2013
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67
4.7
(2001 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


MB
Maynard B.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/15/2017
Only had a four-year had recalls on it any oil pan leak all less than a year
Don't know overall summary yet

Pros
Can't tell the pros

Cons
The conjured sucks doesn't have enough safety features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GT
Gail T.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/26/2017
Love it!!!
I am very Happy with my 2013 Santa Fe sport love the way it handles it’s comfortable to ride in and it looks really good.

Pros
Looks & handling. Service on a recall problem.

Cons
Major engine issue due to recall.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Matthew J.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/04/2017
Just okay
We had the expectation about this vehicle, but it’s just an average car.

Pros
Styling, features, size, panaramic sunroof (until it exploded!), gas mileage.

Cons
No software updates, tech is quickly outdated. MPG’s are lower than expected but still higher that competitors. Transmission is sluggish and the engine is very underpowered. Rear seats slide forward, but provide very little extra trunk space. How about they slide backwards to provide more rear leg room. Expensive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
ROBERT R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/14/2017
Not my brightest buy
Loved the car from the outside looking in. Inside out, beautiful as well. Under the hood? Complete disaster. Not Sure if it's just this particular car or more but it was manufactured with defective parts completely. 2 motors before 100k miles. 2 turbo, and much more.

Pros
Comfort in numbers. Roomy.

Cons
Reliability is non existent. At 80k miles everything but the body had to be warrantied/repaired. Still doesnt perform like a 34k dollar car should.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Edward M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/23/2017
Two many recalls
AS A HYUNDAI OWNER, AND THE COMPANY KNOW THIS 2013 S.F. 2.0T HAS HAD ITS SHARE OF RECALLS FIRST TO START WITH ,THE M.P.G WAS NOT ACCURATE, SO WE GET A REBATE HAVE TO DRIVE 116 MILES TO THE DEALERSHIP TO VERIFY THE MILEAGE SO I CAN GET THE REBATE 2ND GAS ICON WOULD LIGHT -UP (COMPUTER) 3RD TURBO-OIL LINE, 4TH POSSIBLE METAL SHAVING IN ENGINE, REMEDY OIL CHANGE AND GET THIS (BRAND NEW DIPSTICK) (LOL) THE RECALL LIST CONTINUES. HAD A 2012 NO RECALLS , PURCHASE THE 2013 BRAND NEW $35,000.00 , ODOMETER NOW READS 38,896 MILES
WHEN WE PURCHASE THIS CAR IN GREEN VALLEY,AZ VETERANS HAD A $500.00 REBATE ,BUT YOU HAD TO SERVE 6 YEARS, I SERVE 4 YRS. ( ONCE A VETERAN ALWAYS A VETERAN) SO I DIDN'T QUALIFY

Pros
VERY FEW IN THIS 2013 MODEL TWO MANY RECALLS, HAD A 2012 NO RECALLS .THE QUESTION ?? IS THIS MODEL A LEMON .

Cons
2 MANY RECALLS!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shirley S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/05/2018
Disappointed
The Santa Fe needs improvements.It needs a biger display screen like the competitors are. Better insulation a smoother ride and the carpet in the front needs to go all the way up not stop at the gas and brakes.

Cons
Over charged the vehicle is not worthy of the price.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ricardo D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/24/2018
Car was great up until 40,000 miles
Loved this car, purchased it brand new and never had any issues until it got to 40,000 miles. Ever since, car smells like gas, is burning gas like crazy, has a delay in start issue and the dealer cannot figure out what's wrong.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tracy P.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/21/2018
2013 Santa Fe sport
Good SUV, has some issues with cheap parts failing, transmission acts crazy at times, mpg not accurate. All been fixed no prob with 5yr warnnaty! Overall good car, same as any with cheap parts failing!

Pros
Handles good, great warranty, price cheaper than most suv’s

Cons
Cheap parts, some issues needing fixed but nothing that hender’s driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/26/2018
Acceptable vehicle
My wife selected this car. I probably would not have selected or purchased it. I think there better SUVs available. The rear and side visibility is dangerous.The storage space is limited because the rear seats do not fold flat. Since the spare tire is mounted under the vehicle I expected more storage space under the rear deck. The storage space that is available does not provide room to store anything useful. Because of these limitations I would not consider purchasing another Hyundai Santa Fe.

Pros
Comfortable auto
Good performance
Good gas mileage

Cons
Poor rear and side visibility
Driver's side mirror obstructs front quarter view of obstacles
Rear seats don't fold flat.
Spare tire under vehicle
Electronic systems not intuitive
Limited storage space under rear deck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Angela J.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/08/2018
Love everything except the headlights
I absolutely love my 2013 Santa Fe. There is one issue that would cause me to trade and that is the bad angle of the headlights. They cannot be adjusted and on curvy country roads I can’t see far enough ahead to feel safe. This problem has been complained about online for years even up to the 2017 models. Unfortunately, it’s enough of a problem to cause me to never buy another Hyundai.

Pros
Spacious and adaptable. Stylish with bells and whistles

Cons
Bad angle of headlights. Great on city streets and highway, TERRIBLE on curvy country roads. Especially dangerous in rain. 👎👎👎
I literally feared for my life.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Coleen S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/14/2018
Review
I bought it for the gas mileage facture but a little disappointed that the published number are for perfect weather only. The gas mileage goes way down in winter Wisconsin weather
.Very disappointed in the back up camera, doesn't work and cost too much to have it fixed.

