2014
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5rating 4.66
4.7
(725 Reviews)
Latest review about 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


BW
BETTY W.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/01/2015
ejjj
Iiii

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DAVID G.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/01/2015
Very poor quality
Nice looking vehicle, but low quality manufacturing has resulted in noise in vehicle between 40-50 mph. Although vehicle has been with dealership almost 30 days problem cannot be determined or corrected. Very soon, I will be using remedies available to me under California State Law to correct this situation.

Pros
Anything I found attractive about the vehicle prior to purchase has been negated by poor quality of the vehicle.

Cons
Defect in manufacturing has resulted in noise present when driving between 40-50 mph. Car has been at dealership almost a month and noise problem cannot be diagnosed or corrected.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JAYNEE L.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/14/2015
Santa Fe limited 2014
I like the features thst are provided. I think for the price you get a lot of good features

Pros
I like all the features on my car especially the rear and side warning alerts. Maybe have camera in front also.

Cons
Hesitation on acceleration when speeding and need yo accelerate more suddenly. Would have liked full second row seat on Limited.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SASHIKANTH M.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/04/2015
Most uncomfortable seats ever.
The seats are very uncomfortable. Most uncomfortable car I ever drove.
I have been driving it for one year and never gotten used to the
seats, and find myself driving my other ten year old cheap car.

The problems is that the seat is too deep and does not have enough
cushioning in the back. Also, when driving in a curve, there is no
support in the seats to prevent me from veering to the left or right.
In other words, the seats are too big, and I get a back pain from
driving it for more than 10 minutes. Every other car I drove was
better than this.

I saw the same inferior quality seats in a Hyundai elantra too. I will
never buy a Hyundai again and would discourage anyone from buying
these cars.

Pros
Good looks.
Good features (blind spot assist, parking assist, sun roof, navigation).

Cons
- Seats are very uncomfortable.
- Air conditioning and heating are a bit weak.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
STEPHEN D.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/25/2016
Vehicle is Great, but company is not.
Paint started to bubble off the front area of the car. You can see some contaminate is under the paint, no big deal it happens. However the dealership said they could not fix it without permission so they took a picture with their cell phone. A couple of months later I called back to see what was up. They never got an answer, they sent it again. This time from one picture Hyundai said it was caused by a rock and they would not cover it. The paint continues to bubble and fall off and they still will not honor their warrantee so the next vehicle I buy will not be a Hyundai, Unless they fix it.

Pros
Good fuel economy, reliable

Cons
Hyundai appears to be changing from customer service to Penney pinching

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ADRIANNE S.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/03/2016
SantaFe Sport
I no longer own this vehicle. I felt it was a total lemon! I was disgusted with the frequency of needed repairs on repeat issues that never got fully resolved.

Pros
Sporty looking
Some nice finishes and features
Comfortable for long trips

Cons
Fuel & engine issues
Upholstery
Cheaply made plastic panel on front passenger's seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LUANN R.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/07/2016
NOT HAPPY AT ALL
I WOULD LIKE MY CAR FIXED OR GIVE ME A BRAND NEW CAR

Cons
SOUNDS LIKE YOUR DRIVING IN A WIND TUNNEL AND THEN YOU GET A LOUD POPPING SOUND LIKE A DENT FROM A TIN CAN

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DAVID M.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/03/2017
Cheaply made vehicle
Hyundai and dealership does not care about high quality or its customers.

Pros
Design

Cons
Reliability and functionality of mechanics

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Diane M.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/09/2018
A good vehicle if serviced properly
You pay extra money to have the vehicle serviced properly but everytime you need something fixed you get " Sorry we can't duplicate the problem" as you drive away with the same noise you showed up with.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Robin F.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/16/2019
Lack Reliability!!!
I've been a loyal Hyundai customer since 1996. I've had everything from an accent to a Elantra to a Sonata. I finally upgraded to a seven-seater due to the expansion of my family. I was so excited that I convinced other people to purchase cars from Hyundai. I've had the worst experience with my Santa Fe. I now have PTSD from all the problems I've experienced for the last 3 1/2 years. I don't believe that I will ever purchase another truck from Hyundai. However, I would recommend their cars I had my former cars for over 13years each before they clunked out on me. My family grew up in our family cars.

Pros
Spacious
Overall look

Cons
Performance
Reliability
Constant under the hood problems after 3 years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
Peter R.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/23/2019
4 years of continuous problems
Purchase new in 2014. We have had the air cond. system go out on us now 4 times ( as of 08-23-19) Sun roof going off track, countless times. Passinger seat motor go out twice . Continue to have loud clicking with rotation of wheels for the past 1 1/2 years. New tires and 1-wheel wearing out faster than others. Dealer finds nothing. Thank God for purchasing extended warranty. All this and we just hit 60,000 miles. That's all the miles this car has. We will continue to keep this car until we hit 100,000 miles as that is when the warranty is up.

