2012
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(615 Reviews)
Latest review 14 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TB
Theresa B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/15/2020
2012 Limited
I still enjoy my 2012 Hyundai Santa Fe. The Courtesy Car I had to opportunity to drive was a 2020 fuel efficient Santa Fe. It was a solid, easy operating, smooth riding, vehicle with a great heating/cooling system and backup assistance. The engine is smaller than the 2012, but still performed well even on interstates.

Pros
It was a solid, easy operating, smooth riding, vehicle with a great heating/cooling system and backup assistance. The engine is smaller than the 2012, but still performed well even on interstates.

Cons
Seats were uncomfortable and I bumped my knee every time I got into the car. I prefer a 6 cylinder (in my 2012) to the 4 cylinder (in the 2020)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
WAYNE S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/01/2020
Overall a good Vehicle,
as we all know nothing last forever, Im 70 years old and im not quiet up to date with computer skills to work on cars now days so your at the mercy of the mechanic Reeds is kind explains what wrong and fixes it and you dont here "Take it to the dealer"

Pros
Overall a very nice vehicle

Cons
high tech items that react much differently, maybe prior to sale a mechanic gives a class on operation and function of items.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DAN S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/08/2020
great car
good used vehicle, new to me even though the years would lead you towards an older car, I just find it being broken in still, looks good for an older model would pass for brand new if looking at it from a distance
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Renate B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/19/2020
Vehicle Mostly Trouble-free
This vehicle has been trouble-free, except for suspension/tire wear issues. Although the vehicle gets relatively light use and good maintenance, I have gone through four sets of tires in eight years and 60,000 miles. Obviously, this has been a major expense and an ongoing frustration for me.

Pros
overall good performance and reliability

Cons
suspension and tire wear

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
James B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2020
Santa Fe Limited
I am very satisfied with my 2012 Santa Fe LTD
The only feature that would keep me from moving into a new Santa Fe is the Stop & Go
feature. I think it’s a farce. another scam from the government forcing consumers into products that aren’t what they claim.

Pros
Heated Leather Seating
Remote Start

Cons
Manual Liftgate

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gene D.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/12/2020
2012 Santa Fe Limited
I’ve been following the progress of Hyundai’s and Kia’s for a number of years and finally bought this used 2012 Hyundai Santa Fe with 98,000 miles on it as a second car to drive for a while. It appeared to be well-maintained and as it turned out, it’s been the best car I’ve ever owned and I’ve over 20 cars of my 50 year driving history! This 2012 Santa Fe Limited FWD now has over 150 k miles on it and my daughter is driving it now; I wouldn’t hesitate a second to take this car on a cross country trip to anywhere. These autos are well built and the most dependable vehicles I’ve ever owned; in fact, I liked this 2012 Santa Fe, That I bought a new 2017 Santa Fe Ultimate AWD. I couldn’t be happier!

Pros
Well built, dependable, stylish, sophisticated, fun to drive!

Cons
Only thing I’d like better is if it had higher ground clearance and a bit more off road capable! A dual range transmission would be great!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jeanne H.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/15/2020
Santa fe
This is my third Santa Fe and each car had on over 250,000 miles. Only repairs were with my last one but I’ve had it since 2012 and only two issues. Other then normal wear and tear tires,oil changes Ect is all that I’ve had to deal with this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Lynn W.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2020
Awesome car.
This is one of the best card I have every owned. I had a 2007 GLS previously and loved it. This is a Limited, heated leather seats, sunroof, auto mirrors, lights, it has everything. I will probably keep this car United one of us dies.

Pros
Every option, great to drive, good mpg, reliable, comfortable, and easy to look at.

Cons
Engine does not have enough power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Aisha H.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2020
Amazing
Awesome. The best car I have ever owned. I will never buy any other car but this one. Working on getting a new one in a couple of years. I would recommend it to family and friends as well. Keep up on the great work.

Pros
everything is a pro

Cons
no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
John E.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/17/2020
I Love My Santa Fe
I was a pickup guy most of my life but when I retired I decided to get a SUV, and this is a good one. Comfort , gas mileage, quality, safety and made in USA. I can still carry some cargo, and the warranty is the best out there.

