2013
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2127 Reviews)
Latest review about 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


SA
Stephen A.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/28/2017
Love the car with A LOT of issues
I've had the car for less than a year and it probably should have been a certified pre-owned. Since I've had the car, I've had issues with the backup camera going it (it doesn't work at all if the weather is cold) and the engine blew recently. A rod snapped inside the engine and the car became useless. There was a recall on the car so luckily they replaced the engine at no cost. I'm hoping that from here on out I don't have any major issues for a long time but having a failing backup camera ($500 to replace) and a blown engine in the first year of ownership doesn't create a lot of confidence.

Pros
Great design inside and out
Lots of bells and whistles
affordable

Cons
Major engine issues
faulty backup camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Theresa M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/04/2017
SANTA FE
OUR SANTA FE DOES WELL,AS WELL AS ANY OTHER CAR OWNED WITH EXCEPTION OF EXCESSIVE CABIN NOISE DURING FREEWAY DRIVING,THIS WAS ADDRESSED TO THE DEALER THEN ON TO THE MANUFACTURE WHOM GAVE THE DEALER INSTRUCTIONS FOR CORRECTION WHICH DID NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM, THUS THE CASE WAS BASILY CLOSED, SO WITH THIS IN MIND WHEN BUYING ANOTHER VECHILE THIS MAY BE THE DECISION POINT NOT TO BUY ANOTHER HYUNDAI.

Cons
EXCESSIVE CABIN NOISE( WIND) DURING FREEY DRIVING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shirley S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/10/2017
Check careful before you buy
The radio is too small and should be more classy then this. Very poor insulation, this vehicle is too noisy and the carpet under the front seats does not go all the way up under dash. I would not recommend this particular model.

Cons
Car could be much nicer if the radio facing were bigger as other car makers are. Needs better insulation I can here the outside while I'm driving as if one of my Windows are down some. The head lights are too bright , they blind on coming vehicles and that's a safety issue. Looking forward to trading this vehicle in for a better vehicle with another car company.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Denise P.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/14/2017
8
Decent vehicle other than problems with engine, however covered under warranty

Pros
Good interior features

Cons
Issues with engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jay S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/23/2017
Hyundai Santa Fe overall ratings
Gas mileage is not even close to what is stated on the dealer papers.
Wish the ride was a little bit quieter.
Other than that it has been a good vehicle.

Pros
Backup camera
Comfortable ride
Good quality sound system

Cons
Gas mileage
A little noisy on road noise
CD player only holds one CD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Maynard B.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/15/2017
Only had a four-year had recalls on it any oil pan leak all less than a year
Don't know overall summary yet

Pros
Can't tell the pros

Cons
The conjured sucks doesn't have enough safety features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GT
Gail T.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/26/2017
Love it!!!
I am very Happy with my 2013 Santa Fe sport love the way it handles it’s comfortable to ride in and it looks really good.

Pros
Looks & handling. Service on a recall problem.

Cons
Major engine issue due to recall.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Matthew J.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/04/2017
Just okay
We had the expectation about this vehicle, but it’s just an average car.

Pros
Styling, features, size, panaramic sunroof (until it exploded!), gas mileage.

Cons
No software updates, tech is quickly outdated. MPG’s are lower than expected but still higher that competitors. Transmission is sluggish and the engine is very underpowered. Rear seats slide forward, but provide very little extra trunk space. How about they slide backwards to provide more rear leg room. Expensive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
ROBERT R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/14/2017
Not my brightest buy
Loved the car from the outside looking in. Inside out, beautiful as well. Under the hood? Complete disaster. Not Sure if it's just this particular car or more but it was manufactured with defective parts completely. 2 motors before 100k miles. 2 turbo, and much more.

Pros
Comfort in numbers. Roomy.

Cons
Reliability is non existent. At 80k miles everything but the body had to be warrantied/repaired. Still doesnt perform like a 34k dollar car should.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Edward M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/23/2017
Two many recalls
AS A HYUNDAI OWNER, AND THE COMPANY KNOW THIS 2013 S.F. 2.0T HAS HAD ITS SHARE OF RECALLS FIRST TO START WITH ,THE M.P.G WAS NOT ACCURATE, SO WE GET A REBATE HAVE TO DRIVE 116 MILES TO THE DEALERSHIP TO VERIFY THE MILEAGE SO I CAN GET THE REBATE 2ND GAS ICON WOULD LIGHT -UP (COMPUTER) 3RD TURBO-OIL LINE, 4TH POSSIBLE METAL SHAVING IN ENGINE, REMEDY OIL CHANGE AND GET THIS (BRAND NEW DIPSTICK) (LOL) THE RECALL LIST CONTINUES. HAD A 2012 NO RECALLS , PURCHASE THE 2013 BRAND NEW $35,000.00 , ODOMETER NOW READS 38,896 MILES
WHEN WE PURCHASE THIS CAR IN GREEN VALLEY,AZ VETERANS HAD A $500.00 REBATE ,BUT YOU HAD TO SERVE 6 YEARS, I SERVE 4 YRS. ( ONCE A VETERAN ALWAYS A VETERAN) SO I DIDN'T QUALIFY

Pros
VERY FEW IN THIS 2013 MODEL TWO MANY RECALLS, HAD A 2012 NO RECALLS .THE QUESTION ?? IS THIS MODEL A LEMON .

