2005
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5rating 4.85

34 Reviews

Latest review 6 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MK
MARIA K.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/09/2018
2005 Toyota Highlander
Love it, love the brand. Fantastic, solid, dependable car even after 13 years. Would recommend the Toyota brand and the Highlander. Handles great in the snow, rain and other types of weather, V6 engine so it is spunky on the road.

Pros
Safe, reliable, fits 7 people due to 3rd row. Enjoyable to drive short distance or long haul. Has been through 7 college and grad school moves, plenty of room.

Cons
Older car, not very fuel efficient

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Bruce H.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2018
the best
Won't ever give it up I have used it to move all 3 of my kids to college and back over the last 14 years. Its been a workhorse allowing us to meet our gardening needs. And the most important aspect is that the Highlander gives us a quality ride with a feeling of safety on the highways

Pros
drives like a sedan as tremendous room with excellent dependability

Cons
Some minor issues with rust and electrical but I have 214000 miles and had it for over 14 years. With proper maintenance,it still drives as if brand new.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ADOLPH H.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2018
my Toyota Highland
We have had this vehicle since late 2004, purchased new 2005 model. This car runs great, handles well , and we have had no serious issues with it. It is garaged at all times, and it is not driven a great deal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LE
LISA E.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2018
Wonderful vehicle
I bought the vehicle used in the fall of 2009. My cousin had to sell it because of health reasons. It only had 14,000 miles on it, and was practically new. I had a mechanic check it and it was in excellent condition. I've had no problems with it, other than having to get used to a wind noise - the reason for it couldn't be determined, and now I hardly notice it.

Pros
Wonderful, dependable vehicle. Has held it's age well.

Cons
Wind noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
DEB E.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2018
LOVE MY HIGHLANDER
I needed a car with 3 rows of seat (not all the time, but every now and then) and my husband didn't want a van now that our kids are older. It has run really well. I purchased it used with 90K miles on it and now it has 190K and doing well. I like being a little bit higher than a sedan and not quite as large as some other vehicles to park. I LOVE IT!

Pros
3 rows of seats
I can see the road well
lots of extra compartments

Cons
when backing up - I dont always have a good gage
the previous owner put rims on the car that do not fit, so my alert is always on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
GAIL C.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2018
Gail Collum
I love my Toyota Highlander. My husband bought this car for me 3 years before he passed away. That’s why it is so special to me. Never had any problems with it and I keep it maintained , washed and car pool my grandchildren to school and sports events.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DOROTHY H.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2018
Love my 2005 Highlander
It has over 220,000 miles on it and is going strong.Drove it to Canada last May. Had no problems.With regular maintenance has been a reliable. Enjoy the feeling of being safe while traveling .Hope to be driving my Highlander for many more years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAY M.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2018
Outstanding service
Honest, knowledgeable folks who take care of their customers! While they have your vehicle they will give a look over to be sure there are no mechanical or safety issues that need attention. If so, they let you know. I like that kind of service!

Pros
Good size suv without being bulky. Good driving visibility. Nice, large rear window. Comfortable seats. Well thought out dash with minimal knobs, buttons, and gizmos. It's a functional, simple vehicle.

Cons
4 cylinder is a little underpowered for this size suv. But, for around town driving, it's OK. Electronics are troublesome. Kind of unexpected from a Toyota. Bottom line, given the choice, go with a Honda.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
GORDON M.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2017
Best Car
Our Highlander is by gar the very best car we have ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JAY W.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/09/2017
If there were something better, we'd buy it. It tows my boat, it hauls a lot of stuff, high visibility, but not too big; good visibility out of it, no troubles
its great, like it better than the new models. efficiency at 22 is marginal, but we need its capability.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
JACKIE and GARY V.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2017
2005 Toyota Highlander
This car has served me well. Would like to keep it four more years!

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Needs better seating. Electric powered windows and electric door locks break too easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Dan L.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/12/2017
my 2005 Toyota Highlander
Best vehicle I've ever owned and believe me I have had plenty of cars over the years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PA
PAT A.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/04/2017
2005 Toyota Highlander
I like this vehicle, it handles well and for a 4 cylinder it goes great. Plenty of room, and comfortable.

Pros
all the above

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PA
PAT A.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2017
2005 Toyota Highlander
Its been a great vehicle for me, just the right size.

Pros
Easy to drive, handles well. Had a flat tire a few years ago, had to call AAA as I
was in Montana headed back to Spokane. Was very pleased that it had a full size spare tire still inflated and got me safely to Missoula where I purchased new tire.

Cons
Last year the transmission went out due to a leak in connections between the radiator which allowed radiator fluid into the transmission. A very costly repair.
Never expected to ever have something that major due to a faulty connection;
a few months later had to have the front struts replaced, and then replace the
left rear window casing. This car is 12 years old with less than 87,000 miles.Less than 600 miles a month.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARY S.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2017
Comfortable Toyota
We are still driving it by choice.

Pros
Easy to get into

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MEL R.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/05/2017
My 2005 Toyota Highlander
We bought this car new in 2005. With regular required servicing that is spelled out in the owner's manual and service schedule, the car has performed superbly: safe, comfortable, good gas mileage, and excellent performance. We plan to keep the car for a long time, as it has served us and performed for us very well.

Pros
Good overall performance, reliable, comfortable, lots of room for transporting luggage and small household items, especially if you fold down the back seats.

Cons
As a van, the Toyota Highlander is a little high which may pose a challenge for anyone with foot or leg problems when they enter or exit the vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BETSY M.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/24/2017
I love my Highlander!
This is the best car I have ever owned. Always reliable,predictable, very surefooted in winter, all around perfect size and car for multiple tasks of everyday life-toting grandkids (five at a time-some in car seats) traveling comfortably around town and long distance, very affordable to keep and maintain.

Pros
I even looked to buy a used one of this model and year for my grown grandchildren because of it's safety and visibility factor with the height of the vehicle-couldn't find one. I guess everyone keeps them because of their reliability and don't feel they get old and have problems.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LE
LISA E.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/21/2017
Wonderful vehicle
I bought this vehicle from a relative having health problems in 2009, when it only had 14,000 miles. It has just turned over 100,000 miles and has given me no trouble at all. I would gladly make the purchase again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JIM and CINDY S.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/10/2017
Best Vehicle for the dollar
I have had this vehicle a 2005 highlander since I bought in may 2006. I have had so few issues with the vehicle Toyotas are tehbest in overall maintenance. Basic stuff like oils and ties and break but beyond that everything else is perfect.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KRIS H.
2005 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2016
My 2005 Highlander
Excellent vehicle, no major mechanical issues, super reliable .... Would love to have another one

Pros
Good visibility in the vehicle, reliable, great maintenance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 34 in total