2013
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67
4.7
(1999 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


ST
Suzanne T.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/08/2019
Too many recalls
I have now taken my Sante Fe in for Hyundai recalls numerous times. I have never owned a vehichle with so many issues. My back up camera stopped working completely and the vehicle wasnt even 5 years old yet. I was told that the back up camera was not under warranty. Also, I have read that the back up camera in Hyundais are known problem with no resolution. Very disappointing. I love the space, design and many other features of the Sante Fe but getting irritated with being inconvenienced taking my car in for recalls, with no type of compensation.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Debbie W.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/11/2019
Hyundai Corporation does not believe in satisfying customers
Overall pretty good car if didnt have the oil leaking problem, takes time to bring the car every 1000 miles, 4 or 5 times. Did not appreciate when the car was brand new having to pay over $200. to fix the switch on door that opens the gas door. Had extended warranty and it was 40,000 miles old.

Cons
Simple things have gone wrong, the gas door opener broke and replaced at my cost when the car was new! Very fragile, takes awhile to open. Having to go 4 times for oil consumption tests, when my husband checks it is 2 to 2/12 qts low, the dealer always starts with a oil change and i think they must put extra oil because the only show 1 1/2 qts low. The front driver seat motion motor had problems early on.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Raafiyah K.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/24/2019
Average
I love Hyundai SantaFe’s However The sport is totally different. I would not by the sport again I going back to the Hyundai SantaFe . I had my first Hyundai for 14 years I loved that car.The sport is totally different

Pros
Nice car

Cons
Too many recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Deborah M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/29/2019
Remains to be seen.
I used to tell people this is the best vehicle I have ever had. Now, however, I am cautious saying that. My brakes (front and back) failed after about 23,000 miles. The rear brakes failed again at about (close estimate without checking my detailed log) when odometer was about 50,000 miles. First, the second set of brakes were not routinely inspected by my former dealership. However, when I researched the internet to see if brake failure was often reported I discovered that engine failure was reported a lot and that customers were receiving no help from Hyundai. Lot and behold I got a notice re: that engine problem from Hyundai last week and have had it serviced with the “fix” installed.
I have a folder about my brake problems with very detailed information, using Burdick Hyundai’s own service checklist, which leads me to believe that the second brake failure (which was dangerous) May have been due in part to negligence/improper attention to them during routine inspections, tire rotations, etc. Genuine Hyundai parts (some) were not used during the first repair. I really should send all that info to you since it cost this retired lady on a fixed income $1300., money I had earmarked for home repairs. Fucillo Service in Watertown NY was excellent. As to the original question if I like my Hyundai, frankly I am quite nervous about what will go wrong next....brakes twice, potential for engine failure....unfortunately I am no longer feeling confident and am undecided if I would buy another Hyundai. My daughter bought a used 2015 Sport because I had been so happy with mine until the first brake failure. She told me she will likely not patronize Burdick Hyundai again not buy another one. I used to give this car a solid 10 and am sorry it is a shaky 4 or 5 now.

Pros
Comfortable in all seats
Spacious cargo area
Heating/cooling
Good acceleration and smooth ride

Cons
No blind spot side mirrors.
Brake issues!!!
Reported issues of engine failure requiring a (free) fix from Hyundai

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Sonia W.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/23/2019
No Recalls for future
Can show Sting dependiable
Yet a good drive , setas to Hard
Blind sports, Notable , stronger break stablilty speakers an setas better made quality ,a enhanced mirror for left, right mirror, interior lights bright, headey lights more defined

Pros
Can SHOW VERY DEPENDABLE PERFORMANC

Cons
Blind sports
Breaks
Bushings
Engine recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Phyllis G.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/30/2019
Santa Fe reliability’s
All in all a good car would not buy again!. There were too many recalls, General service appointment always revealed a problem. Vehicle ok but not as expected. Reliability became a concern always take care of service and recalls.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Too many recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

UL
Ursela L.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/05/2019
Santa Fe Review
I have 56 thousand miles on my vehicle and the warranty just went out. Just in time for three lights to illuminate. The ECS (Electronic Stability Control), DBC (Downhill Break Control) and ABS (Antilock Breaking System) are all illuminated. After searching the internet, I have found numerous complaints of the exact same nature. Some even stating that they were told it would cost $4500.00 to correct as the wire bundle had to be replaced. Up to this point, I have been very pleased with my Santa Fe, how Hyundai handles this issue for me will directly effect my decision to purchase another brand.

Pros
It is a pleasure to drive. Love the richness of the interior with the simulated wood grain dash detail. The body styling is appealing.

Cons
There have been several recalls on this vehicle. The seats could use more cushioning for the long drives.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Elizabeth D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/08/2019
Santa Fe sport
I have a 2013 Santa Fe sport. 87,000 miles. It seems like the past few months, I have had to have it repaired several times. It is not as dependable as I thought it would be. Just not sure I would buy another Hyundai.

Pros
Has all the bells and whistle’s. Very comfortable to drive.

Cons
Too many problems developing with not so many miles on the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
Wade D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/02/2019
?
Car nice. Plenty of electrical problems. Steering issues. Leather seats don’t hold up. AC problems. Tail light problems. Electric seat motor problems. Starting to have problems with media / navigation system. As much as we liked the car in the beginning not sure if I would buy another ?

Pros
Nice looking car

Cons
Plenty of electrical problems

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/21/2015
Hyundai Sante Fe
Overall has been a very reliable vehicle, is great to drive, performs very well during our winter months with the AWD and is very stylish.

Pros
The 2.0 turbo makes this vehicle accelerate quickly which makes passing other cars a breeze.

