2001
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5

16 Reviews

Latest review 2 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JJ
Javel J.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2018
513,000+ miles!
What more can I say. My Highlander is running great even at such high mileage!!
The car is running fine, no need for a new one when this one is running well. The routine maintenance items are all that is required to keep the car running well.

Pros
Reliable; low maintenance.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MARIMAM K.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2017
Overall review
I am the initial owner of this 2001Hylander with 165k mi. I have maintained this car well on inside and outside. I paid $34k out the door for this 6v, leather pack, it has been well worth the money and paid itself back. I have taken it as far as Chicago and back 6x's w/o problems. No surprise problems with this car!

Pros
Reliable, cute!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
LAWRENCE W.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/21/2017
2001 Highlander is too good to pass on.
I have had this Highlander since the fall of 2001. It continues to serve us very well. With only 80,000 miles on it, I do not want to part with it. The only thing it lacks is a rear view camera which is certainly a great addition to all cars. So, someday I will upgrade to a new Toyota. Great cars!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZS
ZEE S.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2017
Best car ever!
The only changes I'd make is an increase in MPG along with the addition of today's safety features.

Pros
Very comfortable, and because it's a LIMITED version of the model, it has all the bells and whistles available in 2001.

Cons
MPG hovers between 17 and 20. No backup camera or the other currently available safety features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Javel J.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2017
I have 478,000+ miles!
This is the event vehicle on the market. It is super reliable. If it ever stops running, I am getting another one!!

Pros
Very reliable.
Only maintenance and standard repairs have been necessary .

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZS
ZEE S.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/16/2017
Love my Highlander
Getting close to 130,000 miles, but still going strong. Comfortable, easy to drive.

Pros
No car payments!
Comfortable and easy to drive; very reliable.

Cons
MPG ranges between 16 and 20.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
DOLL W.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2017
2001 Toyota Highlander
Great car (obviously, coming on 400K). Have loved driving it. it's getting a bit "shop worn", but I would recommend a Highlander to anyone

Pros
This has been a great reliable vehicle. The size is perfect for what I need, very comfortable (and easy to get in and out of back seat).

Cons
The new Highlanders are just a bit too big now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Javel J.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/16/2016
447,100 miles and still going!
My mileage says it all. My car runs so smooth and is so dependable. It seems it could go for at least 200,000 more miles. When it needs too many repairs, I will definitely buy another Highlander.

Pros
It is a great car for many reasons.

Cons
My model did not come with a sunroof or navigator. Those are the only two features I would have liked to have.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Regina C.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/20/2016
faithful
This car is now over 15 years old. I got it because it was the only one comfortable for my sore back. Hoping it lasts as long as I do!
negative. .. no a.c. in back seat.

Pros
Controls for seat comfort. Safety features.

Cons
No a.c. in back seat. Too expensive for me to replace if needed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
STEVEN B.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/19/2016
2001 4wd 4cyl. Highlander
224,000 miles and still going strong. Unstoppable in the slippery stuff. Best vehicle ever.

Pros
All weather performance. Reliability. Spaciousness/cargo capacity. Fuel economy for vehicle type.

Cons
Would have liked a center console.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Tim T.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2016
Love it!!!
Great vehicle!!! Has 240k on it and indigos of any problems with engine or transmission!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
DOLL W.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2016
Highlander raves
I love my Highlander that now has 370,000 miles on it. It is looking a bit shabby but runs really well. It has been a joy to own and to drive. Would love to replace it with another, but the Highlander is now too big for my needs. Will keep driving it until they have to get me off the side of the road.

Cons
Difficult to read the clock if the lights are on and it isn't totally dark, but that is a minor issue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHERYL M.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2015
Satisfied
Great vehicle, dependable, love the SUV as I am higher than a car.

Pros
Love it

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
JAN N.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2015
Highlander review
I love my Highlander. Can't believe how much stuff I can get in it. Especially all my birds!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
DOLL W.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/27/2015
Toyota Highlander 4 cylinder, 2001
I love this car. It is comfortable, roomy and fun to drive. I do wish the newer models had stayed the same size instead of getting so much bigger!. I have to start car shopping soon and I really don't see an SUV that I like better than this one. It is looking a lot worn out! Needs seat covers and new wheel covers (some car wash person put a real strong cleaner on the covers and they have rusted.

Pros
Terrific bright head lights, can really see at night (and at dusk). Something I never though about before.

Cons
The clock on the dash is hard to read in the daylight (or with the lights on).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Cheryl B.
2001 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2015
Best SUV!
I bought my Highlander brand new in 2001. They were new to the market and just fell in love with the comfort and body style. Have not experienced any major problems with the vehicle, and have maintained it per Toyota specifications. It still runs like a new vehicle with nearly 180,000 miles on it! When I do decide to trade it off one day, my heart will be sad. So many wonderful vacations and road trips have been taken in my SUV, and has always been dependable. Toyota had a winner with this body style, but not fond of the new Highlander body style.

Cons
My SUV has all the "bells and whistles", with upgraded power window, sunroof, JBX stereo, etc. Higher priced vehicle, which would be unaffordable for me today if I were shopping for a new Toyota. Also, the control panel for heat/AC is very confusing. My husband hates it, and always has me control the knobs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 16 Review