Pros
Comfortable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carla W.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020
Carla Warren
I love my Sante Fe but I think my next vehicle will be a Tucson because it’s harder as I get older to get into my car and I think the Tucson is lower. The reason I chose the Sante fe is the size of the back window. With the newer vehicles they have the back up cameras which I look forward to for more safety. My biggest challenge will be not having a CD player in the newer version

Pros
Very comfortable

Cons
Since the beginning of ownership 2012 she acts up with the A/C. If you go over a speed table the air comes on. It’s been looked at a few times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VT
Viola T.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/06/2020
2012 SantaFe
We purchased our Santa Fe new to replace my 12 year old Escape. Yes we hold on to cars until the repair costs out way a new purchase. As with all our cars we buy fully loaded, and the price was reasonable. After 8 years we still love it and it is a workhorse that has all the amenities. It has almost 90k on it and has not need much other than routine maintenance. Interior well designed, seats are comfy with heat and electric makes them easily adjustable on long rides. Roomy rear, big enough for luggage and two large dogs. Excellent headroom and timeless style! Excellent performance makes getting on and off highways easy. Must say great value and still love it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Harold S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2020
after 100k
This is my second Santa Fe (my first was a 2002 that was totaled). I enjoy this car and its versatility. My only real issue with this car is the location of the front seat cup holders. They should have been located in front of the drive shift lever, because with them being behind it makes for a very uncomfortable reach to get a cup.

Pros
all around great car with a super warranty

Cons
front seat cup holders too far back
very uncomfortable to reach

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Charles P.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/17/2020
Sante Fe Limited is as good as they come for the money.
I bought my car in 2012, and have loved it ever since. Unfortunately, it like me are both aging, and are not equal to the new 2020 Santa Fe, but until I can be a new one, I am as happy as I can be having my car back, because it is the best car I have ever owned and driven.

Pros
It rides well, the interior features are good, wish it had a backup camera, but the heated seats, sound system, electric seat and other included features make it second to none.

Cons
no backup camera, and unfortunately I have to let it sit outside in my driveway, as my garage is unable to accommodate the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Philip L.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/10/2020
Nearly 100% Satisfaction
Our Santa Fe 2012 has 182,000+ miles on it. We are very happy with the vehicle. Had some minor issues which were promptly handled. However, over the last 6 months our radio will randomly go off and on. Sometimes it will stay off for hours, but other times just gonon and off! Then there are times it is fine. Googled this problem and there are MANY people experiencing this issue! Can't say that a faulty radio would preclude me from purchasing again as the vehicle has been mechanically fine, but it does give one cause to ponder! Seems that Hyundai Corp has been of no help to people contacting them with this issue! Reportedly, new radio ranges anywhere from $1200 - $1500! This per the Google reviews! I will NOT spend that amount to fix!!!

Pros
Solid vehicle mechanically speaking. Solid feeling.

Cons
Just radio problems as stated in "Vehicle Summary" above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Dolores L.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/06/2020
2012 Hyunadi Sante Fe
I am on my 3rd Santa Fe and loved everyone of them. My current vehicle has over 120,000 miles and still runs as great as the day I drove it off the lot.

This is to fill up my comments to minimum of 200 which is dumb!

Cons
Having to at least put 200 characters in a review when you can say what you like in less!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NG
Nancy G.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/04/2020
Best vehicle I've owned
I bought this car new back in 2012 and it's going strong! I have to give it up to a grandson soon and will surely miss it, but plan to purchase another Santa Fe to replace it. Why give up a good thing?!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Pamela P.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/30/2020
What a great car.
I purchased my used Santa Fe four years ago with 63,000 miles. I have 135,000 miles on it now. I have it serviced as recommended by the dealership and use synthetic oil. So far, it's be amazing. No additional work done other than normal wear and tear. I purchased it after paying cash for an older Sonata a few years before. That car was terrific and that's why I went to Hyundai when it was time to purchase a new car. Take care of your Hyundai and it will take care of you.

Pros
Really good on gas and great car for the money in all categories.

Cons
I have to dig for this con: sometimes I do wish I had a little more power but the 4-cylinder is super good on gas.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/23/2020
Excellent vehicle
Great vehicle for style and durability. I love my Hyundai I have owned two now and plan to own one as my next vehicle too! Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx cxxxxxxx cxxxxxxx. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx cxxxxxxx cxxx

Cons
Vehicle has horrible blind spots when looking to change lanes. My only complaint.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Sean K.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/02/2020
2012 Santa Fe
A lot of known problems and yet the auto maker refuses to do recall, disappointing that they can't or won't take responsibility for their product. It's also sad that a dealership tells you they cant get parts and yet I'm able to get them on Amazon and do the repair myself.

Pros
My wife liked it

Cons
it doesn't match up to Honda or Toyota for quality or reliability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 615 in total