2017
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(2071 Reviews)
Latest review over 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


FV
FREDDY V.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/18/2016
Transmission problem
N/a

Pros
N/a

Cons
Problems

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JACK S.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/21/2016
Hyundai Sante Fe Limited Ultimate
do not send me any more of these surveys. They have given my a headache filling this one out............CAR is great, Wife loves it.

Pros
Excellent vehicle for our use, I recommend this to my friends and family.

Cons
I am starting to dislike all these surveys!!!!!!!!!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Philpott H.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/03/2017
Pay$200 year 4 remote start
Dont buy a Hyundai

Pros
Its a car.

Cons
Traded it in after 2 weeks. Lost money but couldn't sleep. I was so unhappy with the purchase.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Keith G.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/06/2017
10
10

Pros
Very good in all categories

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Durwood J.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/07/2017
Too Long review. Too redundant. I will not respond to further reviews this long.
Happy with vehicle

Pros
Cruise contol suggestion, Navigation control suggestion, wireless starting suggestion

Cons
Needs larger fuel tank.

Survey too too long

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Daniel P.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/29/2018
No for a short person
Owned this vehicle for 4 months and it was terrible. Less than adequate for a short person. Lots or road noise, breaks sound terrible and would not drive properly when turning. Near miss accidents. Didn’t feel safe. Called Hyundia 1st rep was awesome, the second was clueless. Dealership hours are less than accommodating. Traded the vehicle on 3/27/18

Pros
The stereo speakers.

Cons
Owned this vehicle for 4 months and it was terrible. Less than adequate for a short person. Lots or road noise, breaks sound terrible and would not drive properly when turning. Near miss accidents. Didn’t feel safe. Called Hyundia 1st rep was awesome, the second was clueless. The ac/heat setting always reset ever time you’d stop and start. The position of the door windows and locks are terrible. The full sunroof was appealing at first but the vehicle was extremely hard to warm up in the winter.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Catherine B.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/31/2018
Hyundai
I’m sorry to say, I do not like this vehicle at all. The design of the windows looks lovely but is very dangerous. There are so many blind spots it’s unbelievable! Also, I feel the materials inside are less than usual. The rubber by the back drivers side is coming off and I rarely have anyone riding there.Im on a lease and can’t wait for it to be over! Hyundai has done nothing to assist me in the bad choice I made on this vehicle. I would never lease or purchase another Hyundai. Sorry

Pros
This vehicle has introduced me to Sirius XM, I love it.

Cons
See above I have not had an accident in over35 years. The first month I had this vehicle I had a fender bender. That should tell you something right there. You have way too many blind spots! This is a lease, I don’t own it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
ROY H.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/09/2019
Dangerous headlights
Headlights cast a shadow which make it dangerous to drive at night when there’s no streetlights. There’s also Condensation in the headlights. Dealership unable to understand the problem, no solution. Corporate no solution too! Very disappointed! Not purchasing another Hyundai again. Wayne’s Hyundai Dealer plays games!

Pros
7 seater Santa fe

Cons
Headlights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DARREN S.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/17/2019
Not good.
Truck is very sloppy in handling, transmission down shift harsh. Judder while cruising truck doesnt know how to respond. That's basically what I have to say about this truck. This is what I know what's wrong with this truck, but if no check engine lights on the dealership will say theres nothing wrong with the truck. It's a complete joke. "Warranty job pays less cash job pays more".

Pros
Looks great

Cons
Drivability, handling, shifting.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
ROBERT V.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/15/2019
Dies when merging into traffic.
This vehicle is unsafe, It is an accident waiting to happen. When you try to merge in traffic the engine just dies and you are a sitting duck. You can frantically press on the accelerator but NOTHING happens.About 2 seconds later it will go.I have had it back multiple times and they can't find anything wrong. Each time I leave it for a week, they drive it around and find nothing wrong. Last time i left it they hooked a box on it for a week, they found nothing. I demanded they start changing parts and the Service manager said Corporate refused because that would mean they acknowledge they have a problem. THEY DO have a problem, I see other people on the net with this problem.

Pros
Would be a nice vehicle if I was not afraid to drive it

Cons
This vehicle dies when trying to merge into traffic. Brought back to Hyundai multiple times, Hyundai has not fixed the problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/15/2019
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

LO
Laura O.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/19/2016
Port quality of vehicle
Very unhappy with this product for the price it was.... everything from the shifting to the pulley vibration in the front while at idle.... glad the finally be rid of it.