Cons
Front end suspension noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

C
C.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/06/2015
LOTS O POWER UNDER THE HOOD WITH THE TURBO.
VERY GOOD CLIMBING GRADES. NO PROBLEM AT ALL ! THE TURBO GIVES YOU ALL THE POWER YOU COULD NEED. INSIDE IS VERY COMFORTABLE. OUTSIDE VERY ATTRACTIVE STYLE. FANTASTIC A/C AND HEATER. WARMS UP QUICK AND A/C VERY COMFORTABLE. VERY SMOOTH RIDING ON THE FREEWAY. MILEAGE IS GOOD ON THE FREEWAY AND ON LONG TRIPS. HIGHEST MPG WAS 31 MILES PER GALLON ON LONG DRIVE. HOWEVER, AROUND TOWN ABOUT 20 MILES PER GALLON. IF YOU RACE AROUND TOWN AND LOTS OF STOP AND GO TRAFFIC EXPECT ABOUT 18 MILES PER GALLON. VEHICLE CORNERS WELL AND IS VERY QUIET. THE HYUNDAI WARRANTY IS THE BEST I COULD FIND. THE HYUNDAI DEALER WAS VERY NICE TO DO BUSINESS WITH. I HAD NO PROBLEMS. ..

Pros
QUIET, GOOD WARRANTY, STYLE, TURBO IS THE WAY TO GO WITH THIS MODEL, SEAT WARMERS VERY COMFORTABLE ON COLD DAYS. THE HEATER AND A/C IS FANTASTIC! CONTROLS USER FRIENDLY AND ATTRACTIVE. GOOD CRASH RATING. TRANSMISSION VERY SMOOTH.

Cons
MILEAGE AROUND TOWN COULD BE BETTER. ON A ROUGH ROAD , YOU WILL FEEL THE POT HOLES. BLIND SPOTS. BE CAREFUL WHEN YOU CHANGE LANES.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BO
Bonnie O.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/08/2015
poor gas mileage
It serves us well for the reason we bought it which was for traveling and rowing a camper and carrying our pets with us.

Cons
Poor gas mileage on the road and in town.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Drew B.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/27/2015
Great vehicle, Bad GPS.
Everything works great except the GPS.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jon M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/15/2015
Overall great car...maintenance minder functionality is stone-age compared to my Honda
Vehicle is very smooth and quiet on the highway...nice feature set overall. Navigation isn't as nice as my little portable Garmin GPS (the Hyundai wants to take some VERY strange routes and doesn't show the current speed on the map like my Garmin - (it even turns RED if you are speeding...very handy reminder). The main negative is the maintenance minder....very rudimentary - simply "reset" the reminder for any number of miles you want?? How about TELLING me when I need to change the oil (my Honda and Toyota both show remaining % of oil life based on my actual driving conditions, NOT just 5000 miles period). BLUELINK is a JOKE - sends me emails that everything is great even after I receive a recall notice for replacing the fuel line so the vehicle won't catch on fire!!?? Why not use BLUELINK to tell me about the recall?! Get an email telling me I should schedule to get my oil changed a week after I already did....all based on estimated mileage....not real data from the car like most other manufacturers. Again overall very happy thus far but plan to keeping up with required maintenance on your own.

Pros
very quiet and smooth
comfortable with nice feature set

Cons
Navigation algorithms seem "off"
Should include actual speed on map as compared to speed limit
Maintenance minder system is rudimentary

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
ERIN G.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2015
Great family hauler
Got this vehicle when we knew we were expecting a baby. I had to trade in my genesis coupe for it, but I have no regrets. Not built for performance, but is sure footed in bad weather.

Pros
Great value for the money.

Cons
Fuel economy not so great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WY
WILLAIM Y.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/30/2015
door locks.
I would prefer the doors remained locked when I put in park
better gas mileage.

Cons
Acceleration not smooth ln 40 mph range when going up grades.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HARRY H.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/14/2015
2013 Santa Fe Sport
Great Car...........provide a retro fit rear back up camera(by Hyundai), and this car will be a long time keeper for me.

Pros
The style lines on the 2013 Santa Fe have not changed in three years, and probably won't change much in the next two. Beautiful car with a comfortable ride.

Cons
Sight lines are horrible. It's taking me three years to get comfortable in navigating through crowded parking lots, parking in general, and especially backing up. Back Up & Blind Spot monitoring cameras are pretty much standard now, but it was an expensive option in 2013. (Don't think they had blind spot monitoring in '13)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2015
A quality vehicle
The new santa fe is a well appointed vehicle by any standard and should not take a back seat to any SUV. The controls are easy to get to and well laid out so there is very little driver distraction. I have the 2.0 turbo with the leather pkg and all wheel drive and find this competes with my neighbors more expensive SUV's. This they have told me.
My only complaint is that the marketing department does not do any justice to this fine vehicle and all it's features in it's ads.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HN
Holly N.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/28/2015
Love it!
Before I realized I would have an opportunity to review my vehicle, I included the following in my review of the car dealership. This is the appropriate place to put my comments. "What I was disappointed to find out was that if my radio speakers go out again, I will need to purchase a new radio! On a 2013 vehicle! This may not become necessary, but if it does, I will seriously question the quality of the radio that Hyundai is using in their vehicles. This should be one of the simplest pieces of equipment. Keeping my fingers crossed that this does not become an issue." I love my vehicle and will be very sad if I have to replace the radio, or any other basic part.

Pros
Heated steering wheel & seats, in back too!
Glass and open roof options.
Back up camera, although a little misleading...

Cons
Would look sportier with twin lines.
It is cold natured and gears do not change as easily when it is cold.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KATHLEEN S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/25/2015
Kit's 2013 Santa Fe
I am happy with the performance of the car. I am not happy with the visibility problems. The car should be able to be engineered to have way fewer blind spots.

Cons
see comments above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 1999 in total