Business Solutions

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(72 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(72 Reviews)

GM
gravatar
Gregg M.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/15/2021
Verified Review

Good overall reliability but recurring issues

After 200+ k miles, this Prius had relatively decent service reliability. HOWEVER, this car suffers from severe design/engineering and electrical flaws. We have probably spent thousands of dollars on headlight bulbs over the life of this car. EXTREMELY frustrating to have to replace these lamps every 6-8 weeks. Of course, the Toyota dealer continued to deny there were any unusual headlight issues while still under warranty. Pay attention, and you will frequently see other similar vintage Prius driving with one light out. I always suspected some type of voltage spike during starting the car, likely related to the hybrid system... somehow. Absolutely awful lighting reliability. Additionally, the engineering for the the reflector + headlight housing is terrible! I would even say DANGEROUSLY insufficient light throw! Better with LED conversion lamps. Other major flaw: Front hub/wheel bearings. The OEM parts had normal reliability. Since the original set, we have had to replace these EIGHT times. NAPA bearings were the worst. But even after using Toyota OEM parts, we have had to replace hubs + bearings nearly every 15,000 miles. Geez... TIRES last longer than these poorly engineered hub/bearing/axle systems and questionable OEM replacement parts have.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LF
gravatar
LARRY DENISE F.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/20/2021
Verified Review

Driving a Prius

I love my 08 Prius. It is a zippy car that gets awesome gas mileage. There is plenty of room for costco shopping trips when you fold down the back seats. My Prius has over 150,000 miles and still runs great. I plan on driving it for many more years.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SF
gravatar
Steve F.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/11/2020
Verified Review

What can I say- it is bomb proof!

My gen 2 2008 Prius is not my favorite looking car but that said, it truly is an amazing engineering feat (tip of the hat to THE OTHER GUYS there...) ! If I do what I should: be very light on the gas pedal, follow posted speed limits and draft off of larger vehicles- in the Summer I can easily achieve 51-53 mpg depending on highway/city driving mix. This falls in the cooler months once I need to depend on the heater, as it relies on additional engine run time. Even with that, I typically only go down to a paltry 46-48 mpg. Truly outstanding. I have owned the car for the past 50k miles and so far it has only cost me a set of tires, oil changes, a set of HID headlights and windshield wipers. I love to kiddingly hate on it (every Prius owner should watch THE OTHER GUYS for some comedic perspective) but also hate to admit that I love it...
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BG
gravatar
BARRY G.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/28/2020
Verified Review

A car like no other

I’ve owned 3 & I’m not a “Car Guy.” These cars are incredibly Low on the maintenance scale. I’m at 115k miles and I’m just now starting to deal with some things that are wearing out. Looking to get another one soon.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WC
gravatar
Wendyln C.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2020
Verified Review

My baby

I love my Prius so much I don’t drive my truck anymore. Also save on gas and compact compare to my v8 Nissan Pathfinder. Thinking about upgrade to a newer model of Prius. Didn’t know it that popular until I got it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JT
gravatar
JAMES T.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2020
Verified Review

Best Car I have ever owned!

I bought my 2008 Toyota Prius in December 2008 and it just died on me in March 2020 - almost 12 years & a little over 325,000 miles! Besides normal maintenance; tires; headlights & wipers - the only thing I had replaced were the water pumps (4yrs ago). I had the original hybrid battery still in it, when the CVT/transmission failed. I ran that vehicle long & hard - it served me extremely well and with great gas mileage. I'm buying a new 2020 Prius to replace it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CP
gravatar
CORRIE P.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/26/2019
Verified Review

Prius

For the most part I like my Prius. When I don’t like my Prius is when it is hot, sometimes running the ac, even on low, drains the battery. It is also lacks power on hills, or when accelerating. I haven’t had to replace the battery yet.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WP
gravatar
Walter P.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2019
Verified Review

Prius is the best

Love my Prius, 281714 miles and still going. Hope to get to 350,000, then I will buy another, 200 words is a waste of talking and writing, I strive 100 miles a day and I’ve only had 1 flat tire and check engine once. Can’t do any better than that!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ST
gravatar
SARAH T.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/14/2019
Verified Review

