Style image original

2005
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5rating 4.81

26 Reviews

Latest review 6 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 07/30/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best Car"

Our Highlander is by gar the very best car we have ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/09/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"If there were something better, we'd buy it. It tows my boat, it hauls a lot of stuff, high visibility, but not too big; good visibility out of it, no troubles"

its great, like it better than the new models. efficiency at 22 is marginal, but we need its capability.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/02/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2005 Toyota Highlander"

This car has served me well. Would like to keep it four more years!

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Needs better seating. Electric powered windows and electric door locks break too easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/12/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"my 2005 Toyota Highlander"

Best vehicle I've ever owned and believe me I have had plenty of cars over the years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/04/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2005 Toyota Highlander"

I like this vehicle, it handles well and for a 4 cylinder it goes great. Plenty of room, and comfortable.

Pros
all the above

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/03/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2005 Toyota Highlander"

Its been a great vehicle for me, just the right size.

Pros
Easy to drive, handles well. Had a flat tire a few years ago, had to call AAA as I was in Montana headed back to Spokane. Was very pleased that it had a full size spare tire still inflated and got me safely to Missoula where I purchased new tire.

Cons
Last year the transmission went out due to a leak in connections between the radiator which allowed radiator fluid into the transmission. A very costly repair. Never expected to ever have something that major due to a faulty connection; a few months later had to have the front struts replaced, and then replace the left rear window casing. This car is 12 years old with less than 87,000 miles.Less than 600 miles a month.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/10/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Comfortable Toyota "

We are still driving it by choice.

Pros
Easy to get into

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/05/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My 2005 Toyota Highlander"

We bought this car new in 2005. With regular required servicing that is spelled out in the owner's manual and service schedule, the car has performed superbly: safe, comfortable, good gas mileage, and excellent performance. We plan to keep the car for a long time, as it has served us and performed for us very well.

Pros
Good overall performance, reliable, comfortable, lots of room for transporting luggage and small household items, especially if you fold down the back seats.

Cons
As a van, the Toyota Highlander is a little high which may pose a challenge for anyone with foot or leg problems when they enter or exit the vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/24/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love my Highlander!"

This is the best car I have ever owned. Always reliable,predictable, very surefooted in winter, all around perfect size and car for multiple tasks of everyday life-toting grandkids (five at a time-some in car seats) traveling comfortably around town and long distance, very affordable to keep and maintain.

Pros
I even looked to buy a used one of this model and year for my grown grandchildren because of it's safety and visibility factor with the height of the vehicle-couldn't find one. I guess everyone keeps them because of their reliability and don't feel they get old and have problems.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/21/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Wonderful vehicle"

I bought this vehicle from a relative having health problems in 2009, when it only had 14,000 miles. It has just turned over 100,000 miles and has given me no trouble at all. I would gladly make the purchase again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/10/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best Vehicle for the dollar"

I have had this vehicle a 2005 highlander since I bought in may 2006. I have had so few issues with the vehicle Toyotas are tehbest in overall maintenance. Basic stuff like oils and ties and break but beyond that everything else is perfect.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/04/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My 2005 Highlander"

Excellent vehicle, no major mechanical issues, super reliable .... Would love to have another one

Pros
Good visibility in the vehicle, reliable, great maintenance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/24/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2005 highlander still going strong!"

My car has 230,000 miles. I do regular maintence and it keeps going!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/11/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2005 Toyota Highlander"

Its been an overall great vehicle and I enjoy driving it, so do my children when they visit from CA, CO, and TX. Was pleased to find out the spare tire was already mounted and still good to go when I had a left rear tire blowout a couple of years ago coming back from a Montana trip. A couple of ladies that I take different places also like riding in my car; easy to get in and out of, and they like sitting up a little higher. All in all, I have enjoyed all 80,000 + miles that I've driven. It handles well and I feel safe and secure.

Pros
My first Toyota vehicle and I like it!

Cons
Thought it was overpriced when I bought it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/18/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2005 Toyota Highlander"

Best car I have ever had. I hope I never have to buy another car again.

Pros
I can be self sufficient, and haul anything or anyone I like.

Cons
Has a blind spot, and I think the side mirrors could be better, but I still won't trade it, I love it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/16/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love it."

Love it, great vehicle with a great ride and low maint.

Pros
Lowest maint. vehicle I have owned and I am 72 .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/15/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I Love my Caqr"

This is the best car I've ever owned.

Pros
Smooth, comfortable ride ( A Lexus frame) Good milage even after 160,000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/21/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Still going string"

My car has 225,000 miles, no rust and still works great. Regular maintenance has proved to be the answer. I'll always buy Toyota!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/05/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Extending the life of my Highlander"

Best vehicle I have owned since I started driving, which is 42 years ago! Bought it used with 100k miles, but now at 185K miles I've had 2 timing belts replaced, a water pump, 1 spark plug change out, 1 set of pads and rotors, and 2nd set of tires. But it rides, accelerates, brakes, cools and heats better than any other vehicle I've owned. 👍

Pros
Meets Reputation for reliability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/05/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My Toyota Highlander is a great vehicle"

I really do enjoy this car, I am pleased with the performance of the car.

Pros
All is good with this car.

Cons
I wish it had stronger bumpers, and that it would be nice if the windows all were tinted a little darker.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 26 in total