2013
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67
4.7
(1999 Reviews)
Latest review 11 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


HP
Heather P.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/21/2018
Engine failure
I needed to replace my engine at 114,000 miles, Hyundai said they would not help and hung up on me. Would never recommend a Hyundai to anyone. I actually like the car, but the quality of the product leaves a lot to be desired.

Pros
Cute, nice feature

Cons
Internal engine failure, poor corporate customer service

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
John F.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/25/2018
Not informed of recall. Engine blew up!
Recall on 2013 Santa Fe engine. Not informed. 3 teenage girls Left stranded on highway. Engine still under warranty. Cannot get loaner. May require more than a month to fix. Need vehicle to go to work. Having to fight with Hyundai. Will not recommended Hyundai because of poor customer services to new car buyer. With car under warranty you would think I would be getting total satisfaction and cooperation. Not happennig.

Pros
Fuel economy

Cons
Warranty service. Customer notification of recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mary H.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/11/2018
Hyundai Repair
I bought this 2013 Hyundai Sante Fe in April, 2018. I drove it about 3 weeks. The air conditioner and back up camera did not work so I took it back. It remained in the shop til the end of May. It remained in the shop a little over a month. I got it back and drove it for about 3 more weeks. There was a dragging sound coming from the engine so I took it back. It remained in the shop about a month and when i was told to pick the car up, I was told the check engine light was still on and my insurance would not pay to fix it. I called my insurance agent and was told Hyundai repair in college park could not tell them exactly what was wrong and they'd already paid almost $2000 and the car still was not fix. The insurance agent recommended I take the car to Hyundai Repair in Bowie which I did. Bowie kept the car for about six weeks, waiting for a motor and then to repair it. My insurance paid all except $200 which I had to pay. Already I am paying to repair a car I haven't had for 6 months and bought in good faith that the car was in excellent condition. Due to the problems I've had with this Hyundai, I will never buy another and will never recommend Hyundai to anyone!

Pros
Looks pretty.

Cons
A real lemon of a car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Robert L.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/30/2019
Unhappy Owner
This vehicle has been problematic for a long time. Now at 125000 miles the back up camera doesn't work, the blue tooth doesn't work and would cost $1200.00 to fix, most of the controls on the steering wheel don't work, there's a oil seal leaking slowly that would be very expensive to fix, the passenger side air bag is bad and showing a light on the dash ( another $700.00+ to fix. And I'm not even done paying for the car. Not a Hyundai fan!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Melissa T.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/14/2019
Hate!!!
This car is a lemon! I've had issues since day one. I'm over it and will stick to Honda's. Expensive to repair, expensive tires... Done! This is one of the most regretful purchases in my life and I've driven a Ford, worse then that!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Cathy F.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/26/2019
Recall
I would not recommend to buy this vehicle to anyone due to recall with the engines. Car is comfy, good on gas, interior features are good. The people who work in the service department are awesome! They care about their customers

Pros
Comfortable, interior features are good. Associates in service dept are awesome!

Cons
Recall with 2013 engine failure with the Santa fe sport that I was not notified about and my engine did seize requiring a new engine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Christine K.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/27/2019
Hate it
It rides like a work pick up truck! Bad visibility. wish I had my "09" back. Got to have bigger tires and the V6 of course.for the money at that time and a new car it was worth the money. My husband thought I liked it and I thought he liked it. Oops! Too late. So now we just drive it and maintain it.

Pros
Heated rear seats!