Pros
Nothing

Cons
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
MATT D.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/25/2017
Brand new car already been in service dept for a week-
Looks great, rough ride, no suspension, loud ride, loud sounds like a jackhammer. Car already in for repairs at only 1050 miles! Notice problem at only 600 miles.

Pros
Looks nice -

Cons
Rides rough, already in for repairs. So yes value for the money sucks now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sheri R.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/12/2017
Definitely not my Veracruz!!! Won't buy again.
Replaced my Veracruz with this but definitely not the same quality car. Was hoping to trade in for a new Veracruz. Makes horrible sound upon acceleration but does not do it consistently enough for the mechanic to hear it. They have been totally awesome in the service department trying to assist but it whines and grinds at times on acceleration or just going down the road and as usual wont do it when they are with me in the car. I had some passengers on way to KC and it of course started. This was four months after I bought it and they couldn't believe it. When they first got in the car they were totally impressed with the look and feel until the noise started. Noise started about 2 months after purchase. Not sure if could be put on computer and see if the computer hook up could assist with what sound is. I am considering trading already and wont be for a Hyundia this time. I owned a Tuscon and loved it. I owned a Veracruz and loved it but not happy with my Santa Fe at all. They had a good product don't know why they dropped the nicer Veracruz. Most people who have switched from the Veracruz are not happy. Performance is important to me. So makes all other marks lower. Only other thing that is major is the distance from ground. This is lower then the Veracruz was and I miss that. Other difference are probably options related. Seems like it doesn't offer the same packages. Also no longer comes in the beige carpet that shows dirt less. You cant convince me the black carpet shows dirt less. I have had this black carpet and it is always dirty. Doesn't show stains but I don't have to worry about stains but it always shows everything else. I kept my interior clean and my carpets vacuumed but I dislike the black carpet. No longer has overhead air vents!!! why!!!

Cons
sound on acceleration, height from ground to short, unable to purchase beige interior/carpet. No overhead air conditioning vents for second and third rows.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WK
William K.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/29/2017
Absolutely the worst navigation system on the planet.
Vehicle has been okay but nav system is a total waste. It cost a fortune, can't find diddly, doesn't suggest possible addresses and is simply is useless most of the time.

Pros
Comfortable
quiet
powerful

Cons
Navigation system useless
controls and icons confusing
warranty overrated

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
AMY W.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/30/2018
should have got a volvo
lots of thing that i do not like about this car. do not have time to list. after buying I found a better quality car else where. i don't have time for this.. jbsdfjhbsdjfhbsdfjhbfjhbs fjhsabajhbfaejhbfsajdhfbadsjfhbadjhbadjvhbafjknaskj
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
ROBERT V.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/06/2018
Major hesitation problem
I like everything about my 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport except the major hesitation problem. Because that problem is a safety issue in which I was almost in two major accidents I cannot give this vehicle a very high ratting.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHAEL M.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/04/2018
Visual appeal does not make up for lack of performance
I love the looks of this car and it is comfortable, but the transmission is a deal breaker. I have to pump the gas pedal to pull out in traffic or pass a car on the highway. Most of the time it feels like the car is stuck in 4th gear when I take off.

Pros
Good looking
Comfortable
Good feature set

Cons
Transmission shifting is unreliable and harsh, I have to pump the gas pedal to get the car in the correct gear when accelerating. This is a major concern for safety when pulling out in traffic. I would not buy another Hyundai based on this issue, alone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
Evelyn P.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/06/2018
NA
Its a nice car, i just wish I did not experience the issues the car had.Also, a customer should have the ability to bring it back if issues are experienced especially driving issues. i believe in keeping the customer happy and if you want to keep a customer than give them the option to make them happy. atleast give them the option to trade in the vehicle for these experiences

Pros
style is nice
roomy inside

Cons
bad build should extend test drive all vehicles before placed out into the market

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/06/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

CS
Christopher S.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/07/2018
Lots of Problems....
We had to replace the transmission during the first 18 months of ownership, normal driving, no towing or extreme conditions. Battery died just out of warranty with the starter having difficulty starting the car. Car is sluggish at times and seems to lurch in park. We will choose another manufacturer next time.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JAIME C.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/14/2018
Below average
Not happy with it..........,,..........————//////::;;())$&&@?$?($(,!&,,:///:/-22;680@‘bcfychhgfgvggccvvvvgggvvvvhbbbbbbbbbbhbbbbbggggghhh hhhhhjhhhhhhhhjjhhhhbbvv.hhhhhhhhhhhffhihopfhfjghcvhhkhkkbnbvv

Pros
3 rows

Cons
Driving on highways chairs shake

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2071 in total