Cons
2 MANY RECALLS!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shirley S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/05/2018
Disappointed
The Santa Fe needs improvements.It needs a biger display screen like the competitors are. Better insulation a smoother ride and the carpet in the front needs to go all the way up not stop at the gas and brakes.

Cons
Over charged the vehicle is not worthy of the price.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ricardo D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/24/2018
Car was great up until 40,000 miles
Loved this car, purchased it brand new and never had any issues until it got to 40,000 miles. Ever since, car smells like gas, is burning gas like crazy, has a delay in start issue and the dealer cannot figure out what's wrong.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tracy P.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/21/2018
2013 Santa Fe sport
Good SUV, has some issues with cheap parts failing, transmission acts crazy at times, mpg not accurate. All been fixed no prob with 5yr warnnaty! Overall good car, same as any with cheap parts failing!

Pros
Handles good, great warranty, price cheaper than most suv’s

Cons
Cheap parts, some issues needing fixed but nothing that hender’s driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/26/2018
Acceptable vehicle
My wife selected this car. I probably would not have selected or purchased it. I think there better SUVs available. The rear and side visibility is dangerous.The storage space is limited because the rear seats do not fold flat. Since the spare tire is mounted under the vehicle I expected more storage space under the rear deck. The storage space that is available does not provide room to store anything useful. Because of these limitations I would not consider purchasing another Hyundai Santa Fe.

Pros
Comfortable auto
Good performance
Good gas mileage

Cons
Poor rear and side visibility
Driver's side mirror obstructs front quarter view of obstacles
Rear seats don't fold flat.
Spare tire under vehicle
Electronic systems not intuitive
Limited storage space under rear deck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Angela J.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/08/2018
Love everything except the headlights
I absolutely love my 2013 Santa Fe. There is one issue that would cause me to trade and that is the bad angle of the headlights. They cannot be adjusted and on curvy country roads I can’t see far enough ahead to feel safe. This problem has been complained about online for years even up to the 2017 models. Unfortunately, it’s enough of a problem to cause me to never buy another Hyundai.

Pros
Spacious and adaptable. Stylish with bells and whistles

Cons
Bad angle of headlights. Great on city streets and highway, TERRIBLE on curvy country roads. Especially dangerous in rain. ???
I literally feared for my life.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Coleen S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/14/2018
Review
I bought it for the gas mileage facture but a little disappointed that the published number are for perfect weather only. The gas mileage goes way down in winter Wisconsin weather
.Very disappointed in the back up camera, doesn't work and cost too much to have it fixed.

Pros
all wheel drive, lot's of space inside

Cons
Back up camera only worked for short period of time. Was replaced once but second one was crap too

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Joseph T.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/23/2018
Could be better
Our experience with our 2013 Santa Fe sport has been a very mixed bag. Overall, this vehicle has some very nice features it’s spacious with great cargo space, has comfortable seating, good electronics (except for the doors locks that were never fixed) However, the suspension system (probably the struts) didn’t hold up well at all. The ride was comprised in just 2-3 years. Additionally, the vehicle handling on a highway was always poor until the factory tires were replaced with a good set of michelin tires after 50,000 miles. Lastly, our engine failed at 79,000. miles just a few weeks ago while we were on vacation. Although it was covered under warranty, we felt betrayed because we were never apprised of the possibility that this could happen in that model year. This was not the vehicle we expected when we purchased it in 2013.

Pros
Cargo space
Seating
Amenities

Cons
Poor ride-suspension failure
Engine failure
Factory tires-sway at highway speed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BI
Bob I.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/28/2018
disappointed
Had to replace a starter lever which was broken in half and caused my being stranded on a busy road. Why Hyundai would make that moving plastic part and put it in the middle of an engine makes no sense. Of course it's eventually going to break which is what happened. It also cost a lot to repair because the starter is so deep inside the engine compartment. Very disappointed and wasted my whole day.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shannon S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/11/2018
Nice but room for improvement
I love my Santa fe however it really wish I had gotten all wheel drive. This truck is not good in Michigan winters. It slides and gets stuck. My tires were pretty new. I even though I would just change them and the guy at the dealer told me they didn't need it. I am not looking forward to my winter commute coming soon

Pros
Looks good. Comfortable ride

Cons
Too light. Gets stuck in snow, diffinitly need all wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
James D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/08/2018
Review of my Santa Fe Sport 2T
The car has been a good car. Some design issues: the noise I get when a back window is open, very irritating. A service light for the passenger air bag goes on and off on its own, service has not been able to fix, the fuel gauge being inside the gas tank was an issue on a repair. Radio could be upgraded to be easier to use. Gas mileage reimbursement program is not well managed and is very disappointing and Hyundai does not respond and because of this issue I would have to think hard about replacement with another Hyundai.

Cons
gas mileage reimbursement program is bad and I gave up
fuel tank inside the gas tank
passenger air bag light goes on and off
noise from car when windows are down

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 2127 in total