Cons
Lousy ride, poor visibility, lousy floor mats in rear, window air leaks, frequencies of lightbulb changing one after the other?, Expensive shock and struts!!!!!, No light in glovebox.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
Adron N.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/26/2019
Dependability of Hyundai Santa fe
2013 with 52,000 miles and 5 years old. Air conditioner cost almost 1000.00 to repair. It hashad several recalls. I am no longer a fan of Hyundai. Go buy a Toyota much better built cars. No problem with service just car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cynthia S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/28/2019
Poor paint quality
I was so happy with my first Hyundai, until at about 3 years my paint began to crack and peel. I went through Dealership, Corporate, Arbitration, Lemon Law. My paint warranty was no good after 30 thousand miles(?) I have paid to have hood and front bumpers repainted. Recently noticed two more places, one above windshield and another above passenger door! I guess I will end up repainting the entire car, since it was painted in the factory with the same defective paint. Very upsetting, because I bought Hyundai because of the wonderful “warranty”!. Very sad, disappointed customer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Jennifer F.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/03/2019
Driveline going out 40,000 miles
Just bad quality
Of course 3 months out of warranty
Awd coupler bad
Rearend bad
Steering shaft bad.
All found out after engine recall and taken to dealer.
This really reflects on the quality of this product. I understand there are bad cars but they need to be stood behind. They need to step up and help

Pros
Comfortable car

Cons
Quality is terrible

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
ROBERTO E.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/22/2019
Disappointed
Just found out that the motor has a faulty engine design. Bought the car 2 and 1/2 years ago. I'm being told it needs a new motor which is not a guarantee that will work well. Stay away from this model!

Cons
Faulty engine! Does anything else matter?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
MICHELE D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/25/2019
Don't buy this car in white!!!
This year's paint is defective. After the 50,000 mile warranty has passed, your paint (if white) will start to peel off and the car will rust. To repaint, it will cost $4,000 and Hyundai will not pay for it. This has been verified by 3 paint/body shops and Hyundai has had a lawsuit about this year and this color of paint.

Pros
Rides pretty smooth. Leather interior has held up pretty well. Plenty of power w/turbo 2.0

Cons
Paint is faulty in white, at least for the 2013 model year. Needs more insulation to stop road noise.Our next car purchase will NOT be a Hyundai- due to lack of support with a defective paint job. (This was verified by 3 car repair shops). Also, blind spots are an issue. Insurance on this vehicle is expensive, but don't know why.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kayli S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/05/2019
Recalled engine
Our engine was recalled at 100,000 miles. 25,000 miles later and the head gasket went out. This vehicle as given us endless issues and has seriously been a nightmare. I will be going with Honda or Toyota next time.

Pros
We liked all the features.

Cons
Features are worth nothing if you have a crap engine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DIANE H.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/16/2015
Has the potential to be a very nice vehicle but....
Did extensive research on SUV vehicles since my employment requires me to drive 4 to 5 hours daily, usually at night and all kinds of weather. I thought I had made the best choice but after 2 years I am so disappointed. High ratings for mileage, safety and excellent warranty swayed my decision to purchase this. The headlights are awful, the new technology has seriously missed the mark to the point of being dangerous. You cannot see street signs, addresses or animals on the side of the road or at a bit of a distance ahead of you. Very limited vision is very scary at night. Design of the vehicle causes major blind spots to the front and rear. Mechanically no problems so far, good gas mileage so as long you dont drive at night and can navigate with blind spots you're ok. Also, hope you dont get a flat tire. The jack that comes with the vehicle collapsed immediately and the free roadside assistance came over 2 hours after they were called in an unmarked sedan. Was told that I could get a remote start app for my my phone and add on after I purchased vehicle, Nope...not true for the vehicle I bought. DIdnt find that out till after I purchased, Very disappointing as a remote start was on my must have list. So I have a vehicle that had the potential to be a really nice vehicle but has missed the mark.

Pros
good gas mileage. handles well ice and snow. mechanically sound, low maintainence. drives nice and steers well

Cons
headlights are dangerous, poor night vision. moderate ride comfort. design front and back pillars make for major blind spots.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FR
FREDRIC R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/11/2015
Love the car, hate the company
Ti be clear, I have a 2013 Santa Fe 2.0 T AWD. I. LOVE. IT. it's got great handling, plenty of punch, storage and is a superb ride. 2 years in an no repairs needed outside of a few minor recalls (3 software and a clip of some kind). But the company is terrible.