Pros
all wheel drive, lot's of space inside

Cons
Back up camera only worked for short period of time. Was replaced once but second one was crap too

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Joseph T.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/23/2018
Could be better
Our experience with our 2013 Santa Fe sport has been a very mixed bag. Overall, this vehicle has some very nice features it’s spacious with great cargo space, has comfortable seating, good electronics (except for the doors locks that were never fixed) However, the suspension system (probably the struts) didn’t hold up well at all. The ride was comprised in just 2-3 years. Additionally, the vehicle handling on a highway was always poor until the factory tires were replaced with a good set of michelin tires after 50,000 miles. Lastly, our engine failed at 79,000. miles just a few weeks ago while we were on vacation. Although it was covered under warranty, we felt betrayed because we were never apprised of the possibility that this could happen in that model year. This was not the vehicle we expected when we purchased it in 2013.

Pros
Cargo space
Seating
Amenities

Cons
Poor ride-suspension failure
Engine failure
Factory tires-sway at highway speed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BI
Bob I.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/28/2018
disappointed
Had to replace a starter lever which was broken in half and caused my being stranded on a busy road. Why Hyundai would make that moving plastic part and put it in the middle of an engine makes no sense. Of course it's eventually going to break which is what happened. It also cost a lot to repair because the starter is so deep inside the engine compartment. Very disappointed and wasted my whole day.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shannon S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/11/2018
Nice but room for improvement
I love my Santa fe however it really wish I had gotten all wheel drive. This truck is not good in Michigan winters. It slides and gets stuck. My tires were pretty new. I even though I would just change them and the guy at the dealer told me they didn't need it. I am not looking forward to my winter commute coming soon

Pros
Looks good. Comfortable ride

Cons
Too light. Gets stuck in snow, diffinitly need all wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
James D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/08/2018
Review of my Santa Fe Sport 2T
The car has been a good car. Some design issues: the noise I get when a back window is open, very irritating. A service light for the passenger air bag goes on and off on its own, service has not been able to fix, the fuel gauge being inside the gas tank was an issue on a repair. Radio could be upgraded to be easier to use. Gas mileage reimbursement program is not well managed and is very disappointing and Hyundai does not respond and because of this issue I would have to think hard about replacement with another Hyundai.

Cons
gas mileage reimbursement program is bad and I gave up
fuel tank inside the gas tank
passenger air bag light goes on and off
noise from car when windows are down

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Cynthia L.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/10/2018
Review
Paint job is poor. Had oil problem with turbo. Gas mileage falling in last year. Xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcc xxxxxxxx cxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxcccxcccxxxxxxxxxxxxx cxxxxxxxxxxxxx. Cxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Deborah M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/12/2018
Brakes are a serious issue.
I have always loved my 2013 Santa Fe Sport until my rear brakes failed for a second time just 23,800 miles since the first time when both front and rear brakes gave out, ruining the rear rotors each time. There was absolutely NO warning either time. There is only 57,000 miles on the vehicle. I do not ride the brake or otherwise cause premature wear. I will not buy this model again as there are obviously problems with brake wear, backed up by a quick google search. This was my first Hyundai and may be my last. The great comfort and features of my car are not as important as safety and the resulting expense.

Pros
Very comfortable and nice interior features. Decent mileage for an SUV.

Cons
Premature brake wear with no warning when they are about to fail.
No blind spot monitors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Bamidele K.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/20/2018
Beauty and the beast
Wonderful exterior and interior design but a massive flop of engine design to match the car convenience. I bought the car relatively new and confronted with engine and turbo problem which Larry Miller resolved for me. Am holding on to the car because of Larry Miller having faith they got me.

Pros
It's exterior design is wonderful and make.you expect more. The sound system is ok and a plus. Open roof well designed.leather seat, trunk compartment leg room and so on are great. Many times have pulled over on the high way thinking my tired is out with the movement of the car not knowing it has to do with the strength

Cons
Not stable on high way at 70 mph or more compare to most car have drived passing next to cars or truck. It's not firm at all while on the run. The sound of engines is like a diseal engine and not silent enough. I have a turbo engine which I consider not moving enough.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HJ
Helene J.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/02/2018
cheap electronics and they know it
solid basic vehicle electronic add-ons not worth it. buttons very hard to read and operate. guessing what you need versus what it does.
dealer remote start shuts off when your ready to drive and step on the brake. Now you have to start everything again including electronics.

Pros
basics

Cons
electronics

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Kristen F.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/15/2019
Not as good as previous year models
The 2013 Sante Fe is not the same quality as previous year models I have owned. It seems to have cut corners. My vehicle has had numerous recalls and I have had to repair it more often. The seat recline lever broke before I even drove the new car off the lot. I had to replace both front and rear breaks (not just brake pads) before the car had 35,000 miles.

Pros
Good warranty. Roomy vehicle. Attractive design. Good gas mileage.

Cons
Lack of standard safety features such as rear view cameras. Quality of vehicle has declined and maintenance costs are high. Needs service frequently.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 2001 in total