling.

Cons
Just radio problems as stated in "Vehicle Summary" above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Dolores L.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/06/2020
2012 Hyunadi Sante Fe
I am on my 3rd Santa Fe and loved everyone of them. My current vehicle has over 120,000 miles and still runs as great as the day I drove it off the lot.

This is to fill up my comments to minimum of 200 which is dumb!

Cons
Having to at least put 200 characters in a review when you can say what you like in less!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NG
Nancy G.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/04/2020
Best vehicle I've owned
I bought this car new back in 2012 and it's going strong! I have to give it up to a grandson soon and will surely miss it, but plan to purchase another Santa Fe to replace it. Why give up a good thing?!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Pamela P.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/30/2020
What a great car.
I purchased my used Santa Fe four years ago with 63,000 miles. I have 135,000 miles on it now. I have it serviced as recommended by the dealership and use synthetic oil. So far, it's be amazing. No additional work done other than normal wear and tear. I purchased it after paying cash for an older Sonata a few years before. That car was terrific and that's why I went to Hyundai when it was time to purchase a new car. Take care of your Hyundai and it will take care of you.

Pros
Really good on gas and great car for the money in all categories.

Cons
I have to dig for this con: sometimes I do wish I had a little more power but the 4-cylinder is super good on gas.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/23/2020
Excellent vehicle
Great vehicle for style and durability. I love my Hyundai I have owned two now and plan to own one as my next vehicle too! Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx cxxxxxxx cxxxxxxx. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx cxxxxxxx cxxx

Cons
Vehicle has horrible blind spots when looking to change lanes. My only complaint.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Sean K.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/02/2020
2012 Santa Fe
A lot of known problems and yet the auto maker refuses to do recall, disappointing that they can't or won't take responsibility for their product. It's also sad that a dealership tells you they cant get parts and yet I'm able to get them on Amazon and do the repair myself.

Pros
My wife liked it

Cons
it doesn't match up to Honda or Toyota for quality or reliability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Judith G.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2019
Very Pleased With My Santa Fe
Purchased this car new. It is great for me! Right size for errands around town but also great on road trips. Plenty of power on take-off and on the highway. I looked at several different SUV's before purchasing this car, i.e., GM & VW. When I drove my Santa Fe I knew it was the one!

Pros
Easy to park and back.

Cons
The back tailgate seems a bit light. Difficult to describe. Maybe just from opening and shutting it over the years but it has a 'wiggle' when I start closing it. Not the solid feel when it was new.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Judith S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/22/2019
love my car--dependability, space, features
I love my Santa Fe and love driving it too. I like free check-ups and cleaning for each servicing. So far I have had no problems after buying it in 2012. It has served me well and I am still happy as a lark driving it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Steven W.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/19/2019
138000 miles
This has been the best car my wife and I have bought. So far all we have done is changed the oil regularly and tires and one set of brakes. This to me is normal service. I am hoping to get another 100000 miles out of this car or by another one

Pros
138000 miles and the Santa Fe has need very reliable. I have put a set of brakes, tires and regular oil changes. I have been very impressed with this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KJ
Katherine J.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/03/2019
Love it
I first bought a 2000 Elantra, brand new loved it then I bought a new 2007 Veri Cruz. I was nice, loved the drivers seat but it was too big I was never comfortable driving it. In 2012 I traded it in on the Santa Fe. Fell in love with it on the drive to Calif. it has been my pal, my buddy ever since. Never had any problems with it for the first 135,000+ miles. If I was to buy another new vehicle I would definitely buy another Santa Fe, but I want to retire next year at 89 years young and do not want another car payment. I have driven a few rentals recently and none of them compare to my Santa Fe for comfort, get up and go power or the drive feel!!!

Pros
Everything you would want in a vehicle

Cons
Nothing really except maybe driver seats could be a little bigger for taller people with loner legs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Carolyn B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/17/2019
Love my Santa Fe
Very pleased with the performance of this vehicle.Love the interior. The heated seats work very well. The gas mileage has been just what they said it would be or better. I have previously owned Jeep Grand Cherokees (since 1984) and this was my first time buying a Hyundai. I had heard they were very reliable cars and the warranty was great. I think the next car I purchase will be a Hyundai.

Pros
Comfortable to drive and haven't had any problems with it.

Cons
Wish it had a back up camera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Alvaro G.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/14/2019
A good buy. Hey
Performance is good. Just a little noisy and suspension not very comfortable. For the price, it’s a good buy. Bought it in November 2011. Over all I’m satisfied with performance. Had one setback with power steering and ball joints. Other than that, just normal maintenance.

Pros
Price.

Cons
Suspension.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
Fernando B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/10/2019
Great
Very dependable great overall handling lots of room for a family long distance trip. Bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssttttttttttttttttttttttttttt go LesterGlen

Pros
With the best

Cons
Don’t have one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 608 in total