When I bought the car, it came with locking lug nuts. Cool. But, it was not until I went to rotate the tires that I found out the dealership failed to give me the keys. The dealership I purchased from was a LONG way away, so I went to the one within a mile of my home. They refused to help because it was purchased elsewhere. The parts cost less than $50, but they wanted to charge me over $300 for the work... a Hyundai mistake.
When I contacted Hyundai USA, they backed Napleton Valley Hyundai's decision to screw me.

Bottom line, though I love the car, I can buy great cars elsewhere from companies that treat their customers like they matter. Hyundai lost a $40k car purchase because they wouldn't' fix a $50 (honest) mistake.

Pros
The car.

Cons
The company. And the dealers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
CLICIO G.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/05/2015
No coments
No coments

Pros
A good performace

Cons
Strange and permanent noise, may caused by tires, as dealer say

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KENNETH S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/24/2015
sante fe sport turbo
average

Pros
looks nice

Cons
difficult to steer in a straight line, gas mileage not as stated

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Berry H.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/15/2016
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe AWD
When the car runs good, it runs good. It handles good, does well in the snow and ice. We have had our car in the shop at least 20 times for the same problem starting 3 months after we bought the vehicle. we had it in the shop more than 3 times within the first year. If I had know then what I know now, I would have returned the car as a lemon. I love the car just tired of always having to take it to the shop. They changed a wiring harness this last time. Hopefully it fixes it. I don't know that I will ever buy another Hyundai again just from my personal experience with it. My parents have two Hyundai's, neither are a Santa Fe though. I was excited about getting it but when you are doing 70mph down the highway and the engine just loses power, it's pretty scary.

Pros
drives great in snow and ice
comfortable seats
great driver features

Cons
not well built
must have been built on a Monday or friday

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Patrick B.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/27/2016
Long Wheel Base v6 review.
Too many gremlins in the car for first year model.

Pros
Looks,

Cons
Too many times at dealer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mary S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/06/2016
Fully loaded, love the comfort, but NOT the Brand.
My Santa Fe is fully loaded n a beautiful car,..But i traded an Acura TL for this due to winters, n was assured of Hyundai quality service n standing behind their cars... So i had the full package, window etching in case car was stolen, tire warranty service, dent, nicks, paint touch ups......
After the first year,,.the rims started peeling,..went in they took pictures n Hyundai would not replace or stand behind the quality service.. it was a NEW CAR!..then i had issue with the front tire getting replaced after i was told when i purchased warranty that curbing a tire would be included,..They gave me unfriendly attitude n told me no n that there was nothing they could do for me,..after talking to manager, he was kind enough to listen n hear it was due to a mental part in road. He told them to put it into the computer about this issue,..not that they liked it but it was done for me at that point,..Then i had issues with a small dent on door n a few nicks, was told that had to be done by the body work department n at my expense!.. Again had to go through the manager n told him this was a to be covered under the paint, n Dent package I paid so much for,..After looking at it, and deciding I was told they could pull the dent out but could not touch up the paint,..So all they could do was put a clear coat on it,..yes to this day its shows the paint off. So do not take the paint, dent package. Money will be wasted!. Then my coverage for electronics ran out at 60, 000,..well at 61,000 wouldnt u know it,, The back up camera went out,..No they wouldnt replace it. When i spoke to the service dept, they didnt even know what part it was or if they had it. N now last week it started with no power, n shifting very hard at rpm over 5. The warranty on the motor n power train is still in force but was told the part was not included in the warranty,..so 430.00 later n two times of it being looked at i just got it back. I truly enjoy the comfort of my car n the turbo makes it give the power u need but will never recommend a Hyundai nor will i ever purchase one again. As soon as possible i will be trading it.

Pros
is great in winter, nice design, the turbo gives it good power, fully loaded is amazing n comfortable.

Cons
Too many issues, Hyundai will not stand behind their brand as stated, Back up cameras is a VERY common issue with not working, do research you will see. Cause of being a tiny bit over warranty they would not replace, rims peeled, issue with power loss n shifting hard after only 3 years. other issues that i wont mention.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 1999 in total