Pros
Seats everyone well. Feels secure when you drive it

Cons
Continues to have mechanical issues all the time. Too many blind spots when it comes to lane changing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/29/2015
santa fe limited al wheel drive
it is better than i imagined
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
WILLIAM M.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/07/2015
My Santa Fe 2014
I bought my Santa Fe 2014 after extensive analysis of models, comparable in same category. The Consumers Guide rated as top choice. This vehicle is perfect for in-town or neighborhood driving,.. short trips. Plenty of power, quick steering, safety features. However, for highway, freeway, or long trip driving, the vehicle is severely lacking. To enjoy being in the car for long period driving, there must be present three essential conditions: 1) good tires & suspension, 2) comfortable seats, 3) flexible steering. Here is what I actually experience for these conditions: 1a) the Kumho tires are hard rubber and make a whining noise on most road surfaces as well as 'thumping' noise crossing breaks in road, 2a) bucket seats are very hard & firm, with very little bounce (I put a pad in the seat to help add comfort), 3a) steering is firm and stiff, very positive, and there seems to be a 'high point', like you are 'riding over' a point that separates left and right, definitely two-handed steering at all times. Steering wheel, left unattended even for a moment, will quickly wander out of the lane. As I said, short trips work very well... various safety features, navigation, audio, display, design interior, body structure, and many extras are very nice.

Pros
safety features, navigation, audio, display, design interior, body structure, and many extras are very nice.

Cons
seats very uncomfortable, steering stiff and not easy to drive on highway, tires are hard and make whining noise, shocks + tires relay 'thudding' noise" inside when driving over road surface cracks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MARIANNE L.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/30/2016
Bad brakes
Cold brakes cause car not too stop

Pros
Great drive and style

Cons
Not dependable and risky to druve

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/16/2016
Buy a Honda
Steering failed at 3,200 miles, car was not drivable, had to be towed to dealer. Replacement part was not available. Told dealer to take part from another new Santa Fe on the lot. They told me they were all like that (but they didn't stop selling them), so I reported the problem to the NHTSA. It took 25 (25!) days to complete the repair. Buy a Honda, Toyota, Ford, Chevrolet, but not one of these. Oh, and the 5-year warranty - wasn't. It didn't cover the radio! Better to buy a vehicle with a 3-year warranty for a lower price and then extend the warranty. I sure will.

Pros
None

Cons
Price too high, warranty deception, steering failed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
James O.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/16/2018
Computer went out 3000 miles over warranty.
Vehicle handles well, looks good, had no major issues until warranty expired. Purchased new. 103,005 trouble started, air conditioning problems, computer went out which was $2600, battery issue. I simply could not believe all the problems. I personally purchase because of the warranty to no avail. Will not purchase another. Vehicle does not retain good resale value. 2014 ultimate technology package.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HW
Howard W.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/16/2019
Fine for a lease.
Lots of safety features. Lots of comfort items. Do not try to take quick turns poor handling. Transmission went out at 50000miles. It will get you from Point A to point B in comfort. Good gas mileage. Fine for a short term lease.

Pros
All the bells and whistles. Comfortable. Good gas mileage.

Cons
Not happy with any car whose transmission goes out at 50000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Chuck S.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/03/2019
It Pains Me To Say
Do NOT buy this vehicle until Hyundai recalls the transmission/shifting/acceleration problem. I've had to forget it and abort trying to pass someone on the highway if there's not enough room to wait for the car to respond. And don't ask me if it's in Eco Mode because it happens when it's not in Eco Mode too. Remind me why should it be happening at all?? It's sad because I love everything else about this vehicle, but I need my acceleration to work when I push the pedal down. Pretty basic.

Pros
Nice everything for the money

Cons
Major acceleration/shifting/transmission problem that they're pretending is not a problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
PAUL C.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/01/2015
Nice car that could be better
Hyundai should take some lessons on customer service and car design from the truly top car makers . The vehicle guide for this vehicle is 3" thick and and hard to use. The controls for the radio and other services handled through the touch screen are awful and poorly explained in the manual which looks like Hyundai took its Korean auto manual and hit the English translation button which means it is almost unintelligible.

Pros
Car looks good
Has a nice strong engine
Lots of bells and whistles

Cons
Bells and whistles are poorly documented and explained in owners manual and not self intuitive to use

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LINDA L.
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/20/2015
Gas mileage
I am very disappointed in the gas mileage on my Sante Fe Sport.

Pros
Great riding sub.

Cons
Not good gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 725 in total