2013
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67
4.7
(1999 Reviews)
Latest review almost 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


DC
Danny C.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/04/2016
lowest
I am not pleased with the door handles and other plastic parts that are cheaply made in Japan or other country and are breaking.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
H S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/15/2016
could do better
way too many things went wrong in the first 2 years. Problems, recalls, campaigns, etc. Luckily the dealer did a good job of fixing the many problems

Pros
horrible build quality especially in first 2 years. No problems in years 2-4

Cons
lots of features, decent value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Theresa M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/13/2016
SANTA FE SPORT
NICELY STYLED

Cons
WIND NOISE ABOVE 50MPH VERY ANNOYING ON A LONG TRIP

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Everett R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/19/2016
Alignment Problems
Had to get another 4wheel alignment on my Santa Fe Sport around Thanksgiving. This will be the 5th wheel alignment since I bought this vehicle. I called Sears Automotive to have it taken care of. When I brought it in I talked with the service tech there and he said that my Santa Fe Sport was not the only one in town to encounter this problem. Sears have had several other local owners come in with the same issues. He said that the problem is brought on by the Automatic Steering program. Apparently when you change the steering wheel settings this some how affects the alignment. You would think that Hyundai could do something to correct this continuing problem and prevent this expensive problem!!

Pros
Cheap on gas, averages around 23mpg. The all wheel drive works well in deep snow.

Cons
Rough ride. Terrible road noise. Leather Seats are too hard, it seems that they skimped on the Cushing. Needs Alignments too often.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
John L.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/22/2017
MPG and others
Overall the Santa Fe is a good vehicle with a comfortable ride. I know there is an MPG glitch but its still unsettling to know and see the trip meter tell me I have traveled 50 miles when the tac shows I have only traveled 25-30 miles. Especially shortly after filling up with gas. Its even more annoying to watch the tac drop 5-6 miles when I have only gone 2-3 blocks. Also, all the reviews I have read claims the Santa Fe should get approximately 400 miles on a tank of gas, or 437/443/452 miles immediately after I fill up, but I am lucky if I get 370+/- miles on a tank of gas. I drive like I have sense. On board BlueLink mapping needs help. BlueLink , on several occasions, will/can not locate physical addresses and does not always take me on the most direct and efficient route to my destination. Only time BlueLink is reliable is when the subscription is due. Sirius XM is a nice service but its an absolute disaster to work with. Between Sirius XM blaming everything on the dealership from poor service to screwing up my account its just another problem to ponder and decide upon that takes some luster away from the Santa Fe. I am close to trade in time on my Santa Fe and I will have to check the competition.

Pros
Descent ride / warranty

Cons
MPG / BlueLink mapping & guidance (and they want to charge me $ to update system) / Sirius XM is a dissappointment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
George D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/01/2017
Santa Fe 2013
See below.

Pros
Beautiful, well designed and engineered for comfort and performance. This is our second Santa Fe and our first was wonderful for eleven years!

Cons
Ongoing intermittent problems with rear wheel speed sensors which were recalled and continues to be a problem, luckily under warranty "so far"...
Ongoing intermittent problems with response of touch screen and audio system for some time. (Unresolved) No audio for GPS, Bluetooth, backup, radio and sensors. Waiting for remedy from Hyundai?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Melinda T.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/27/2017
Nice Car!
We really like the car except for two things. Gas mileage is not as advertised. Also, the headlights are dim and do not light out far enough ahead of the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NR
Neal R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/17/2017
21013 Sante Fe
We enjoy the features, looks, and warranty on this veh. On the other side of the coin though, the fuel mileage is not close to what they sold it as on the vehicle sticker - and yes they are suppose to be reimbursing owners for the inflated advertised mileage but this was suppose to happen well over a year ago and still no settlement. That being said, our mileage is still below the revised Hyundai mileage by at least 2 MPG. One other concern we have with this veh is the inferior light output of the headlights. Even on brights it seems like 90 % of the cars that go by dont flash us as we forget to dim them because it doesnt seem like the brights are on to us either..

Cons
Poor fuel mileage and inferior light output from the headlights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Melissa T.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/26/2017
Santa Fe 2013
Car is just average and customer service is horrible. I would pay extra money for any car if they guaranteed good customer service. I have only had the car for 3 years and I feel like it is starting to fall apart. Very disappointed. Wish I leased instead of bought.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dolli C.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/30/2017
this vehicle has a recall pending that hyundai has not figured out what to do
i love this car and wish that i had know that it came with a 3rd row seating option. but it has a recall that hyundai has not figured out what to do about yet. it is possible that the car could stall going 70mph down the freeway. but everytime hyundai talks to me about my car they offer me a huge amount of money for a trade in.

Pros
blue tooth for phone calls and to control radio. handles well. 6 cylinders. all wheel drive. got the extended warranty. lots of room when lay seats down. roof rack.