11+ years old, 275K miles and runs like a champ

I love this car. It needs almost no maintenance; outside oil, filters, and tires. Starter batteries last 5 years; the hybrid battery 275K miles. Needed a $600 catalytic converter a year or so ago; would do that again. Most reliable car I've ever owned, and if this one dies I will get another one. Have to say, though, it looks like it will keep going for a good long while.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AB
gravatar
ANNETTE B.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/07/2019
Verified Review

Prius 2008

Amazingly resilient fuel efficient car....no complaints even after all of these years...hard to imagine a better hybrid. Glad I bought it No trouble with resale potential, people ask me about it all of the time
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
JAMES S.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/02/2019
Verified Review

My car is the best car I’ve ever owned

My Prius always runs perfectly. I have owned it for 10 years When I purchase a new car it will be another Toyota Prius. I like the value and the way it drives. It’s the most reliable car I have ever owned
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RR
gravatar
ROCIO R.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/26/2019
Verified Review

Great car

My car has 190k now from 2008 and still strong just basic service good maintenance on hybrid battery and is good for another 5-7 years best car I have ever owned course is a Toyota well build and runs forever
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RM
gravatar
Rick M.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2019
Verified Review

Tough little car

I purchased a 2008 Prius with 84,000 miles several years ago mainly for the gas economy. It delivered 57+mpg and that was quite a change from driving a V8 350 engine pickup. The car drives quietly and although not a sports car does have nice pickup and response. The interior is nice and comfortable and has plenty of space. The car is well made/designed and sure is tough. Service issues have been limited to what is expected for the 164,000 miles I have on it now and keeps running reliably. I expected needing more service with the mileage but it has been minimal. I am impressed with Toyota quality and have decided to make my next vehicle a Toyota also.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RP
gravatar
ROGER P.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/13/2018
Verified Review

2008 Prius

We have had our Prius for five years and have put 120000 miles on it. I tell people I have three other cars I like to drive better but I have never had a car that gets 45 mpg that I like better. We will get another Prius next fall.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AK
gravatar
Andrew K.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/30/2018
Verified Review

Reliable and great gas mileage.

I have a 2008 Prius, and had difficulties with the gas pedal well before the huge government recall. Since then the car, like most Toyota's has been reliable. However, it now has almost 200,000 miles so some expected wear and tear problems. The gas mileage is great. The car is noisy. The ride and handling are are fair.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JA
gravatar
JOYCE A.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/09/2018
Verified Review

Battery life

I love my Prius. I feel I'm doing my part to keep pollutants out of the air. However the big battery's warranty expires at 100,000 miles, and I don't like the thought of ending up with a $3,500 bill to replace the battery.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KM
gravatar
Kathy M.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2018
Verified Review

MY BABYGIRL IS AWESOME

I WORK SEVERAL MILES AWAY FORM HOME. THIS CAR IS AWESOME. UPKEEP IS MINIMAL. GAS MILEAGES IS 50 MILES PER GALLON. YES THATS GOOD. WHEN DRIVING ON CURVES IT HAS SUCH GOOD MOVEMENT ITS EASY TO PARK IN TIGHT SPOTS
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DP
gravatar
DIANE CLAY/DAVE P.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/22/2018
Verified Review

Still going

The vehicle just rolled over 208,000 and still going strong with only regular maintenance. It has started burning more oil in its old age, so an oil change is required more often. Much roomier than it looks and other than the floor mats, it still looks new.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JW
gravatar
JIM W.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/30/2018
Verified Review

2008 Prius

My car is now ten years old and going strong. It’s had no serious problems. I plan to keep it running as long as possible. It’s been totally reliable, comfortable, a pleasure to drive, and always good-looking. Mileage has never gonebeow 41 mpg.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CH
gravatar
CHUCK/TRACY H.
2008 Toyota Prius
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2018
Verified Review

GREAT CAR

It is a great car. I especially appreciate it at the gas pump. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 73 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Toyota Dealer
Automotive Instincts
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1327 Reviews)

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Don Wood Toyota
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(2240 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Parker Toyota
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(22434 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(25) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Toyota of York
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10821 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5
3.3
(3) ReScores

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Burien Toyota
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(7661 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10) ReScores