2019
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(1492 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


MZ
mohammad z.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/24/2019
engine shutts off while driving on the high way
engine shutts off while driving in the highway without any prior notification.very risky. better not to buy this car. the dealer still couldnt diagnoise this issue and said evrythng is working fine. we checked with the software and no issues found

Pros
not a good car

Cons
not a good car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IO
ISABELLA O.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/21/2019
Do not buy
Do not purchase a 2019 Hyundai sante fe. You will be disappointed. The dealership has had my one week old sante fe for over 35 days and I still don’t have it back! It has made the worse nails on a chalk board noise due to what they believe is to the glass of the vehicle being installed incorrectly. One week old vehicle already having issues! So scary and disappointing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHELLE M.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/21/2019
Santa Fe -Watch out for shifting issues on all Hyundai's
Bought a brand new 2019 Santa Fe - Has shifting problems, especially downshifting. Took it back to the dealer 1st month. Was told this is how Hyundai are, a "quirk" they said because no codes show up. It is not normal for a car to stick and lurch as this one does. Buyer beware on Hyundai's. Hopefully their warranty is as good as the sell it to be.

Pros
Like the look and media features

Cons
Hate the performance - should want to drive your new car- not this one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
EILEEN P.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/30/2019
Hyundai SantaFe XL
Completely satisfied with my vehicle. I had previously owned a Hyundai and was pretty certain I would buy another one because of my overall satisfaction with me first one. I also am happy with the dealership.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VC
Vernon C.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/21/2019
I so wanted to like this brand
In a few words my new SUV of 2 months will have been in for service for the same problem that 2 Dealers can’t seem to figure out. Hyundai Motor Company, the manufacturer said they would send a Field Engineer to look at it but never did and don’t have any plans to send one. The car is now going back into the service shop for the third time for the same problem. I’m now sick of this car and Hyundai in general.

Pros
Looks good
Comfortable ride
OK power

Cons
Lack of responsiveness by Hyundai to a major power/electrical problem
Failure of Hyundai to keep their promise to send a qualified engineer to fix a major problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Carlos T.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/07/2019
Beautiful car, cheap materials inside.
This car is Beautiful and great looking, I love it but unfortunately my expectations were totally destroyed by its quality, inside the materials looks very Chick but at the end it very cheap and poor performance. Outside it has many defective terminations and is unbelievable that a brand like Hyundai delivery a vehicle like this that is so popular in a poor performance. And the worse thing is that the company doesn't care about the customer feeling and expectations I blamed myself to change form Honda and Toyota to Hyundai expecting a better quality cars.

Cons
Bad quality materials, poor customer service.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Douglas F.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/04/2019
Rough transmission, noisy engine and more problems
The transmission shifts very rough and jerks when up shifting or down shifting. The engine buzzed and is very noisy, it uses the same theta engine that has been causing all the engine fires and now has a recall and a ecu update to prevent fires. I do not feel confident in this vehicle and am now driving my older Toyota because I am afraid it’s going to suddenly catch fire. The ac vents smell like old socks also.

Pros
Looks good

Cons
Has engine and transmission issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/04/2019
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

KB
KAITLYN B.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/02/2019
Does a lot of things but not many of impressively them well
The low frequency rumble at low idling speeds makes me physically ill. Had a dealer look at it and they couldn't hear it and said everything was working the way it should. I came from driving Toyota for many years, and I'm afraid Hyundai just doesn't measure up.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Ronald C.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/13/2019
Unhappy owner
The ride of the vehicle is less than smooth! There are many features that we do not like and some cannot be permanently shut off but have to shut them off everytime the vehicle is driven. Glichy electronics seem to always work just fine for the service department but not in actual use by the owners.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Nice looking vehicle.

Cons
Bumpy ride. Unable to turn off some features that we do not like. Very "glichy" electronics that work sporadically and am always told when I have them checked that all is working just fine. Very frustrating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/29/2019
One Big Complaint
15,000 miles on this vehicle and it will not accelerate around a corner; that makes it a pain to drive (and I like to drive). The Sport mode is too sensitive to deceleration; otherwise it seems to be an OK SUV.