Cons
blue tooth doesn't allow you to send texts or do other things with phone. too many safety recalls. steering is really loose. stereo says it has a lot of speakers but the sound system is not up to par. back up camera doesn't have enough pixels. side view mirror on driver's side is too big and gets in the way of turns.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Phyllis G.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/15/2017
Want to Love My Car
I Love my 2013 Santa Fe Sport. Though I am uncomfortable driving it waiting for the engine recall to happen and be taken care of. Right from the start I kept asking the service people in WV to check a sound which I thought was in the driver side rear. I would hear it and my friends would hear it, but I was told it was nothing. Now????

I would love to hold on to my Santa Fe Sport, because otherwise I love the looks and comfort of it.I have no idea of what I would get if I had to choose another vehicle.

Pros
Looks and Confort

Cons
Recall and Reliability definite cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KY
Kayla Y.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/08/2017
Overall ok.
Haven't really had any issues with my vehicle until most recently it honestly feels like my transmission is slipping and I have no money to get it looked at, I recently had my first baby and just don't have the funds right now. It's very disappointing if it is my transmission going out considering it's only a 2013!
I also wouldn't recommend this particular vehicle it's just like driving a small car in the winter wheather which I absolutely hate and it scares me. I really thought with getting a SUV it would've had 4WD or AWD and it doesn't I never thought to ask so part of that is my fault as well. We are hoping to be able to just trade it in once our money gets a little better.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
GLENN W.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/25/2017
Bumpy ride.
For the most part really like my Santa Fe however it does a horrible job on bumps. This is 3rd one I owned and has the worse ride. My passengers feel like they are being thrown around over the bumps.

Pros
Price and style

Cons
Bad over bumps

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sherrie C.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/26/2017
SANTE FE
THE VEHICLE NEEDS BETTER WEIGHT IN THE ASS END, HORRIBLE IN THE SNOW, NOT A WINTER VEHICLE AT ALL!

Pros
LOTS OF ROOM IN THE VEHICLE

Cons
CRAPPY TIRES , NOT A WINTER CAR

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Stephen A.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/28/2017
Love the car with A LOT of issues
I've had the car for less than a year and it probably should have been a certified pre-owned. Since I've had the car, I've had issues with the backup camera going it (it doesn't work at all if the weather is cold) and the engine blew recently. A rod snapped inside the engine and the car became useless. There was a recall on the car so luckily they replaced the engine at no cost. I'm hoping that from here on out I don't have any major issues for a long time but having a failing backup camera ($500 to replace) and a blown engine in the first year of ownership doesn't create a lot of confidence.

Pros
Great design inside and out
Lots of bells and whistles
affordable

Cons
Major engine issues
faulty backup camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Theresa M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/04/2017
SANTA FE
OUR SANTA FE DOES WELL,AS WELL AS ANY OTHER CAR OWNED WITH EXCEPTION OF EXCESSIVE CABIN NOISE DURING FREEWAY DRIVING,THIS WAS ADDRESSED TO THE DEALER THEN ON TO THE MANUFACTURE WHOM GAVE THE DEALER INSTRUCTIONS FOR CORRECTION WHICH DID NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM, THUS THE CASE WAS BASILY CLOSED, SO WITH THIS IN MIND WHEN BUYING ANOTHER VECHILE THIS MAY BE THE DECISION POINT NOT TO BUY ANOTHER HYUNDAI.

Cons
EXCESSIVE CABIN NOISE( WIND) DURING FREEY DRIVING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shirley S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/10/2017
Check careful before you buy
The radio is too small and should be more classy then this. Very poor insulation, this vehicle is too noisy and the carpet under the front seats does not go all the way up under dash. I would not recommend this particular model.

Cons
Car could be much nicer if the radio facing were bigger as other car makers are. Needs better insulation I can here the outside while I'm driving as if one of my Windows are down some. The head lights are too bright , they blind on coming vehicles and that's a safety issue. Looking forward to trading this vehicle in for a better vehicle with another car company.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Denise P.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/14/2017
8
Decent vehicle other than problems with engine, however covered under warranty

Pros
Good interior features

Cons
Issues with engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jay S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/23/2017
Hyundai Santa Fe overall ratings
Gas mileage is not even close to what is stated on the dealer papers.
Wish the ride was a little bit quieter.
Other than that it has been a good vehicle.

Pros
Backup camera
Comfortable ride
Good quality sound system

Cons
Gas mileage
A little noisy on road noise
CD player only holds one CD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Maynard B.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/15/2017
Only had a four-year had recalls on it any oil pan leak all less than a year
Don't know overall summary yet

Pros
Can't tell the pros

Cons
The conjured sucks doesn't have enough safety features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 1999 in total