2005
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(44 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RS
Ralph S.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
Excellent vehicle if maintained!!!
Keep up with the maintenance on this vehicle and it'll last a long time two or three hundred thousand miles is common with this vehicle!! One of the best cars Toyota ever made!!! I've owned this car since new and I've only replaced the anti-lock brake sensor on the rear axle and the low pressure return for the power steering the line rusted through behind the front wheel on the right side everything else is just basic maintenance the car is great
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Rosa G.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/08/2019
Better than past vehicles I've owned
It's a good vehicle but requires maintenance like any old vehicle. Still gets expensive. Would definitely prefer a newer one since I know one thing after another will need replacing. Drives weird in the back though. Sounds & feels like the tires are gonna fall off & not a smooth ride. Rattles like.

Pros
Sturdy, spacious, nice blue color, sunroof, door handles, mostly dependable.

Cons
Gas guzzler, ugly interior, broken down a handful of times in the last 4 years but it's because it's old & has wear & tear. Bumpy ride, back tires sound/feel unstable. Exterior design is old.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
ROBERT G C.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/15/2019
The Zip car
It's been a great car, dependable, and cheap to keep. Unfortunately, it's beginning to show the years but still a great car. We'll keep it for anpther year or so, then maybe decide if we should look into a newer model.

Pros
Great car for local runs.

Cons
Really can't say too much Con, other it's getting along in years and miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BOB M.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2019
Review
Love it, buying a new one soon. I have the highlander 15 years with 140000 miles, very reliable vehicle. Small AC problem once, normal maintenance tires, breaks, battery etc change oil every 3000 miles, runs great.

Pros
All good

Cons
4cyl, not enough power. Opp for a 6cyl next time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Eugene M.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/23/2019
completely happy
Maybe the best vehicle I ever owned both mechanically and appearance wise. This SUV has satisfied me from the get-go and I do not see myself replacing it anytime soon, regardless of the mileage. It owes me nothing.

Pros
Reliability and no rust

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CHARLOTTE S.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2019
Love my highlander
My highlander is very reliable and dependable. It has taken me everywhere with safety. I keep it maintained and it has longevity. It’s made very well and shops that work on it are able to service it easily.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
BARBARA R.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2019
2005 Toyota Highlander
Excellent performance, comfort, and very dependable. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone.
It has required low maintenance and I've only had minor repairs. It has been everything I needed in an SUV.
Thank you, Toyota!

Pros
My Toyota Highlander has been very dependable, spacious, fuel efficient, & everything I needed in a vehicle. It's required low maintenance & minimum minor repairs. I have never broken down on the road & I have 309,000 miles on the odometer. I would highly recommend this SUV. Thank you, Toyota!

Cons
I would have liked a sunroof. My CD player stopped working.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BETSY M.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2019
Best overall car I’ve ever had
Sure footed in winter, a vehicle I can always count on. This is the best and most trustworthy car I’ve ever owned . You would never know that this car is 14 years old. Perfect size for all -efficient to run. Easy on maintenance.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
LAURIE J.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/13/2019
2005 Toyota Highlander LE
This is the most comfortable, responsive, and dependable car that I have ever owned. I have rented other makes and models over the years and have driven several other Toyota models. In my experience, this particular Toyota is great!

Pros
ALL GOOD.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOHN G.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2019
Trouble Free / Versatile
This is my second time around with Toyota’s Highlander. V-6 powerful. Rear 3rd bench seat folds away for great cargo area. Rear seats fold away seamlessly to make everything behind the front seats to be wide open storage/cargo. Low maintenance; just routine brakes, oil, tires...a great car; I call it a truck!

Pros
Reliable, powerful w V-6, stable in snow (I use snow tires because I drive aggressively). Decent mileage.

Cons
None kown

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MARIA K.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2018
2005 Toyota Highlander
Love it, love the brand. Fantastic, solid, dependable car even after 13 years. Would recommend the Toyota brand and the Highlander. Handles great in the snow, rain and other types of weather, V6 engine so it is spunky on the road.

Pros
Safe, reliable, fits 7 people due to 3rd row. Enjoyable to drive short distance or long haul. Has been through 7 college and grad school moves, plenty of room.

Cons
Older car, not very fuel efficient

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Bruce H.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2018
the best
Won't ever give it up I have used it to move all 3 of my kids to college and back over the last 14 years. Its been a workhorse allowing us to meet our gardening needs. And the most important aspect is that the Highlander gives us a quality ride with a feeling of safety on the highways

Pros
drives like a sedan as tremendous room with excellent dependability

Cons
Some minor issues with rust and electrical but I have 214000 miles and had it for over 14 years. With proper maintenance,it still drives as if brand new.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ADOLPH H.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/27/2018
my Toyota Highland
We have had this vehicle since late 2004, purchased new 2005 model. This car runs great, handles well , and we have had no serious issues with it. It is garaged at all times, and it is not driven a great deal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LE
LISA E.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/26/2018
Wonderful vehicle
I bought the vehicle used in the fall of 2009. My cousin had to sell it because of health reasons. It only had 14,000 miles on it, and was practically new. I had a mechanic check it and it was in excellent condition. I've had no problems with it, other than having to get used to a wind noise - the reason for it couldn't be determined, and now I hardly notice it.

Pros
Wonderful, dependable vehicle. Has held it's age well.

Cons
Wind noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
DEB E.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2018
LOVE MY HIGHLANDER
I needed a car with 3 rows of seat (not all the time, but every now and then) and my husband didn't want a van now that our kids are older. It has run really well. I purchased it used with 90K miles on it and now it has 190K and doing well. I like being a little bit higher than a sedan and not quite as large as some other vehicles to park. I LOVE IT!

Pros
3 rows of seats
I can see the road well
lots of extra compartments

Cons
when backing up - I dont always have a good gage
the previous owner put rims on the car that do not fit, so my alert is always on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
GAIL C.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2018
Gail Collum
I love my Toyota Highlander. My husband bought this car for me 3 years before he passed away. That’s why it is so special to me. Never had any problems with it and I keep it maintained , washed and car pool my grandchildren to school and sports events.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DOROTHY H.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/03/2018
Love my 2005 Highlander
It has over 220,000 miles on it and is going strong.Drove it to Canada last May. Had no problems.With regular maintenance has been a reliable. Enjoy the feeling of being safe while traveling .Hope to be driving my Highlander for many more years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAY M.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2018
Outstanding service
Honest, knowledgeable folks who take care of their customers! While they have your vehicle they will give a look over to be sure there are no mechanical or safety issues that need attention. If so, they let you know. I like that kind of service!

Pros
Good size suv without being bulky. Good driving visibility. Nice, large rear window. Comfortable seats. Well thought out dash with minimal knobs, buttons, and gizmos. It's a functional, simple vehicle.

Cons
4 cylinder is a little underpowered for this size suv. But, for around town driving, it's OK. Electronics are troublesome. Kind of unexpected from a Toyota. Bottom line, given the choice, go with a Honda.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
GORDON M.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2017
Best Car
Our Highlander is by gar the very best car we have ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JAY W.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/09/2017
If there were something better, we'd buy it. It tows my boat, it hauls a lot of stuff, high visibility, but not too big; good visibility out of it, no troubles
its great, like it better than the new models. efficiency at 22 is marginal, but we need its capability.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 44 in total