Cons
Eight speed transmission not perfectly mated to the engine. The 2011 six speed Kia Sorento I had was much better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
Ehab K.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/29/2019
Manufacture problems
First problem I noticed that when I drive slowly ( 0 - 30 ) the car was Not stable almost shaking and when they checked it the computer didn't gave any sign of any problem, I changed my fuel as this might help but without any improvement. Then I start having problems with the blind spot system especially in the hot weather !!! which until now they couldn't fix it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Melvin H.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/03/2019
Santa Fe Jaw Rattling transmission
Hard shifts to 3rd gear, and I mean jaw rattling, take away any favorable impressions I would otherwise have. It's not fun to drive. It's unfortunate because the vehicle appears to be well though out in design and ergonomics.

Pros
Theoretical favorable price to performance ratio.

Cons
Transmission shifts harsh into 3rd gear. Less than 6000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lester C.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/05/2019
Power steering
Power steering had to be replaced after 13000 miles. This was extremely unsatisfactory and makes us wonder if we have a purchased a "lemon". Service took over a week to repair the vehicle and this was aggravating.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Srinivas B.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/02/2019
Samte fe
NaghdffgkhdluduudluduldulsulflidludluiiiijjiiidoouskusluuuuuuujiueluojsymuuuuuuuuuuiuuuifouuiuuuiuuuuiiuiuuikkiyakyuaumamyuuuaymaynaktaynaynNtmyaynanfYnaynamyaykakywjwihGKddykdludludlduldludludludluduldludluslusludluduldlusludludlusulsyslusluslusludpudludludpudludpd

Pros
Na

Cons
Na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bridgette P.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/14/2019
Nothing to say.............................................................................
Nothing to say..............................................................................................................................................................................................

Pros
Nothing to say

Cons
Nothing to say

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
William S.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/17/2019
Loud exhaust and display keeps freezing up
Going back to the dealer again tomorrow for our display freezing on the Hyundai logo. Aggravated that I’ve had it a month and this continues to happen.

What’s up with no remote start?!! That sucks!! Was told we could get it then after the purchase was told you can’t have it on the Santa Fe later. Very disappointed in this purchase!!

Pros
A lot of features

Cons
The display keeps freezing. The exhaust could be quieter it sounds like an old beater inside the cabin. Wish I’d noticed that at the test drive. NO REMOTE START!! Who doesn’t offer at least an option to purchase? It’s a decent vehicle but pay the extra for a ford or Chevy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LZ
Lisa Z.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/09/2019
New
Makes alot of noise with acceleration. Dont like the center controls by drive/park shifter. My dog touches while I am driving. Love the rear hatch automatic open / close. Changing lane safety features are great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Rudolph M.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/16/2019
shutter and vibration
HAVE BEEN TO DEALERSHIP 4 TIMES ITS A 64 ROUND TRIP TO DEALERSHIP. SERVICE MANAGER WENT OUT WITH ME AND FELT IT. SO FAR THEY BALANCED 4 TIRES, SWAPED 4 TIRES, THAN FORCED BALANCED AND REPLACED ANOTHER TIRE. VIBRATION STILL THERE.

Cons
SHUTTER AND VIBRATION

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kurt L.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/20/2019
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
I really like the style and comfort of the vehicle. Fit and finish is very good. I don't know how reliable its going to be with the issues I have listed. I have second thoughts about not having my Ford F-150 repaired and keeping it but I thought I couldn't rely on it even after the repairs. Now I have a brand new vehicle (your Santa Fe) and I'm not sure of its reliability. So you tell me If I made the right decision on purchasing this Hyundai.

Cons
Engine /transmission issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Cagney J.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/21/2019
We love the vehicle - just worried about the transmission.
We went from a BMW X3 to the Hyundai Santa Fe - people think we're crazy but overall, it's great! Has all the features and comfort you'd expect. However... we have already had an instance where the transmission was for SURE having issues. Upon doing some research, it seems as though this is a known issue for this specific trim style of the 2019 Santa Fe. That is making us nervous since we only have 2700 miles on the vehicle. Let's hope it's not a major problem and than Hyundai stands behind the issue and fixes it.

Pros
Great features for the money. Very stylish and feature-rich. Has everything and then some you could want in a small SUV!

Cons
Known transmission issue.. that's scary.
No auto folding mirrors (strange since it has everything else)
And oddly enough - the headlights are TOO bright and not adjustable. Even on low beam, we get flashed continuously as people think we have the high beams on...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1492 in total